Best Company Guarantee AAA Logo

AAA

star star star star star_half

7.2

Overall Score

LAST UPDATED: March 9th, 2022

AAA is an excellent car insurance company to consider because of its high financial strength ratings, good coverage options, discounts, and service.

Although AAA has received many reviews on BestCompany.com, they primarily discuss AAA roadside assistance, not auto insurance. Given this focus, it's difficult to assess the customer experience for AAA car insurance policyholders. However, AAA's offerings are competitive for the industry.

Read AAA Reviews

thumb_up

The Good

  • High Financial Strength Ratings
  • Flexible Coverage
  • AAA Discounts
  • Good Service
  • Helpful Educational Resources

High Financial Strength Ratings

AAA has earned high financial strength ratings. These high ratings indicate an insurance company's ability to meet its claims obligations. Since the insurance provider has high ratings, AAA policyholders can be confident when working with the company.

Flexible Coverage

You can find all the coverage you need with AAA car insurance. AAA offers policies with collision coverage, comprehensive coverage, bodily injury liability coverage, property damage liability coverage, uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage, medical payments coverage, gap insurance, personal injury protection, and rental reimbursement.

You can also include a new car added protection that covers necessary repairs or replaces your new car without depreciation if it is damaged or totaled in a covered loss. This feature is especially beneficial if you've just purchased a new car because it protects your investment in your car.

With many coverage options, you'll be able to find an auto insurance product that meets your needs.

AAA Discounts

You'll find many opportunities for discounted rates on your car insurance policy from AAA.

Available discounts include:

  • AAA membership and membership loyalty
  • Auto Insurance Loyalty
  • Multi-policy (home insurance)
  • Multi-vehicle
  • Advanced shopping (in conjunction with new business policies)
  • Teen smart
  • Good student
  • Distant student (child away at school without a car)
  • Payment plan

With many auto insurance discount opportunities, saving on the monthly premium is easy.

If you're an AAA member or are interested in multiple insurance policies, you can also save by choosing AAA for your insurance provider.

Good Service

AAA offers good service to its clients. You can receive an online car insurance quote or work with an agent directly. This flexibility means that you can communicate with the company the way you want.

AAA also has a fast and efficient claims service that is available around the clock. Whatever time you file a claim, AAA will assist you.

What's more, you can find additional products and services through AAA. You can become a AAA member for 24/7 roadside assistance, car repair discounts, and more. You can also buy homeowners, renters, or life insurance.

Helpful Online Resources

AAA's website has helpful articles on car insurance. You can reference these articles to learn more about car insurance coverage, assessing your needs, what affects premium rates, and more.

These resources show that AAA is focused on helping you understand car insurance and doing what's best for you.

Visit Site

thumb_down

The Bad

  • Customer Review Limitations
  • Contact and Personal Information Required for Quote

Customer Review Limitations

While AAA has received a large number of reviews on BestCompany.com, many reviewers focus on AAA's roadside assistance services rather than its insurance policies. 

AAA is well-known for these services, so it's not surprising that many reviewers discuss roadside assistance. However, the lack of AAA auto insurance reviews makes it difficult to adequately assess the car insurance customer experience with the car insurance provider.

Contact and Personal Information Required for Quote

To view an insurance rate quote online, you must provide personal information and your contact details. While the personal information necessary for quotes is more specific than what's required for other kinds of insurance, the information requested by AAA is the same as what other auto insurance providers request.

Needing to provide your contact information before viewing a quote can result in sales calls. If you're still in the research and exploring phase, you may want to start by looking at other sites.

gavel

The Bottom Line

While you have to provide contact information to view an online quote, AAA is still a reliable car insurance company. You can be confident in the insurance you buy because AAA 's car insurance policies include many different types of coverage and the insurer has received high financial strength ratings. You can also save on your premiums with the many discounts offered by AAA.

You'll also benefit from a quick claims process that is available 24/7. This makes it convenient to file a claim and receive payments quickly.

Although clearer information on the AAA auto insurance customer experience would be beneficial AAA is worth considering, especially if you're already a AAA member.

Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

We'll Introduce You!

Call our recommended rep over at AAA below.

1-(844) 212-7282
bestcompany guarantee

Best Company guarantees your satisfaction if you choose a company that has earned this distinction. If you're not satisfied after 30 days, simply let us know and we'll give you $200. Yes, it's really that simple.

Learn More

Star Rating

4.3

star star star star star_half

601 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

66%

4 grade

16%

3 grade

4%

2 grade

2%

1 grade

11%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star star star_border

Quality

star star star star star_border

Service

star star star star star_border

Trustworthiness

star star star star star_border
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
star star star star star_border

Nancy A Campitelli Ocala, FL

I recently contacted AAA for a dead battery, I have been a member for many years, a young man arrived fairly quickly, after checking the battery he told me it had to be replaced, I agreed and paid $250 for a new one, the young man proceeds to tell me about his poor wages and having a wife and family that he relies on tips to get by, I have never tipped a AAA employee in the past but felt guilty and thought maybe this was a common practice, I tipped the man after he installed the battery and he left, upon entering my vehicle I noticed the console between my two front seats was wide open, there was nothing of value that could be taken, I feel I should report this behavior but am afraid of the consequences since he knows where I live

2 years ago

star star star star star_border

Matthew Wadley San Diego, CA

My wife and I have life insurance through AAA. Signing up was easy and smooth. Our first agent was amazing, but has retired since us joining them. We've had 3 new ones in the past 3 years, always calling trying to sell us more life insurance or something else which is a drag. I know it's their job and all to make more money for AAA, but enough already. Just answer the phone when I have a question and call to check in. I'm praying that just in case something happens to one of us that they call right away and just as eager to give us our money as they are to ask for more of it

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Steven Shimmin

I was a happy customer of AAA insurance for over ten years, they always had great and usually lower rates than competitors. My only downside was when I had a terrible car accident, I was rear ended, rolled, flipped and total out car.. Because the other guilty driver had terrible insurance, AAA kicked in some funds. But then they raised my rates so much that I had to look elsewhere and switch insurance.

9 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

CMWitt Sun Prairie, WI

AAA has individual agents, many are very well informed and can answer questions. Just like most insurance companies, I feel they have a loyalty penalty. In order to keep a decent rate you need to shop them to make sure they are still offering you the products and services that you want at a price that is "currently" competitive at the time of your renewal.

9 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Morgan Elijah Tallahassee, FL

I love that this is an addition to my insurance. I am a college student with an older car that can be quite unpredictable so I love the safeness that I feel knowing that I am covered by AAA. I dislike that with the gold membership it was marketed that I would get unlimited service like "car jumps and gas" but then I was told on-site that I only get 4 per year.

10 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Set the Record Straight 'Ewa Beach, HI

AAA has excellent services but is lacking in their roadside services. For example, AAA Hawaii used to handle all roadside services calls from their local office. Now, your call is routed to a toll free number where you describe your problem. If your car doesn’t start, you need to assess whether it’s a battery problem or something else. If you state battery, then a vendor will arrive to jump start your car. That vendor does not have towing capability. So if it is not your battery, you need to call AAA’s toll free number again and request for a tow truck.

11 months ago

star star star star star_border

Elizabeth Cleveland, OH

I have not been able to find rates as low as AAA. That said, I had an accident (my FIRST one in 30 years), and they raised my rates $250/half. I have been with AAA for 5 years, not a claim, not an accident. And they raised my rates $250 for my car, and I insure 3 cars, 1 house, and renter's insurance through them.

2 years ago

star star star star star_border

Joseph rex Salt Lake City, UT

I have AAA mostly for the hotel benefits. It pays for itself if you stay at Marriott. And nice to know I have the auto benefits if I need them. I was with them for a short time on the insurance but progressive was much cheaper with teenage drivers.

2 years ago

star star star star star_border

Ann Dickinson Lake Elsinore, CA

I feel that AAA is trustworthy and confident in all products they offer. As a member I am able to renew my car registration and worry free if my car breaks down on the side of the road. I'm also able to arrange for travel through AAA as well rest easier knowing my home insurance covers all my needs.

4 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Sarah Huda Los Angeles, CA

They are very pricey, but who isn't these days. I appreciate the fact they have an annual loyalty discount and offer discounts for alumni associations etc. but I wish I could get a discount for having roadside as well. Either way, I know if I ever need to use my insurance, I can count on this company to support.

9 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Abril Hunter Tallahassee, FL

As a College Student AAA has been a fantastic way to ensure that I’m never stranded with my car. I’ve called AAA multiple times to fix a popped tire and give me roadside assistance. Overarching way I find the AAA, sometimes doesn’t have the fastest response time to roadside calls which is the only reason that I took one star off. Overall though whenever they do arrive to you they have all of the means necessary to get you off the side of the road which is what has been most helpful to me. Also I really enjoy that with my AAA card I can get discounts at some stores.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Bill Newman St. Marys, GA

I’ve been a member for over 50 years…I guess you could say I’m a loyal customer of AAA! However, the roadside service has been VERY poor in my current local, rural area. My husband waited over 3 hours on Interstate 95 (north of Jacksonville FL) for a tow 3 years ago. Another service call (2 years ago) was similarly poor. The company was properly apologetic but they need to step up their service issues.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Jun Chen Rockville, MD

I has even been a customer of AAA. It gave us a lot of help when I had problems in my car. Their service was good and always on time. Especially we love the free maps from AAA at that time. I kept as a customer even though GPS was used in my car. Till we have cell phone with much greater GPS system we don’t use AAA anymore. The insurance also covers road service. I still consider to be a customer of AAA if I feel like I need any specific service from AAA.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Leonard Thompson Show Low, AZ

I have been a customer of AAA for many years now. I have had both good and bad service . More good than bed, hence the four stars. The few times I have needed to use AAA, the service has been quick, professional, and proficient. I was stranded a few hours from my home from an unexpected mechanics problem and AAA was easy to contact, the service was fast, and the driver from the company was friendly and arrived quickly. I am overall happy with their service and am thankful for their service.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Amy American Fork, UT

I have used AAA many times. I have locked my keys in my car, had a flat tire and once ran out of gas up in a canyon. Every time they were quick to come and help. It gave me a peace of mind traveling anywhere knowing that I had someone to call if I needed help. The only downside of using them is you have a yearly fee and don't always need them. Like any insurance- you would wish you had it when you find yourself in need!

2 years ago

star star star star star_border

Derrick Lubbock, TX

I switched from Geico to AAA because I found AAA to be far more competitive with their rates. I enjoyed working with a local rep over the phone to select the coverages that worked best for my circumstances. Very understanding and helpful sales reps who offer none of the pressure that other companies do. The mobile app has been sufficiently helpful so far, though it does not offer as many features as the Geico app that I'm used to.

4 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Victoria Hahn MN

Triple A has come to get me off the side of the road many times and has also helped me fix my car many times! All of the technicians are incredibly nice!

6 months ago

star star star star star_border

Nicholas Genes Los Angeles, CA

I had AAA on top of my regular insurance for my older vehicles that weren’t so reliable. I’ve used them several times for towing. Awesome customer service and always were there for help.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Vy Ha Birmingham, AL

Was my friend’s insurance company my senior year of high school when I got into first car accident together with her. Everything was covered there on for my specific injuries

10 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Justin Pumilia Saint Paul, MN

The extra services are great but the costs add up. I got removed from my parents plan and was not notified so that was neat. Also when I got my car they told me the rate would be half what I am paying. However being able to do registration there instead of the DMV is pretty much worth it all.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Vikti Mehta Frisco, TX

Recently AAA was a big help when my sister's tire popped on the highway. They helped put in a spare and were very clear about how slow to drive on it. Although it took a little long for them to show up and they were not wearing masks, they were friendly and got the job done.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Andrew Z Long Beach, CA

Overall great agents and good combined pricing for auto/home insurance. However with recent events, pandemic/COVID-19 policies were a bit strict and weren't up to par with the industry standard. As a customer, would have appreciated better billing relief during this period

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Betsy Baraboo, WI

The online features are good and they are a good company. Never had any trouble with coverage or payments. They even let you have a little leeway if you forget to pay your bill. (I know this from experience). They do need to train their customer service people when you call for roadside assistance. Twice that has been awful.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Olivia Orlando, FL

AAA has been very helpful in the past. However, I often used AAA as a last result because of the wait times. Being a woman, I don’t feel comfortable waiting for assistance in dark areas, where I might have broken down, for long periods of time.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Cayla robinson Sandy, UT

One time I went swimming in ocean of course I forgot my keys were In my pocket! Thankfully I didn’t have to worry because I knew that AAA would take care of me and my needs. They were quick and helped me get a car key replacement ! Recommend for sure!

3 years ago

star star star star star_border

jessica Mesa, AZ

I currently have them, and so far everything has gone well. My agent recently quit and I was not notified and have not been reassigned a new agent. they said that I have to fine them myself that's the only thing i did not like

3 years ago

star star star star star_border

Starski Cene Vienna, VA

Overall good value for what they offer, wish they did more for existing customers (pretty much have to cancel the service if you want a better price) - Great partnerships with other companies that provide additional discounts (ex: hotels) - Love the app and how you can track the location of the tow truck and request help

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Kristin G Pleasant Grove, UT

We bought AAA auto insurance for our car when we were first married because of the trusted name alone. When we added another car and then a third we started comparing prices and ended up switching companies because we found a lower rate.

4 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

COLLEEN STARKE Lithonia, GA

TRIPPLE AAA IS VERY DEPENDABLE BUT THERE WERE TIMES WHEN I HAD TO WAIT FOR SEVERAL HOURS FOR A TOW TRUCK BUT I BELIEVE IT WAS BECAUSE IT WAS A BUSY TIME OF DAY. I DEPEND ON THEM AND 9/10 THEY HAVE NOT LET ME DOWN

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

stoopidcow San Pedro, CA

AAA is on the pricier side, but their customer service is great. always responsive and even when going into the branch they are quick to response. If it wasnt for their price, i would give it a higher rating.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Janalee Nielson Smithfield, UT

Whenever I’ve had to use my AAA service it has gone smoothly and I haven’t had to wait too long. I just wish the towing distance was further with a basic plan. I love getting the discount on hotel stays.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Tony Callaway Springfield, MO

There plus service is good but the basic will not tow you but a couple of miles. It's okay if you run out of gas or need a jump but that's about it. If you're going to get it get the plus.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Ali Clark-ElSayed Broomfield, CO

Every time that I have needed road-side assistance AAA was there to help with whatever my situation was. When I needed a jump-start at 10:00 pm, they were there within 20 minutes to help me out.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Rommie Bishop III Rexburg, ID

AAA was the insurance provider I went with when I lived in California and they covered my needs adequately the whole time I lived there... I was happy to have their roadside service as a backup.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Claudina Moreau Fort Lauderdale, FL

I have had multiple times where I had to call them because of a jumpstart. Although they take a long time to get there, they do what needs to get done in order to have you ready to get home.

2 years ago

star star star star star_border

Roberson Salt Lake City, UT

Triple A provides some of the greatest road side assistance out there. They are almost always available and will get to within a reasonable amount of time, membership prices are also feasible.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Rory Henrie Pleasant Grove, UT

I have been a AAA customer for several years. I have had to call them when my wife got a flat tire. Their response was fast and professional. I would recommend them to anyone.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Jennifer Gilbert, AZ

I love AAA. I’ve been with them for 15 years and their roadside service is great. They’ve always been quick to respond when I’ve been in need of help. Highly recommend them.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Virginia Rosenthal Pleasant Grove, UT

I have been a member of AAA for 18 years both in California and Utah. I love the reliability of their road-side assistance and their member benefits/discounts at retailers is a great bonus.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Shawn American Fork, UT

My family has used AAA for many years. They would always give a discount to school teachers. Never really had to use them for any major accidents. But was helpful and easy to use when talking to customer service.

3 years ago

star star star star star_border

Seth Managua, MN

They were the first car insurance I ever had. They always did right by me and were easy to work with however they were a tad bit over priced

2 years ago

star star star star star_border

Ken Francis Provo, UT

They have been helpful with jump starting my car and getting me into my car when I locked myself out. They take longer than I'd like.

3 years ago

star star star star star_border

RamaJean Christensen Lehi, UT

Having AAA has been OK . My insurance gives me about the same coverage, I have however haven't had any issues with having my card.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Charles Fairbanks Ocala, FL

I was with AAA but switch to State Farm because of price then two years later went back to AAA because of price. They both are great companys.

11 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

K.M. P. Charlotte, NC

They show up when you need them! Great value! They are usually there on time or before projected time. Always care about your safety before they arrive.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Don Mesibov Potsdam, NY

Over the many years of my membership in AAA I have had several times when I hae needed roadside assistance and have always received friendly, prompt service.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Cindy Al-Qawasmi Carlisle, PA

Excellent when you can get a hold of them. Busy holidays you can't get anyone to answer the phone for roadside service and when you can the wait for service is hours long.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

The Sports&GamingKid Millington, TN

I love my emergency roadside coverage and the promptness of a service when I or my children call them. very much a good, safe and secure value for my money.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Denise Grandison Marietta, GA

VERY GOOD ALL ROUND PRODUCT BUT MAKE SURE YOU READ THE MEMBERSHIPS THE BASIC ONE IS NOT REALLY A GOOD ONE TO GET. iNVEST THE MONEY AND GET THE OTHER ONE UP FROM BASIC

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Anthea Aiono Riverton, UT

My recent experience with Triple A was pleasant. They were prompt and had great follow through. They were very informative an customer service was definitely a focus.

2 years ago