Vudu Logo
star star star star_half star_border

3.9

Overall Score

LAST UPDATED: April 8th, 2023

Vudu is an online movie and TV streaming service owned by Walmart and has been around for over ten years. Its main business stems from digital streaming, providing even more entertainment options to consumers. Vudu is compatible with a service called UltraViolet, a service for storing and accessing digital copies of DVDs. Vudu is an on-demand subscription-free video streaming service. 

Top Ranked Companies

Netflix Logo
#1 Netflix chevron_right
8.2 Overall Score
4.4
star star star star star_half
(1,942)
Amazon Prime Logo
#2 Amazon Prime chevron_right
8.1 Overall Score
4.3
star star star star star_half
(1,003)
YouTube Logo
#3 YouTube chevron_right
7.9 Overall Score
4.4
star star star star star_half
(909)
thumb_up

The Good

  • No Monthly Subscription
  • Free Content
  • Watch New Releases
  • Easily Save Your Movies Online
  • Watch From Anywhere

No Monthly Subscription

With Vudu, you only pay for what you watch. There are no subscriptions and no late fees. You can choose which movies to rent or buy and also have the option of buying TV series by the episode or by the season. This absence of a monthly subscription is attractive to those who only want to watch a few things and don't feel like they would get their money's worth out of a monthly subscription. 

Free Content

Vudu offers a library of free content that you can watch without an account. Some titles stay free, and others are swapped each week. These TV shows and films are supported by short ads throughout. However, the quality is good and the ads are minimal. All paid streaming through Vudu is ad free.

Watch New Releases

Vudu claims movies will be available the same day they are released on DVD. This is a huge advantage over Netflix, at which you have to wait 28 days after a movie is released before it's available. Vudu boasts a large media library of over 15,000 movies and 2,000 TV series. Movies are available to rent in standard definition (SD) and high definition (HD) options such as HDX and UHD. For some movie options, SD and HD are the same price, but for most the HD version is a dollar more. 

Easily Save Your Movies Online

Vudu is now compliant with UltraViolet, meaning any DVDs or Blu-ray discs cleared by studios for digital distribution can be uploaded to the cloud and watched through Vudu. This makes a digital copy of your movie that you can watch from anywhere and keep for forever. This service gives you an easy way to keep your collection of movies digitally without taking up storage space on your computer and without the fear that your DVDs or Blu-rays will get scratched or broken. When you buy a movie through Vudu, it gives you a digital copy.

Watch From Anywhere

You can access your digital movie collection from any screen or device with internet. Some of the places you can watch Vudu movies and shows include: smart TVs, internet-connected Blu-ray players, game consoles, streaming devices (like Apple TV, Roku, or Chromecast), Nvidia Shield, iOS and Android devices, as well as Windows 10 devices. Vudu also has a mobile app that receives high ratings in the app store. 

thumb_down

The Bad

  • Expensive Rental Prices
  • Charged Per Upload to UltraViolet

Expensive Rental Prices

Services like Netflix or HuluPlus cost only $7.99 per month for unlimited viewing while just one movie on Vudu could cost you $4.99, and a TV episode will run you a couple dollars. If you want to just watch one film, you can buy it from other websites. Vudu does not provide rental options for live TV like sports or news. 

Charged Per Upload to UltraViolet

As we mentioned before, you can upload any UltraViolet movies you've purchased to Vudu. However, Vudu will charge you for each movie that you upload (between $2-$5). 

gavel

The Bottom Line

If you are watching Vudu like you would use an unlimited streaming service like Netflix or Hulu, it will get pretty pricey. However, if you want to use vudu to purchase a few select movies or films, it could be a perfect video streaming option for you. Many only use Vudu for its free library of content.

With Vudu, you get access to a wide selection of movies and TV shows, and most important of all, you get them as fast as possible. There is no contract or subscription with Vudu, so if you don't like what you are getting, then you can stop and find another company to stream with. Overall, we recommend considering the top rated companies before making a final decision.

For more information, check out our Vudu reviews below from customers who have used the product. 

Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

Star Rating

3.5

star star star star_half star_border

174 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

44%

4 grade

20%

3 grade

6%

2 grade

2%

1 grade

29%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star star_half star_border

Quality

star star star star_half star_border

Service

star star star star_half star_border

Trustworthiness

star star star star_half star_border
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
star star star star star_border

Tony's Babygirl Staton MO

Very awesome app and site..has variety to stream and choice of servers..great!

1 month ago

star star star star star_border

Brittney Mac Gregor Louisville, KY

I've always considered Vudu to be the Youtube alternative, but lately I have been using Vudu a lot more than Youtube. They do not seem to moderate and remove videos that "trigger" the population with offense. I can't say how content creation is, as I haven't used this service yet. I do enjoy finding videos to watch for education and entertainment purposes. I think Vudo has gained popularity over the years. They are quickly becoming my go to video streaming app.

1 year ago

star star star star star_border

Mia Hernandez Tempe, AZ

I really like this company it makes streaming for new movies fairly easy way better than having to actually go to the store and buy a DVD I only wish that when they have the newest movies available they would also give you the option to rent the movie instead of just owning it instead you have to wait for a while before your able to rent it so kinda sucks but it's ok.... I also kinda wish they had an area of all the movies you've purchased in one place it about you but I dnt have the best memory so having to search movies I already own kinda sucks it'd be nice to be able to go to a tab of all the movies I've purchased in one area cuz honestly sometimes it what I wanna watch until I see the cover or read the title

4 years ago

star star star star star_border

Diogmites Sioux Falls, SD

Vudu has incredible streaming quality and is second to none in this regard and because of that i use this service most often for watching movies. They also have really good deals if you keep a watchful eye. Unfortunately their customer service is horrendous which is why I don’t give them full marks.

1 year ago

star star star star star_border

Jane M Phoenix, AZ

Since I have only used this service for "free" and gift selections I can't say about billing and payments, but, that said the content, format and ability to stream is very good! I would like the option back on the site to search for a specific price range ie: $1.99 or $.99 but all in all I like this site's movie/tv selection screen.

3 years ago

star star star star star_border

Bea ThaTruth San Antonio, TX

Shows that I totally forgot about show up on Vudu and the TV app is not hard to navigate.

3 months ago

star star star star star_border

Lindsey American Fork, UT

My family has Vudu, so I've used it a lot. I really enjoy it. It has many options to watch, so if you're wanting to find a specific movie that isn't on Netflix or Hulu this is a great option to have on hand.

5 years ago

star star star star star_border

Kristen Westover Spanish Fork, UT

Using Vudu to watch our movies is easy and great. I wish there was a way to put codes in for movies using the app. If there is, we haven't been able to find a way. It would make things much easier.

5 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Taylor Walker Provo, UT

I love Vudu! I'm a bit of a movie fanatic and I own over 200 movies so for me, movies are a big deal and I love being able to buy a movie at Walmart and to be able to also get the digital copy as well and be able to watch it on the go.

3 years ago

star star star star star_border

Angela Pyrah Willard, MO

This is a great idea! When we get a movie with a digital copy we add it to our account, and we can watch it anywhere. It is really good for travel. The price for renting movies are a little too expensive when compared to redbox, but the variety is much better.

4 years ago

star star star star star_border

Kylie Bishop Smithfield, UT

I use Vudu a lot to watch movies when i’m traveling. you can download countless amounts of movies and can order movies with a code and not get the disk.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Jacob American Fork, UT

Vudu is a pretty good deal for renting movies when you dont want to go to redbox. There are many options and you can get free movies just by signing up for an account. Lots of variety and options for everyone.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Rischelle Mikkelson American Fork, UT

We use Vudu mostly for streaming movies and TV series. They have a decent variety. It does seem to buffer at times and will sometimes log us out, but overall it is a mostly reliable service.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Jacob Shaner

I’m surprised more people don’t use this site. It isn’t the best streaming quality, but the fact that you can watch a movie for just a couple short ads is pretty cool. Give it a try!

4 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Jenni Walker American Fork, UT

I love having one place for all of my digital movies. I do think their rental rate is a little high, but they have a lot of sales on movies, and have a lot of great movies that are free with ads!

4 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Madison Parsons Gilbert, AZ

I love using vudu to watch the latest released movies and is very easy to navigate . It would be nice if it was a monthly fee instead of payment by movie. Sometimes i get frustrated when the movies buffer alot

4 years ago

star star star star star_border

Brady Hanson Orem, UT

I love this service! Vudu is the perfect service if you are looking for a movie night, but you don't want to leave the house. They have a great selection of older and newer movies. I would highly recommend them.

4 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Kristin G Pleasant Grove, UT

Vudu is one of the apps we use to stream TV. I would recommend this app also for some of your favorite sport to watch. There is a good variety of television series to watch as well.

4 years ago

star star star star star_border

Alicia Holman Gilbert, AZ

I like that you can watch a movie when no other streaming site has it. It's easy to sign up and can be installed on the ROKU so I liked that.

4 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Sofie Rosenvall Alpine, UT

We have used Vudu a lot to rent movies to watch as a family... Its simple and easy. Their app/website is simple and easy to navigate to find what movie you are looking for!

4 years ago

star star star star star_border

Madelyn Gulfport, MS

My family and I love Vudu! It has a great variety of movies, and I especially love the free movies (with ads) option.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Josh Harold Dallas, TX

I dislike vudu compared to other services bc I have to buy each individual item. Other then that it works great and is easy to use.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Nichole Hiatt Eagle Mountain, UT

I have Vudu for my purchased digital copy movies, and I like being able to have all the movies in one spot. Access is easy and simple.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Dylan Curtis Pleasant Grove, UT

Before we moved over to Google Play this is the service we used to put our digital movie copies so they were accessible wherever we went.

3 years ago

star star star star star_border

Vincent Leuzze San Jose, CA

If I rent a movie I usually rent it on vudu. Vudu has a wide selection of movies in good quality with very affordable prices

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Amy Leifi Orem, UT

I've only used the service once, but it was great. If you don't mind watching an ad or two, you can see the shows you want.

4 years ago

star star star star star_border

Suzanna Wootton Springville, UT

I've used vudu a handful of times and don't really have anything negative to say!

5 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Don Boren American Fork, UT

I didn't like that the advertisements were very repetitive. They had the same commercials at every break

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Customer Saratoga Springs, UT

Vudu streaming service with the options to also buy is a nice feature. The SD quality need some improvements.

4 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Dasha Directo Provo, UT

Vudu has a ton of recent movies. The quality of the movies are in HD, so the quality is always good.

4 years ago

star star star star star_border

James Richards Las Vegas, NV

Great selection of movies. I like that it saves all my movies that I Own.

1 year ago

star star star star star_border

Rakshanda

overall am quite satafied their sales are quite good streaming is very good

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Melyssa Preece Gilbert, AZ

I like vudu! I love that I can buy a movie on dvd and then be able to stream it on my phone later.

4 years ago

star star star star star_border

Nathan hanzel Saratoga Springs, UT

I have used their service a lot to watch my own movies and there has never been a lot of lag!

4 years ago