There are many solar companies out there, but which one actually provides the most value and best customer service? We've made it our mission to find out.

After conducting exhaustive research on the solar industry and gathering hundreds of Sunrun reviews, we've weighed the good and the bad and discovered Sunrun to be one of the top installers of solar panels based on a variety of criteria points.

Sunrun, which is the nation’s largest residential solar, storage, and energy service company, has installed over 1,600 megawatts of solar power and helped hundreds of thousands of consumers in 18 states, Washington D.C., and Puerto Rico to gain energy independence.

Sunrun is the pioneer of the solar-as-a-service model and continues to drive innovation of solar generation, storage, and energy services and technologies. The rooftop solar provider's mission is to create a planet run by the sun.

The Good

  • Payment Flexibility
  • Customized Solar Systems
  • Simple Solar Process
  • 25-Year Maintenance
  • Roof Warranties and Coverage for Solar Panels
  • Customer Care Team
  • Battery Storage Options
  • High Level of Transparency with Customers
  • Installation Experience
  • Extensive Availability
  • Helpful Website

Payment Flexibility

To fit customer needs, Sunrun offers several financing options, including solar leases, Power Purchase Agreements (PPAs), prepayments, outright purchases, and loans.

Sunrun solar lease and PPA options give customers the chance to reap the benefits of a home solar system for zero to little upfront cost.

The prepayment option features all of the same benefits as the lease option, except the customer doesn't have to worry about the hassle of monthly payments.

Purchasing a Sunrun solar system outright provides customers with long-term savings, while financing a Sunrun solar system through a loan allows customers to make payments to own their system, which provides long-term benefits.

Customized Solar Systems

Sunrun understands that every customer's home, lifestyle, and savings goal is unique.

As a result, the company customizes every system it installs to the customer's needs using its own proprietary Automated Site Modeling design technology. With just a few pieces of information and satellite imagery of the rooftop, Sunrun’s Automated Site Modeling software quickly designs a custom solar system to maximize energy production.

Simple Solar Process

Sunrun strives to make switching to clean energy as simple and hassle-free as possible for its customers. The rooftop solar provider saves time by taking care of everything from scheduling to permitting and allowing people to follow their installation progress through the mySunrun mobile app. The design and installation process is as follows:

  • Step 1: Sunrun's experienced technicians will visit, measure, and evaluate the home; ensure that a solar system is the right fit; and design a customized solar plan.
  • Step 2: Sunrun's design experts will review and make any adjustments to the custom evaluation.
  • Step 3: Sunrun submits the design plans to the local city government for permitting.
  • Step 4: After the permit is granted, Sunrun's installers will come out to the home, go over the custom design with the customer, receive approval, and get to work.
  • Step 5: Once the system has been installed, the city or county will perform the final inspection.
  • Step 6: Sunrun will submit documents to the utility company and "Permission to Operate" will be granted.

25-Year Maintenance

If customers choose to lease or obtain a PPA, Sunrun will own the system and, therefore, is responsible for all maintenance and repairs of the system. Additionally, Sunrun will refund customers if the panels installed on their roof ever underperform.

Roof Warranties and Coverage for Solar Panels

Other benefits of Sunrun's product include a 10-year warranty on systems that are purchased and up to a 25-year warranty on systems that are leased. Each solar customer's Sunrun contract also includes a roof warranty, which protects the roof from leaks or holes.

In addition, Sunrun provides its solar customers with daily system monitoring for no additional fee. The company's monitoring team oversees all all Sunrun systems and keeps an eye on production levels. If something happens or if performance dips, Sunrun will contact you as soon as possible to get things fixed.

Customer Care Team

Sunrun provides a U.S.-based customer care team that is ready to answer questions and help resolve any issues that may arise.

Battery Storage Options

Sunrun offers a battery storage option that can be purchased or leased called Brightbox. With Brightbox, customers can enjoy safe, clean, and reliable backup power in the event of a blackout.

Brightbox also helps customers manage electricity costs by seamlessly optimizing when a home uses electricity generated by solar panels, stored in the battery, or from the grid.

High Level of Transparency with Customers

Sunrun provides an abundance of helpful information on its website and strives to be very transparent with its customers. The company's website includes detailed solar education and FAQ sections, a helpful Guarantee page, and an informative "Plans and Services" page that will help customers better understand Sunrun's products and how to start taking advantage of solar power.

Installation Experience

When it comes to solar installation, Sunrun is one of the most experienced companies in the solar industry. In fact, the company is one of the few solar installers that has installed over 1,600 megawatts of solar energy.

As a result, Sunrun has offset 3.7 million tons of carbon emissions and helped more than 240,000 customers to control their electricity bills.

Extensive Availability

Sunrun currenty offers solar energy services in the following states and territories:

  • Arizona
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Florida
  • Hawaii
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • Texas
  • Vermont
  • Washington, D.C.
  • Wisconsin
  • Puerto Rico

Helpful Website

Sunrun's website includes a variety of articles and helpful, easy-to-digest resources, including information on solar panels, plans and services, the cost of solar, warranties, installations, rebates and incentives, net metering, local information, solar education, and more.

Considering doing business with Sunrun? Learn more.

The Bad

  • Outsourcing Installations for Remote Homes

Outsourced Installations for Remote Homes

A majority of Sunrun's installations are performed in-house, meaning that Sunrun employees will install the solar systems themselves, which is ideal. Occasionally, the company will contract other installers to work on homes that are too remote for Sunrun itself to reach.

While Sunrun does train and approve these third-party contractors before they work on a home, this outsourcing strategy has often led to inconsistencies in performance upon installation. Consequently, customer satisfaction concerning the installation quality and overall experience varies.

The Bottom Line

Overall, Sunrun is highly recommended to homeowners who are looking to go solar. Sunrun's high quality solar energy systems, variety of financing options, lengthy maintenance coverage and warranties, and customer service and transparency are attractive features that make breaking away from your utility company and switching to solar simple and affordable.

Interested in going solar with Sunrun? Find out more. Want to learn more about Sunrun? Check out the Sunrun solar reviews from real customers below.

We'll Introduce You!

Call our recommended rep over at Sunrun below.

1-(866) 717-0232

Why Can I Trust Bestcompany.com arrow_drop_down

User Reviews

Star Rating

3.6
starstarstarstar_halfstar_border

1,314 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 star
47%
4 star
16%
3 star
6%
2 star
6%
1 star
25%

Sentiment Criteria

Value for your money
starstarstarstar_halfstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstar_halfstar_border
Customer service
starstarstarstar_halfstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstar_halfstar_border
search cancel

Verified Customer

starstarstarstarstar
Karen
April 22nd, 2019 Barnegat, NJ DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

Sun Run was recommended to me by my brother. It took a while to see the full effect but now I am starting to see it. Everything is working perfectly. It all went smoothly, they finished installing it in two days and the men were very courteous and they cleaned up after themselves. Every time I call with a question, they answer it quickly and honestly.

Sunrun Logo

Reply from Sunrun

May 04, 2019

We love to see that from your installation all the way through your contact with customer care has been great. Welcome to the Sunrun family, let's create a better environment. Please let us know if you have any questions!

Verified Customer

starstarstarstarstar
Betty
April 22nd, 2019 Phoenix, AZ DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

They kept us informed every step along the way. It went smoothly, they showed up the day they were supped to and were done within six hours. I think it is good quality.

Sunrun Logo

Reply from Sunrun

May 04, 2019

Thank you for sharing this wonderful review with us Betty, we love to see that your experience overall was great. Let's power forward and create a planet run by the sun.

Verified Customer

starstarstarstarstar_border
Walter
April 22nd, 2019 Staten Island, NY DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

I trust them because they were advertised by Costco. It is as good of quality as you get. They were done installing it one day and it was handled great.

Sunrun Logo

Reply from Sunrun

May 04, 2019

Hello Walter, gaining your trust is important. Thanks to partnering with Costco we were able to have you go solar with a trustworthy company. We are a great partnership, let's help create a planet run by the sun.

Verified Customer

starstarstarstarstar_border
John
April 22nd, 2019 Lincoln, CA DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar_border
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar_border

I have had no problems with their service. Installation went very smoothly.

Sunrun Logo

Reply from Sunrun

May 04, 2019

Hello John, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It's great to see that you were happy with the installation and everything went as planned with no issues. Welcome to the Sunrun family.

Verified Customer

starstarstarstarstar
Mary
April 22nd, 2019 Lancaster, CA DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

Sunrun made everything affordable and the equipment is great. The installation on the roof was fantastic, they got it done very quickly. The other day I called them because I have a leak and they said they would get back to me and they have yet to, so I am a little disappointed with their customer service.

Sunrun Logo

Reply from Sunrun

May 04, 2019

Mary thank you for taking the time to leave this amazing review, we love to see that you are happy with the installation. Welcome to the Sunrun family let's create a planet run by the sun.

Verified Customer

starstarstarstarstar_border
Clarence
April 22nd, 2019 Los Angeles, CA DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar_border
Customer service
starstarstarstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar_border

The installation process went really well. After installation, I talked to the salesman and I was told they charged me a surcharge every month and I think should let the public know about that beforehand.

Sunrun Logo

Reply from Sunrun

May 04, 2019

That's what we love to hear, THAT YOUR INSTALLATION WA A GREAT EXPERIENCE! We will make sure we provide the feedback to the sales representative, thank you for bringing this to our attention. Let's create a planet run by the sun.

Verified Customer

starstarstarstarstar
Christine
April 22nd, 2019 Tehachapi, CA DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

The most we have had to pay was over the winter was sixteen dollars and the months where me most needed air conditioning in Southern California we paid zero. They were very attentive and quick to get everything completed so we could get it turned on.

Sunrun Logo

Reply from Sunrun

May 04, 2019

Hello Christine, solar is season depending on the time of year you will see your production change. At the end of the solar year, you will see you have met the guaranteed output you predicted. We want to make sure we address your experience in detail, hearing you say we were attentive makes us happy!

Verified Customer

starstarstarstarstar
Jquane
April 22nd, 2019 Buckeye, AZ DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

It is a good company and they have better options. The equipment was installed very fast and it does exactly what they said it would do. They know their product.

Sunrun Logo

Reply from Sunrun

May 04, 2019

Hello, thank you for your kind words. We love to see that you were offered a variety of product options and you were able to find the one that fit your needs. Your time is valuable we want to make sure everything is done in a timely manner. Let's create a planet run by the sun.

Verified Customer

starstarstarstarstar
Robert
April 22nd, 2019 Clovis, CA DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

Installation went very well and the equipment works.

Sunrun Logo

Reply from Sunrun

May 04, 2019

Thank you for letting us know you were satisfied with the installation, it's great to see that you chose Sunrun as your solar power provider. Welcome to the Sunrun family and let's create a planet run by the sun.

Verified Customer

starstarstarstarstar_border
Bruce
April 22nd, 2019 Fresno, CA DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

They offer value for my money even though I don't think I have enough panels to radically cover the electricity I use. Customer service was overall quite good, though sometimes they are a little awkward to deal with.

Sunrun Logo

Reply from Sunrun

May 04, 2019

We love to hear that you see the value for your money, helping customer's save is a plus. We love to see that you are helping us create a planet run by the sun. If you are using more energy we can always look at reanalyzing your usage and determine if you need a second system. Feel free to reach out to Customer Care, we want to make sure we address your concerns.

Verified Customer

starstarstarstarstar
Ryan
April 22nd, 2019 Naalehu, HI DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

Sunrun has been an outstanding company to deal with. The service tech has been here on several occasions and has been very professional and helpful. Everybody should go with solar, it is the way to go.

Sunrun Logo

Reply from Sunrun

May 04, 2019

Wow! What a great review Ryan, what a pleasure to work with you and have you become a part of our family. Thank you for helping us create a planet run by the sun.

Verified Customer

starstarstarstarstar
Theresa
April 22nd, 2019 San Diego, CA DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

We got it because it was offered through Costco. Our representative was very responsive and answered all my questions in a timely manner. When we decided to add another panel, he had no issues making the change. They also reached out to me before the end of the year for purposes, to make sure I had the amount I needed to claim my credit on the federal tax return. Everything seems to be working great and installation went very smoothly.

Sunrun Logo

Reply from Sunrun

Apr 23, 2019

Hello Theresa, we are happy to see that you were able to go solar through our partner Costco. We loved to read about your experience and are happy to see that the number of benefits you received after going solar. Thank you for helping us create a planet run by the sun!

Verified Customer

starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Susan
April 22nd, 2019 Kaneohe, HI DETAILS
Value for your money
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

Customer service was very helpful through the process but now that the solar panels are on my roof I cannot get anyone to call me back. The panels are not producing and I am paying more for electricity than I was initially without the solar panels.

Sunrun Logo

Reply from Sunrun

Apr 23, 2019

Hello Susan, we are so sorry to hear about the experience you had. This is disheartening, and not the Sunrun norm, we want to take the opportunity to change this experience around for you. Please feel free to private message us your contact information and we can review your case in detail.

Verified Customer

starstarstarstarstar
Johann
April 22nd, 2019 Marysville, CA DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

We had it in our last home and it was a pleasant experience so when we bought a new home we called the same man. Anytime I have any question in regards to the sale of my house and getting it set up in the new house, they were very helpful and tell me every step. The sales rep is awesome, anytime we needed anything, we messaged and it was taken care of. We have had no problems with it.

Sunrun Logo

Reply from Sunrun

Apr 23, 2019

Our Service Transfer team works hard to make sure that we are making this transition from the homeowner to the buyer as seamless as possible. We are happy to see that this was your experience. Thank you for sharing your experiences, and hope to see you get solar on your new home.

Verified Customer

starstarstarstarstar
Doyle
April 22nd, 2019 San Diego, CA DETAILS
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

I didn't check out other companies because a person from work suggest it. We have had no problems with and installation was smooth and easy. They are always available and willing to find the answer if they don't know.

Sunrun Logo

Reply from Sunrun

Apr 23, 2019

Doyle thank you for choosing us as your solar power provider. We appreciate you helping us create a planet run by the sun. Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience!

Verified Customer

starstarstarstarstar_border
Linton
April 22nd, 2019 Hempstead, NY DETAILS
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar_border
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

I have called customer service and they have answered but I have also called them and got no answer.

Sunrun Logo

Reply from Sunrun

Apr 23, 2019

Hello Linton, we want to make sure that your issues are being addressed every time you contact care. You have allowed us to install the panels, and we have welcomed you into our Sunrun family. If you have any questions please feel private message us your contact information. Thank you for helping us create a planet run by the sun.

Verified Customer

starstarstarstarstar_border
David
April 22nd, 2019 Fresno, CA DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

The equipment is working fine and it was installed very efficiently.

Verified Customer

starstarstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Cassiem
April 22nd, 2019 Newhall, CA DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar_border
Customer service
starstarstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

Their installation was poor and caused problems with our roof. They installed the bolts through the slope of the roof instead of the risers which weakened our roof. Because we live in California and we don't have a lot of rain they refused to remove the solar panels so we had to remove the solar panels to get the roof repaired.

Sunrun Logo

Reply from Sunrun

Apr 23, 2019

Hello Cassiem we are so sorry to hear that the install was not what was expected. We want to take this opportunity to review the outcome and solutions. This is not the Sunrun norm. Please feel free to private message us your contact information.

starstarstarstarstar
Ethan
April 17th, 2019 Irving, TX DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

If you are looking for a great solar company, look no further than SunRun. Our energy consultant was informative and really helped us to understand the benefits of clean solar energy. We have had a very positive experience throughout the entire project and would be willing to recommend them to our friends and family to about SunRUN

Sunrun Logo

Reply from Sunrun

Apr 23, 2019

WOW, what a great review to read Ethan we love to see that your process was a great experience. Knowledge is power, and we are happy to see that your sales representative educated you accordingly. Thank you for recommending us to your friends and family!

starstarstarstarstar
James
April 17th, 2019 Los Angeles, CA DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

I had three solar companies come out in one day to pitch their companies and Assitant from Sun Run was the only one that gave a presentation from an education point of view and not a sales point of view. He was very knowledgeable and helpful and did not try to upsell us. He made sure we understood everything we needed to understand and didn’t get too far in the weeds with information. The timeline he gave me in his presentation was exactly on and he was realistic and made sure everything went smoothly and according to plan. He was there to answer any questions I had after the presentation and after the installation came out to make sure that we understood what was happening and answer any follow-up questions that we might’ve had with the new equipment and help us with our new equipment. I would recommend Sun Run completely and, tell my friends they should use them I am that satisfied.

Sunrun Logo

Reply from Sunrun

Apr 18, 2019

Thanks for the review, James! We appreciate the shout-out for your sales rep and our team! We love hearing from our customers that are no stranger to solar. Congrats on going solar with us, we can't thank you enough for helping us create a planet run by the sun!

starstarstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Jim Bowen
April 15th, 2019 Vero Beach, FL

When I inquired about whole house solar energy, their representative indicated I'd receive a phone call from them within 2-3 business days. I haven't heard from them except or an email which described in very general terms about solar energy. This email told me nothing new...but was nothing more than a brush off.

Sunrun Logo

Reply from Sunrun

Apr 23, 2019

Hello Jim. We are sorry to hear that there has been a lack of communication. We want to make sure that communication is clear and easy to understand. Thank you for sharing this feedback, we will let our Leadership team know.

starstarstarstarstar
Cooper
April 15th, 2019 Houston, TX DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

I have had my system for concerning four Years. Each step of the method was a breeze with Sun Run. He was terribly knowledgeable and patient with ME as I asked all of my queries and created my call. They were out at my house at the tip of the week putting in the system, and finished in but on a daily basis. Once the system was interconnected Ricky came back and walked ME through the system and helped ME found out the app to observe my system. I even have been creating a a lot of electricity than I will presumably use, and that i am excited with my system. My entire expertise with Sun Run was nice and that i would extremely advocate them to anyone wanting into star.

Sunrun Logo

Reply from Sunrun

Apr 23, 2019

We love to hear that after so many years you are still happy with the system! We love to hear that you have now helped create a better environment for over 4 years. Thank you for being part of the Sunrun family and helping us create a planet run by the sun!

starstarstarstarstar
Ethan
April 15th, 2019 DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

Great company! I i will give the five out of five stars reviews, currently I perceive why. the complete employees was awful, application, installation, and setup was seamless from begin to complete and client service is high notch.These guys are amazing and don't use high pressure sales tactics, Sunrun was extremely knowledgeable on Solar Technology and associated equipment. They help you understand Solar Power in simple terms and explain exactly how it can save you money while increasing the value of your home. As a Techie I'm big on learning everything about the equipment being used and Sunrun uses extremely high quality components! Their Panels are Australian Solar, the Inverters and Optimizes use Solar Edge HD Wave technology with the ability to monitor performance of each individual panel, I will highly recommend them to anyone interested in solar sunrun.Excellent company that actually cares about their customers.

Sunrun Logo

Reply from Sunrun

Apr 23, 2019

We love to hear that you were pleased with the overall product. Hearing that our representatives are knowledgable and caring has made our day. We want to treat you like family since you are now part of the Sunrun family. Let's continue to create a planet run by the sun!

starstarstarstarstar
Joshua
April 15th, 2019 Melbourne, FL DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

Phenomenal experience that my family and I had from SUN RUN, from the consultation, installation, and down to showing you how to use your system. The communication link was always there to let you know what step of the process you were in. Nobody left us hanging which I really appreciate a lot. I would definatley give SunRun a referral to anyone wanting a system installed. Thank you guys for the awesome experience of doing business with you.

Sunrun Logo

Reply from Sunrun

Apr 23, 2019

We love to hear from you and your family were happy every step if the way. Let's create a planet run by the sun. Welcome to the Sunrun family.

starstarstarstarstar
Gene Brown
April 15th, 2019 Dunedin, FL DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

My sales rep was amazing. He helped me every step along the way and explained everything in great detail.

Sunrun Logo

Reply from Sunrun

Apr 23, 2019

Hello Gene! We are delighted to hear that your sales representative was great and walked you through the process every step of the way. We want the transition to go solar seamless. Let's create a planet run by the sun.

starstarstarstarstar
Jack
April 15th, 2019 DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

Very happy and impressed with Sunrun. Installation took just one day. I will highly recommend them to anyone interested in solar sunrun.Excellent company that actually cares about their customers.

Sunrun Logo

Reply from Sunrun

Apr 23, 2019

Hello Jack! We are very happy to see that the installation was quick. We love recommendations! Let's create a planet run by the sun!

starstarstarstarstar
Thomas
April 15th, 2019 DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

Customer service is superb. Their panels square measure terribly effective in reducing value of energy.The panels square measure operating well thus far and their client service is extremely sensible.we have been paying monthly except the primary month since our panels were put in.

Sunrun Logo

Reply from Sunrun

Apr 23, 2019

Thomas thank you for this great review. We love to see that you see the value of solar energy as well as see our great Customer Service! Let's create a planet run by the sun.

starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Brent
April 12th, 2019 Houston, TX

I spoke initially with one salesman. He seemed professional and was willing to provide information. I have done extensive independent research. When it came down to pricing he simply refused to give me the pricing for the different options, and was really only interested in pushing me into the leasing option. Finally, after arguing with him to end the call and email me the information he said he would. After a week and not receiving any information about the different purchase options I called and a new salesmen, contacted me. He was only slightly better. Still wanted to push me into the lease program even after being informed I wanted pricing information for all options prior to the meeting he did not have that information. I understand SunRun has a business model of essentially building it's own grid keeping ownership of the equipment and receiving the tax benefits. But when I tell a salesman I am interested in owning the equipment myself I expect that information to be provided, and not have to fight with a salesman to get the information. I understand solar is expensive and am not going to be shocked by the price tag. The company seems automatically shady when salesman actively try to hide the ball. Also the salesmen pushed meeting times assuming I was available when they did not realize they had another meeting, and on one meeting I never even received a call. Very unprofessional company in my opinion.

Sunrun Logo

Reply from Sunrun

Apr 18, 2019

Thank you for your feedback, Brent. We certainly can understand your frustration with the lack of communication you've encountered. On average the total cost of solar installation can be between $15,000 to $29,000 for average sized systems sized between 4kW and 8kW.2 Sunrun solar lets you get started for as little as $0 down and helps you lower your electric bill. If you want to own your system, we do that too. If you choose to buy your system, the graph shows an average breakdown of costs of residential solar panel installation.

starstarstarstarstar
Rosalie Herion
April 12th, 2019 California, MD DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

I'd wanted solar for 40-some years, finally got the opportunity, and am thrilled. First of all, I was delighted with the knowledge, professionalism, prompt text responses, and polite manner of Daren, my sales rep, and everyone else who came to my home to do the site assessment and installation. I had solar panels installed on Feb. 19, 2019. I'm leaving feedback after receiving my first electricity utility (SMECO) bill for the first full month I've had solar energy. For 3/10-4/9, my bill was -$8.26 (a credit)! Last year, my SMECO bill for the same time period was $143.58. Subtracting my credit from Sunrun's PPA automatic-debit monthly bill of $94.92 (the 0% escalator plan) gives $86.66--an overall savings of $56.92 over last year's monthly bill. And that's just one month's savings! What's not to like? I am so happy to have gone solar, be helping the planet, and saving money, too. It seems like a no-brainer to me.

Sunrun Logo

Reply from Sunrun

Apr 18, 2019

Rosalie H. Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful experience! To hear that you are saving brings us so much joy. The best part of having your go solar with Sunrun is that you are helping create a planet run by the sun!

starstarstarstarstar
Jessica Burns
April 11th, 2019 Belmar, NJ DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

We have had solar panels with Sun Run since 2011. We never had once issue. Sun Run once ran a contest for how else you are green. I sent them a picture of my organic gardens and won a free Nest thermostat. Any excess we pay to electric, they reimburse.

Sunrun Logo

Reply from Sunrun

Apr 18, 2019

We aim to be the only choice when going solar by providing a one-of-a-kind and hassle-free customer experience! We make sure that our customers are taken care of during the full life of the agreement. You are helping create a planet run by the sun and we are extremely thankful! Power Forward!

starstarstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Anonymous
April 10th, 2019

Unprepared for initial presentation, after being somewhat difficult to contact, not very impressive

starstarstarstarstar
Don Dol
April 10th, 2019

Gai is a good salesperson. She was fastest to provide a proposal and explained details well. Very personable.

Sunrun Logo

Reply from Sunrun

Apr 18, 2019

Thank you, Don. We appreciate the shout-out for your sales rep and our team! We love hearing from our customers that are no stranger to solar. Congrats on going solar with us.

starstarstarstarstar_border
Judy
April 10th, 2019

once we asked follow up questions they were honest about our expected solar outcome

Sunrun Logo

Reply from Sunrun

Apr 18, 2019

Hello, Judy, we are so delighted to hear that you had an honest easy process. We loved to see that all your expectations were met! Now let's create a planet run by the sun.

Verified Customer

starstarstarstarstar
AMT
April 8th, 2019 Fremont, CA DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

Customer service is excellent. Their panels are very effective in reducing cost of energy.

Sunrun Logo

Reply from Sunrun

Apr 18, 2019

We love to hear that you are happy and are receiving savings. Let's power forward and create a planet run by the sun!

Verified Customer

starstarstarstarstar_border
San clemente
April 8th, 2019 San Clemente, CA DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar_border
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar_border

Overall, great job. Miscalculation on number and size of panels. The solar battery electrical circuit has had issues

Sunrun Logo

Reply from Sunrun

Apr 18, 2019

Hello San. Keep in mind that the size of your utility bill is based on your usage. If your bill is higher than last year, you may be using more power than last year. Since your Sunrun rate is lower than that of your utility, that means you'd be paying even more for your current usage without solar. In other words, you're still saving.

Verified Customer

starstarstarstarstar
John
April 8th, 2019 DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

Good price, communication, professional work.

Sunrun Logo

Reply from Sunrun

Apr 18, 2019

Woohoo! John, we loved reading this review. thank you! Let's power forward.

Verified Customer

starstarstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Honest but Blunt
April 8th, 2019 DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstarstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstar_borderstar_border

great sales and installing, then crickets when it comes to customer service. Ridiculous wait times.

Sunrun Logo

Reply from Sunrun

Apr 18, 2019

Hello, we want to make sure we have communication with you every step of the way. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. If you have any questions feel free to private message us your question and contact information. Let's create a planet run by the sun!

Verified Customer

starstarstarstarstar_border
Sunny
April 8th, 2019 DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar_border
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar_border

My electric cost is nil. No problems with services and aray

Sunrun Logo

Reply from Sunrun

Apr 18, 2019

Thank you for your communication Sunny. We love to know that your system is doing great and you are having any service issues at all.

starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
David Larsen
April 5th, 2019 Phoenix, AZ DETAILS
Value for your money
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstarstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

Sunrun is either a very dishonest company, incompetent, or both. First of all, let's address the nondisclosures. Prior to my agreement with Sunrun, I had a flat payment plan with APS of $154 monthly. I paid a flat fee of only .13/kWh any time of the day. No one in Sunrun or with APS ever bothered to mention that once I connected with Sunrun I would lose my flat rate. Now electricity from APS costs me more than 4 times the .13/kWh rate between the hours of 3 & 8 p.m. Needless to say, those are the hours I need it most. In addition, the Sunrun rep told me that my lease fee would be a flat rate of $117/month, a presumed savings of nearly $40/month. They even bated me with the notion that I would be generating more electricity than I would be using, and APS would have to PAY me for the excess. In reality, in the winter months when my actual bills used to run less than $90/month, when I use no A.C. and very little heat, my actual APS bills have still been over $70/month ON TOP OF the $117/monthly lease. And, oh yes, they also failed to mention all the fees charged by APS in the transfer and monthly thereafter. And even though it may seem minor, they further failed to mention that the only way to achieve the $117/month fee is to set up automatic withdrawals from your checking account, or there's another $7.50 monthly charge on top of everything else. Those automatic payments, by the way, are not always convenient because I get paid biweekly and my paychecks do not always fall during the same time of the month. My actual electric bills in the summer used to be in the $300/month range (though I was able to pay $154 on the level pay plan) so I shudder to think what my new bills will be when I'm now paying a total of close to $200/month in the winter months when I use the very least electricity of the year. To top it off, it took Sunrun nearly 3 months longer to get my electricity switched over to solar than they initially indicated. And don't forget, if you go with the 20-year lease plan as I did, at the end of the process, Sunrun still owns the panels and you have nothing to show for your purchase but higher electric bills, and less convenient hours of usage. Knowing what I know now, I would never have signed the agreement. Never.

Sunrun Logo

Reply from Sunrun

Apr 18, 2019

Thank you for your communication David L. We are saddened to hear you are not satisfied with your experience. Please private message us your contact information, we want to take the opportunity to turn this experience around.

starstarstarstarstar
Bob Seidler
April 5th, 2019 Valencia, CA DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

Excellent Customer Service, especially at the beginning of the process with introductory meeting. We are very happy with the product and we have recommended Sunrun to others.

Sunrun Logo

Reply from Sunrun

Apr 17, 2019

This is such great news! We love that you're are sharing your experiences with us. We're delighted to know you were able to find the best solar solution to meet your needs. Congrats on going green, and thank you for helping us create a planet run by the sun!

Verified Customer

starstarstarstarstar_border
Conejo
April 2nd, 2019 Olivehurst, CA DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstarstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstarstarstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstar_borderstar_border

I would get a call saying solar panels were not working as well they are supposed to, someone would come out to check them but nothing was ever done to correct the problem

Sunrun Logo

Reply from Sunrun

Apr 18, 2019

Hello Conejo, thank you for sharing your feedback. We proactively monitor the system and advise you we will be coming out to service it. We apologize you did not receive any update. Please feel free to private message us your contact information and I can have a Specialist reach out to you.

Verified Customer

starstarstarstarstar
Annie M.
April 2nd, 2019 Woodland, CA DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

Quick, efficient, reasonably priced. The entire process was easy.

Sunrun Logo

Reply from Sunrun

Apr 17, 2019

We work hard to be efficient, we are happy to see that this process was easy. Thank you for helping us create a better environment and create a planet run by the sun.

Verified Customer

starstarstarstarstar
LesF
April 2nd, 2019 Shingle Springs, CA DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

Everything promised was delivered and continues to work well.

Sunrun Logo

Reply from Sunrun

Apr 17, 2019

Thank you for sharing this wonderful review Les F. Thank you for choosing us to be your solar power provider. Let's create a planet run by the sun.

Verified Customer

starstarstarstarstar
Eric & Cindy W
April 2nd, 2019 Newcastle, CA DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

Customer service, organization, industry experience and amazing project management and installation- they are amazing!

Sunrun Logo

Reply from Sunrun

Apr 17, 2019

Thank you for your review, Eric and Cindy W.! We are so pleased to hear that you are happy with the overall experience. We are happy you went solar with Sunrun, let's create a planet run by the sun.

Verified Customer

starstarstarstarstar
Fallon Vaughan and Rickey Sanchez
April 2nd, 2019 Lincoln, CA DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

It was presented to me well, the financial part is so streamlined and the installation team were professional. My questions answered on every level.

Sunrun Logo

Reply from Sunrun

Apr 17, 2019

We appreciate the shout-out for your sales rep and our team! We love hearing from our customers. We are so happy to have you as part of the Sunrun family.

Verified Customer

starstarstarstarstar
Kathryn Beitz
April 2nd, 2019 Mission Viejo, CA DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

Customer Service and Professionalism of Employees

Sunrun Logo

Reply from Sunrun

Apr 15, 2019

We are so pleased to hear that your sales representative was great throughout your solar experience! Congrats on going solar, and thanks for helping us create a planet run by the sun!

Verified Customer

starstarstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Unhappy
April 2nd, 2019 Trabuco Canyon, CA DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

They don't deliver on their promises - follow-up is horrible

Sunrun Logo

Reply from Sunrun

Apr 02, 2019

Hello, we are saddened to hear about your experience. Please private message us your contact information. We want to address your concerns.

Verified Customer

starstarstarstarstar_border
Arin
April 2nd, 2019 Irvine, CA DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar_border

The panels are working well so far and their customer service is very good. The reason I did not give them a 5 is because we have still had to pay electric bills to Edison every month. They are $20+ each month. I did not expect that based on what we were told by the sales person which was that Edison would be purchasing unused power from us (and we would have unused power for them to purchase) and we would end up getting money back from Edison. Instead, we have been paying every month except the first month since our panels were installed.

Sunrun Logo

Reply from Sunrun

Apr 02, 2019

Thank you for contacting Sunrun Customer Care. To determine how much the solar system produced, as well as how much energy you used within a given month, you will need to look at both your Sunrun invoice and utility bill. The Sunrun invoice will have the total amount produced. Your utility bill will show how much excess energy was pushed to the utility grid and stored as a credit. Your utility bill will also detail how much additional energy you needed to purchase from the utility. The sum of the total production from the system and the additional amount purchased from the utility is your total usage. Unfortunately, Sunrun does not have access to the utility company's internal billing and metering, so we cannot tell you how much energy was stored as a credit with them.

Verified Customer

starstarstarstarstar
Carl Willard
April 2nd, 2019 San Diego, CA DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

Straight forward sales, design, and install. Easily update based on our wants and needs. Price competitive. Very friendly and knowledgeable staff at every step of the way. Beau Evans and Chris Bowden were a pleasure to work with.

Sunrun Logo

Reply from Sunrun

Apr 15, 2019

Hello Carl W. Thank you for sharing this wonderful experience with us. We love to hear that our price is competitive. We appreciate the shout-out for your sales rep and our team! We love hearing from our customers that are no stranger to solar.

Verified Customer

starstarstarstar_borderstar_border
Fix your app!!!!
April 2nd, 2019 Bonsall, CA DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstarstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstar_borderstar_border

The installation was good. The app is horrible.

Sunrun Logo

Reply from Sunrun

Apr 02, 2019

Thank you for your communication, we have provided your feedback to our leadership team.