Sunnova is a different kind of power company, which is reflected in its business strategy.

The company partners with the best and brightest solar experts in the areas it serves to provide customers nationwide with low-cost, worry-free solar power while supporting the local economy.

So, when you choose Sunnova, you’re not only choosing to lower your energy costs for 25 years -- you’re also making a decision that’s good for your community and the environment. And that’s a choice everybody can live with.

The Good

  • Flexible Payment Options
  • Helpful Moving Options
  • Wide State Availability

Flexible Payment Options

Sunnova offers a number of payment options for customers to choose from.

The company's EZ Own option gives homeowners the opportunity to purchase a system without any upfront costs and pay a fixed amount each month for a 25-year term, which is substantially less than most power bills. At the end of the term, the customer will own the solar power system.

Sunnova's EZ Pay PPA is another diverse financing option that only requires customers to pay for the energy produced by the system at a flat monthly price. There is also a standard lease option available, during which the customer will essentially be renting the panels from Sunnova.

Helpful Moving Options

If a customer decides to move while under contract, Sunnova offers a number of options: the customer can transfer the service agreement over to the new owner, pre-pay the remainder of the contract and transfer it to the new owner, or move the system to a new address. This is especially beneficial for homeowners who are less permanent.

Wide State Availability

Sunnova is currently available in the following 19 states: Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Hawaii, Indiana, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Maryland, Missouri, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Oregon, Pennsylvania, and Texas.

The company's services are also available in Guam, the Virgin Islands, Puerto Rico, and Saipan, which means many consumers have the option to go solar with Sunnova.

The Bad

  • Long Contract Terms
  • No Buyout Option for Leases

Long Contract Terms

Sunnova requires a 25-year service agreement, which is higher than the average 20-year agreement employed by most other solar companies.

Additionally, Sunnova does not offer a production guarantee for PPAs, which can be detrimental if the system isn't producing as much as it should be during the length of the contract.

No Buyout Option For Leases

Sunnova's lease options do not include a buyout option for customers, which creates a disadvantage for those who may need to move while under contract.

The Bottom Line

Sunnova is available in several states and offers a variety of financing options and moving options.

However, the company's contract terms are longer than industry average. Additionally, Sunnova does not offer a buyout option for leases.

View Best Solar Companies

Why Can I Trust Bestcompany.com arrow_drop_down

User Reviews

Star Rating

3.4
starstarstarstar_halfstar_border

481 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 star
49%
4 star
9%
3 star
8%
2 star
4%
1 star
30%

Sentiment Criteria

Value for your money
starstarstarstar_halfstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstar_halfstar_border
Customer service
starstarstarstar_halfstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstar_halfstar_border
search cancel
starstarstarstarstar
Francine
July 18th, 2019 Killeen, TX

I will hopefully save money by investing in solar panels for my home. The whole process took a little longer than a month from start to finish. I contacted this company on Facebook it was the one with no money down.

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Jul 18, 2019

Good Afternoon Francine, Thank you for your positive feedback and welcome to the Sunnova Family! Thank you^MO

starstarstarstarstar
Jay
July 16th, 2019 Brogue, PA

The whole process from start to finish went smoothly. Support has been excellent.

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Jul 16, 2019

Hello Jay, thanks for leaving us such a wonderful review. We are thrilled that you loved your experience; our staff will definitely be happy to read what you wrote. We put customer experience and satisfaction as our priority, and your review reaffirms the hard work we put in every day. So thanks for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again.^MO

starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Brian Lang
July 12th, 2019 Egg Harbor City, NJ DETAILS
Value for your money
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstarstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

We are coming up on 3 years with this system. I would NOT recommend this company! We had multiple problems during the set up and installation was extremely slow. We were promised HUGE savings on our electric bill. This HAS NOT HAPPENED! We have under produced every year so far. When I called customer service about the production guarantee, was told we have to wait for 3 full years. This system does not produce any where near enough to carry us thru the winter months, November thru May, so additionally I pay an electric bill and an oil bill. This is NOT saving me any money...it is costing me more then before solar. Buyer beware! Do your research! We've been scammed.

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Jul 12, 2019

Thank you for your feedback, Brian. I apologize that this was your experience with Sunnova. This is not the typical Sunnova experience. I have reviewed your account and see that a case has been created to address your concerns. One of our Issue Resolution agents will be in contact with you today to ensure that all of your questions and concerns get addressed. ^MO

starstarstarstarstar
Josephine Santangelo
July 12th, 2019 Middletown, CT

How quickly they installed everything and how well informed I was kept on the progress

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Jul 12, 2019

Hello Josephine, thanks for leaving us such a wonderful review. We are thrilled that you loved your experience; our staff will definitely be happy to read what you wrote. We put customer experience and satisfaction as our priority, and your review reaffirms the hard work we put in every day. So thanks for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again.^MO

starstarstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Stephanie
July 10th, 2019 San Juan Capistrano, CA DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstarstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

My system has been down for a month and a half, I have called multiple times, talked to many reps and a supervisor, was promised a return call from all of them and never got a one! I'm still waiting for my work order to be scheduled, even though it was "expedited" 2 weeks ago! Highly frustrating customer service. I just want my darn panels fixed!

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Jul 11, 2019

Thank you for your feedback. Stephanie, I apologize that this was your experience with Sunnova. This is not the typical Sunnova experience. I have reviewed your account and see that a case has been created to address your concerns. One of our Issue Resolution agents will be in contact with you today to ensure that all of your questions and concerns get addressed. ^MO

starstarstarstarstar
Leo
July 9th, 2019 Riverton, NJ

It really helps a lot for our electricity reduction cost and hopefully everything will be good to go. Thank you so much for this kind of technology and your company will help a lot of people. God bless all of us.

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Jul 09, 2019

Good Afternoon Leo, Thank you for your positive feedback and Welcome to the Sunnova Family! ^MP

starstarstarstarstar
Michael Troiano
July 9th, 2019 Absecon, NJ DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar_border
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

Easy effordable convenient honest reliable

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Jul 10, 2019

Good Afternoon Michael Troiano , Thank you for your positive feedback and Welcome to the Sunnova Family! Thank you^OA

starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Kiran
July 8th, 2019 Morganville, NJ DETAILS
Value for your money
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

I am a customer for a year. I called multiple times about my production. 18 panels were tripped but they did not even care about my concerns. I called 4 weeks in a row. Nobody ever tried to call back. I called the installer momentum solar who blamed sunova for not giving them a wok order. I would not trust sunova representatives. They were supposed to get back to me but it’s been 2 months , I did not recieve an update or a call. I would not trust their contract at all.

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Jul 08, 2019

Good Afternoon Kiran, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. If you could please send us a private message with your System ID/Phone number where we can reach you? One of our agents will reach out to you within the next 2-3 business hours. Thank you^MP

starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Jason
July 5th, 2019 Murrieta, CA DETAILS
Value for your money
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

Horrible company! Avoid Sunnova, there are much better options. I was charged their $300 UCC fee for a total of $600 during a refinance of my home. When I called to correct their mistake I was told they would not be correcting the problem. When I asked how to file a formal complaint, the rep told me she would pass along my sentiments. I said that wasn't good enough I'd like her supervisor's contact information and was denied. I asked to speak with any other representative and was denied. These crooks don't belong in the industry, please don't be fooled the way we were.

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Jul 05, 2019

Hello Jason . We would love to assist you with your concerns. Please send a Private message to [email protected] So we can look into this right away. Thank You. ^OA

starstarstarstarstar
Dj Jose
July 3rd, 2019

Is a great company to deal with easy to make a deal go SUNNOVA

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Jul 03, 2019

Good Afternoon Dj Jose, Thank you for your positive feedback and Welcome to the Sunnova Family! . ^MP

starstarstarstar_borderstar_border
Dolores Earnest
July 1st, 2019 Ephrata, PA

I signed up for solar panels on December. I’ve had nothing but bad feelings about this since. We thought the panels has been turned on weeks ago, now I find out they were just turned on on Saturday. Not only that but only 18 were working when they were turned on. I’m still wAiting for someone to call me or come to the house to set up the program on my computer so I can keep track of how much power we’re making and using. I think it’s generous to give you a 3.

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Jul 01, 2019

Hello Dolores Earnest, we are here to help. Can you please send us a private message with your system ID and a phone number where we can reach you? We'll look into this right away. Thank You. ^OA

starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Cat
July 1st, 2019 Hackensack, NJ DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstarstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstarstarstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstarstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

Try to sell my house took forever for paperwork for transfer of lease

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Jul 01, 2019

Hello Cat , We are very sorry to hear about your experience with your Transfer experience. We'll escalate your note to the appropriate department. Can you send us a private message with your system ID and a phone number where we can reach you? ^OA

starstarstarstarstar
Patrick Benoit
June 28th, 2019 Bridgeport, CT

She is a wonderful person always ready to help.

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Jun 28, 2019

Thank you for sharing your story Patrick Benoit ! We are thrilled you made the decision to go solar and join un on our mission to provide energy independence!

starstarstarstarstar
Marc Frigon
June 28th, 2019 Waterbury, CT

Trinity Solar in CT along with the financing from Sunnova is a great combination! I've heard of many problems with going solar but everything went fine with me. Anytime I had questions they were there to answer! Can't wait to start using the app..

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Jun 28, 2019

Good Afternoon Marc, Thank you for your feedback and Welcome to the Sunnova Family! ^MP

starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Brianna Stasio
June 28th, 2019 Saugus, MA DETAILS
Value for your money
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

Our system has been down for almost a month and it seems like they could care less to get someone out to fix it. We used to be be so happy with Sunnova until now and we are really disappointed. We are constantly told “ well we guarantee you a certain amount of production every year and you won’t get a credit with your system down until you pass that amount”. Well now my national grid meter is rolling like crazy and I’m going to be stuck with a bill from both power companies. Also for a company that is all about clean energy wouldn’t you want a system to produce as much clean energy as possible and not be offline for an extended period of time regardless of how much production you promised?

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Jun 28, 2019

Hello Brianna Stasio , We are very sorry to hear about your experience with your Solar System. We'll escalate your note to the appropriate department. Can you send us a private message with your system ID and a phone number where we can reach you? ^OA

starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Linda Verrecchia
June 27th, 2019 Cape May, NJ DETAILS
Value for your money
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

My system was installed in August but did not go on line until December four years ago. My home is less than 700 sqf but the system was too small. My electric bills were higher than ever and when I called to complain they said they could install additional panels but it would be considered a second system and I would have to pay another monthly leasing fee. On top of high electric bills the leasing fee increases every year! I am paying $300 to the electric company and a leasing fee on top of that!! My advice would be to buy your solar system outright (it will pay for itself) or lease from a company that has a pay off option and/or a shorter term lease!

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Jun 27, 2019

Thank you for your feedback Linda Verrecchia. We are sorry to hear that this was your experience with Sunnova. This is not the typical Sunnova experience, our drive is to make solar hassle-free by being attentive when explaining the product to our customers. Can you send us a private message with your system ID and a phone number where we can reach you? ^OA

starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Anthony Hamboyan
June 27th, 2019 Burlington, MA DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar_border
Customer service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstarstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

Not a happy customer at all. My spouse and I have literally spent ( me) a half an hour on the phone just trying to talk to anyone to no avail. My wife called today and was on hold for approximately one hour again could not talk to anyone. Here’s the sad part, we need to change the payment arrangements in your favor so you get paid correctly, yet we cannot reach anyone. We are not happy at all. Payment will cease shortly unless you folks initiate a call immediately.

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Jun 27, 2019

Hello Anthony Hamboyan , We are very sorry to hear about your experience with your Customer Service issue. We'll escalate your note to the appropriate department. Can you send us a private message with your system ID and a phone number where we can reach you? ^OA

starstarstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Waltg
June 27th, 2019 Stockton, CA DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstarstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

For the past week or so now I’ve been trying to get in contact with them about my bill. Seems like when I call it says there busy and I could wait on the phone or press 1 for someone to call me back. I’ve done both and still no response. So my question is I get an email stating I’m enrolled in the auto pay and every month on such n such date it’s going to be taken out my bank account. It still hasn’t been taken out. Then like I stated I call customer service and there’s nobody there to answer my call. My solar came with the house when I bought it. Had I known I was going to be dealing with B.S I wouldn’t had agreed to it 😡😡.

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Jun 27, 2019

Hello Waltg , We are very sorry to hear about your experience with your Customer Service issue. We'll escalate your note to the appropriate department. Can you send us a private message with your system ID and a phone number where we can reach you? ^OA

starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Guillermo Ramirez
June 27th, 2019 Riverside, CA DETAILS
Value for your money
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

Ive had a few leaks after the panels were put on. I called sunnova and they refuse to help me out even when the leaks are right under my pabels. .....

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Jun 27, 2019

Hello Guillermo Ramirez, we are here to help. Can you please send us a private message with your system ID and a phone number where we can reach you? We'll look into this right away. Thank You. ^OA

starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
David
June 27th, 2019 El Paso, TX

Not helpful at all. Very deceiving company and vendors. No real savings going solar. They get their money, vendors get their money and you are stuck in a 20+ contract with no savings as they promised

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Jun 27, 2019

Thank you for your feedback David. We are sorry to hear that this was your experience with Sunnova. This is not the typical Sunnova experience, our drive is to make solar hassle-free by being attentive when explaining the product to our customers.. Can you send us a private message with your system ID and a phone number where we can reach you? ^OA

starstarstarstarstar
Mike
June 25th, 2019 West Hartford, CT

Very good communication. If you call and leave a message they call you back within an appropriate period of time. Overall the process was painless on our end because of their customer support.

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Jun 25, 2019

Thank you for sharing your story Mike! We are thrilled you made the decision to go solar and join un on our mission to provide energy independence! ^OA

starstarstarstarstar
Lulu Rockett
June 25th, 2019 Fall River, MA

Everyone who works for Sunnova is ready, willing, and able to help with any question and concern I may have had along the way. From the first agent to the call center to the technicians.

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Jun 25, 2019

Thank you for sharing your story Lulu Rockett ! We are thrilled you made the decision to go solar and join un on our mission to provide energy independence!

starstarstarstarstar
Kyle L.
June 25th, 2019 Sugar Land, TX

Great, ran into some snags along the way but very punctual with communication and always had the answer to keep it moving. System is up and running and working great, couldn't be happier! Thank you.

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Jun 25, 2019

Hello Kyle L, we work hard to make the switch to solar hassle-free. We are so happy to hear your experience reflected what we strive for. Thanks, you for your positive feedback and welcome to the Sunnova Family!

starstarstarstarstar_border
Thomas Papperman
June 25th, 2019 Woodbine, NJ

Sunnova was very good about getting the paperwork done and getting the system installed. Times of up to 2 weeks internally for paperwork to be generated and or reviewed before going to the next department added weeks to the process and I do not feel that Sunnova was upfront with me about that . Therefore my expectations were that my solar would have been up and running much sooner.

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Jun 25, 2019

Thank you for sharing your story Thomas Papperman ! We are thrilled you made the decision to go solar and join us on our mission to provide energy independence!

starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Smith
June 21st, 2019 Albuquerque, NM DETAILS
Value for your money
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

Run, don't walk away from this company! They don't tell you how they are going to install your panels in a way that prevents you from doing any normal maintenance on your roof and how they are going to gouge you when you need your panels moved. $6000 to move panels on a house that's less than 1100 sq. ft. That erases all your savings and far more! Customer service is the WORST! Never call back. Horrible!

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Jun 21, 2019

Hello Smith, we are here to help. Can you please send us a private message with your system ID and a phone number where we can reach you? We'll look into this right away. Thank You. ^OA

starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
LP
June 21st, 2019 Montgomery Village, MD DETAILS
Value for your money
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

1. Got connected May 1, 2019. So far, underwhelming production rates even in the high summer season - we are not even making the promised yearly average. "Winter is coming " and we will produce much less and consume more, which is looking really bad and expensive. The "guaranteed" rates are quite low, 15% below what was calculated by contract. It's like the casino always wins - all the deficits will be on the customer's expense. I wonder if anyone ever gets 15% more than it was promised?? 2. Sunnova has problems with website that does not show correct production for the whole month (June). I've been told that the problem involves "select" accounts, obviously, our account is one of them. No information on their website that something is wrong and they are working on it. So, the production is mediocre and now we don't even know exactly how much was produced. SolarEdge does not show any data for the last several days either because it is based on Sunnova data. The company says - "we are working on it, will fix the problem within 2 weeks!!". They don't plan to provide any compensation for any inconvenience it is causing to the affected accounts. 3. The contract is actually worse than timeshare - you have to sign up for a deal for 25 years without knowing much about it and without any possibility to modify or get out of it. They pressure you to sign everything immediately, which does not give a lot of time to read through and understand this "guaranteed" production that is also decreasing each year. So, the production need was underestimated- minus 15% of uncompensated margin, minus 0.5% decreased production each year. In year 1 - 15%, in year 10 - 20% and year 25 - 25% of underproduction from the initial estimated contract amount will not be compensated, with the same monthly payments. It is OK if it works but in case of any problems, poor performance and quality of service - the customer is screwed!! This is exactly the timeshare sales methods and should be investigated as such by consumer protection agencies.

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Jun 21, 2019

Thank you for your feedback Christine M. We are sorry to hear that this was your experience with Sunnova. This is not the typical Sunnova experience, our drive is to make solar hassle-free by being attentive when explaining the product to our customers.. Can you send us a private message with your system ID and a phone number where we can reach you? ^OA

history
starstarstarstarstar
Danny
June 21st, 2019 Bakersfield, CA

Great company with strong leadership! There programs make a lot of sense vs other solar companies.

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Jun 21, 2019

Hello Danny, thanks for leaving us such a wonderful review. We are thrilled that you loved your experience; our staff will definitely be happy to read what you wrote. We put customer experience and satisfaction as our priority, and your review reaffirms the hard work we put in every day. So thanks for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again.^OA

starstarstarstar_borderstar_border
Debbie Boyd
June 21st, 2019 Penns Grove, NJ DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstarstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

Very frustrating. They will answer questions that you can think to ask, but they are not up front with all the info you need. They charge too big of a fee to process your payments when you dont pay with their preferred automatic payment system. And they did try to take an automated paymdnt from my bank account even after that payment option was stopped. They dont help with getting your solar system up and going to your own benefit, (took 6+ months to finally get the work done for the net meter, in that time your utility company is reaping all the benefits of the solar power that you are collecting). I was told that our system would cover 110% of our average monthly bill, which it might, but not sure yet as we have only been collecting power for 10 months so far, but the system its self is costing me 90% of what that utility budget would be. Way too much hassle overall to only have a savings of 10%. If their business partner is Trinity Solar, quickly RUN THE OTHER WAY! I would never do business with either company ever again, nor would i recommend either company, even if they were to put the solar up for free AND pay me to use it. I must say that David is one of their more patient, knowledgable and understanding employees.

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Jun 21, 2019

Thank you for your feedback Christine M. We are sorry to hear that this was your experience with Sunnova. This is not the typical Sunnova experience, our drive is to make solar hassle-free by being attentive when explaining the product to our customers. Can you please send me a private message with your system ID and a phone number where we can reach you? One of our specialist will contact you soon to help get this issue resolved. ^OA

starstarstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Lenhoyt
June 21st, 2019 Methuen, MA DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar_border
Customer service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

We purchased our home in August 2017 and assumed the Sunnova lease with 23 years remaining. We’ve been satisfied with our system production, which generated enough credit with National Grid to carry us through last winter in the northeast with no electric bill and reasonable lease payments. But our system stopped working around April first. I didn’t realize it until early June because we were drawing down credits and I wasn’t paying attention. I called Sunnova and was told they knew I had a problem and there has been a ticket open since April 17th!! I’ve since emailed them twice and got a single response saying a technician will be contacting me. They’ve known I’ve been down and have had a job ticket open for two months and no one has contacted me! Two stars for system performance, but very disappointed in customer service.

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Jun 21, 2019

Hello Lenhoyt, thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are sorry you had to go through this ordeal. We do appreciate your patience. We were able to locate your account, one of our agents will contact you soon to help get this issue resolved. Thank you ^MO

starstarstarstarstar
alba e acuna
June 20th, 2019

happy that everything came as expected miss kim is very helpful

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Jun 21, 2019

Good morning Alba, Thank you for your positive feedback and Welcome to the Sunnova Family!. ^MP

starstarstarstarstar_border
Janet Paterson
June 20th, 2019 Gilroy, CA

All of my experiences with Sunnova representatives was great. The installers were non intrustive and always friendly and professional. I am not giving it a 5 star rating as I do not know yet if I will be happy with the solar experience as far as working in my house. I am glad to be a problem solver in choosing solar rather than a problem maker in continuing to use only fossil fuels.

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Jun 20, 2019

Thank you Janet Paterson ! We aim to provide the best customer experience, and we are constantly working to make our installation process as hassle free as possible. Welcome to Sunnova Family!^OA

starstarstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
LaLory
June 18th, 2019 West Covina, CA

The sales agent was wonderful and explained the entire process to me various times. He was also available to take may calls at any time and was good about returning my calls. When the installation began...I could not get any responses and Sunnova and the process is still ongoing even though I have already received Permission to Operate from my electrical company. On a side note, the technician that came out to install our system was wonderful & informative as well. For a company that doesn't seem to be able to get things done in a timely manner, they certainly do hire great representatives!

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Jun 18, 2019

Hello Lalory, I apologize that this was your experience with Sunnova. Thank you for your feedback. Our aim is to provide a customer experience that meets your expectations. We are sorry to hear that this was not the case. Thank you!^MO

starstarstarstarstar_border
Emmanuel Rosado
June 18th, 2019 DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar_border
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

Sunnova installed my solar system in 2015, it has operated well and they repaired the hurricane damage in December 2017 after hurricane Maria. Because of the lack of a reliable grid I have added a battery backup pack which should be installed in the next 30-60 days.

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Jun 18, 2019

Hello Emmanuel, thanks for leaving us such a wonderful review. We are thrilled that you loved your experience; our staff will definitely be happy to read what you wrote. We put customer experience and satisfaction as our priority, and your review reaffirms the hard work we put in every day. So thanks for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again.^MO

starstarstarstarstar_border
Debbie Clark
June 12th, 2019 Mifflintown, PA

Overall it was a good experience but someone didn’t submit the correct paperwork for the final inspection and that pushed back my start date of completion.

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Jun 12, 2019

Hello Debbie, we are excited to welcome you to the Sunnova Family! We appreciate your feedback. Thank you!^MO

starstarstarstar_borderstar_border
Steven P.
June 12th, 2019 Deer Park, NY

Matt knew my odd circumstances and spent time with me anyway

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Jun 13, 2019

Hello Steven P, Thank you for your positive feedback and Welcome to the Sunnova Family! ^MP

starstarstarstarstar
Sandy G
June 12th, 2019 Enfield, CT DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

Pleasant experience. Hold time was minimal. Questions answered quickly.

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Jun 12, 2019

Hello Sandy, thanks for leaving us such a wonderful review. We are thrilled that you loved your experience; our staff will definitely be happy to read what you wrote. We put customer experience and satisfaction as our priority, and your review reaffirms the hard work we put in every day. So thanks for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again.^MO

starstarstarstar_borderstar_border
Tamela Carmouche
June 3rd, 2019 San Jacinto, CA

The biggest problem I've have with dealing with the company was a lack of communication. Through this whole process, I had to continuously call them to get updates and the status of my installations. They need extensive training in customer service.

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Jun 04, 2019

Hello Tamela Carmouche, thanks for bringing this to our attention. Can you please send us a private message with your system ID and a phone number where we can reach you? Someone will reach out to on the next business day. ^MP

starstarstarstarstar
DShow
June 3rd, 2019 Richmond, CA DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

Sunnova provides a great service and product. I had some questions they were able to help and assist in a timely and professional manner. Best of all I am saving money on by energy bills and helping the planet.

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Jun 04, 2019

Hello Dshow, we work hard to make the switch to solar hassle-free. We are so happy to hear your experience reflected what we strive for. Thank you for your positive feedback and welcome to the Sunnova Family! ^MP

starstarstarstar_borderstar_border
Laura carranza
May 29th, 2019 Las Vegas, NV DETAILS
Value for your money
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar_border
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar_border

My power bill are more higher then use to !

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

May 29, 2019

Hello Laura Carranza, we are here to help. Can you please send us a private message or email with your system ID and phone number where we can reach you? We'll look into this right away. Thank you^MP

starstarstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Jessi Kennedy
May 24th, 2019 Livermore, CA DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar_border
Customer service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstar_borderstar_border

Install of the system from V3/Sunnova went fast and easy. However, once I got the go-ahead from PG&E to operate, it worked for a day, then I guess it stopped. I had no idea and it took Sunnova 4 weeks to contact V3. Customer service at Sunnova was completely lacking and all I got was that the development team was fixing bugs with the app. I got it working again, but a day later it stopped transmitting data, but still generating power. Billing.. I have no idea what is going on. As of now, if I were to get solar panels again, I'd go elsewhere. The only reason I'm giving 2 stars instead of 1 is the install and set-up was good.

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

May 24, 2019

Hello Jessi Kennedy, thanks for bringing this to our attention. We are sorry to hear this was your experience with Sunnova. This is not a typical Sunnova Experience, we do appreciate your patience and one of our Sunnova agents will contact you soon to get this issue resolved. Thank you^MP

starstarstarstarstar
Nancy Rupert
May 24th, 2019 Stonington, CT

Professional, courteous, knowledgeable, respectful and fast. Enjoyable experience.

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

May 24, 2019

Hello Nancy Rupert we are excited to welcome you to the Sunnova Family! We work hard to make the switch to solar hassle-free, and we are so happy to hear your experience reflected what we strive for. We appreciate the positive feedback. Thank you^MP

starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Douglas Thomsen
May 24th, 2019 Shingle Springs, CA DETAILS
Value for your money
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

I wish it were possible to give less than a star rating. We have had Sunnova Solar for 5 years and have had nothing but trouble. Not only does the system under perform but the customer service is appalling. My honest opinion is that the company from the top down is only concerned about money and each customer is seen as an inconvenience. In trying to accomplish a very easy task, I have spent no less than 2 hours on hold today.

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

May 24, 2019

Thank you for reaching out Douglas Thomsen. We are very sorry to hear about you had to go through this ordeal. We do appreciate your patience and one of our agents will contact you soon to help get this issue resolve. Thank you^MP

starstarstarstarstar
Ons gezin
May 24th, 2019 Valley Stream, NY DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

From the first meeting on we have been pleased with Sunnova. The representative was knowledgeable. I had done my homework and had a list with 30 questions (with answers ) and he knew all the answers. They took care of the permit, all went smooth. The installation went smooth. We needed a new fuse box and they took care of that. Follow up was great. I called last Sunday with a question and they took promptly care of it.

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

May 24, 2019

Thank you Ons Gezin! We aim to provide the best customer experience, and we are constantly working to make our installation process as hassle free as possible. Welcome to Sunnova Family!^MP

starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
walter alameda
May 24th, 2019 DETAILS
Value for your money
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

Poor service ..the sistema not produce the estimaré ...the ppa is adsurde

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

May 24, 2019

Good Afternoon Walter, Upon reviewing your account I do see we have tried to address your concerns on several occasions and your system is producing as expected. If you have any questions or concerns please feel free to reach out to us at 1-855-277-6379 Thank you^MP

history
starstarstarstarstar_border
Holly
May 22nd, 2019 Las Vegas, NV DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar_border
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

Overall great service. We are still having a problem with one of the boxes.

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

May 22, 2019

Good Afternoon Holly, Thank you for reaching out, Our goal is to provide an exceptional customer service experience we value your feedback and will use it to improve. Please feel free to send me a private message or an email to [email protected] with your contact information and we would have our specialist reach out to you shortly. Thank you^MP

starstarstarstarstar
Gina wrogg
May 17th, 2019 Oakville, CT

The staff at Sunnova were professional at all times. I got the pleasure to talk to a few of the staff. They answered all my questions. Great job.

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

May 17, 2019

Hello Gina, thank you for being a valued customer. Our goal is to provide world class customer service, and your feedback is priceless in our pursuit of customer satisfaction. Welcome to the Sunnova Family! ^MO

starstarstarstarstar
John Kinworthy
May 17th, 2019 Santa Rosa, CA

Very knowledgeable sales professional, Clem neat very efficient installers (I’m a general contractor) very important to me, no $ out of my pocket for entire installation!!!!! Meter now runs backwards!!!!

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

May 17, 2019

Hello John, thank you for being a valued customer. Your feedback is priceless in our pursuit of customer satisfaction. Welcome to the Sunnova Family! ^MO

starstarstarstarstar
Claudia Ogilvie
May 14th, 2019 Pittsfield, MA

The nicest group of people at every step of this process.

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

May 14, 2019

Hello Claudia, we value your positive review. Welcome to the Sunnova Family! ^KM

starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Marie Socci
May 13th, 2019 Linden, NJ DETAILS
Value for your money
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

this has been a nightmare!!!! We were promised huge savings, and an easy answer for resolution in the event we were to sell our home. We were told that we could have the buyers assume the lease, move the system to our new home, or have the panels removed and returned to Sunnova at no cost to us. Instead the buyers cannot see the savings, nor can I as I have contacted PSEG to determine what my monthly electric bill would be and low and behold it would be less than the solar bill!! I was told I could not move the system to my new home because it is in a different utility zone .(JCPL . who we have called and they said they deal with all solar companies.) And finally Sunnova will not remove the panels and insist I signed the agreement knowing this. Contrary to what the salesperson told us. So if I want to sell my home they tell me I have to pay off the remaining lease and then give the panels back!!! Thats $79,000 for nothing. On top of that I am generating more power than I am using and not getting financial compensation. i am at my wits end . If I could give zero stars I would.. I have called repeatedly to speak to a supervisor and have yet to hear from one. This is the biggest scam out there

starstarstarstarstar_border
Eliezer
May 10th, 2019 Bay Shore, NY DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

The agent I last spoke with confirming the transfer was polite and concise. But my overall experience with Sunnova as a whole is average. I called on more than one occasion and never received a call back, even after leaving voice messages.

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

May 10, 2019

Thank you for your feedback Eliezer . We are sorry to hear that this was your experience with Sunnova. This is not the typical Sunnova experience, our drive is to make solar hassle-free by being attentive when explaining the product to our customers.. Can you please send me your system ID and a phone number where we can reach you? We will look into this right away. Thank You. ^OA