Solar Energy World Logo

Solar Energy World

check_circleVerified

star star star star star_half
626 User Reviews

7.4

Overall Score

error This company may not service all states.
See states serviced

Solar Energy World has performed thousands of custom solar installations since opening its doors in 2009 and is one of the fastest growing, locally owned and operated solar companies on the east coast. Currently, the company serves Maryland, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Virginia, Florida, and the DC metro area.

Committed to protecting the environment, reducing carbon dioxide emissions, and promoting clean, renewable energy, Solar Energy World provides sustainable energy solutions for homeowners that include high quality products guaranteed to operate efficiently and remain safe for the environment over their entire lifetime.

The clean energy company takes pride in its turnkey approach to solar power and handles every step of the process from planning to installation.

thumb_up

The Good

  • Straightforward Solar Process
  • Variety of Payment Options
  • High Quality Solar Power Equipment
  • Remote System Monitoring
  • Comprehensive Warranty
  • Paperwork Assistance
  • Experienced In-House Installers
  • Referral Program

Straightforward Solar Process

Solar Energy World strives to make the solar panel installation process as smooth and simple as possible for its customers:

  • Energy audit — first, a Solar Energy World representative will provide a free solar analysis and share information about incentives, payment options, and more.
  • Site survey — once the customer has received an analysis and decided to move forward, a certified Solar Energy World technician will visit the home to confirm measurements and energy savings, as well as ensure that the appropriate permits have been acquired.
  • Permitting and design — then, Solar Energy World will complete any necessary paperwork.
  • Solar installation — after that, the company will start on the installation, which is usually completed within two to three days.
  • Final inspection and activation — once the system is installed, Solar Energy World will set up the final inspection with the appropriate municipality or utility company and ensure the customer's system is properly connected to the grid.

Variety of Payment Options

Solar Energy World currently offers three different payment options: outright purchase, loan, and PPA.

Customers who choose to pay for their system in full or take advantage of Solar Energy World's financing will have the opportunity to cash in on Solar Renewable Energy Credits (SRECs) and other federal and state incentives. The average return-on-investment for customers who purchase their systems is typically around 125 percent within 5 to 7 years. In 20 years, homeowners who purchase solar can expect to see a 500 percent ROI.

Customers who choose to go the PPA route can have a system installed on their roof for $0 down. Solar PPA customers will simply pay for the energy being produced by the panels on their roof at a rate of at least 20 percent less than their current monthly electric bill.

High Quality Solar Power Equipment

Solar Energy World has stated that it only installs high-efficiency, best-in-class solar PV panels engineered in Germany, China, and the United States. The company mostly uses solar cells from Silfab, LONGi Solaris, Hanwha Q CELLS, and REC Solar, with inverters from SolarEdge, Enphase, and Fronius.

Both ground mount and rooftop solar systems are available, and each system is custom designed by Solar Energy World's in-house engineers to fit the customer's unique energy needs.

Remote System Monitoring

Solar Energy World remotely monitors every solar system it installs to ensure that the systems are performing correctly. If there is ever a problem with a customer's system, the company will alert them and schedule a service to get things worked out.

In addition to remote monitoring service, Solar Energy World provides each customer with access to monitoring technology so they can check in on their system production and electricity consumption themselves. Customers can access the platform from anywhere in the world using a web-enabled device such as a smartphone, tablet, or computer and see how much power their system is generating in real-time, as well as how much electricity the system has produced over its life.

Comprehensive Warranty

Solar Energy World provides a comprehensive warranty on the installation of all the solar equipment it installs. The length of the installation warranty is dependent upon the warranty of the equipment manufacturer and goes up to 25 years.

Panel and inverter manufacturers provide a warranty on the performance of the solar panels and inverters.

Paperwork Assistance

Solar Energy World takes care of all paperwork and permits for its customers to make sure that the process is hassle-free and the customer receives all tax credits, rebates, and grants that they are entitled to.

Experienced In-House Installers

Solar Energy World does not outsource any of its installations or use subcontractors; instead, all of the company's installers work directly for and are accountable to Solar Energy World to ensure that customers receive superior service. The company's solar installers and crew leaders have had years of prior experience and received intensive solar panel installation training.

Further, during the solar panel installation process, crews are supervised by a Solar Energy World NABCEP-certified solar designer and installer, as well as a Solar Energy World licensed master electrician.

Referral Program

Solar Energy World offers a referral program that even non-customers can participate in. Those who are customers of Solar Energy World can receive $500 for each referral who installs a solar system that is 6 kW or larger and $300 for each referral who installs a 4 kW to 5 kW system.

Non-customers will receive $250 for each referral who installs a solar system that is 6 kW or larger and $150 for each referral who installs a 4 kW to 5 kW system. There is no cap on referrals, so an individual may refer as many people as they wish.

Interested in doing business with Solar Energy World? Click here for more information.

thumb_down

The Bad

  • Limited Availability

Limited Availability

Solar Energy World only offers its services in Maryland, New Jersey, Washington D.C., Florida, Pennsylvania, and Virginia. So if you live elsewhere, you won't be able to do business with Solar Energy World. While being a local provider has its advantages, it also greatly reduces the number of consumers who have access to the company's services.

gavel

The Bottom Line

Solar Energy World has over a decade of experience in the solar industry and strives to make the installation process as smooth as possible for its customers. The renewable energy company offers a number of attractive features, including multiple payment options, high quality equipment, an in-house team of certified installers, system monitoring, a comprehensive warranty, and a referral program. Solar Energy World even offers paperwork assistance, which makes the customer experience simple and hassle-free. Solar Energy World is recommended to consumers who live within its service area.

Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

We'll Introduce You!

Call our recommended rep over at Solar Energy World below.

1-(877) 648-5272

Star Rating

4.5

star star star star star_half

626 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

61%

4 grade

30%

3 grade

5%

2 grade

3%

1 grade

2%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star star star_border

Quality

star star star star star_border

Service

star star star star star_border

Trustworthiness

star star star star star_half
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Ina Miller Severn, MD

It was an easy and quick installation, and their team was friendly and did a great job. Solar Energy World is a company that provides a long term solution that lets us to decrease our cost. However, there are no real benefits in myself or my family or my paycheck, but that we''ve got peace of mind that they''re producing clean green energy to offset the oil company. The suggestions that I would have is to do the cost comparison between what you are currently paying and what are you going to pay in a monthly fee. Also, the amount of energy that you are going to use during a specific time of the year and the long term cost of sticking with your current energy provider.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Robert Randolph Laurel, MD

Our project management team was okay but there were issues with the roof. Since I couldn't go up, one of my neighbors who was putting on a new roof did us the favor of taking pictures of our roof. There were holes in the places where the installers had considered installing the panels. After they changed their position, they left the old holes there. It was a concern because there were also some damaged shingles and we thought water would filter through the holes. Apparently someone came to fix that but I haven't been told anything and since I can't access the roof I don't know what it looks like. Other than that I haven't really seen the benefits from the panels yet. My utility bill is still higher than the summer before when I had no panels. I wish they had advised me better about the position of the panels because I think the trees behind my house block the sun. They told me to wait a bit longer since the savings spread over the whole year but I'm just not happy with the savings so far.

3 years ago

Solar Energy World Logo

Reply from Solar Energy World

We apologize that your experience was not optimum and assure you this is not typical of the customer feedback we usually receive. Please let us know how we can resolve any issues you may have.

Mar. 19th, 2019

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Matt

I wanted to save money on my electric bill, and I'm not entirely happy with the system they got me. The salesman said I'd get an extra hundred dollars a month by switching to solar, and that was true for the first month. After the following months, I was getting only an extra of 3-4 dollars a month. The installation process was fine, but the overall savings of the solar panels isn't worth it to me.

2 years ago

Solar Energy World Logo

Reply from Solar Energy World

We apologize that your experience was not optimum and assure you this is not typical of the customer feedback we usually receive. Please let us know how we can resolve any issues you may have.

Mar. 19th, 2019

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Mike Ellicott City, MD

I would have rated them a 10 but apparently the installation has problems. Everything was great but apparently the system is underproducing electricity. Since I am paying an agreed upon fee based on an expectation of solar, I think I may end up paying more for solar than I did for the utility company's power. A technician won't be out for another month to figure out what's going on so I am disappointed to say the least!

3 years ago

Solar Energy World Logo

Reply from Solar Energy World

We apologize that your experience was not optimum and assure you this is not typical of the customer feedback we usually receive. Please let us know how we can resolve any issues you may have.

Mar. 19th, 2019

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Anonymous Bethesda, MD

We chose them through a co-operative we joined and they already had Solar Energy World as their provider. The installation process was frustrating; there was a lot of problems and they had to come several times to fix it. I am not sure if that everyone who was involved had the skills that they needed to actually do the right job. As of now, we''ve been very happy, we have no electricity bills so we were able to cover more than we anticipated.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

N Aist Mechanicsville, MD

I didn't know anything about solar, but they got all my questions answered and they seemed to know what they were talking about. The installation went very well. I think I had a good discount somewhere on my electric bill. Other than that, I think they should get their act together organization-wise and do a little better at that, but I know it's a new project too.

3 years ago

Solar Energy World Logo

Reply from Solar Energy World

Thanks for the feedback.

Mar. 19th, 2019

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Kirk Weider Silver Spring, MD

For the most part it was pretty good. We did have some difficulties at a couple of stages in the process, mainly in the interaction with the county and some issues with the permit. Solar Energy World sorted it out and we got it all resolved. The installation process was quick and efficient. We have seen that our electric bill is going down and we are more aware of the power that we are using.

3 years ago

Solar Energy World Logo

Reply from Solar Energy World

Thank you for the valuable feedback.

Mar. 19th, 2019

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Kedem Kaminsky Centreville, MD

It was not very good to deal with their project management team. They could've been better. I think some very small little things mean a lot. They do not place a guard against the bottom of the panels, and they also need to evaluate where they put the panels, and how many panels the house needs. Besides all of that, I do have to say that my bill has decreased, and that's fascinating.

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Average

They damaged a item that is not replaceable in my attic during the install. They paid me for the damaged items, but it took a while took get it. My roof had a bad leak after the install as well, but they were fast to come out and fix that.

2 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

John

Unfortunately, I've had an open service ticket and zero response so far with the company. The installation went well, however it was a bit drawn out longer than necessary. I'm not getting the energy production I was promised, and I'm not getting any response from the company for help.

2 years ago

Solar Energy World Logo

Reply from Solar Energy World

We apologize that your experience was not optimum and assure you this is not typical of the customer feedback we usually receive. Please let us know how we can resolve any issues you may have.

Mar. 19th, 2019

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Susan

Installation went alright, they came and did a lot of drilling and banging. It took about two days. I think their equipment is good, but my control panel went bad shortly after they put it on, and they took quite a while to get a new control panel.

2 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Anonymous Pasadena, MD

Their customer service department is hard to reach. They aren't quick about dealing with problems. They wanted to spread the installation out over three days, but since installation my air conditioning has been struggling. I still haven't gotten that problem resolved with them yet. I find them to be a disappointing and unimpressive company.

2 years ago

Solar Energy World Logo

Reply from Solar Energy World

Thank you for the kind review!

Mar. 19th, 2019

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Anonymous

They did a great job, it was really neat. But, the only thing is that I don't know if the panels generate enough electricity right now. I think they need to assess the usage of the customer, so they put adequate panels on the home to generate enough electricity.

2 years ago

Solar Energy World Logo

Reply from Solar Energy World

We appreciate the feedback.

Mar. 19th, 2019

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Esther Bonner Aberdeen, MD

I wasn't completely clear about everything in the beginning but I figured it out. The installation was quick, easy, and professionally done. We have smaller electric bills, however I still have a few for the distributor. It was kind of an easy job.

3 years ago

Solar Energy World Logo

Reply from Solar Energy World

Thank you for the valuable feedback.

Mar. 19th, 2019

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

George Seweryniak Frederick, MD

I decided to go with Solar Energy World because, at that time, they were the only ones that offered the one year lease. Although the installation process was good, their management team was poor. They need to follow up on items as promised.

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Marty Beam

The deals and pricing offered by the company is what led me to purchase their product. Installation didn't go very well, and I had them come back twice to fix things they messed up. The equipment seems fine.

2 years ago

Solar Energy World Logo

Reply from Solar Energy World

We appreciate the feedback.

Mar. 19th, 2019

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Celestine Rupert Owings Mills, MD

I signed up since they explained their product well and it looked like they could help me lower my bills. They have been very professional. I haven't had it long enough to see any benefits though.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Dont know Chevy Chase, MD

On balance they are a good company that I would recommend. But, a little remiss in keeping customers informed. Further, it has been 10 pos since my system was running and I have still not received my MD subsidy payment

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Anonymous

The salesman gave a good presentation. The installation was not what I expected, the only thing that saved it was when I had an issue they responded quickly.

2 years ago

Solar Energy World Logo

Reply from Solar Energy World

We appreciate your feedback.

Mar. 19th, 2019

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Ron

Sometimes it's hard to get a hold with customer support at Solar Energy World. The installation process was fine, and I think the quality of the panels and system are good.

2 years ago

Solar Energy World Logo

Reply from Solar Energy World

We apologize that your experience was not optimum and assure you this is not typical of the customer feedback we usually receive. Please let us know how we can resolve any issues you may have.

Mar. 19th, 2019

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Emil Fakheri Baltimore, MD

Their price made me go with them. The installation process was perfect, however, right now I have problem with my system and I hope they could fix it.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Dave Yeung Gaithersburg, MD

They were the most responsive in the terms if getting back to us, the quickest and they also offer the best pricing. It''s been excellent and our bill has decreased.

3 years ago

Solar Energy World Logo

Reply from Solar Energy World

Thank you.

Mar. 19th, 2019

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Anonymous

Although the final product is fine, the installation process left much to be desired (the electrical work failed the county inspection).

2 years ago

Solar Energy World Logo

Reply from Solar Energy World

We appreciate your feedback.

Mar. 19th, 2019

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Chuong

They are responsive and they call me back. I'm having trouble with the solar system which cannot be solved so I'm not happy with it.

2 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Brenda Clark Glen Burnie, MD

My experience has been fair. It does help me to save electricity. However, their lack of communication and paperwork process is inadequate.

3 years ago

Solar Energy World Logo

Reply from Solar Energy World

We apologize that your experience was not optimum and assure you this is not typical of the customer feedback we usually receive. Please let us know how we can resolve any issues you may have.

Mar. 19th, 2019

star star star star_border star_border

Salvatore J Cina Toms River, NJ

Salesman was excellent 5 stars but three stars on offer! Company does not accept coverage on home 32 because of far less production! Trinity covers both 32 and 44 ! In my case I like to put both under same! Also, others give 25 year warranty and lease! Still searching and doing research!

3 years ago

Solar Energy World Logo

Reply from Solar Energy World

Many companies will install as many panels as possible and not care about the potential production. Every system that we install comes with a guaranteed production and we make tough decisions to turn away business when we know the production would be limited and cost our customer MORE than their current utility costs.

Aug. 15th, 2018

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

John Dodd Ridgely, MD

So far my experience with them has been very good. Even the installation went well.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

None Baltimore, MD

I constantly hear clicking sound. Also the savings they promised not that great.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Mr medley

couldn't explain why I haven't been converted over on my bill

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Michael Hyattsville, MD

The production on the panels are not performing as advertised

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

N/A Ellicott City, MD

Monthly price is a little higher than expected when contract was signed

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Dale Dembrow Ijamsville, MD

Low or no electric bills. It's been great!

3 years ago

We're on a mission to empower consumers to make the best decisions and connect confidently with companies that deserve their business.

© 2021 BestCompany.com LLC - All rights reserved Privacy Policy | Terms | Do Not Sell My Personal Information