Spectrum Logo

Spectrum

star star star_half star_border star_border

5.7

Overall Score

LAST UPDATED: January 12th, 2024

As a result of Time Warner Cable®, Bright House Networks®, and Spectrum Communications® merging, Spectrum is available in forty-one states and serves over 25 million customers. Claiming to be one of America’s fastest growing TV, voice company, and internet service providers, Spectrum attempts to provide high-quality service with superior entertainment and communication products. 

Spectrum also claims that Spectrum TV offers more HD channels than any other provider. Customers can get instant access to thousands of On Demand shows and watch live TV anywhere in their home. Spectrum TV also allows customers to download their favorite movies and show onto their mobile devices with the Spectrum TV app.

thumb_up

The Good

  • Popular TV Packages
  • Spectrum TV App
  • Additional Spectrum Services
  • Service Agreement
  • Channels in Spanish

Popular TV Packages

Spectrum has potential customers enter in their address to find out the exact services and rates for their location. While its residential services and rates will vary per location, Spectrum does disclose the introductory prices for its packages.

TV Select

  • 125+ Channels
  • $44.99 per month (for the first 12 months)

TV Silver

  • 175+ Channels
  • $84.99 per month (for the first 12 months)
  • HBO® and SHOWTIME® included

Silver Double Play (Internet and TV Bundle)

  • 175+ Channels
  • $109.98 per month (for the first 12 months)
  • HBO® and SHOWTIME® included
  • Internet speeds up to 100 Mbps
  • Includes modem

TV Gold

  • 200+ Channels
  • $104.99 per month (for the first 12 months)
  • STARZ®, TMC®, STARZ ENCORE®, and NFL RedZone included

Gold Double Play (Internet and TV Bundle)

  • 200+ HD Channels
  • $129.98 per month (for the first 12 months)
  • STARZ®, TMC®, STARZ ENCORE®, and NFL RedZone included
  • Internet speeds up to 100 Mbps
  • Includes Modem

With the Silver and Gold package, customers can watch premium channels without having to worry about paying a hefty fee. 

Additional Spectrum Services

Not only does Spectrum offer cable TV services, but it also offers internet, home phone, mobile, and business services. As seen in the payment bundles and packages above, you can bundle a number of Spectrum's services to help save on your monthly bill. Brief explanations of the additional services offered by Spectrum can be found below. 

  • Spectrum Internet — Spectrum Internet plans through Spectrum start at $49.99 per month for the first 12 months of service. Plans feature significant amounts of bandwidth, high-speed internet, no data caps, a free cable modem/router, a free antivirus software, and an in-home WiFi network. When bundled with Spectrum Cable TV, you have both your cable TV and streaming TV needs covered.
  • Home phone — For just $9.99 per month, you can stay connected with all of your loved ones (price applicable if bundled). Calls can be made to the United States, Mexico, Puerto Rice, and more.
  • Spectrum Mobile — To start a Spectrum mobile plan with Spectrum, you can use an online tool to see how much money you can save when comparing your current plan to a plan that Spectrum can offer you. Plans start at $14 per GB per month.
  • Spectrum Business — Spectrum offers a special Spectrum business phone service for small businesses with free unlimited local and long distance calling and 30+ advanced business calling features for $19.99 per month (when bundled). Specific internet plans are also available which feature consistent internet connection, high-speed internet, and fast upload speeds. For more information visit the Spectrum website.

Spectrum TV App

Spectrum’s TV app gives customers full access to their TV lineup as well as up to 40,000 On Demand TV shows and movies on any mobile or connected device (including a smartphone, tablet, Roku, Xbox One, or a Samsung Smart TV). Spectrum users can watch their favorite shows, episodes, and movies anywhere — members can even use the app to program their DVR. 

Customers can download the app to their phone and log in using their Spectrum.net email and password (signing in with the Spectrum username won’t work). 

However, if a customer is at home and connected to a Spectrum authorized modem, the app will automatically authorize the username and password. 

Service Agreement

Along with bundles, cable television providers often use deals as a way to get new customers to sign up for their services. Spectrum offers new customers a no-contact agreement as well as an offer to buy out any current contract for up to $500.

Unfortunately, these deals do not apply to all customers and a 12-month service commitment is standard for all other service packages provided at Spectrum. Which deals or bundles are right for a specific customer can be confusing, but a customer service representative is always available to help on the Spectrum website.

Channels in Spanish

As rates of native Spanish speakers increase in the United States, the need for access to Spanish-speaking channels continues to rise. The Spectrum Mi Plan Latino TV and internet plan provides more than 130 channels with more than 75 of them in Spanish.

thumb_down

The Bad

  • Price Increase
  • Spectrum Consumer Complaints

Price Increase

As with most companies in the industry, Spectrum’s prices increase after a year of service. Before signing up for a plan, customers should ask how much they’ll be paying per month after the first 12 months. Initial lower prices is a common tactic in the industry and will only apply for a short amount of time. Customers should also ask about any other charges that might be added to their account — some companies will charge extra for the modem, DVR service, internet speeds, etc.

Spectrum Consumer Complaints

The top three complaints customers have about Spectrum are unreliable service, price increases, and the company's subpar customer service. Many consumers mentioned the unreliable signal and felt that they were paying too much for the quality of service they were getting in recent Spectrum customer reviews. The price increases were another common complaint as customers felt that the prices were continually going up, but channels were being removed.

The majority of customer complaints found in Spectrum reviews are related to Spectrum’s poor customer service. Consumers were not happy with the technicians or customer service representatives. There were mentions of being put on hold and never getting an answer, being hung up on during a call, being charged for things customers weren’t signed up for, waiting hours for a technician to come, and receiving faulty equipment.

gavel

The Bottom Line

Customers looking for a simple satellite TV provider that doesn’t require lengthy contracts should look into Spectrum. The company is flexible with its bundling packages and customers can easily build a package with the basic TV essentials. In addition, with the Spectrum App, customers can watch their favorite shows on multiple devices. 

However, there are several less than desirable aspects of the company. Spectrum is pricier than other service providers and consumers have often had problems with Spectrum’s spotty, unreliable signals, pricing, and customer service. The company is only available in forty-one states and customers have to live within a specific area to get service. 

According to consumers, Spectrum’s customer service is lacking in many aspects and that alone has made customers want to cancel their contracts. 

We suggest customers use another — more reputable — satellite TV service provider.

View Best Satellite TV Companies

Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

We'll Introduce You!

Call our recommended rep over at Spectrum below.

1-(833) 976-0834

Star Rating

info

2.3

star star star_half star_border star_border

658 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

9%

4 grade

7%

3 grade

7%

2 grade

8%

1 grade

68%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star_border star_border star_border

Quality

star star star_half star_border star_border

Service

star star star_half star_border star_border

Trustworthiness

star star star_border star_border star_border
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
star star star star star_border

Amanda George IL

Spectrum satellite TV is good. They have good deals, but they don't get coverage everywhere. When I moved I tried to transfer my package but couldn't. They didn't make me pay any cancellation fees, but the customer service is hard to get to a real person because the system is automated and very sensitive. ANY background noise makes it cut out and select the wrong options. Otherwise I would have given it 5 stars.

7 months ago

star star star star star_border

Passepartout22 San Antonio, TX

I switched to Spectrum (formerly Time Warner) from another cable provider in San Antonio. Its prices locally are comparable and I get fast internet (200 mbps) and all the specialty cable channels I want, plus a great many I have no use for. The DVR I get from Spectrum has plenty of capacity and will record 6 programs at a time (important because we often record a number of soccer games played simultaneously). Everything seems to be in HD. We get landline service too, though we don't actually use it; it's just a convenient number to give out for callers we don't want to hear from. Unfortunately, the service is very expensive and the DVR programming is sometimes problematic (for instance, it's impossible to easily restrict recording of a soccer match to the English-language broadcast). Customer service has been excellent (except for the automated phone messages when you call in).

4 years ago

star star star star star_border

Meg

I recently switched from a DirecTV At&t internet bundle back to charter for everything. Only because they gave me the good deal. Are supposed to be buying me out of a contract as well. This is all good things and im a gamer so I absolutely love the internet switch back to charter. The internet from charter is so much faster and more reliable than At&t's uverse. They only complaint I have is charters on demand and DVR. While it's been updated and it's better than it was a few years ago, it still sucks compared to DirecTV!!! With Direc you actually get a DVR in all rooms and they are linked. You can watch what you record in every room. Charter ha only the main TV has the DVR. And DirecTV offers so much more to watch on demand!!! On DirecTV I was watching all of Game of Thrones from the beginning to catch up to new season. With charter they only offer season 3! What? Why only one season? And why 3? Lol ugh I miss DirecTV!!

6 years ago

star star star star star_border

Jo Martin

I called Spectrum yesterday to talk about cancelling my internet service. At this time, I only have internet service, having had to cut my cable service a couple of months ago. This is due to my current lack of funds to pay for the service. Although there may be a glitch or outage of internet service now and again, I want to say that I'm happy with the services Spectrum provides. Most of the time I get 100+ mbps internet speed. This review is mostly to say, I was able to speak with their solutions department to get my past due amount squared away (with some additional days to pay the amount due) and I also received enough of a deduction on my monthly service so that I'm able to keep up with the monthly due. I found both persons who I spoke to in the customer service and solutions departments to be understanding, empathetic and helpful to my situation. Hands down the best service I think I've ever encountered. To the 56 people who gave Spectrum a 0. Here's a Pro-Tip: Honesty and a calm demeanor goes a long way. Thank you Spectrum!! Especially your Solutions department.

6 years ago

star star star star star_border

John Hooper Saint Peters, MO

I have had Charter for several years. I wish their dvr was better...could record more than two shows at once, but other than that, I have been very satisfied with their service, both the quality of the pictures and the friendliness and helpfulness of their staff on those rare occasions I have had contact with them. I have been very satisfied for many years!

7 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Jeff Dallas, TX

I only use Charter for home internet. Speeds are okay but there are more drop outs than there should be. They do not last long, less than 30 seconds usually, but then everything has to reconnect etc. Its not the modem. Initially when I moved in, the modem would reboot every hour or so. They sent a tech who found the problem was an amplifier had been installed on my neighborhood block and the signal to my house was WAYYYYY too hot. He took care of that and the reboots stopped. But, I still get the drops. I don't feel like calling them again. I'll deal with it. Charter was very responsive when I did call. They got a tech here fast and it was free.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Brandon Griess Houston, TX

So far they are my replacement for ATT, and they do a much better job in all aspects. Even with my account being forever glitched by discontinuing my bundled internet and phone. I am still much happier with spectrums transparency, sincerity, upgrade program and efforts made on my behalf. Spectrum has made a fundamental and unfixable error in my account, sent a bill to collections, but didnt manage to make me pay extra fees, corrected their mistakes and proved in 1 year their competency compared to the 10 it took with ATT punishing me for my loyalty to realize the fugly troll ATT is. If you continue using ATT you’ve earned the title masochist like i have. TBH seems like all phone companies cost the same, but are you paying extra fees, dealing with people that hang up on you, or with a kickstarter phone service that cares about their image from the start, and foes a good job fooling you or really does show they care about you. Spectrum needs to hash out their bugs/interface between mobile and internet, it was foolish to make them separate entities with the same name, and then to allow glitches in accounts like mine to continue. To this day I still cant use spectrum mobile app, but I can sign into the spectrum mobile website somehow (to pay bill). No phone receptionist has ever been able to fix it no matter what tier specialist, last time I tried to fix it they transferred me to get rid of their responsibility of the issue. YET!! After all that, I dont have issues that fundamentally inhibit service, cost me extra, or make me jump through hoops. New company gets the right to have issues, but not for much longer. If they f$&@k it up much longer though i’ll be going to verizon considering how impressive Fios is.

2 years ago

star star star star star_border

Takeshia Johnson Fayetteville, NC

I enjoy Spectrum internet, I love the cable as well. The cable is expensive and vacillates in the price. The internet is very reliable and the performance is reliable.

7 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Q Kelly Hallandale, FL

I use this service for my home in North Carolina I have never had any issues with them and when the service was interrupted due to the weather they immediately attend it to the issue I would totally go this with spectrum I am going to contact them to find out if they have phone services and I may switch my business phone line and my Internet and cable services

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Tyler B Palos Verdes Estates, CA

Charter Spectrum was the satellite TV and internet provider for my wife and I's apartment complex. We had consistent issues connecting to community wifi and dialing through their customer service network. We would like to note that they did a good job making it right and having someone keep coming out until it was resolved. From a TV standpoint, the Company had a vast offering and was fairly expensive. Charter is a great satellite tv provider if you want a vast offering of channels.

3 years ago Edited September 14, 2021

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Michelle Rancho Cucamonga, CA

I feel like I always have to call in every 6-9 months in order to discuss my invoice. My rate starts to creep up. They always get it where I am happy, but why not just lock me in. Recently, I have had outages more than ever before. This is unusual though and it is not for long. My internet is supposed to be high speed, but it definitely has lag time. I have phone, cable, and internet.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Jessica Sterling Killeen, TX

Where I live there is not a lot of options available for internet. I've had Spectrum now for 3 yrs and even though I had no issues with internet speed or connectivity. It's not the best when they raise their prices after the "promotional period". Every year it keeps going up which I am not a big fan of and I am thinking of maybe checking out their competitor to find a better price. Other than that for my two options is not a bad company and customer service has been good.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Laura Hicks Cuba, MO

I like my cell phone service with Charter Spectrum the most. The plan I have is very reasonable and saves me a great deal without the added fees that AT&T charged. My bill is very easy to understand and straightforward. I also have Charter Spectrum for my internet provider. I'm usually pretty happy with the speed of my internet at home. Although lately it seems to be having issues and the strength doesn't seem to be as good as usual. But overall, it is better than having to deal with the customer service I used to receive from the company I had previously.

3 years ago

star star star star star_border

Natalie

Excellent customer service and their service has definitely improved over the years. The price increased after promotional period which is typical but I do not like there is an additional fee for WiFi.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Lorie Valrico, FL

The good of Spectrum is they answer their calls pretty quickly and get you to the right department for what you are calling for. The not so good are their prices. They are extremely high in my opinion, however I still pay it for right now because I'm hooked, lol.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

tracys2cents Burbank, CA

Installation was easy. Price was good but only for a year, then you have to haggle with them not to get an increase every 12 months. I started out at $65 per month and within two years they wanted $99 per month. The price does include all the taxes though and "no contract" is a great perk.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Victoria Tschirhart ,

Great download on internet but upload is slow. Sometimes customer service doesn't give accurate info on what's offered. I had a guy come install internet but did not install tv services because of miscommunication. Found out prices were not the same as quoted.

3 years ago

star star star star star_border

Maxi

Spectrum gives us the best bang for our buck and they have the best customer service at all times. We are pleased and definitely recommend spectrum to our friends and family.

4 years ago

star star star star star_border

RACHEL RODARTE Hesperia, CA

I have enjoyed being a customer for Spectrum, they will help you anytime you call them, they work with you, price wise, so far they have been the most reasonable ones.

5 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Christopher Lake Menomonee Falls, WI

Over all the quality is good. The speed of the system seems to be on par with other providers however the Latency from my house compared to others closer to town seems to be slower which is not great for gaming sometimes.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Suravi Chakraborty Spring Hill, FL

I am a new customer for the Spectrum. This company promised us for amazing service so far the service is OK but it’s not as strong as they advertised as far as customer service and sales they OK

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

RyanW Los Angeles, CA

good service of internet but if something goes wrong, the customer support call is pretty rough. Was on hold for over 20 minutes just to start and ultimately sent a technician

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Russell Stone Hudson, FL

I feel I am getting a good value for the price I am paying. Customer service is easy tp reach, and handles all the issues I might have, mostly internet. For the most part, they are the best around I have used.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Deborah Kelly Farmington, MO

I love that they have on demand television. They have a good choice of channels also. That being said, sometimes its really slow and you have to wait for you show to load. I have Charter internet also, so...

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

cnsweet Birmingham, AL

What I dislike is the price of internet service, way too high. Overall, I like the service, but if there was an option to them, would probably change.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Tanya A Long Beach, CA

Great service and fair prices. I love the self installation rather than waiting for a cable installer. Fast internet service and good quality HD viewing and streaming.

3 years ago

star star star star star_border

Lisa Hanson Calabasas, CA

The transmission is a little more spotty than I’d like at times. We love getting to see Dodger games! SportNetLA It’s usually easy to get a hold of someone to help.

5 years ago

star star star star star_border

Royal A. Brown III

Good - still get some fuzziness on picture now and then - unable to change from original 10 channels selected

5 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

wanda ivey Barstow, CA

I enjoy tv and have use for the internet. My cost was ok but recently has increased. Customer service is ok but not all problems are resolve,

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Jodi Reynolds Camarillo, CA

Overall great service. Some outrages here and there but usually are fixed quickly. We recently moved and process was fairly easy.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Toni Marie Lombardo Coleman Lakeland, FL

Reasonably priced internet, with multiple tiers of high speed. I have been a customer since 2006 (since they were called Brighthouse.)

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Sara Jane Crestwood, KY

The service is good. The cable never goes out. The speeds are excellent as well. I do think the price is on the steep side.

5 years ago Edited September 14, 2021

star star star star star_border

Luis Maldonado Las Vegas, NV

Lower their cost for internet service will improve. They have great customer customer service

5 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

L Cody Morongo Valley, CA

They have pretty fast internet. I've had a few glitches. Their customer service is up and down. All in All not to bad.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Damaged Alone Edwardsville, IL

the unlimited data caps.. the internet is a but pricy... but gotta have internet since i dont have workn digits

3 years ago

star star star star star_border

JoAnn Lucas Austin, TX

Very helpful tech support. Very patient as they have talked me through several issues over the phone.

4 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

S Suguturaga Orem, UT

I like that you can access the product from any device and the set up for each device is very user-friendly.

5 years ago

star star star star star_border

Willie Sumpter Sumter, SC

The price is reasonable and at this point bo improvement needed.

5 years ago

star star star star star_border

Anthony Barnes Yuma, AZ

I need faster and more band width. There seems to be a lack of band width.

5 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Queen Smyrna, GA

I have used them for over 10 years, great customer service and usually expedite a tech quickly

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Tricia Powell ,

Love them never have had a problem and fair prices no problems with anything .....

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

William Helm Louisville, KY

they always call before they come out to service you and they might fix the problem over the phone

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Barbara Cell Stuckman Maryland Heights, MO

Didn’t get the receiver for tv that I was promised on phone. Price a bit high.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Chris Bailey Denham Springs, LA

Always had great service. Customer service was exceptional. Packages offered were always affordable

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Chad North Ridgeville, OH

Love that there isn’t no contract prices are okay could be better service is great.

3 years ago Edited September 14, 2021

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

JR Suguturaga Orem, UT

Good product but did not like not having access to price points after committing to contract

4 years ago

star star star star star_border

mike thompson Fayetteville, NC

i don't loose reception when it rains . cost is to much

5 years ago

star star star star star_border

Gloria Hooper Temple, TX

trouble with connection at various times of the day

5 years ago