Trulia Logo
star star star star star_half

6.4

Overall Score

LAST UPDATED: February 22nd, 2024

Trulia is an online real estate listing website that started in 2005. Recently, they were bought out by Zillow. The website provides pricing information for homes, which combines listing and public data, showing how the price has changed over time. The home price is also compared with other homes in the same city. On July of 2014, Zillow acquired Trulia for $3.5 billion. The site will remain independent from Zillow, with users and real estate agents having access to the same resources as they did before. The company's web site provides crime maps, also. The maps are taken from websites such as CrimeReports.com. The maps then generate a map of criminal activity in different urban areas. User can see the crime report information so that they can determine whether or not they might want to purchase a home in a neighborhood. One of the things about Trulia that is neat is how schools and other local conveniences are listed and are used to generate a transit score and walking score for the home. The information includes critical information on schools near a home, including contact information, grades taught, and whether the school is private or public. Site users can also comment on the neighborhood's safety, pet hospitality, and other demographical information. Trulia also has several resources on its website for customers to get in contact with a realtor who is connected with a home listing. Real estate agents can submit their listings to Trulia and most listings with Trulia are generated through real estate listings and public listings.

Top Ranked Companies

thumb_up

The Good

  • Listing features
  • Realtors
  • Apps
We liked the listing features that Trulia has for its site users. Users can search via home address, city, state, or neighborhood. They then can see the homes listed in a map, photo listing, or list format. Information about the home includes the following:
  • Multiple photos of the home's exterior or interior.
  • Demographics about the urban area where the home is located.
  • Natural hazards, including floods, earthquakes, and wildfires.
  • Crime density for the urban area.
  • Pricing information on the home, based upon past and current public listings.
Trulia's information is much more detailed than the information available on Zillow. We particularly liked that each listing had a realtor attached to it. With each listing, there is information about who holds the listing and the name of the realtor agent. The site user can then use the "Request More Information" button to send a personal note to the realtor. Trulia's transit listing is also a useful tool. The transit score is taken from www.walkscore.com. If a home has a score of 50 or higher, the area is pretty well served by public transit. The listing on Trulia's website also provides sources of public transportation hubs that are located nearby. Overall, we felt that Trulia gives site users the best "picture" of the neighborhood where a home is located. Trulia's information about crime stats helps a user get a picture of the crime in a neighborhood. Also, the ratings about schools are compiled from the GreatSchools ratings. Overall, the website does a good job of giving a prospective homeowner facts about making an informed decision about a new home. We also liked the Trulia apps. The apps offer the same features as the web site, in terms of search listings, photos, and information, such as the transit score and walking score.
thumb_down

The Bad

  • Complaints
  • Lack of support for site users
There were many red flags about Trulia.com. We were particularly concerned about the complaints from real estates who had been "deceived" by Trulia representatives on the phones. The complaints mentioned that Trulia didn't provide them with the leads that had been promised during the real estate agent's purchase of services. Realtors had been promised high levels of leads from zip codes where the housing market was "hot," but many realtors complained about not getting the number of leads that they had been promised. Also, most of the complaints for Trulia came directly from realtors. Overall, Trulia seems to not get prospective buyers set up with a realtor as their website promises. We were also concerned about the lack of support for site users from Trulia. Trulia doesn't have a live chat support feature, nor is a toll free number listed in the help section of the web site. Customers only have access to a knowledge base and email support form. This is a detriment to customers that might have questions regarding a particular listing on the website. Also, there is not direct contact information provided for how to get in touch with the realtor who is in charge of showing a property. Users have to fill out a form on the listing in order to be contacted by the realtor. We feel that providing direct contact information for the realtor for a provider might help both the realtor and the prospective homeowner get the ball rolling when it comes to purchasing a new property.
gavel

The Bottom Line

We would recommend Trulia as a website for customers who might want to get in touch with a realtor for a listed property. Here are the things that we liked about Trulia overall.
  • Detailed crime information for a listed property.
  • Photos and pricing information about a particular property, as well as maintenance prices listed for condominiums, townhouses, and other rental properties.
  • Transportation and amenities for a listed property, providing information on public transit hubs and businesses listed in proximity to a property.
The best information available in the online real estate sector for schools that are located near a home, including the school's GreatSchools rating.For realtors, however, we'd pass on some caution before paying for listing properties with Trulia. Many realtors complained about not getting leads from the website as promised. Before subscribing to Trulia, realtors may want to fully investigate the "promises" that Trulia does not always keep. Also, our review of Trulia's website reveals that they may not provide the best connection between realtors and prospective homeowners that is promised on the website.
Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

Star Rating

info

4.3

star star star star star_half

180 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

49%

4 grade

28%

3 grade

13%

2 grade

2%

1 grade

8%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star star star_half

Quality

star star star star star_half

Service

star star star star star_half

Trustworthiness

star star star star star_half
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Sodiq Ada Ashburn, VA

Trulia got me covered when I am still looking for an apartment to rent what surprised me is that when I got the apartment on trulia. Trulia made easy for me to track the apartment through their website map I’m shocked when I got there the apartment is in the same location

1 month ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Jake Benson Chicago, IL

I really like using Trulia for my real estate needs. It's easy to use and has a lot of listings available. I appreciate the detailed information about each property, including photos and neighborhood details. Trulia has been a helpful tool in my search for the perfect home ad their customer service is great

1 month ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Arooj Naeem Washington, DC

I've had a positive experience using Trulia for my home search. The platform's intuitive design and comprehensive property listings have been incredibly helpful. I appreciate the neighborhood insights, although I've encountered some outdated information. Overall, Trulia remains a valuable tool, contributing to a smoother and more informed home-buying journey for me.

2 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Raj R

Trulia offers a great buying experience. The website provides a neighborhood feel by listing restaurants, shopping centers, and parks for anyone looking to relocate from job.

2 months ago

star star star star star

Joseph Faenza Washington, DC

Trulia is a great option when searching for a home. Their search is easy to use and you can really narrow down what type of home you’re looking for. You can search how many bedrooms, how many bathrooms, what year the home was built, a price range, and much more.

6 months ago Edited August 7, 2023

star star star star star

Joyce Arling Hinsdale, IL

They say the third time is a charm and I could not have asked for the most amazing charm in Karen of the Oak Brook office of Coldwell Bankers. Karen showed a talent and imagination in promoting my property. She listened to my suggestions, returned call and texts promptly and was present every time there was a showing. She learned every detail of what my property had to offer and made sure that prospective buyers knew them. She never became complacent in her pursuit to sell my home. I have recommended Karen to three of my friends who all have had nothing but good things to say. I highly recommend if you are going to sell or buy a home to use Karen because you will be very happy customer. Mrs. Joyce Arling of Oak Brook, Illinois

7 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Tanya Rowe

Oh my gosh! Trulia is my favorite app for searching for an apartment or home. It’s a very easy to maneuver and provides great information.

2 months ago

star star star star star

Teresa Bills Little Rock, AR

I've been using Trulia for years and never had a problem finding what I'm looking for. You can look in your current state or elsewhere. It's great to have when searching for the best place to call home.

5 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Rafael Matthew Jamaica Plain, MA

After using the Trulia website for some time, I can confidently say that it is an excellent website for finding properties. The search filters are comprehensive and the interface is clean and well-organized. The property listings are up to date, and I was able to find a great home in my desired area with ease. Highly recommend Trulia to anyone looking to buy or sell a house!

11 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

FlowerPower Mesa, AZ

I love the app and the website. I was using it for years and ended up finding house/realtor thru it. very easy to use, the tools and parameters are great and make the search sufficient. I tried out other apps (Redfin, Zillow...) but always coming back to Trulia. Just love the way it works, and it was super easy to get help when I found a house I wanted to see. The connected me with a great realtor in the area. The downside is just the same. Somehow it's so easy to ask for them to contact you, that without paying attention, happened more then once, I requested them to contact me. But no big deal, still LOVE the app/website and use it on a regular basis.

2 years ago

star star star star star

Jowara Morgande

Trulia helped me search for the best homes catered to our families needs. They have great variety and great customer service ready to help.

4 months ago

star star star star star

Robert Horn II Pahrump, NV

We used Trulia during our search for a new home out west. We were able to discover several that met our requirements by using Trulia's search features.

6 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Colby

Trulia is one of my top sites for searching for properties. The site is always updated on what properties are still currently listed or pending a sale. Saves time when screening properties!

6 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Sylvia COLEMAN Little Rock, AR

Always put in right notifications on homes.

2 weeks ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Taylor Hall Los Angeles, CA

Truila is so so so useful! I used it when my husband and I were searching for a little house. It was great to see all the different options on the map according to what we wanted. One of the greatest features is the ability to see the rating of nearby schools and the crime rate level. Sometimes I use the app to do research without even looking for houses!

3 years ago

star star star star star

Natalie

I have tried using Trulia a few times and it always ends the same. They put me in touch with an agent who proceeds to tell me that the property is already under contract or sold.

1 year ago

star star star star star

Luke Swierczynski Troy, MI

I love the web design of trulia is intuitive and makes the home finding experience easy in looking for properties that fit your wants and needs. Always helps to work in junction with a realtor as well though!

2 years ago

star star star star star

Morgan Tennant Rexburg, ID

My favorite aspect of Trulia is that you can save your searches so you don't have to come back to it! It makes home shopping much easier when you can compares pre-saved homes.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Rebeka Melber

Use this for finding condos and houses to buy and watching the market. It was pretty easy to use the website, list my apartments for rent. Renting condos was so straightforward and there were so many options.

9 months ago Edited May 8, 2023

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Crystal Batavia, IL

I've used this website many times both for renting and buying! It was very helpful in seeing all that a apartment or home has to offer from pics to specs without having to actually go to the property in person! A time saver!

10 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

elethea Dampier Orlando, FL

Trulia have a lot of homes that are very reasonable prices.

1 month ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

D Roisin Riverside, NJ

Similar to Zillow, the search engines are very specific and coincide with maps for every listing. You can contact realtors/landlords as well as apply directly for properties. Photos can be hit or miss, but that's the fault of whomever lists them.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Ellie Bradley Thousand Oaks, CA

I love that this home-shopping app is easy to use and has excellent photos of apartments and homes. I really enjoyed using the map feature too because a couple of times we've been required to move to a new state and the awesome map helps us shop well.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Vanessa Rohrs Springfield, MO

I really love how user friendly Trulia is. I’m my opinion, it’s the best app to search for homes and rental property. It has the most up to date information concerning school Zoning and provides different ways to search and view your results. Trulia is a step above the rest.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Audrey Macfarlane Dallas, TX

I love surfing through real estate sites as I often invest in properties. Out of everything I've used, Trulia has turned out to be my go-to. I love how the homes are displayed, the extra information they offer, and the quick customer service replies. Overall a really great company that I appreciate making my life easier.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

JJ Jenkins Phoenix, AZ

Trulia is a very reliable company to use when you are searching for a property to buy. Their site offers maps of neighborhoods and houses listed by proceeds in the city that you are interested in living in. They tell you when the property that you are interested in is pending , under contract, or still available to make an off on.

2 years ago Edited January 3, 2022

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Ashlyn Elwood Roswell, GA

Trulia is awesome! Their website lays out all possible homes in a way that is super easy to navigate. There's a map, prices, and the main details such as how many bed/bath listed before you even click on what you're interested in for more detail. Very well organized!

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Karen Torino Tallahassee, FL

Trulia is great for looking at homes. I have used it to gage average home prices in cities I am interested in living in and have also helped a family member find a house through this site. Usually there are plenty of pictures to look through, it is easy to schedule tours, and there is a lot of information provided about the neighborhood.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Anne Sainsbury Orem, UT

I have used Trulia for the past 2 years as I have been looking to buy a home. I have downloaded the app and enjoyed the quick and easy way to search for homes within a specific radius. I also signed up for saved searches so that I would be alerted of homes that fit my specific criteria (beds, bath, price, acreage) which was super helpful!

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Tiffany I Gaithersburg, MD

Trulia is a great option to see what’s on the market - not just what’s for sale but also properties available for rent. I needed a single family for a short term lease and reached out to the agent through Trulia. All property information and pictures were right there on the site.

2 years ago

star star star star star

Morgan Knight Salt Lake City, UT

Trulia was a fundamental part in helping us find our home in one of the most crazy housing markets in history! I love how we could see an estimate of how much our monthly mortgage payment would be on the page where the homes were listed and how easy the interface was!

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Samantha Madero-Craven

I adore the easy of use when it comes to truila. Absolutely user friendly.

2 months ago

star star star star star

Amanda George IL

One of the best home apps I have ever used. They have updated listings, pictures, realtors, contact info, etc.

7 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Sol Castanos Clifton, NJ

Great platform to list apartments for rent. I keep receiving good leads all the time in all of my rentals.

5 months ago

star star star star star

Rose Allison Kansas City, MO

I used Trulia to used for a good home for my family after my credit score was raised by Metronet Credit Solution. I strongly recommend Trulia.

10 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

KmMarilyn Mcleod-Biddle Seattle, WA

Love Trulia it's very informative and quite accurate always updated real estate for sale or sold with pricing .great site

8 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Kami T Pickens, SC

Trulia is such an easy and accessible tool to find more variety in homes than some other sites. Great way to find a home!! Makes the home buying process much easier!!

10 months ago Edited April 5, 2023

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Brittany Gould Augusta, ME

I have used Trulia several times while I was trying to find a place to live, as well as searching for other people. It is very user friendly, seems to have accurate information and easy to navigate.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Rebekah Cothren Fleetwood, NC

I found my daughter an apartment for college on this site. I looked everywhere for so long and they had everyone’s listings so I didn’t have to go all over the place. All in one site. Easy to navigate and easy to use.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Emily Swierczynski Waterford, MI

Love the Trulia app for searching for homes. I get alerts when new listings appear in my area. It's too bad the market is where it is- we've had to pass up on so many beautiful homes!

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Rebecca D

Love this app for searching for properties. Whether looking for a rental or to buy this company is amazing. I love the way the filters can help you narrow your search making looking for a home easier and faster.

2 years ago Edited January 3, 2022

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Cynthia Landing Forest City, IL

I tried using Trulia seeking a realtor they are very informative by giving the description of the properties on the internet ; however their downfall is not getting back in touch with you in a timely manner

2 years ago Edited January 3, 2022

star star star star star

Mary Alice M. Orem, UT

I love the convenience of the using the Trulia app. It updated super quickly which helped us be one of the first people to put an offer in on our house. I like how you can set filters, and it is super user friendly.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

C. Ward Lutherville-Timonium, MD

Accurate information on property details

2 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Guy Honolulu, HI

Was able to check listings and review photos, assisted on when we were looking for houses

4 months ago Edited October 24, 2023

star star star star star

Yolanda Queer Shelley, ID

Trulia is my favorite website to use to find apartments. They have an option to save your search and that makes it easy to compare listings.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Ricardo Ortiz Fredericksburg, VA

If you want to search and find a new house, this is the place to do it. Shows all the details, excellent customer service.

11 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Amanda Barksdale Bryson City, NC

Trilia is very similar to Zillow in ways of finding homes and apartments. It also gives you detailed information on the properties listed.

11 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

gar greiner Colorado Springs, CO

As I'm looking for a new home in 2 deferent states ,I'm findinding Trulia a great tool to use looking for what I want for the price I'm looking for.thank ,G.B.Greiner

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Bridget Walker Bay Saint Louis, MS

Trulia helps you with funding local rentals in your town. You can always find that rental or weekend get away vacation rental with Trulia. Trulia is the reason I have a home.

1 year ago Edited June 21, 2022