Apartments.com Logo

Apartments.com

star star star star star_border

6.4

Overall Score

LAST UPDATED: November 15th, 2022
For those customers looking for a new apartment, apartments.com is one of the nation’s leading resources to help them find what they are searching for. They provide comprehensive lists of all the information a renter would need to know about the property they are interested in. This information is presented in a variety of ways to help the customer have a good experience as they look for their new home. Apartments.com is also a great place for professionals to list their properties and find new tenants. Either side of the real estate market (buying or selling) will be taken care of on Apartments.com 

Top Ranked Companies

Zillow Logo
#1 Zillow chevron_right
7.4 Overall Score
4.4
star star star star star_half
(708)
Re/Max Logo
#2 Re/Max chevron_right
6.6 Overall Score
4.3
star star star star star_half
(42)
Realtor.com Logo
#3 Realtor.com chevron_right
6.5 Overall Score
4.2
star star star star star_border
(200)
thumb_up

The Good

  • Information
  • Reviews
Many real estate search companies provide their customers with a lot of information to help them make an informed decision about where they want to live next. Since there is so much out there for customers to read and digest, some of it can get a little lost and the customer might get overwhelmed. But Apartments.com presents their listing information in an interesting, unique way that allows customers to really get a grasp of the property for rent. The first thing they do for their customers that is different than their competitors is a 3D tour of the apartments. This makes the customer feel like they are really there and they can better get an idea of the layout and size of the apartment. Some listings also come with a video tour of the whole space, which has a similar effect for the customer. This is accompanied by a gallery of high-quality photos of the interior and exterior. All of these combined really show the customer where they might possibly be living. Next there are reviews of the property written by tenants (or previous tenants), which help the customer get an accurate, realistic view of the lifestyle they would have there. These reviews are not sponsored, so the tenant can be open and honest about their experiences. These reviews are probably the most valuable part of the listing as they tell the customer what the property is really like. These reviews are also verified to make sure that only people who have actually lived in the apartment are writing them. Another really helpful feature offered by Apartments.com is their amenities map. This interactive service allows the customer to choose which kinds of amenities they would like flagged on the map of the area. Only these types of businesses show up on the map, so the customer can learn what is near their new home. The categories of these amenities are:
  • Schools
  • Grocery
  • Bank
  • Restaurants
  • Coffee
  • Banks
  • Shops
  • Fitness
This map is very unique to Apartments.com and really will help customers understand the area they are living in. All of these different features offered make Apartments.com stand out as far as the information they provide for their customers.
thumb_down

The Bad

  • Property types
  • Nearby rentals
Apartments.com offers their customers a very extensive list of apartments that are available for rent. It is easy for the customer to filter down their search to specific areas or different property needs so that they can quickly find what they need. Once they've found something they might be interested in there is a lot of other information available to them to learn all they can about the property. But all of these great services and features are only available to those customers who are looking to rent an apartment. This severely limits the types of customers that can take advantage of what apartments.com has to offer. There are no listings for homes, condos or any other type of property that are for rent. There also are no listings for any type of property that is for sale, even apartments. So the customer must be looking specifically for an apartment to rent in order to find what they need on apartments.com While there is a lot of great information about the neighborhoods of the listings on apartments.com, there is no information about the other apartments in the area. That type of information can be really important to a customer as they try to figure out if that particular place is a good deal for their money or not. It would be helpful for customers to have a way to compare the prices of similar units in the same neighborhood, that way they could see where the listing they are interested in stacks up with the others. Some other information like how long the apartment has been available (sometimes even if it is available for sure) would also make the decision an easier one. Apartments.com does give their customers a lot of great information about the properties in their listings, but sometimes are missing some other factors that would help the customer make a choice.
gavel

The Bottom Line

Apartments.com stands out among its competitors for the information they give their customers as they try to find the perfect fit for their new home. They provide extensive lists of the amenities offered by the specific complexes, as well as the amenities that are in the nearby neighborhoods. All of this information is published in interactive, easy-to-understand and digest formats for the ease of the customer. All of this and the other features they provide are great for customers looking for an apartment to rent. But it is all lost on those other potential customers who want to rent a different type of home or who would like to buy their next home since the only listings available are for apartments to rent.
Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

Star Rating

4.1

star star star star star_border

200 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

44%

4 grade

25%

3 grade

23%

2 grade

7%

1 grade

2%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star star star_half

Quality

star star star star star_half

Service

star star star star star_half

Trustworthiness

star star star star star_half
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Jenny Hite Kansas City, MO

This company i helpful with location apartments in the area but, the price of rent is NOT always accurate. I would think they would take more care to insure they're passing on the correct information.

3 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Briana Kaufman Scranton, PA

Not a lot of variety when my boyfriend and I were looking for an apartment. They also let you use filters yet they still show apartments way out of budget. This doesn't show any other options for apartments either just complexes which my boyfriend and I didn't want.

4 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

J Allen Pensacola, FL

The website loads slowly, and is not updated regularly. I can say that because for three months I used the site and each apartment I contacted was not available or they did not accept pets, even though Apartments.com showed them as pet friendly.

5 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

LovesToShop Chicago, IL

The website has pros and cons. It is a decent way to search for available apartments in an area, but I hate that they don't directly link the website on their page & their "contact this property" form isn't a direct connection to the property from you. I use this site more for research & then reach out to the places I find directly.

5 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Stella Wilson Humble, TX

The company had a lot of changes and management teams didn’t have a clue too what’s going on

3 weeks ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Giovana Pinckney Charlotte, NC

Apartments.com is helpful, easy to use, and doesn't require too much effort. It doesnt offer anything to help it stand out from its competitors but is definitely a tool that I would suggest using when looking for a new home.

5 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Pacific Austin San Francisco, CA

Apartments.com was a difficult to use website. It’s filled with apartments that are already rented with no availability. We didn’t find it very useful other than to identify the location of apartments and then find the apartment complex’s address.

6 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Holly Ware Atlanta, GA

I used this site more than once bc my friends recently used it and had a good experience. However, I never really found anything that I could use on the site and just didn't find it very resourceful and ended up using another site to find what I wanted.

7 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Matt Thieman Chicago, IL

Lots of apartment listings, nothing in local areas or to hi prices

3 weeks ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Nick Davis Yakima, WA

I used the app which was ok but not always up to date on newest or already rented so it was kind of frustrating

2 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Kayla Russell Seattle, WA

Lots and lots of apartments but not very up to date when it come to correct availability. So just call each and every one ronbe positive

3 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Tamie Johnson Markham, IL

The only thing I didn’t like is that there was not to many listings in the area’s that I was looking to move too. And some didn’t have pictures.

5 months ago

star star star star_border star_border

Morgan Tennant Idaho Falls, ID

At first glance, the number of available or soon to be available options for renting apartments was amazing, but after more digging, I have found that the listings are very often outdated. I have never found any listings that have worked out due to incorrect information on this website.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

corrinna oandasan Kailua-Kona, HI

what i liked about this site was the varied description on the apartments listed my dislikes was that the town in which i lived kailua kona, hawaii the listings were very few and far between and those that were listed were mostly vacation rentals

9 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Ryan Vett Phoenix, AZ

Very hard to find apartments that are actually available. The website will show you very low prices but ask you to call for availability, and nearly every place I called had a rent much higher than what was listed on apartments.com or zero availability .

10 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Abril Hunter Tallahassee, FL

I really enjoy using apartments.com however the interface and the digitization of the map make it sometimes hard to use. in order for me to find an apartment, I had to go through a variety of different stats to be able to use the map properly. Furthermore, all apartments that are listed are sometimes not for sale on the actual apartment companies website. This makes it really hard whenever moving to a new city, like I was doing to keep up to date with the apartment search. However overall I enjoy that apartments.com shows photos the most recent photos of an apartment.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Ludrick Donovan Orlando, FL

Apartment.com is not a bad rental company actually responding to some information is somewhat difficult

3 months ago

star star star star_border star_border

Dave Fortin Kingston, PA

This is another website that just doesn't have what I'm looking for. They give you listings outside of your scope all the time and try to market you to purchase higher-priced places. Just not a huge fan!

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Matt Williams

The website (at least in Utah) has turned into a cluster**** of promotional content. There’s no consistent standard of quality for the pictures and descriptions, and I found it incredibly difficult to use.

9 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Kevin Colvin Baltimore, MD

Need more local listings for Baltimore city

1 month ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Great service Milwaukee, WI

All of the apartments I was looking at was out of my price range.

2 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Bassem lasheen Torrance, CA

Many places advertise with fake information, prices are not accurate

2 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Monique Snow Sterling, CT

Didn't have much in the area I was searching for at the time, so I did not find it to be very useful.

5 months ago

star star star star_border star_border

Lindsey American Fork, UT

I think Apartments.com is average compared to the other real estate searches out there, but definitely is a website worth looking into when you're searching for apartments.

4 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Leah North Versailles, PA

All these sites seem to be the same, but this one was my least fav. It just always seemed to have the upper scale places and not many affordable ones.

8 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Tammy Bright Lexington, KY

This company has plenty of listings but if not updated regularly, you get your hopes up and it's a dead lead. They do have good photos of the rentals and basic info.

9 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Melissa Woods Carson City, NV

I wish the site would only show me apartments inside the areas specified. The email alerts I get always seem to be outside the area I am looking to live in.

11 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Melissa Rose Williams Martinsburg, WV

I use this app to pay my rent and report if I need any type of maintenance.

3 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Sharon Benjamin Baltimore, MD

Would put in area and it would still send me 200 miles away

3 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Aujana Denver, CO

They have a lot of different places to look at.

3 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

PISSED OFF CUSTOMER Covington, VA

Ok website. Very easy to use. Was able to find ever I needed.

4 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Ms C Leawood, KS

Listings are only high end, nothing from smaller affordable facilities.

4 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Leah Bowen The Bronx, NY

Could be a little less complicated and have more accurate information about rentals

7 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Sue Matawan, NJ

Access to many apartments but most of them are almost a year old. Good quality photos.

8 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Laurie Carter Concord, NC

Require a lot of information to even start searching but have a good bit of info on all local apartments.

10 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Doug Foerch Vernon Hills, IL

They really didn’t seem to located all the apartments in the areas I’ve researched. The ones they do pull up give pretty good information.

1 year ago

star star star star_border star_border

Gail Salt Lake City, UT

As a renter Apartments.com is a good site that caters to folks like me. It's a good way to trim the fat when dealing with finding a new place.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Rakim Carpenter Tulsa, OK

Great for a one time application fee vs fee after fee

4 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Lynda Burns Philadelphia, PA

They actually don't give enough information about the apts

4 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Cherita Hines Dallas, TX

They never get back with me and I don't never hear from no one

7 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

James Shirely Seattle, WA

I wish they had more choices from independent landlords instead of mostly corporate property management companies.

5 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

STACY ESTES

I'm not impressed with this platform at all it is not user friendly.

11 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Megum Povsha Bozeman, MT

Wasn’t able to find any matches for my search

9 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Heather Miller Bellevue, WA

I think that this app has too many expensive rentals.

9 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Mario Martin Willis, TX

Good choices, but I was unable to use the information

9 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Thomas Belmont, NC

Tends to be outdated. Website could use a tune up

10 months ago