MetLife Logo
star star star star_half star_border

6.4

Overall Score

LAST UPDATED: October 26th, 2023

MetLife has been providing insurance, annuities, and employee benefit programs since 1868. It is a global leader in the field and received top ratings in financial strength. 

Although the life insurer received high financial ratings, MetLife was involved in class action lawsuits in 2013 and 2015 for allegedly misrepresenting its financial stability. Potential customers should review the cases, check current financial strength ratings, and look at customer reviews before purchasing insurance coverage from MetLife.

View MetLife Reviews

MetLife specializes in employer-provided benefits. It offers term and permanent life insurance in addition to other employee benefits, like dental and disability insurance.

MetLife serves millions of customers, 90 of which are Fortune 100 companies. It has branches and subsidiaries throughout North America, South America, Europe, Asia, the Middle East and Australia. It also invests substantially in the community through volunteering, infrastructure projects and green technologies around the globe.

Top Ranked Companies

thumb_up

The Good

  • High Financial Ratings
  • Positive Customer Ratings
  • Policy Variety
  • Additional Insurance Coverage Options

High Financial Ratings

MetLife's high financial strength rating denotes financial stability when it comes to processing and making payments on insurance claims. It has consistently earned high financial strength ratings from AM Best and Standard & Poor's. These are some of the highest financial ratings available to life insurance carriers. It's a good idea to purchase a life policy from a life insurance provider with good financial ratings.

Positive Customer Ratings

MetLife customer reviews on BestCompany.com are largely positive. Reviewers appreciate the peace of mind a life insurance policy offers. Reviews generally mention positive interactions with the life insurance company and satisfaction with rates and coverage. Some reviewers also mention claims satisfaction.

Customer Review: Cheryl Nichols
"my mom had a policy all my life and when she died it paid off immediately."

Policy Variety

Customers can choose to buy a term life insurance plan, a permanent life policy, or a universal life insurance policy from MetLife. These policies also allow quite a bit of flexibility when it comes to coverage and monthly premium payments. MetLife offers one of the widest variety of policies in the field, ensuring that you can find an insurance policy to suit your needs.

A term life insurance policy offers coverage for a set period of time. These policies are often more affordable than permanent life insurance products.

MetLife's permanent life Insurance policies do not expire. Although the premiums are initially higher, these plans tend to be more cost effective in the long term as well. Many of these plans also have cash value accumulation over the years, which term policies do not.

However, the premium rate for a term policy tends to be cheaper. Permanent life insurance policyholders can sometimes use the accrued cash value to add additional insurance coverage or to make premium payments. Sometimes insurance companies allow the beneficiaries of a life insurance policy to receive some or part of the cash value in addition to the death benefit.

Additional Insurance Coverage Options

MetLife offers several other kinds of insurance. In addition to life insurance, MetLife offers short term disability insurance, long term disability insurance, dental insurance, accident insurance, and health insurance plans that employers can offer their employees. MetLife disability insurance options include long-term disability and short-term disability.

Individuals and families can purchase auto insurance, dental insurance, and home insurance policies directly through MetLife.

thumb_down

The Bad

  • Negative Reviews
  • No Online Application
  • Offered Through Employers
  • Lawsuits

Negative Reviews

Although MetLife's reviews are mostly positive, the company has received a sizable number of negative reviews and low ratings. Complaints are primarily about customer service, wait times, and issues with claims.

No Online Application

While MetLife provides lots of information about life insurance on the company's website, it does not have an online application process or offer online life insurance quotes. Instead, employers should work with MetLife agents in order to get a life insurance quote and find a group policy. MetLife's customer service contact information easily available online, so connecting with an insurance agent should be simple.

Offered Through Employers

Unlike some life insurance companies, MetLife gears its life insurance products towards employers. It is a great option for employers seeking to provide group life insurance with their employee benefits. Individuals interested in purchasing their own life insurance policy should enroll in an insurance policy with another company.

Lawsuits

In 2013 and 2015 major class action lawsuits have been filed against MetLife alleging that they have misrepresented their financial ratings and kept capital in offshore accounts that are not regulated as stringently as those in the United States. This amounts to MetLife's reserves being misrepresented as greater than they actually are, these reserves are used to pay out any insurance claim made and federally required to ensure the stability of the company. MetLife has denied all allegations.

Before working with MetLife, it potential customers should review the cases to get a better understanding of them. It's also a good idea to consider customer reviews before purchasing an insurance policy.

gavel

The Bottom Line

While MetLife does not offer final expense insurance or individual life insurance, it does offer a variety of life insurance coverage options for employers. Life insurance coverage is a nice benefit to include in an employee benefits package whether the employer pays the premiums or employees pay them as a voluntary benefit.

Employers can offer their employees a term life policy or permanent life insurance policy from MetLife. The insurer's variety of life insurance products makes it easy for employers to find something to suit their needs and budget. These are group plans offered through an employer, which contributes to lower premium rates.

While the wide range of life insurance policies and employee benefits make MetLife an insurance and employee benefits provider to consider, it would be wise to review past lawsuits and recent customer reviews before purchasing a policy.

Individuals seeking to purchase their own life insurance coverage or final expense insurance, should investigate other life insurers. If your an employer, MetLife is a good insurance carrier to consider for your business.

View Best Life Insurance Companies

Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

Star Rating

info

3.7

star star star star_half star_border

65 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

49%

4 grade

20%

3 grade

3%

2 grade

3%

1 grade

25%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star star_half star_border

Quality

star star star star_half star_border

Service

star star star star_half star_border

Trustworthiness

star star star star_half star_border
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
star star star star star_border

Jeremy Brown Riverton, UT

They have a good product and have me one of the better prices for my health background which wasn't bad. The interactions have been good but i wish they provide long-term incentives

4 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

PolyanaL Salt Lake City, UT

Metlife is very affordable. I liked that when i called in to shop, they were very detailed and informational telling me about all the coverage that they have and making sure i get what was best for me and my family.

5 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

adrian avram Tampa, FL

had an annuity acc with them for 11 y and was very happy with their online service but customer service managing my acc is difficult to engage and have issue resolved

2 years ago Edited February 16, 2022

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Maverick Denhalter Salt Lake City, UT

MetLife has been an OK company to work with. They aren’t as especially user-friendly as other companies, but they’ve done well in providing life insurance etc.

3 years ago

star star star star star_border

James Bell

I think I get a good deal... They seem to be a very trustworthy company and I have no complaints to date.

6 years ago

star star star star star_border

Jason Pyrah Willard, MO

I haven't had to use my policy, thank goodness, but I think that their prices are good and naming my beneficiaries has been easy.

5 years ago

star star star star star_border

Anne Burns Goleta, CA

We have had a life insurance policy with Met Life for 20 years. Very affordable

4 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

James Singleton New Orleans, LA

MetLife has some great insurance products that are reasonable in price . They have a product that will fit your needs.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Caleb Warren Norcross, GA

My life insurance is cheap for 4 people, and I should probably pay for more coverage since it is so cheap

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Daphne Brown Riverton, UT

I like the insurance and enjoy the good price. But not sure I will keep it or just bundle with other insurance I own.

4 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Cynthia Carman American Fork, UT

The customer service was very helpful when I had questions when we transferred our policies to MetLife.

4 years ago

star star star star star_border

Joanne Short

HAVE HAD NO PROBLEMS WITH THEIR PRODUCTS OR THEIR SERVICES

6 years ago

star star star star star_border

Alfredo Balmaseda

They're a good company, don't charge too much

6 years ago