Glassdoor Logo
star star star star star_border

5.3

Overall Score

LAST UPDATED: November 22nd, 2022
Glassdoor is a company review and employment business with a database of over 8 million company reviews, salary details, interview questions, and open job listings. It was founded in 2007 to help people make more informed career decisions by increasing transparency about compensation and other previously taboo information in the workplace. The company is headquartered in Mill Valley, CA.  

Top Ranked Companies

Indeed Logo
#1 Indeed chevron_right
7.9 Overall Score
4.4
star star star star star_half
(721)
ZipRecruiter Logo
#2 ZipRecruiter chevron_right
6.3 Overall Score
4.6
star star star star star_half
(1,185)
LinkedIn Logo
#3 LinkedIn chevron_right
5.8 Overall Score
4.4
star star star star star_half
(493)
thumb_up

The Good

  • Price range
  • Reach
  • Resources and learning materials
  • Special features
Price Range
Glassdoor's services are free to job seekers. Pricing for job posting on Glassdoor is location based. Posting in a smaller city tends to be less expensive than posting in a larger city because it costs more to drive traffic to jobs in populated cities with many other competitive employer listings. The cost can range from $99 (for one job) to $499 (for 10 jobs), depending on the city and posting package the job recruiter selects. An exact pricing quote can only be obtained after filling out the job listing information. By signing up for a 3 or 10 job slot subscription, the client gets the first 7 days free and can cancel anytime-so it is essentially a free 7-day trial.
Reach
Glassdoor receives over 17 million hits monthly, and they have over 8 million reviews on their site.
Resources and Learning Materials
Glassdoor's blog for job seekers and employees contains articles that discuss:
  • Branding
  • Career advice
  • Interviews
  • Jobs
  • Resumes
  • Reviews
  • Salaries
  • Salary transparency
  • Watercooler
The blog for employers covers:
  • Customer success
  • Employee engagement
  • Employer branding
  • How to use Glassdoor
  • Industry trends
  • Job advertising
  • News and events
  • Talent acquisition
For employers, Glassdoor provides a detailed guide to responding to reviews, both positive and negative. This includes who should respond, tips to stay on top of reviews, and why bad reviews are good for business.
Special Features
The most obvious and unique draw to job seekers is Glassdoor's review database. They can access CEO approval ratings, salary reports, interview reviews and questions, benefits reviews, office photos, and other information that may shed light on a particular company. Aside from discussing a personal acquaintance's experience with a company, this is the next best thing. In fact, it might be better, as reviews are written by a number of people over a span of years, and may include company responses. Another feature Glassdoor offers is updates on current company and job trends by location, industry, and job title. Job seekers can see which jobs, companies, and cities are most popular based on what others are searching and sharing on Glassdoor. Employers enjoy five basic features with a free Glassdoor account:
  1. Update company information. This could include the number of employees, industry information, company description, corporate logo, photos, mission, benefits and perks.
  2. Manage reviews. Businesses can get feedback, both positive and negative, and have the opportunity to respond. Glassdoor offers a free guide to responding to comments in a way that shows the company values feedback and transparency.
  3. Gain competitive intelligence. Businesses can gain an accurate picture of which companies are competing for the same talent.
  4. Learn more about candidates. Employers get a demographic breakdown (gender, education, and years of experience) of visitors to their company page, which may give them an idea about who to target for jobs.
  5. See which jobs are being clicked on the most. Being aware of which jobs are most appealing to job seekers can help employers write better job titles and descriptions.
Beyond the free company page account, employers can promote their brand and actively advertise jobs to candidates. Services include integrating their profile into Facebook, accessing advanced analytics and benchmarking, and advertising jobs on competitors' profiles.
thumb_down

The Bad

  • Experience
  • Customer support
Experience
The company was founded in 2007 after Rich Barton (co-founder) posed a question to Robert Hohman (another co-founder): "What would happen if someone left the unedited employee survey for the whole company on the printer and it got posted to the Web?" Experience-wise, the company is about ten years behind the first job search companies.
Customer Support
The company's customer support could use some improvement. There is a help center where users can submit a form to be contacted, but no email address or phone number is provided for job seekers with questions. A sales number is provided (888) 355-9323, but the recording encourages job seekers to "continue to use glassdoor.com." A live chat feature would be helpful.
gavel

The Bottom Line

Glassdoor is the best resource for getting acquainted with a company's culture, management, and employee satisfaction. Its review database is unmatched and can help job seekers create realistic expectations for working with a particular company. This information alone doesn't necessarily help someone find a job. But by following company pages, potential candidates can be made aware when jobs are available and be prepared by tracking industry and company trends.
Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

Star Rating

4.2

star star star star star_border

221 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

47%

4 grade

31%

3 grade

15%

2 grade

6%

1 grade

1%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star star star_border

Quality

star star star star star_half

Service

star star star star star_border

Trustworthiness

star star star star star_half
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
star star star star star

Who Knows

Glassdoor is a reliable website that offers listings for jobs in your area. Glassdoor is a great site to look for jobs that suit your skills. Not to mention, they push out your resume to employers. I would definitely recommend this site for your job search needs.

3 weeks ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Phalda Morris Jacksonville, FL

I have used Glassdoor to find a job multiple times, and I have also recommended it to friends and family. They show you jobs specific to your qualifications so that you can apply for jobs you know you have a chance of getting. They make it easy apply for several jobs at once, which can save you time.

8 months ago

star star star star star

Eddie Rios Ogden, UT

Glassdoor is simply a rock solid job search engine. I've used them all and find that they have the best search tools and they display results in an orderly fashion. Great tools to help an applicant find and apply for jobs. And it seems that they have a better insight to companies looking for applicants. So many more job opportunities with Glassdoor.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Thomas Nuffer Lindon, UT

I use glassdoor to search for jobs and they are very good at having an estimated salary that is based on past employees, so you automatically know what you are going to be payed, and it is impossible to miss so you definitely know what you are going to be payed. I've used it to search for jobs in my area and will show me the ones closest to you. It also has a very good amount of jobs at least in my area. On every job I have looked at it has had reviews from past employees with a lot of pros and cons and a star ranking from all of them.

10 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Jaelyn Morris Havana, FL

I like that glassdoor sends emails to let you know about available job offers. I have applied for several jobs through glassdoor that I did not see anywhere else. Glassdoor shows a variety of job options and helps you sort through the options based on what you need,

9 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Anoushka Ahuja Tallahassee, FL

I have used Glassdoor to research the companies for my first job, and I am so glad I did. Armed with that knowledge helped me navigate into making the best decision! Glassdoor is very beginner-friendly and they are very open to helping you. Overall, it is a great website.

10 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

M. Nielsen South Bend, IN

I always check on glassdoor for latest and newest job offerings and love to read the reviews of current and previous employees and it also shows you the avg pay/ salaries for that position in your area and other areas of the country. So informative

10 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

KG Lebanon, NJ

Love using glass door for salary comparisons it’s really helpful when you’re applying for jobs to know what the market offers for each position. It’s also helpful to get information from current or past employees about what they think of the company they worked or work for!

11 months ago

star star star star star

Sathvik Aithala Portland, OR

Excellent resource for finding job listings, salary ranges, and other employment information.

3 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Melissa B Sammamish, WA

Glassdoor is the best tool when it comes to preparing for an interviewing--or choosing who to interview with. When I see a job opening, I head to Glassdoor to read the employee reviews of the company. I want to know what current and former employees think of the company--what is the culture like? What are the benefits? Is it worth my time to interview? And if I do decide it might be a fit, the interview questions are very helpful. I can't say enough great things about Glassdoor. The best tool out there for interviewing!

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

ISMAIL MUSOSI Kampala, 102

After searching and browsing the internet for jobs, I landed on glassdoor.com. To my surprise, they had jobs for me. I literally had over 50 jobs I could apply for. When I made my choice on which applications I should make, I realized that there were tools that I could use to land an interview and hopefully get myself a job. At glassdoor, you do not just apply to a company, you can read reviews on the company, you can read interview questions and a lot more. Thank you all at glassdoor.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

SaVedra O'Neal Kansas City, MO

I love Glassdoor. This is the best job search and lookup company on my opinion. You don't just see the company and their synopsis of their business. You get to review actual current and past employees opinion of the company. They give you the Pro's and Con's of their experience. Which I think is fair and vital to make the decision when applying for a job.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Brody B Orem, UT

Best Job Search website out there. The vast information and employee reviews gives any job seeker a great feel for the company they are about to apply to. I think this is what sets them apart from the competition. The resources offered on the website make searching for a job very easy and not time consuming. i would HIGHLY recommend Glassdoor to anyone looking for a job!

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Jeff B Orem, UT

The information that Glassdoor offers to Job Seekers is next to none. Before you even apply for the job you can view what current and past employees have to say. This along with salary reviews can help anyone get a better idea of how their future could look at almost any given company instead of just rolling the dice. I have always had a positive experience with Glassdoor and would highly recommend to anyone in the job market.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Janan Grange Pleasant Grove, UT

In looking for an internship for my college age internship we used Glassdoor in helping him locate internships. Even though he is still waiting to hear back he was able to apply to several jobs.

9 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

OrvilleBro Herriman, UT

I've used glassdoor to gauge the honesty of a companies I have interest in. I like them because I can remove the marketing fluff that many trumpet about themselves to see how things really are within that organization.

10 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Russell Vastine Aurora, CO

I like to look up jobs on glass door similar to mine to see what salary range I should be in and to see if I’m getting underpaid or how much I should request in an interview

11 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Nazjah Yates Tallahassee, FL

I used this app to help me find a job. Easy platform to upload your resume and give notifications for jobs you may be interested in. I actually received some calls back and they also show internships on here as well. I recommend it for everyone!

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

roberto arcia Columbia, MO

Glassdoor has been a great way for me to get a job that I enjoy. I stuck out in a job I didn't like because I couldn't find anything else: Glassdoor opened doors I didn't even know existed for me. I would recommend Glassdoor for anyone looking for a job they would find fulfilling, yet still make a livable income.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Luke Swierczynski Troy, MI

I don't think there is a better site out there to find out the true nature of a company you're looking to work for. Granted give certain reviews a grain of salt when it's 1 star or 5 star and feels like they were incentivized to leave the review. The 2-4 stars I find way more telling of the company. The interview questions are also super helpful

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Dave Fortin Kingston, PA

Very useful. I use this site quite often when comparing jobs, salaries, and job descriptions. I love seeing reviews from others explaining their experience working with certain companies. It definitely gives you an idea as to what you may run into before applying.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Mona-Lissa Tallahassee, FL

They make it so easy to be able to find jobs that you may be interested in and how others who have worked that job feel. I also like how people can leave how their experience was working somewhere. Really handy when looking to see where you want to work in the future.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Ann Horst San Antonio, TX

This is my go-to company for salary research and to read reviews before deciding if I want to work there. I also left a review for my former company on there because they were so awful towards their employees. I wanted anyone who was researching them to see my review. Hope it helped.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

B Lemas Boise, ID

Glassdoor is an excellent site. I researched a company I was really hoping to work for but changed my mind when multiple real people said it was terribly managed. The fact that the management didn't care much about the employees and was just looking to sell the company was a huge red flag. Thanks Glassdoor!

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

G Kerth Portland, OR

I really appreciate the information Glassdoor provides. It is one of my go-to for researching companies, culture, benefits, salaries, and hiring processes. The website has evolved over the years with additional tools for gauging company culture but for the most part, has not changed too much. Could use an update

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Tiffany I Gaithersburg, MD

Glassdoor provided so many employers and gave me an idea of their pay structure. I was able to compare salary of my current position at another bank out of state. They give you company reviews and let you see what people are actually saying about these employers before you apply with them. It’s definitely different from other sites.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Kate Dallas, TX

I love Glassdoor. Not only has this company helped me find jobs, but I can also read reviews about companies from current and former employees. It is extremely helpful to get an inside view of companies before signing up to work for them.

1 year ago

star star star star star

Mason Allen Provo, UT

I like using Glassdoor for job searching because it does a lot of the searching for you. I put in my past jobs and left reviews for those companies and now it sends me available jobs all the time that actually would interest me. I like that the salary range is often included and that I can see how real employees thought about those companies.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Lee Hutton San Jose, CA

Glassdoor has been extremely helpful over the past 4 years on my tech job search. Showing the honest employee reviews, the benefits the employees receive, and having a birds eye view of what to expect from a company prior to applying has been crucial in my job search.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Ashley Ulibarri Herriman, UT

I always come to Glassdoor to research a company before an interview or even applying to a position, I like that people who have actually worked for a company can leave a review about it. I find that very helpful when looking at company’s culture.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Dalila C. Santa Ana, CA

I like Glassdoor. It is very easy to use and I think they do a good job at matching you with potential jobs that you are interested in. I have used it to look for employment. I do recommend this website for looking for employment!

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Janie Dennis Tallahassee, FL

I LOVE GLASSDOOR! This tool has helped so many people who are looking for jobs and reviews on companies! It also helps many of us have an idea of jobs and careers out there. I have used this and it’s helped me in the ways I described.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Kaitlyn Rios Ogden, UT

Glassdoor is a great job search tool. They have tons of industries in many places across the USA. I like the options for search parameters. And the results from those searches are expansive. The results are displayed in an efficient way making great headway at finding new employment.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Michelle Rios Ogden, UT

Glassdoor alerts me every day of jobs that fit my profile. I like being alerted to opportunities as they come available. I look forward to the day that my dream job pops up and I can be one of the first to apply. Keep up the good work Glassdoor.

2 years ago

star star star star star

Michelle W Coraopolis, PA

LOVE Glassdoor for job search. It's so helpful to research salaries for jobs so I can prepare myself for interviews and when they ask what my ideal salary requirements are. Very reliable, and helps my job search be successful.

2 years ago

star star star star star

BJ Tenney Woods Cross, UT

I love the transparency that an employee can have about a current employee, or that you can read about potential interview questions. The last few times I've been looking for a job, I checked what people were saying on Glassdoor.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Brennan Orem, UT

So much information to make an informed decision before you apply for any job. It is nice to be able to review a company and hear from actual employees before you get into the process. Glassdoor is a great resource for anyone actively or passively looking for a job.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

James Larson Pleasant Grove, UT

What I like best about Glassdoor is the ability to see other past employees' experience with that company. It helps me to know whether or not I should even apply for the job there. We also listed some jobs with our company, and they filled our needs nicely.

4 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

J B Sandy, UT

I love the info Glassdoor provides when researching potential employers! You can easily see feedback from current and former employees. Really helps with your decision.

10 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Tate Huber Phoenix, AZ

I use Glassdoor every time I am looking for a new job and every year or so to make sure my current pay matches other roles similar to mine. It's a great resource.

10 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Prenisha Tallahassee, FL

One of the most comprehensive job search databases out there. Easy to drill down into areas of specialty, useful email alerts. I've used it a few times, getting my next employment through them.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Colt Lacovara ,

Excellent service that keeps you informed and up-to-date with all of your job searching needs! A great user interface with a multitude of customizable options makes it easy to navigate and find your dream job!

1 year ago

star star star star star

G Burt ,

Really love the product that Glassdoor offers, being able to understand a company and being able to see what candidates and current employees have to say about the company is invaluable.

1 year ago

star star star star star

David Glauser West Jordan, UT

Glassdoor provided some great info on companies I was looking in to and the salaries of positions I was considering. I also found several jobs I ended up applying for that were listed on Glassdoor.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Diana Miami, FL

One of my favorite sites to look for jobs. I like how many former and current employees can post reviews and you can make a judgement on whether you’d like to work for that company based on their reviews.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Hurditya Vancouver, BC

Glassdoor is my go to destination to view a company's reputation, employee salaries and prospective career options. It is a very welcoming platform that helps job-seekers and employees the same.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Andrew Hyde ,

My favorite function of Glassdoor is the ability to see actual, anonymous reviews by current and past employees of the companies you are applying to. Being able to see the pros and cons helped make many job decisions for me.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Iris Sanders Denver, CO

I like that Glassdoor is exactly what it says: transparent and truthful! People can really write about their experiences, and be truthful about what it's like to work for a particular employer.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Tomas Miranda Orlando, FL

I love the Glassdoor app because it not only provides job postings but also provides salary and company reviews. It is also a great tool to find out interview questions and assistance.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Karen Torino Tallahassee, FL

I love using Glassdoor to determine possible living locations for my future based off different salaries for my occupation. I also love being able to read reviews from different people and seeing their reported salaries.

2 years ago