Glassdoor Logo
star star star star star_border

5.3

Overall Score

LAST UPDATED: November 22nd, 2022
Glassdoor is a company review and employment business with a database of over 8 million company reviews, salary details, interview questions, and open job listings. It was founded in 2007 to help people make more informed career decisions by increasing transparency about compensation and other previously taboo information in the workplace. The company is headquartered in Mill Valley, CA.  

Top Ranked Companies

Indeed Logo
#1 Indeed chevron_right
7.9 Overall Score
4.4
star star star star star_half
(721)
ZipRecruiter Logo
#2 ZipRecruiter chevron_right
6.3 Overall Score
4.6
star star star star star_half
(1,185)
LinkedIn Logo
#3 LinkedIn chevron_right
5.8 Overall Score
4.4
star star star star star_half
(493)
thumb_up

The Good

  • Price range
  • Reach
  • Resources and learning materials
  • Special features
Price Range
Glassdoor's services are free to job seekers. Pricing for job posting on Glassdoor is location based. Posting in a smaller city tends to be less expensive than posting in a larger city because it costs more to drive traffic to jobs in populated cities with many other competitive employer listings. The cost can range from $99 (for one job) to $499 (for 10 jobs), depending on the city and posting package the job recruiter selects. An exact pricing quote can only be obtained after filling out the job listing information. By signing up for a 3 or 10 job slot subscription, the client gets the first 7 days free and can cancel anytime-so it is essentially a free 7-day trial.
Reach
Glassdoor receives over 17 million hits monthly, and they have over 8 million reviews on their site.
Resources and Learning Materials
Glassdoor's blog for job seekers and employees contains articles that discuss:
  • Branding
  • Career advice
  • Interviews
  • Jobs
  • Resumes
  • Reviews
  • Salaries
  • Salary transparency
  • Watercooler
The blog for employers covers:
  • Customer success
  • Employee engagement
  • Employer branding
  • How to use Glassdoor
  • Industry trends
  • Job advertising
  • News and events
  • Talent acquisition
For employers, Glassdoor provides a detailed guide to responding to reviews, both positive and negative. This includes who should respond, tips to stay on top of reviews, and why bad reviews are good for business.
Special Features
The most obvious and unique draw to job seekers is Glassdoor's review database. They can access CEO approval ratings, salary reports, interview reviews and questions, benefits reviews, office photos, and other information that may shed light on a particular company. Aside from discussing a personal acquaintance's experience with a company, this is the next best thing. In fact, it might be better, as reviews are written by a number of people over a span of years, and may include company responses. Another feature Glassdoor offers is updates on current company and job trends by location, industry, and job title. Job seekers can see which jobs, companies, and cities are most popular based on what others are searching and sharing on Glassdoor. Employers enjoy five basic features with a free Glassdoor account:
  1. Update company information. This could include the number of employees, industry information, company description, corporate logo, photos, mission, benefits and perks.
  2. Manage reviews. Businesses can get feedback, both positive and negative, and have the opportunity to respond. Glassdoor offers a free guide to responding to comments in a way that shows the company values feedback and transparency.
  3. Gain competitive intelligence. Businesses can gain an accurate picture of which companies are competing for the same talent.
  4. Learn more about candidates. Employers get a demographic breakdown (gender, education, and years of experience) of visitors to their company page, which may give them an idea about who to target for jobs.
  5. See which jobs are being clicked on the most. Being aware of which jobs are most appealing to job seekers can help employers write better job titles and descriptions.
Beyond the free company page account, employers can promote their brand and actively advertise jobs to candidates. Services include integrating their profile into Facebook, accessing advanced analytics and benchmarking, and advertising jobs on competitors' profiles.
thumb_down

The Bad

  • Experience
  • Customer support
Experience
The company was founded in 2007 after Rich Barton (co-founder) posed a question to Robert Hohman (another co-founder): "What would happen if someone left the unedited employee survey for the whole company on the printer and it got posted to the Web?" Experience-wise, the company is about ten years behind the first job search companies.
Customer Support
The company's customer support could use some improvement. There is a help center where users can submit a form to be contacted, but no email address or phone number is provided for job seekers with questions. A sales number is provided (888) 355-9323, but the recording encourages job seekers to "continue to use glassdoor.com." A live chat feature would be helpful.
gavel

The Bottom Line

Glassdoor is the best resource for getting acquainted with a company's culture, management, and employee satisfaction. Its review database is unmatched and can help job seekers create realistic expectations for working with a particular company. This information alone doesn't necessarily help someone find a job. But by following company pages, potential candidates can be made aware when jobs are available and be prepared by tracking industry and company trends.
Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

Star Rating

4.2

star star star star star_border

221 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

47%

4 grade

31%

3 grade

15%

2 grade

6%

1 grade

1%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star star star_border

Quality

star star star star star_half

Service

star star star star star_border

Trustworthiness

star star star star star_half
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

WastedTalent Binghamton, NY

I like that Glassdoor has reviews frm employees, but it cuts you off from reading unless you post a review. I've posted reviews and it wants me to post more. How can I when I work for companies for 15+ years, I don't have many to review. Their job search is a bit sloppy. Plus, when you look at reviews, they're from all over the country and not the area you were looking to apply for and no way to weed them out.

1 year ago

star star star star_border star_border

Roberson Salt Lake City, UT

Using Glassdoor I have received a few job offers, however it often takes a while to get responses. Its incredibly valuable to be able to view and make your own reviews of companies or positions when using Glassdoor to search for a new occupation. I would highly recommend using Glassdoor if you are trying to gain a better understanding of how employees view their own company.

2 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

David Stickles West Jordan, UT

This is a decent way to job hunt but doesn’t seem to be as accurate with salaries ranges when you get to the actual interview. Pretty standard filter options but seems to have less results than some of the other job sites.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Glen2021 Houston, TX

I have been annoyed by the usability of the site. I have done research on their website regarding pay ranges, but I find it too vague. I have found a couple of jobs that sounded close, but then when I see the salary range, it is so different than my experience that I have lost trust in their process.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

MM Largo, FL

I like glassdoor as far as the selection of jobs goes and ease of applying for them. But one thing I don't like is that when looking at company reviews they don't say in which location the person posting the review worked. This would be helpful to know since there are many locations for the dame company and they are all different.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Alessandra Jacques Charleston, SC

Glassdoor is great for an initial search, but their job recommendation algorithms are always way off, especially for tech industry jobs, which should be their primary area of expertise. Also the reviews can't always be trusted - I've seen how much the HR department at my company manipulates them.

1 year ago

star star star star_border star_border

daphjohnson Saratoga Springs, UT

Glassdoor is a good idea. It helps you while you are searching for Jobs because you can get reviews of companies. However, whenever I go to glassdoor it doesnt give me the information I would like to see. I think it would be more beneficial if they offered more information. I think it would be more widely used if that were the case.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Jenny Martinez Miami, FL

I use Glassdoor to look up companies I am planning to apply at. Employees have the opportunity to review the companies and tell about the hiring process. They can also include salary. What I don’t like about Glassdoor is that companies can go and argue against whatever their reviews say.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Danielle Berkowitz Smithtown, NY

Pros: Nice platform to find jobs, look at salary expectations and to see some trustworthy reviews Cons: The job algorithm is so off; there will be job postings on there that got posted on Glassdoor a day ago thinking you're applying for this new job, little do you know - the job was posted directly by the host 30+ days ago.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Aly Houston, TX

When looking at employers I usually do a quick check on Glassdoor just to see if it is a mess...unfortunately to really get in the weeds you need a subscription. I'd rather just see ads or something than have to pay.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Elizabeth Mutina Gardiner, ME

Great info for jobs but is extremely repetitive and can be quite far away from what your looking for, sends out way too many notifications, emails, really poorly designed app.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Mike Hudson Birmingham, AL

Why so stingy with the reviews? This company doesn't wanna provide sufficient information on potential employers for a prospect to make an informed decision. Charge the company, not the prospect.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Vikti Mehta Frisco, TX

Glassdoor has provided helpful salary statistics and company reviews for me to research which companies I am interested in. Sometimes information is locked when you use Glassdoor in a simple Google search.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Jeremy Bayer Columbus, OH

Glass door is a good way to get an idea on how a company functions and employee satisfaction. I would talekeke what you read with a grain assult at times due to discruntled employees

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Valentino Chanel South Jordan, UT

The difference with this site is being able to read reviews about the pros and cons of working for such and such company. It gives good insight to things you wouldn’t know unless you already worked there.

2 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Yolanda Queer Shelley, ID

Glassdoor is a very nice way to search for jobs, though I didn't ever get as many replies to my applications as I did on other websites.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Doug Foerch Vernon Hills, IL

They list some of the available job openings, but not all that you would be searching for. Their website could be better organized.

10 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Carolina camacho

Glassdoor was not the most helpful site in helping me find jobs that I was eligible to apply for. The set up of their site was confusing and difficult to follow

1 year ago

star star star star_border star_border

Kellie Payne Pickerington, OH

Has different jobs than other boards, but the search function is too specific to find entry level jobs if you don’t have a certain role or company you are looking for

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

M L ,

I have used glass door to find out reviews about working for companies. they are usually spot on. dont like that i have to download the ap to use them on my phone

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

paul gingell Frimley, SRY

This platform is mainly for people looking for different types of jobs ,Its just publishes semi skilled or skilled work for people to view and submit applications forward.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Daphne Brown Riverton, UT

I have not gotten unique positions or the first posting for the employers. I have not seen a good selection and you seem to be just postings the same as other sites.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Cristiana Orem, UT

Glassdor has a bad customer service that take too long to reply once we need them. Also it is not easy to navigate on the website as other competitors.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Chris Bright Tempe, AZ

Never got any job offers through this platform, but was able to view valuable shared information about companies I was applying to.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Caleb Warren Norcross, GA

Never been able to find anything remotely good on Glassdoor, however the salary tool is very helpful to know what to expect or ask for for jobs

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Ponch Thompson South Jordan, UT

I used Glassdoor to assess salary ranges. The info was minimal in that it looks for others to submit their salaries. It did help a little

3 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

david jones

I have had good results using Glassdoor. I had a good lead that led to a job opportunity.

5 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Elena Margaritis Benson, AZ

Glassdoor reviews of companies were good, not completely accurate. But better than other reviews sites.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Jon Posey Riverton, UT

I think glassdoor is great if you sign up and are looking for a job. Posting is ok, not the best but they are decent.

3 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Nathan hanzel Saratoga Springs, UT

GlassDoor has a very wide range of jobs that they are able to share with their customers

4 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Diante Jordan Milwaukee, WI

Has good information, however, charges a subscription basically for advice.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Tracy Deleon Lake Wales, FL

A lot of the jobs are scams. They flood your email with junk.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Jaelynn Florence Tallahassee, FL

I do not like the number of emails they send but they do help find jobs.

1 year ago