Consumer Cellular Logo

Consumer Cellular

Is This Your Business?
star star star_border star_border star_border

3.9

Overall Score

LAST UPDATED: February 22nd, 2024
Number 3 in Blue Circle

3 Things to Look for in a Cell Phone Provider

  1. Coverage  — Look for a cell phone provider that has 4G LTE/5G coverage nationwide and check online for possible deadzone areas.
  2. Affordable Plans — Look for a company that offers multiple plans in an affordable price range. Check to see if the plan offers unlimited talk and enough data to cover your needs.
  3. Device Options  — Look for a cell phone provider that provides service to different types of devices including tablets, smart watches, flip phones, and major smartphone brands.

Consumer Cellular is a small, no-contract mobile phone provider that offers low-cost cell phone plans starting at $20 per month (not including tax or data add-on) for unlimited texts and 250 minutes. From there, plans can be customized to include unlimited minutes and data amounts up to 25 GB per month per line for customers who want to take advantage of app downloads, high definition video, and other uses of the 5G, 4G LTE, 4G, and 3G network. For Consumer Cellular's most advanced plan of two phone lines, unlimited talk, and 25 GB of data, you'll pay around $75 per month.

The company is especially dedicated to meeting the needs of users who are 50 and older, offering AARP members exclusive discounts on its services and Connect plans that sync well with flip phone devices if preferred. Plus, a completely U.S. based customer service team is trained to help inexperienced cellphone users learn how to get the most out of their service and device.

Partnering with well-known brands and retailers, Consumer Cellular phones include nationwide coverage, and its services are located in Target stores nationwide.

Because Consumer Cellular is a budget-friendly cell phone provider, its offerings come up short when compared to other larger-scale companies. For example, Consumer Cellular does not offer unlimited data plans. If you want unlimited data, Consumer Cellular is not the provider for you.

Top Ranked Companies

thumb_up

The Good

  • No-Contract Plans
  • Affordable Plans
  • Unlimited Text
  • Coverage Area
  • Device Options
  • EasyPay Service
  • Mobile App
  • Great Overall Benefits
  • Risk-Free Trial

No-Contract Plans

Consumer Cellular offers no-contract Talk and Connect plans with straightforward benefits.

Additionally, all of the Connect monthly plans include unlimited text messaging. Customers can add phone lines to their plan for $15/month to share minutes, text and data. There are never any additional fees or charges for switching plans if you need more or less from the service. Consumer Cellular has a great option for low-cost family plans, especially for those who don't use phones very often.

You can try Consumer Cellular risk-free for 30 days. If you aren't satisfied, the company won't charge you for that time.

Affordable Plans

Consumer Cellular offers a variety of affordable data plan options that customers can choose from. Its website breaks it down into the number of lines you want, the talk plan you prefer, and the amount of data you want. You choose which option you want from each category and Consumer Cellular's website will give you an immediate estimate on your monthly bill. Here's a breakdown of your options:

  • Phone Lines — One line included in the cost or two lines for $15 per month
  • Talk Plans — 250 minutes of talk for $15 per month or unlimited talk for $20 per month
  • Connect Plans — 500 MB for $5 per month, 3 GB for $10 per month, 10 GB for $20 per month, 15 GB for $30 per month, or 25 GB for $40 per month. All Connect Plans include unlimited text.

If you're a customer wanting one phone line, unlimited talk, and the maximum 25 GB of data, you'll pay around $60 per month.

If you are a customer wanting two lines, unlimited talk, and the maximum 25 GB of data, you'll pay a monthly price of around $75 per month.

Unlimited Text

Although Consumer Cellular makes customers pay more for unlimited talk and additional data, you do not have to pay for unlimited text. Unlimited text is included with all of Consumer Cellular plans. This makes unlimited talk and text for one line $20 per month without data and $60 per month with the maximum 25 GB of data.

Coverage Area

Consumer Cellular coverage is nationwide and only involves a few spotty patches in the Midwest.

Most of the 4G LTE/5G coverage area includes High-Definition Voice coverage, also called wideband voice, which provides clear audio and reduces background noise. It should be noted that Consumer Cellular utilizes multiple wireless networks that vary depending on geographic area and so precise coverage areas from your network may not be determined until you sign up for service.

If you want to check Consumer Cellular coverage in your area, you can do so on the company's website. All you need to do is enter your zip code, and Consumer Cellular will tell you if you're covered. It will also provide you with a coverage map of the entire united states. For exact coverage details, you can drop a pin anywhere on the coverage map.

Device Options

Depending on plan preferences and mobile device needs, Consumer Cellular has a wide array of mobile device options available. Consumer Cellular phones include basic flip-phones for calling and texting, the GrandPad (a senior-friendly tablet), and smartphones for customers who plan on downloading and using apps. Samsung smartphones, Android phones, and iPhones are all compatible with Consumer Cellular coverage and plans.

Customers also have the option to simply use their current mobile phone (under certain conditions) when signing up for a new Consumer Cellular plan. The company provides a free SIM card that is easy to switch out and there are no activation fees for Consumer Cellular phones. It should be noted that in order to be compatible with the SIM card, the phone needs to be:

  • a Consumer Cellular phone
  • a phone previously used with AT&T or T-Mobile (includes Apple and Android phone options and more
  • an unlocked phone (GSM)

It is possible to use a previous phone number, but it depends on the location and the old service provider.

When purchasing a device from Consumer Cellular, customers can choose between a new phone or a certified pre-owned phone if one is available. Certified pre-owned phones are phones that were returned by customers in the 30-day guarantee period and are restored to original factory settings.

EasyPay Service

It also offers an EasyPay service where you can make monthly payments to pay off more expensive phones like iPhones or Android smartphones. Consumer Cellular does not charge interest or additional fees. Customers can make early payments or pay off the remaining balance at any time.

Mobile App

The My CC app gives users the following capabilities:

  • View minutes and data usage
  • Change billing preferences
  • Switch monthly plan if needed
  • Switch to paperless billing options
  • Pay monthly bill
  • Chat with customer service reps
  • View AARP membership card

Great Overall Benefits

Because the company targets retirees, the cellular service plans tend to be very inexpensive for those who aren't looking for a lot of data, text messaging, or minutes. WiFi calling is supported on iPhone models 5C and newer as well as most Android smartphones. Consumer Cellular has no fees for any of their services, and because they have no contracts, there is no activation fee.

AARP member benefits include:

  • 5 percent off monthly fees and usage charges
  • 30 percent off select accessories

Risk-Free Trial

Consumer Cellular offers a 100 percent risk-free trial for all of its customers. If you decide you no longer want Consumer Cellular's services or products within 30 days of purchase, you can request a full refund. This makes Consumer Cellular completely risk free and gives customers peace of mind that they don't have to be locked into its services if they decide to opt out within the first month.

thumb_down

The Bad

  • Limited Data Plans
  • Additional Phone Line Cost
  • Cap on Roaming Charges
  • Poor Consumer Cellular Reviews

Limited Data Plans

Consumer Cellular is designed to benefit those who want a cell phone, but do not plan on using a lot of data. For those who want basic minutes and text messaging capabilities, Consumer Cellular is a good provider.

However, if a potential customer wants to use a phone to frequently stream videos and music, surf the internet, utilize email, and communicate via social media apps, this company likely isn't the best choice. Consumer Cellular doesn't offer unlimited data-the highest plan includes only 25 GB of data.

Additional Phone Line Cost

Consumer Cellular family plans cost an additional $15 for every added phone line on your plan. Although an added price per phone line is common with most cell phone providers, typically it is less than $15 per month.

With many cell phone companies, having more phone lines on your plan makes your cell phone coverage cheaper. If you don't want to pay $15 for every phone line you want on your plan, we suggest looking into other cell phone providers.

Cap on Roaming Charges

While Consumer Cellular attaches lower international roaming charges than leading cell phone companies like Verizon and T-Mobile (30 cents versus 99 cents per minute of talk), the company also places strict monetary caps on roaming, disabling the phone once roaming charges have reached or exceeded $100 for the monthly billing cycle. While this measure is intended to protect the customer from racking up hundreds of dollars in roaming fees, the cap may be inconvenient to some.

Poor Consumer Cellular Reviews

Although Consumer Cellular has some competitive offerings with a low price and no required contract, consumers haven't given the company many accolades. Consumer Cellular reviews are mostly negative, giving the cell phone provider a low overall consumer rating.

Consumer Cellular reviews rank decent for value for your money but for quality of product and service, customer service, and company trustworthiness, the company falls short. One of the main customer complaints that shows up again and again in reviews is unresponsive and unreliable customer service and technical support, many reviews noting you are either neglected completely or passed around from person to person when trying to receive help.

With the issues Consumer Cellular reviews reveal, customers don't seem to think the low price is worth the bad service.

gavel

The Bottom Line

This is one of the best prepaid phone service carriers on the market for consumers seeking simplicity and flexibility in a phone plan. If you need to adjust your talk or data amounts or add or remove a phone line, there are no fees to make those changes. You can also have unlimited talk and text for a monthly price of $20 for one phone line (this excludes data).

Consumer Cellular customers can expect reasonable pricing (based on limited services), a month-to-month payment platform, quality coverage nationwide, and plan flexibility.

Consumer Cellular is a great option for those who don't need a lot of data but want ample minutes and messages available to spend time talking or texting. The carrier has excellent AARP member benefits and has comparable coverage to the GSM networks it uses, T-Mobile and AT&T.

Perhaps most noteworthy is that Consumer Cellular service is month to month, so you can cancel at any time. Consumer Cellular's customer service is also based in the United States and generally responds promptly to customers.

You can try Consumer Cellular risk-free for 30 days. If you aren't satisfied, the company won't charge you for the time you joined.

However, along with these pros, there are definitely some cons to Consumer Cellular. Consumer Cellular charges $15 for every added phone line on your plan. Many cell phone companies offer better discounts the more lines you add on your plan. If you're a customer wanting more than two phone lines on your plan, you may have better savings with another cell phone provider.

Consumer Cellular coverage also does not include an unlimited plan for data. This makes the service difficult for customers not wanting a limit on how much data they can use.

Lastly, Consumer Cellular reviews are mostly negative, the majority of them highlighting poor customer service.

If you want a no-contract cell phone plan with a small number of phone lines and up to 25 GB or data, Consumer Cellular may be a good provider for you.

However, if you want discounted family plans and if a low price and limited data is not worth poor customer service, we suggest looking into other cell phone providers.

View Best Cell Phone Providers

Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

Star Rating

info

2.1

star star star_border star_border star_border

768 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

27%

4 grade

5%

3 grade

5%

2 grade

10%

1 grade

53%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star star_border star_border

Quality

star star star_half star_border star_border

Service

star star star_half star_border star_border

Trustworthiness

star star star_half star_border star_border
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
star star star star_border star_border

Joan Bender Kissimmee, FL

Staff was helpful in opening our account. The phone back came off and next minute it wasn't working, we had the phone a week. We had to go through the insurance, they are never helpful, it's been a week and no phone replacement. We were told the phone is on backorder. Cheap flip phone, my husband carries a flip for quick use, and no compensation for the fact we have no phone no service.

2 months ago

star star star star_border star_border

Shiela Proudfoot Durham, NC

I was just reading this to help decide if I will make the switch and thankfully I know better because you need to update the information as it is wrong. I don't know how much of this is wrong but I know for a fact that cc has unlimited data plans.

5 months ago

star star star star_border star_border

Dana Tellier Middletown, CT

I've had CC ever since 2017. Loved them. Low cost, great customer service and dependable calls anywhere! But lately my calls have been dropping and people keep telling me my phone's breaking up when I talk to them. I don't live in a dead zone so I should be getting crystal clear phone service. I'm not sure what happened but the service is getting worse. I called customer service, they did a few adjustments but still nothing helped. Now wondering if I should switch carriers.

9 months ago

star star star star_border star_border

Mark Atkinson Kansas City, MO

So I recently switched to consumer cellular from being a long time t mobile customer.. The phones great, they're always helpful, but the one thing that I wish they would do is allow me to switch my caller ID. Currently just shows up a number and I'm self employed wanting my business name to show up. T-mobile and AT&T did that but are more costly than Consumer Cellular. In writing this review I hope someone sees it who could change that for me. It could cause me to go back to another carrier unfortunately

11 months ago

star star star star_border star_border

RanDanger Moline, IL

I’ve has CC for two years. I’m pleased with their coverage. Streaming videos on mobile devices works well. Using phones as hotspot is able to do Zoom meeting well. I got Consumer Cellular Home Base in March, 2022. Call quality is OK. When the phone rings I have 3 rings to answer the phone before it transfers to voicemail. Not enough time for a home phone. I looked for hours on line to find out how to change this only to have CC tell me I can’t do that myself. I have to call their service center, tell an agent I want more rings. However, it isn’t a number of rings, it is a number of seconds limited to 30 seconds at most. They then call AT&T, the actual CC carrier, and place an order with AT&T to change the time. It still isn’t enough time. CC caters to the elderly but this isn’t enough time for an elderly person to walk across the room to get to the phone before VM picks up the call. I had to wait over 1 hour one time I called CC. Not acceptable for a “consumer” oriented company.

1 year ago

star star star star_border star_border

MICHAEL S ROSS Sherman, TX

The phone service is excellent. The phone reception is excellent. But it's impossible to do business with Consumer Cellular. They wine about the crippling pandemic and how it has affected their business and reduced the number of employees. I waited two hours (2 HRS@@!!!) for someone to answer my call today 3/6. Finally, I had to end the call. So I was fed up and tried to email them, using the published on-line email address. Seconds later I got a message stating the email address is unresponsive. So I tried using their chat program. I found I was 21st in line. I entered my "chat" and found that I had to wait (FOR 21 CHATTERS!!!!!!!!!!!) FOR A RESPONSE. I am ready to try another phone server. Consumer Cellular should add 50 cents to every customer's bill and hire enough phone operators to do the job.

1 year ago

star star star star_border star_border

R Hebert

Been a CC customer for 4-5 years. Always loved customer service before. The CSRs are still very pleasant and seem helpful but what they've told me and what's reality don't seem to match up anymore. Let's start with the CC/Target "partnership." CC CSRs will tell you that you can go to Target and someone there will help you with all kinds of things like transferring your contacts, content, etc. If you call or go in to Target, tho, they'll tell you they only activate your phone. It's like when one person thinks they're in a solid relationship and the other person is looking feeling used. The target folks have told me that CC will set up appointments for customers at times when there's nobody on duty at Target. (This came up because the person told me they leave at 4pm and don't work Sundays, and Target had offered me Sunday appointments as well as a 5pm appt for that day). Keep in mind, Target is your ONLY hope of having a human talk to you, in person, about your phone. Then there's this situation with my hotspot. I bought it from CC a while back. Probably early 2020. it's a ZTE hotspot, it has a CC sticker inside, and it says 4G on the outside (embossed into the phone). CC keeps telling me they can't promise they'll be able to support it because I bought it elsewhere. NOT TRUE. Then they tell me they won't be able to support it because it's a 3G device. NOT TRUE. Also, they no longer offer hotspots of any make. What looks like the truth here is that they wish they'd never sold or supported hotspots. I assume they're telling other customers the same story. This really had a negative impact on how I view this company. I got the ConnectPad. You can get unlimited data on it, for a price. I wouldn't mind that, if it shared that data with the hotspot. Guess what. No sharesies. Also, about the ConnectPad. No flashlight. If you've ever had your power go out, you know how handy that light on your cellphone can be. It's the one thing you have with you almost all the time. Also, I'm not crazy about the power button. That's how you bring your device back when it's asleep. But the button is small and not that easy to push, and it's right next to the volume button. So if you're trying to hear a caller better, it's possible you're going to mash that button by accident and completely turn off your phone in the middle of a call. I do like the charging dock, actually. My tablet slides right in, and the magnetic connector at the bottom keeps it in place. No fumbling with the usb connector, trying to figure out which way is up. But it's inconvenient to carry with you. So I'm looking around. I don't have very good coverage where I live, and the AT&T sim option has worked out for me. I really don't want to jump to AT&T. I wish Consumer Cellular would go back to being the nice company it was.

2 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Rik Bonds Grove, OK

I've been with CC since July, as a veteran, disabled and trying to make the most of my budget, CC offered "Unlimited t,t and data. It is only unlimited as long as you stay below their threshold. I travel occasionally and find myself being charged for using to much data....I really don't understand why "unlimited" requires up charging.....Is this false advertising or am I misinformed? I was with Tmobile for 12 years and was never upcharged for anything and it was about 112.00$ per month including international service, now am paynig approx. 50.00 per month but with service and billing issues. No international etc. Have I made a mistake?

2 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Sarah Jamieson Cherry Hill, NJ

I actually used Consumer Cellular for 4 years and it was great. Good coverage, good price, no issues. However a few weeks ago both my husband's and my phones stopped getting data. Both our phones showed full bars of LTE or 5G in his case with an iPhone 12, but besides talk/text, could not be used for anything unless they were on wifi. We called customer service and they were unfriendly and unhelpful, treating us as if we were 75+ years old and not knowing how to use a phone... "try going outside" and "try getting a new sim card" were the best they could offer. We're moving soon and our new place doesn't have great internet options, so we decided this was clearly the right time to switch to a new plan with a different carrier that would cover our phone and internet. But it took forever to finally get CC to approve our port out request and shut down service. After the first couple requests were denied I called and found out you need a special one time pin (maybe that's on me for not realizing), which the customer service rep begrudgingly gave me while grumbling about us leaving. After this the port was denied once again, so I called and spoke to yet another clueless, unfriendly representative. After another wait on hold, the call dropped and that was the last I heard from them before the port was finally completed. Good bye Consumer Cellular. When there were no problems, it was good, but customer service is terrible.

2 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

FredB Prospect, KY

For a low-cost carrier, they are pretty good - not great, but better than just okay. Their coverage is not nearly as comprehensive as Verizon, but then neither is their cost. I recently upgraded my old iPhone 6S to a newer iPhone SE. After activating and setting up, I kept getting a 'no service' indicator on the new phone. I checked the iOS and iTunes software - all up to date. I restarted both my computer and the new phone, no joy. I removed the new SIM card and reinserted - that didn't work. Then, I swapped out the new SE SIM card with the old 6S SIM card, and viola! Service! Yet they charged me for a new SIM card that is bogus. And my final complaint - they won't let you send them a message. You have to go online to chat (and wait behind 175 other customers) or phone call, (again, wait until they get around to talking to you). Overall, barely satisfied.

3 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Howard Boulder, CO

I bought an iPhone 7Plus from Consumer Cellular and have had trouble since the beginning with voice clarity. There is so much interference sometimes that I have to hang up and try again. I suspect that I was sent a used phone, though I cannot prove that. Although there is a year's warranty on the phone dealing with Consumer Cellular staff is a real hassle. They may as well not exist. One person told me once that I only have a 9 month warranty! this is obviously untrue as I have the warranty in formation for one year. They asked me to replace the SIM card on the phone, which I did, but the disturbance on calls is still there. They now want me to call on another phone so they can wipe my phone clean. I am hesitant to do that because I am not sure that will solve the issue. Even if they everything clean, I will still have the same phone. Very frustrating. I would not recommend doing business with this provider.

4 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Jane Tallahassee, FL

I have had Consumer Cellular for over 10 years and have always been very happy with the service. I recently had to replace my phone (a DORO). When I got the new phone, I found that several of the features had changed...and not for the best. With the previous phone, if a caller was in my Contact List, it showed the Contacts name so I always knew who was calling. If it just showed a number, I would just ignore the call since they were usually unwanted sales calls or crank calls. If it was important, they could leave a voicemail. With the latest model, it only shows the phone number so 1) you have to know every contact number and be able to recognize it, 2) you can not answer and hope they leave a voice message, or 3) you can answer what is probably not a caller you don't want to waste time talking to. With the previous model, you could delete records of calls received with one selection. With the latest model, you have to perform 6 separate steps to delete the call record. On my phone, I have to delete the same calls multiple times over several days before they finally stop showing up (example-today {a Tuesday}, it shows calls that were deleted last Wednesday and Thursday--I didn't get calls between last Thursday and today). I called customer service today to find out if there were settings I could change to get the previous features. I talked with the rep for a while. Then she wanted to research something and said she would call back in 10 minutes. She never called back. I would like to be able to write a letter to Consumer Customer but am unable to find an address for the company. I am very dissatisfied with the updated phone and may just switch to another company.

4 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Kathleen Iowa City, IA

I have had Consumer Cellular for 4 years and loved it. This year I bought an iPhone 8 from CC because CC said it now provided phone service oversees. I went to Switzerland and Italy, and my phone NEVER had phone service, unless it was connected to wi-fi. I called CC twice from Rome and received completely incompetent suggestions from Customer Service. One rep told me that I was likely in an area that was not covered. I replied I had been all over the city of Rome and never had service. If oversees travel is important to you, go with another company. By the way, CC uses T-mobile lines in Europe. I checked T-mobile service in Rome -- customers report being very happy with coverage. so, something was not right with my phone, and I could not get a Customer Service rep to help. In 6 months, I will shift companies.

4 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Muriella

The customer is very nice but some of them are not trained very well. In my case when I called to switch, I informed them I lived in a rural area and had no cell service at my home with my current carrier. I told them the hamlet I live in is a known dead zone. I am dependent on wifi calling when at my home. So they send me an ATT sim card and ATT for some antediluvian reason won't support wifi calling. ATT DOES NOT have cell service in my area either. So now my family and my work have no way to contact me. Consumer Cellular said they would send me a T Mobile sim xard because they support wifi. Why didn't they do that in the beginning? Also sending pics is not supported, even when I am on the ATT cell. If you live in an urban area Consumer Cellular would be ok, but if you are in a rural area with known dead zones, I would not reccomend CC.I hope T Moblie better or I will cancel my CC account.

4 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Woody Locust Dale, VA

Until recently I was very pleased with Consumer Cellular (CC). My wife and I were planning a trip to Europe so we called CC to get a recommendation on keeping one of our cellphones fully functional. The customer service rep recommended I go to a local Target (20 miles away) and get a universal sim card. I did just that and came back home to get the sim card activated for use overseas. The rep activated two of the three features (downloads, texts) that would work over the T-Mobile network there. When we got to Europe my wife’s phone did not work as promised. She had to be tied to a local wireless network in order to text, so it was next to worthless. When I got home I called CC and told them about it. They apologized, but did not offer a real excuse. So I told them to let me put the old CC sim card in and they led me thru the process. The clincher is that the card takes up to 72 hours to get provisioned. So far, her phone has been an exercise in frustration for almost two weeks. What a mess!

5 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Manny Katz Redwood City, CA

In trying to transfer a service (ie do a port) from Credo Mobile to Consumer Cellular, and using a current iPhone, they sent us a new SIM card for their network. The card did not work and produced no service. Upon calling CC, they told us that they needed an account number and PIN number from Credo. Well, I said, why did you send us the SIM card before getting this information; as it stood, the SIM card was useless. They told ME to call Credo, which was not for me, as a new customer, to do. They needed to get the porting info before sending me the card. They failed. They asked me for the account number and PIN, not even knowing that CREDO doesn't use PIN numbers. VERY BAD SERVICE.

5 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Larry and suella baird Sun City, AZ

We went to a target and though they didnt have the newer phone for seniors they told us of the new model doro 7050. It is much better in dusplay and easy yse than older phone. So we went to the company web site to purchase the phone. It was not listed as an option. Only the older doro. I chatted with a Rep from consumer cellular. He saud tgey wont offer the newer midel phone exceot at target...lttough the targets here dont have it...until they sell all tbe older model. This us just not acceptable. They are basically concealing the fact there is a much better phone forcing seniors to buy the old model thats not very user friendly. My husband had the older model and so we know about it.

5 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

gridleak Loganville, GA

Cellular service via AT&T is fair to good. Our problem is with account security. Seems that anyone (family member or other) who is on the account can go in and change the account password, gain access to the account and change any and all account information. You try to get into your account and you get locked out and customer service says they can't do anything about it for 24 hours. Seems like an obvious security glitch to me.

2 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Becky Tiller ,

I noticed that new customers and present customers are not shown same respect when it comes to wait time I realize there is a shortage but when I have to borrow a phone to get someone to answer it’s not good I talked with several agents and some halfway helped and I highly recommend Thomas, Aberham, Jackie and Latisha they showed excellent customer service and went above and beyond helping I am excited to be a part of this company but I hope to resolve waiting and customer service from the ones that rushed through Thank you David and Rebecca Santos

3 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Ann Graves Greensboro, NC

I left AT& T hoping I would never have to deal with them again. But Consumer Cellular uses their towers. I have been without answering machine service now for at least a week, because there is a problem with AT& T's towers. None of the customer service reps. have any idea when the answering service will be repaired. This IS NOT GOOD customer service.I have no idea how many important calls I have missed.

4 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Marta A Perez

I been customer for long time. I liked it at first and all was okay. But when my cell phone was stolen I got a replacement and the phone wasn't that good for it being new as they claim it was. I felt I was sent a used one especially since the alarm didn't work at all. I will be switching to a better company, I don't like the phone I was sent and want something better.

4 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

W Eric Roy Greenfield, MA

All of my family phones were shutdown due to an unpaid account balance. We couldn't call each other, couldn't connect to Consumer Cellular to shout "Are you kidding me!" I had no recourse but to pay the bill before I could call out. I tried to reach them cia their Contact us page but I'm on the east coast and they only supply Customer Service during office hours which didn't start until 10 AM on the east coast. Unacceptable! Oh, the kicker, my balance due was $0.01. Who is in charge?

5 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

TPat Cottage Grove, OR

I have been with this company for a number of years. However, things have changed a lot since then. I was in the process of moving and had to use my cell phone constantly. They started sending me texts about my data usage. I told them I would pay extra if I had to. One person told me that I could not have it changed until Dec 1,2020. which was untrue. I went a long time without internet service thru no fault of mine. then they sent me a message that they were going to restrict my phone because of my data usage. this is wrong and I told them that I felt like I was being treated like a child because of it. so I had to pay extra just to increase my date usage. The other thing is now they offer lyft rides for a fee. 36.00 for 12 miles. That is too much especially in these times and some people like me don't drive as much due to medical conditions. I told them about it, and they did not say anything as if they are doing us a favor.

3 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Rick Thomas Carmichael, CA

Service is OK, not great. A lot cheaper than Verizon. Their billing, on the other hand, is a little draconian. If money gets a little tight and you can't make a payment right on time, they'll shut you off, even if you WERE current. I've been shut off for owing as little as $35. I also can't get downloads via text.

4 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Debra L Jacksonville, FL

This concept is great however, watch for the fees and taxes which push the final cost up. Also, if anyone wants the flip phone and will be texting stay away. The keys have three letters on each so texting is hard. I did not know this when the phone was purchased.

5 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Lydia Barker Castle Rock, CO

Fabulous prices. ALMOST all the service I got from AT&T at half the price. CC does not support AT&T wifi calling. Well worth the cut rate price as long as your cell tower doesn't go down! One huge negative: Unless you need the simplest of customer support, their support reps are brain dead. No help at all.

5 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

The Truth Channel Bristol, TN

1st two months, my CS phone would chew up data while I thought I was on my home Wi-Fi. Settings>Cellular> Cellular Data (off)

8 months ago

star star star star_border star_border

John M Stanley

Flip phones should be easy to use and their's is not. Flip open - talk; flip close - hang up. Consumer Cellular's flip phone requires an engineering degree to use! What a pain!

4 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Michael Henricks Cadet, MO

They started out with okay service. Other plans are the same and some much lower price for unlimited everything. But most of all is they will not let you go, they just keep on charging you even after you close your account

5 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Elizabeth Schleisman NC

Had this service for about 3-4 yrs. The customer service hold is really long. However, once on with a support rep, they were very helpful and resolved issues. The service uses Tmobile and ATT cell lines. So the service is the same as these 2 companies, depending on which SIM card you have in your phone.

2 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

yyzsfo Greenbrae, CA

Decent rates, but not enough gradations/options in plans and very problematic to use in Canada and other countries. Expect to switch to Xfinity Mobile.

4 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Glenna Berkey, OH

When I am at home, there is only one small bar for signal. It is very weak. Also some say they sent me a message and no message shows up.

5 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Rhonda Houston Ada, OK

Good customer service. Rates are good..

7 months ago

star star star star_border star_border

Prof. James E. Kutz Alexandria, VA

I am not happy with the cost. I was told $18 month and have to pay $60 with very little use.

5 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Darius Williams Alexandria, VA

Found this service online at a really affordable cost. The service was okay but not the best in the industry

5 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Tony's Babygirl Staton St Louis, MO

Nice phones and good service worldwide even in some rural areas

1 year ago

star star star star_border star_border

B. Murphy

Cheap; you get what you pay for. Mediocre customer service; no wi-fi service

4 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Robert Olson Westland, MI

They are way too expensive, and I am going to leave them in a short time.

4 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Z. Hines Pearland, TX

I frequently have promised with the service and my complaints have not had a resolution yet.

3 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Doris

Bars vary and calls are muffeled at times.

5 years ago