Sixt Rent A Car Logo

Sixt Rent A Car

star star_half star_border star_border star_border
LAST UPDATED: September 29th, 2022

SIXT started out with three locations and grew into an international company with locations throughout the United States. Currently, the company is present in 105 countries across the globe with over 2,000 branch locations. SIXT purchases more than 200,000 vehicles annually and owns the world's largest fleet of premium German cars. 

thumb_up

The Good

  • Vehicle Types
  • Price Range
  • Toll Prepay Option
  • Online Check-In

Vehicle Types

The SIXT vehicle fleet hosts models from German favorites like BMW, Mercedes-Benz, and Audi. Vehicle types include:

  • Convertibles
  • Luxury cars
  • Minivans
  • SUVs
  • Passenger vans

Price Range

SIXT offers vehicles ranging in average prices in the car rental industry. While the prices are not necessarily low, SIXT's car selection is of a higher quality than many economy budget car rentals. The car make and models are newer and more modern so if that is important to you then the average cost is more than worth paying. Regardless of the price listed for a car, though, SIXT boasts a Best Price Guarantee. 

Toll Prepay Option

A very convenient feature is the ability to order toll passes through the company's website. Having a toll pass makes your commute easier when you travel. This comes as part of the online check-in.

Online Check-In

You can check in your car from SIXT's website instead of the rental counter using one of two options: the online check-in portal via the website or the on-site terminal. After you sign in and check in with your reservation number, you go to SIXT's express counter and swap your signature for the car keys. For the terminal option, follow these steps: 

  1. Insert your Sixt Express Card or credit card into the terminal.
  2. The terminal detects your card automatically and shows you the reservation. You also have the option of booking extras at this point, such as winter tires.
  3. Select your car out of three vehicle options.
  4. Confirm the booking details and print your rental agreement.
  5. Open the safe and take the vehicle keys.

This makes checking in easy and fast and eliminates the issue of long lines that you get with other car rental companies.

thumb_down

The Bad

  • Limited U.S. Availability 
  • No Instant Return
  • No On-Site Fuel Discount

Limited U.S. Availability 

SIXT has rental car locations in 15 states, so your options are limited in the United States. Sixt has rental counters at some major airports throughout North America, but not as many as some competitors. For instance, most rental companies have counters at JFK, LaGuardia, or Newark airports in the New York City area and SIXT does not. On the plus side, SIXT is worldwide, so it is likely to cover your international travel needs.   

No Instant Return

SIXT lacks an instant return option where you can leave the car with the keys inside. You must return the vehicle to a rental office (or other identified location) on the date and time specified in your rental agreement. 

No On-Site Fuel Discount

SIXT does not offer discounts for fueling your vehicle on-site. If a customer returns the car low on gas, SIXT charges a $50 fee. 

gavel

The Bottom Line

If you're itching to try out a new or luxury car, look no further than SIXT. With quick check-in, no hidden costs, and free cancellation, SIXT is all about convenience. However, the company is not readily available throughout North America, especially in smaller states and cities. 

Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

Star Rating

1.4

star star_half star_border star_border star_border

402 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

5%

4 grade

2%

3 grade

2%

2 grade

3%

1 grade

87%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star_half star_border star_border star_border

Quality

star star_half star_border star_border star_border

Service

star star_half star_border star_border star_border

Trustworthiness

star star_half star_border star_border star_border
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
star star star star star

Kathy Lindeen Commercial Point, OH

The counter service was prompt and friendly. Got upgraded to a nicer car for free. Easy to get out of airport and return was simple and fast. No issues or concerns with this company. I will definitely use them again in the future.

2 months ago

star star star star star

Anne Kavanagh Reading, PA

We rented a car from Payless . Got stuck in the side of the road with 2 flat tires! No response from our rental company!!! A sixty roadside assistance car was passing and not only stopped but tried to put air in the tires. When that did not work they gave me a ride to Payless to see if they would help. In the meantime they took off the tires took them somewhere and repaired them!!!! They put them back on and got us on our way !!! No charge!!!! Amazing group of 3 men!! This happened 2/18/22 about 1:30pm. Thank you thank you thank you!! Will NEVER use another company except sixt again!!! Signed A very appreciative stranded tourist!!!

7 months ago

star star star star star

Dustin Lerkins Orlando, FL

Very flexible qnd Understanding. Out of a very difficult situation they resolved our dispute without ajy concerns for their bottom line and only concern for my satisfaction.

2 months ago

star star star star star

Charmaine Aberdeen

It was my birthday weekend and the company I rented from called and disappointed me I searched around and got a car from Sixt when I got there I was treated so well by Precious at the JFK branch I will definitely be using your company again 👍💥💕

5 months ago

star star star star star

jeff goldberg

Just finished renting a Chevy Blazer at the Fort Lauderdale airport. From start to finish the service and the car were excellent. The gentleman who checked us in was helpful and professional and walked us to the location where we could pick up our car. Upon the return, the young lady who looked after us was very pleasant and helpful. This was my 2nd time renting from Sixt. It's price was competitive. I will certainly use it again.

7 months ago

star star star star star

Jane DOE Port Charlotte, FL

Just finished renting a Mini Cooper at the Tampa airport location. From start to finish the service and the car were excellent. Carl checked us in and was helpful. He was also very friendly, informative and professional. I highly recommend renting a car from this car rental.

6 months ago

star star star star star

Michael Jaffe Delray Beach, FL

Rented a Toyota Yaris at Ben-Gurion Airport (TLV) in Tel Aviv for two weeks, arranged through Expedia. The handover was smooth and quick, even during prime tourist season. The staff was extremely friendly and efficient. The vehicle had 1400 km on it, so it was practically new and in pristine condition. No issues with the car. Car return was also quick, very friendly staff. A year earlier, I had used SixT at Reykjavik, and the pickup experience was not nearly as good. There seem to be a number of factors influencing the experience, but, for the most part, SixT seems to be a good discount option.

3 years ago

star star star star star

Maureen E. Serge

I was so surprised to see the negative reviews for Sixt. I have been renting cars from Sixt for approximately 2 years and have never had a problem, and the customer service was fantastic. Besides their prices being the best in town, I always receive fast courtesy service from the counter people. Granted, I only rent when I am in Las Vegas, but I am there 3 or 4 times a year and use Sixt all the time. I tried the rest of the car rentals and they are expensive and never had the car that I originally reserved. BRAVO to Sixt. To all the new customers, don't be swayed by someone else's negativity.

3 years ago

star star star star star

Robert Jones Brooklyn, NY

Sixt always goes above and beyond to accommodate me with my car rental needs, this is the second time they upgraded my car without changing me anything extra, I’ve been renting cars from sixt for a few years now and i love doing business with them, will definitely continue to use sixt rental A+++++

11 months ago

star star star star star

Helen Casserly Rochester, NY

Vikram, Khalid & Nick at (BHX) Birmingham Airport Sixt rental car provided me with EXCEPTIONAL service. My family was in crisis & my original contract with the Heathrow Airport office was misinterpreted & no longer served my needs. I arrived in an extremely distressed state, but was treated with so much empathy & compassion. They made me feel that no problem was insurmountable. I applaud Vikram, Khalid & Nick, they have ensured my loyalty to Sixt. ~ Helen Casserly ~

2 years ago

star star star star star

Tommie L Dallas, GA

They have nice new cars and the staff is friendly and professional. It’s the least stressful rental or travel arrangement I have ever had to deal with. Actually with the miles I drive for work me renting a car from them is cheaper then buying a new one and paying a big insurance bill and maintenance. Brittany B has been especially efficient and always brought me a fresh new car out within minutes. She is definitely is off the charts when it comes to customer service.

2 years ago

star star star star star

Julie Layton, UT

Prompt and friendly customer service. Great car. Would definitely rent here again.

2 months ago

star star star star star

Edgar Cooper Naples, FL

Dan and Morgan at RSW provided great customer service helping us with a replacement vehicle after we lost our car keys. They were very professional and couldn't have been nicer!

9 months ago

star star star star star

Marco Castro Phoenix, AZ

Customer care took care of a cancellation we had and after some discussion refunded us the full amount. We need more companies like this I will be back for future rentals. DrC

10 months ago

star star star star star

Ben Proto

I write this because of overall experience. The company actually gave me a car that was more expensive and charged me extra. BUT when I returned they gave me a full refund. They were pleasant and helpful. I would definitely use again.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Naomi Jacksonville, FL

They have the best customer service! I always use this company when it comes to events when I don’t want to use my own car. The car is always clean and I never had a bad incident.

10 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

J Salt Lake City, UT

I’m always hesitant to use less established companies. When Sixt was relatively new, my wife and I took a chance and a booked rental with them at SeaTac. We were not disappointed. We got a luxury car for the price of a midsize through the more well known agencies. Great car with decent service. We were not disappointed!

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

leopoldo cevallos New York, NY

Just got the car back to the rent car, Jose the driver was very profesional and helpful, for sure next time will comeback

10 months ago

star star star star star

FuqSixt

Worse rental company ever. Keep your receipts because they’ll charge you astronomical amounts weeks later claiming system errors. STAY AWAY FROM THIS FRAUDULENT COMPANY!

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Lottielyn Schwenke Orlando, FL

I used Sixt for the first time on a work trip to Minnesota. They were great, easy to use, and upgraded my car to an SUV with no problem as I was not comfortable to drive in snow.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Roman Christiansen Pleasant Grove, UT

When I was in need of a rental car I used Sixt Rent a Car and it was an amazing experience! The car I used was very nice!

2 years ago

star star star star star

gayana innocent Deerfield Beach, FL

Love Love Love Sixt. I rented a car for senior prom pictures and it was very nice.

2 years ago