USAA Auto Insurance Logo

USAA Auto Insurance

star star star star star_half

7.1

Overall Score

LAST UPDATED: February 17th, 2024

If you or your parent or spouse is in the military, USAA Insurance is an excellent insurer to work with. Its mobile app and online account management make it simple to file claims, pay premiums, and print identification cards.

USAA also offers good coverage options, including coverage for rideshare drivers. USAA offers a wide variety of discounts, which you can benefit from as well. Beyond being a competitive insurance carrier, USAA has received many positive reviews. These positive reviews show USAA's dedication to offering excellent service and competitive rates.

Read USAA Reviews

Top Ranked Companies

thumb_up

The Good

  • Positive Reviews
  • High Financial Strength Ratings
  • Good Coverage Options
  • Rideshare Coverage Available
  • Variety of Discounts
  • Easy to Work With

Positive Reviews

Best Company has received many USAA auto insurance reviews. An overwhelming majority of reviews are 4 or 5 stars.

Reviewers praise USAA for its customer service and competitive rates. Several reviews also reflect claims satisfaction.

With such a high level of customer satisfaction, you can be confident when working with USAA for car insurance coverage.

High Financial Strength Ratings

USAA has received high financial strength ratings, which means that the insurance provider is financially stable and likely to be able to meet its claims obligations.

High ratings are common among top insurers.

Good Coverage Options

USAA offers excellent coverage options. It's policies can include the following coverages:

  • Comprehensive and collision coverage
  • Liability coverage
  • Personal injury protection (PIP)
  • Extended benefits coverage (added with medical payments coverage)
  • Uninsured and underinsured motorist bodily injury and property damage coverage
  • Roadside assistance
  • Rental reimbursement
  • Accident forgiveness (free after 5 years without any at-fault accident)

With so many kinds of coverage, you can easily find a good auto insurance policy that meets your needs.

Rideshare Coverage Available

In addition to offering the typical coverages for personal auto insurance, USAA also offers rideshare driver coverage. This coverage starts at $6 per month and can be added to your existing policy to bridge the gap in coverage.

Variety of Discounts

USAA offers many discounts. You can take full advantage of these discounts to save money on your car insurance policy.

USAA offers the following discounts:

  • Safe Driver
  • Defensive Driving Course
  • Driver Training (for people under 21)
  • Good Student
  • New Vehicle
  • Multi-Vehicle
  • Annual Mileage
  • Vehicle Storage
  • Family Discount
  • Length of Membership Savings
  • Military Installation (garage vehicle on base)

If you buy a USAA car insurance policy and renters or homeowners insurance, you can save 10 percent on your renters or homeowner policy.

While this discount applies only to renters and homeowners insurance, you can still benefit if you need either of those insurances and an auto policy.

Easy to Work With

USAA has a reputation of being easy to work with and accessible. You can benefit from these features from start to finish when you purchase a car insurance policy from USAA.

You can get a insurance rate quote online, manage your policy, print identification cards, file claims through USAA's online claims center, and adjust your payment schedule. USAA even has a secure mobile app that you can use to view your auto identification card, request roadside assistance, report claims, and view the accident checklist.

With so many convenient and accessible features, working with USAA can be an excellent experience.

Additional Products and Services

USAA offers several other types of insurance products. You can find home insurance, life insurance, renters insurance and more.

You can also find financial services like loans and banking through USAA.

Visit Site

thumb_down

The Bad

  • Must Meet Eligibility Requirements
  • Some Types of Coverage Not Available Everywhere

Must Meet Eligibility Requirements

If you want to buy car insurance from USAA, you'll need to become a USAA member. U.S. military members and veterans, pre commissioned officers, their spouses and children can all join. USAA does not charge a membership fee.

If you're not eligible for USAA membership, you'll need to look into other options.

Some Types of Coverage Not Available Everywhere

You'll need to work with USAA directly to understand specific offerings in your area. While many of its services are available widely, not all of its coverage options are. For example, accident forgiveness coverage isn't available in all states.

While this variation can be frustrating, USAA offers many good policy options and discounts that you can benefit from.

gavel

The Bottom Line

USAA is an excellent insurance company to work with if you're connected to the military. USAA car insurance reviews on BestCompany.com are overwhelmingly positive.

You'll benefit from good coverage options, which means you can create an auto insurance policy that meets your needs. Rideshare drivers can benefit from USAA's rideshare gap coverage. You'll also find competitive savings opportunities on your insurance premium and excellent service.

We recommend working with USAA to learn more about your options and car insurance rate quotes.

Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

Star Rating

info

4.3

star star star star star_half

472 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

82%

4 grade

10%

3 grade

3%

2 grade

2%

1 grade

3%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star star star_half

Quality

star star star star star_half

Service

star star star star star_half

Trustworthiness

star star star star star_half
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Warren Grover Seattle, WA

I have been with USAA for auto insurance for only 53 years and so far they have been a good company to be with--only time will tell if that continues! Unfortunately, they have been with me when I had to use their services for some accidents--and I cannot say that I was not at fault for all of them--but USAA stood by me. Also, I just this week used one of their partner alliances to rent a car--this covers all of the added insurance the rental car companies want to change you but for no charge! What you pay for auto insurance is important, but more important is the service provided when you need it--and USAA is excellent and the rate is not bad either. In fact, the longer you are with them for this coverage, the more you receive in the form of an annual refund. I also have daughters who use USAA for their insurance. If you are eligible for USAA and do not utilize it, shame on you! Check it out.

2 years ago

star star star star star_border

Rob Malta, OH

When I call for insurance questions, they always do an insurance survey to be sure I'm covered at a good rate. I check auto and home insurance rates regularly and compare them with USAA rates. I have found them consistently equal to or lower than most other companies in their category.

5 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Rommie Bishop III Rexburg, ID

Ok, I've had USAA for several months now (am a U.S. Marine) cause I knew they handled the military, and they've been wonderful. For real. Every time I have a question or something, they help me figure out whats up. This one lady helped me determine which premium would be best for me despite the fact I move so much, and the insurance plan I got is a decent price.

4 years ago

star star star star star_border

Christine Geck

If you don't like what they say you can always call back and get a different answer. They keep you on the phone too long. But most importantly they are always very kind and understanding.

6 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

KayCee Belka Derby, KS

We have had USAA auto insurance for several years and have had a generally good experience with them. Their prices are fair, their customer service is prompt, and their insurance support during an incident is good. We have had a couple of negative experiences with them, but have been happy overall.

4 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Foote Queen Creek, AZ

I have enjoyed this insurance company. The customer service I receive and the helpfulness is great. They are always read to help and to find the answer for you if they are not sure. I have never had a problem with claims or any type of reimbursement from them.

5 years ago Edited September 14, 2021

star star star star star_border

Deb

I recently was in a parking lot fender bender. It wasn’t my fault. It was a little awkward resolving the claim during a pandemic, but we got it done.

3 years ago

star star star star star_border

David Guith

Good company provided no major problems, however became an empire builder years ago allowing too many people in to a member group eroding savings and increasing premiums.

6 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Sweet Nouveau Palmdale, CA

My overall experience with USAA has been wonderful. Sometimes the phone calls can be quite long on hold but other than that they are very nice and respectable and always address my issues

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Timothy Lesperance Fort Worth, TX

Great coverage and customer service, but the prices have gone way up in the last couple of years compared to other services. After having this insurance for 15 years, I dropped it for Progressive.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Shane Hallowell Summerville, SC

As a I enjoy working with a company that supports active military and veterans. When you file a claim they’re quick to help you out in anyway that they can and follow through.

3 years ago

star star star star star_border

Jeffrey Foutz American Fork, UT

Rates are fairly low. They're easy to get a hold of when needed. Getting to the correct representative to get things done on policy can be very time consuming and a bit of a pain.

5 years ago

star star star star star_border

Brooke Harris Houston, TX

I have had usaa auto insurance for 2+ years. It is a little pricey

4 months ago Edited October 17, 2023

star star star star star_border

Cole Bailey Houston, TX

I use USAA with my family’s auto insurance. It is a really big help and we have a discounted price compared to other agencies.

3 years ago

star star star star star_border

David Rochester, NY

Competitivve price, but they damaged my car door trying to open it, and never reimbursed me for said damage a they had promised.

4 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Violetzmom Gulfport, MS

I had insurance with usaa for 12 years, until I found out Geico could save our family money. The customer service was always above average. The products are overpriced.

4 years ago

star star star star star_border

Holly Schafer Forest Grove, OR

I love my insurance with USAA. It is reasonably priced and has really good coverage options. They can be more expensive depending on the area you live in

4 years ago

star star star star star_border

Royal A. Brown III Winter Haven, FL

Good value for money - will insure your children even after reaching adulthood and being on their own.

6 years ago

star star star star star_border

Art

they are good and have been around for a long time. They cater to the military and I like that fact.

6 years ago

star star star star star_border

Gordon Murdoch

My truck is in the shop at the present time and have not been contacted without me doing the contacting.

6 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Aricel Westfall Slocomb, AL

Always able to give me great rates but customer service could be better. Half the time, I am unable to get in contact with them

2 years ago

star star star star star_border

Van M. Orem, UT

Great service, they helped me a lot when I needed a tow and it was seamless. I do think they have good coverage and are good to work with.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Katlyn Hockman Chicago, IL

My family and I have been using this company for a few years now and they have never failed us. They are also extremely affordable. Love them.

4 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Nicholas Genes Los Angeles, CA

Still have USAA. Always come back to them. The only thing they lack is auto insurance for working vehicles and deposit cash

4 years ago

star star star star star_border

Garrett Mingus Provo, UT

I just got married and started a new policy with my wife. USAA gave us the best deal. The website made it really easy to get a quote.

4 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Melinda American Fork, UT

We had an accident and USAA was great to work with. The agent was respectful and supportive and helped us resolve everything.

5 years ago

star star star star star_border

Tiffany Barney Salt Lake City, UT

This is a great option for auto insurance. Very competitive rates and coverage. Highly recommend.

4 years ago

star star star star star_border

April Yedinak

They have the best rates and great customer service. I have been very pleased with USAA.

6 years ago

star star star star star_border

Kristina

Because they are almost the lowest priced insurance I've found and they have great customer service

6 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

moose72 Muncy, PA

Great customer service decent pricing also have banking checking credit cards and loans all pretty good

2 years ago

star star star star star_border

Hailey Moody , TX

Reasonably priced compared to other car insurance companies I have gotten quotes from. Staff is responsive and helpful.

4 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Darluap Pleasant Grove, UT

Had their auto insurance for many years. Rates never increased but never decreased either. Excellent service.

5 years ago

star star star star star_border

Michelle Pope League City, TX

Fast and efficient. I guess the rates are good but service is great

2 years ago

star star star star star_border

Gary H Renfrew

The payments have increased to where I am looking for other insurance

6 years ago

star star star star star_border

Kenny Knox

On recent claim had a lot of trouble getting adjuster to call back

6 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Meagan Smyrna, GA

USAA is a quality auto insurance and always available to assist you in your needs.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Joelann Gawel Morris, IL

I had insurance with them many years ago and I thought their time to help me out was very slow.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Jolene Pleasant Grove, UT

USAA gives great customer service. They worked hard to give us the best rates possible.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Oc11 Miami, FL

Had a mistake one time and they were pretty responsive to get it fixed. Good prices also

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Jesse Rice Biloxi, MS

They are great. If you have a problem they help you right away. Never had any problems with them.

4 years ago

star star star star star_border

Debbie

Very responsive to the needs of clients.

3 years ago

star star star star star_border

Mark

Insurance product keeps dropping, prices increase

6 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Roberta Rustin Jonesboro, GA

Very responsive a bit expensive for auto and home insurance policies

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Debra Williams Cedar Hill, TX

very pleasant and quick response when I make a claim or have questions.

2 years ago

star star star star star_border

Chase H Provo, UT

Not the best rates but good service. But still would recommend.

5 years ago