USAA Auto Insurance Logo

USAA Auto Insurance

star star star star star_half

7.1

Overall Score

LAST UPDATED: February 17th, 2024

If you or your parent or spouse is in the military, USAA Insurance is an excellent insurer to work with. Its mobile app and online account management make it simple to file claims, pay premiums, and print identification cards.

USAA also offers good coverage options, including coverage for rideshare drivers. USAA offers a wide variety of discounts, which you can benefit from as well. Beyond being a competitive insurance carrier, USAA has received many positive reviews. These positive reviews show USAA's dedication to offering excellent service and competitive rates.

Read USAA Reviews

Top Ranked Companies

thumb_up

The Good

  • Positive Reviews
  • High Financial Strength Ratings
  • Good Coverage Options
  • Rideshare Coverage Available
  • Variety of Discounts
  • Easy to Work With

Positive Reviews

Best Company has received many USAA auto insurance reviews. An overwhelming majority of reviews are 4 or 5 stars.

Reviewers praise USAA for its customer service and competitive rates. Several reviews also reflect claims satisfaction.

With such a high level of customer satisfaction, you can be confident when working with USAA for car insurance coverage.

High Financial Strength Ratings

USAA has received high financial strength ratings, which means that the insurance provider is financially stable and likely to be able to meet its claims obligations.

High ratings are common among top insurers.

Good Coverage Options

USAA offers excellent coverage options. It's policies can include the following coverages:

  • Comprehensive and collision coverage
  • Liability coverage
  • Personal injury protection (PIP)
  • Extended benefits coverage (added with medical payments coverage)
  • Uninsured and underinsured motorist bodily injury and property damage coverage
  • Roadside assistance
  • Rental reimbursement
  • Accident forgiveness (free after 5 years without any at-fault accident)

With so many kinds of coverage, you can easily find a good auto insurance policy that meets your needs.

Rideshare Coverage Available

In addition to offering the typical coverages for personal auto insurance, USAA also offers rideshare driver coverage. This coverage starts at $6 per month and can be added to your existing policy to bridge the gap in coverage.

Variety of Discounts

USAA offers many discounts. You can take full advantage of these discounts to save money on your car insurance policy.

USAA offers the following discounts:

  • Safe Driver
  • Defensive Driving Course
  • Driver Training (for people under 21)
  • Good Student
  • New Vehicle
  • Multi-Vehicle
  • Annual Mileage
  • Vehicle Storage
  • Family Discount
  • Length of Membership Savings
  • Military Installation (garage vehicle on base)

If you buy a USAA car insurance policy and renters or homeowners insurance, you can save 10 percent on your renters or homeowner policy.

While this discount applies only to renters and homeowners insurance, you can still benefit if you need either of those insurances and an auto policy.

Easy to Work With

USAA has a reputation of being easy to work with and accessible. You can benefit from these features from start to finish when you purchase a car insurance policy from USAA.

You can get a insurance rate quote online, manage your policy, print identification cards, file claims through USAA's online claims center, and adjust your payment schedule. USAA even has a secure mobile app that you can use to view your auto identification card, request roadside assistance, report claims, and view the accident checklist.

With so many convenient and accessible features, working with USAA can be an excellent experience.

Additional Products and Services

USAA offers several other types of insurance products. You can find home insurance, life insurance, renters insurance and more.

You can also find financial services like loans and banking through USAA.

Visit Site

thumb_down

The Bad

  • Must Meet Eligibility Requirements
  • Some Types of Coverage Not Available Everywhere

Must Meet Eligibility Requirements

If you want to buy car insurance from USAA, you'll need to become a USAA member. U.S. military members and veterans, pre commissioned officers, their spouses and children can all join. USAA does not charge a membership fee.

If you're not eligible for USAA membership, you'll need to look into other options.

Some Types of Coverage Not Available Everywhere

You'll need to work with USAA directly to understand specific offerings in your area. While many of its services are available widely, not all of its coverage options are. For example, accident forgiveness coverage isn't available in all states.

While this variation can be frustrating, USAA offers many good policy options and discounts that you can benefit from.

gavel

The Bottom Line

USAA is an excellent insurance company to work with if you're connected to the military. USAA car insurance reviews on BestCompany.com are overwhelmingly positive.

You'll benefit from good coverage options, which means you can create an auto insurance policy that meets your needs. Rideshare drivers can benefit from USAA's rideshare gap coverage. You'll also find competitive savings opportunities on your insurance premium and excellent service.

We recommend working with USAA to learn more about your options and car insurance rate quotes.

Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

Star Rating

info

4.3

star star star star star_half

472 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

82%

4 grade

10%

3 grade

3%

2 grade

2%

1 grade

3%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star star star_half

Quality

star star star star star_half

Service

star star star star star_half

Trustworthiness

star star star star star_half
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Heather Morton Gilbert, AZ

I was involved in an accident with one of their policy holders. The policy holder had a stop sign and decided to disregard it. I was headed south out of the complex with their policy holder stopped at the stop sign to the right. ( North and South traffic does not have stop signs) When I called and made the claim with usaa casualty insurance company I was told that someone would be getting back to me. No one did, until my insurance company called and told me that usaa casualty insurance company reached out to them. no regard for the person who was involved in the accident, surely my insurance company was better. Not only no compassion, definitely lacking competence. Would not even give a star, but in order to post I had to do so.

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

John Mason Baer West Chester, PA

I was hit head on at no fault by an out of state USAA insurer crossing our ongoing traffic flow on October 7th 2018. This resulted in not only totaling my brand new Mercedes, but significant head damage smashing my head and breaking my windshield. I have spent more than 6 months in rehab for severe head trauma until all my medical benefits ran out! I lost all my income and am still battling to settle with this unreputable firm! Now due to COVID-19 I have no hope of taking them to court anytime in the near future. They simply ignore every request from my attorney, and even after conducting a ZOOM deposition meeting with their attorney. Frankly, I should have simply sued the person insured by them, since they do not stand up for their at fault liability! The only claims paid to DATE in two years were all from my insurance company State Farm! They even lied to me claiming that limited tort for liability would be the case, when it does not apply to out of state Pennsylvania drivers. This firm is a scam artist, to be avoided at all costs!

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Thomas Riley Jacksonville, FL

July 15, 2018 I am making a formal complaint about a claim I have with USAA Auto Insurance Company. Background On May 23, 2018 , my car (2008 Ford Mustang), was struck in Jacksonville, FL. The driver of the other vehicle was charged with running a red light and was insured by USAA. No charges were made against me. USAA was notified by both parties on that day and USAA reported to that they would handle the claim and issued a claim number. Since that phone call, I tried contacting USAA several times and left several messages, and they did not returned my calls. Neither did they send a claim adjuster to review the damages nor make an offer to repair the damages. After reporting USAA to the Better Business Bureau on June 24, I received an email from the Office of the CEO at USAA (on the evening of June 26) requesting my USAA claim number. That information was emailed on the morning of June 27. Since that time, I have been contacted by several people at USAA (by voice messenger). I returned their calls shortly after I receiving them, but none of my voices messages were returned to discuss my claim. On July 6, I was requested to resend the estimated cost of repairs and photographs of the damages, which on did on July 6. Seven weeks after the accident, my repairs were completed on July 12, and I paid the repair shop (which is on USAA’s approved list of approved repair shops) $9,259. On July 13, USAA’s Total Lost and Salvage Claims Division notified me that the value of my car was worth only $5,639 and they would be willing to pay that amount if I gave them title of the Mustang. In Summary It took USAA over 7 weeks to notify me what portion of the damages they were willing to pay. I waited nearly 3 weeks before I started the repair work, and the Mustang was in the garage for nearly 5 weeks for repairs. After over 7 weeks since the accident, USAA finally prepared an estimate, as to what they were willing to pay for the collision. During that 50 day period, USAA neither made an offer for a car rental nor to offer compensation for the inconvenience of not having the use of a car for 50 days. Recommendation USAA should not be allowed to sell insurance in the state of Florida. Thomas F. Riley (I am a veteran)

5 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Amanda George IL

This company will milk you for every penny you have. They will call all hours of the day and tell you that you owe them money for whatever reason. They are awful, ride, and way over priced.

7 months ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

John

I was one of the few unlucky veterans that got into a wreck with one of their clients, did over $5000 damage to my truck. My truck lost value of over $10,000 and they paid me less than $1000. Very bad to deal with ! I could tell by their attitude on the phone that they were not going to give an inch and be fair and pay me what I should've been paid. So I finally just dropped it and that's what I hope you do is just drop it and forget about it so they can get away with taking advantage of the public.

6 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Donna G Schultz Grove, OK

I was rear ended in 2008 while stopped at a red light, by a USAA client in 2008 who was racing another motorist. The policeman said he was going about 50 mph+ when he hit me. Because I didn't get in an ambulance (because I was vomiting and disoriented) and they said USAA said my truck wasn't damaged enough (vibrated at 50 mph after the accident), they offered me $5,000 total for my injuries. For TWO years, they only offered $5,000. I had a neurosurgeon ready to testify my neck & back injuries were a direct result of the accident but they never offered over $5,000. I had over $25,000 in diagnostic medical bills and I have been left with permanent injuries. The doctor even apologized to me that I had been treated wrong. They might cover their veterans, (which doesn't impress me because the veterans pay just like any other insurance company), but they sure don't cover the people that are injured by their veterans. People think all insurance companies are like this, but they're not. When my son had an accident and it was his fault, our insurance company paid. We checked them. You should always make sure when you hurt someone, even accidentally, that your insurance company takes care of them. That's what you pay them for.

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

michael moore Fort Worth, TX

They might be great if you are a client, but I had their client hit me and they are blaming me when I didn't do anything wrong. I need my truck to get to work and the adjustor will not even call me. If you get into accident will their client prepare for a fight.

6 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Erika Washington, DC

If you don't have usaa but one of their members who hit you does. Do yourself a favor go straight to a lawyer, don't wastevia your time dealing with them. 3 months of back and forth trying to get our truck fixed and now they don't want to finish paying for the job. And no rental car during this time. LAWYER UP IMMEDIATELY! !!

6 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

melissa sorensen Spanish Fork, UT

We were with USAA for many, many years due to my husbands service. Then in one year they raised our rates hundreds. We asked what the change was with no claims and they said our area drove the price. Our loyalty meant nothing.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Willie Sneed Dallas, TX

I had that insurance for my two years wife Said good insurance when i got hurt a week later i got drop they see some part that to get to me they said some crap about sending the check all I got was dropped call got damaged Echo by my own battery the car wasn't fixed right

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Shirley Hardy Louisville, KY

The customer service agents are rude and pushy. The company takes money out of your checking account that is not authorized when there is a rate increase without any explanation of the increase. Customer service rep could not explain the reason for the increase.

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Taylor Johnston

Really useless. During the pandemic I was unable to pay for my insurance because I was unemployed so they cancelled without notice.

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

J.Sal

After 23 years of happily taking our money, we filed our 1st claim. It's been a month with no resolution.

6 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Ken Harrison Mount Pleasant, TX

Sorry folks at USSA and very sneaky. Over 20 years and I would rate them lower than 1 if I could.

6 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Lori Langelier Houston, TX

USAA Auto Insurance isn’t available for all drivers.

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Mrs. Lee San Antonio, TX

Adjuster not knowledgeable and very rude.

4 years ago