PrepScholar Logo
star star star star_half star_border

5.0

Overall Score

LAST UPDATED: November 9th, 2022

PrepScholar is one of the most widely searched test preparation companies. They were founded by Allen Cheng and Fred Zhang, both of whom received perfect scores on the SAT in 2013. PrepScholar focuses on helping students ace the SAT. They offer online courses and tutoring for both the ACT and SAT.

Top Ranked Companies

thumb_up

The Good

  • Customized Instruction
  • Money-Back Guarantee
  • Customer Support

Customized Instruction

At the beginning of each course, students take a diagnostic test to discern their ability level. This unique prep program caters to the needs of each student. Students then receive step-by-step instructions, so they know exactly what to study and can easily review their mistakes. They also receive weekly reports to track their progress. Those needing additional assistance can also add one-on-one tutoring to their course. 

Tutoring services offer two plans: Plan A is focused more heavily on tutor instruction, while Plan B requires more self study. All tutoring services include access to the online program.

Money-Back Guarantee

Both the ACT and SAT courses offer a five-day risk-free trial. Dissatisfied customers can request a refund; it is important to note that any used portion of tutoring packages cannot be refunded. Tutoring services do have a one-hour guarantee. Once a customer has tried tutoring for an hour he or she can cancel and receive a full refund.

In addition, PrepScholar offers a point increase money-back guarantee. They guarantee scores will increase 240+ points (up to 2300+) on the SAT and 4+ points (up to 34+) on the ACT. These guarantees include certain requirements, such as finishing the course and a prior score received before taking the course.

Customer Support

PrepScholar advertises free technical support. Customers can contact a purchase question hotline or email the company. They also offer a helpful FAQs page and have a clear, easy-to-use website. 

thumb_down

The Bad

  • Only SAT and ACT Preparation Courses
  • High Tutoring Prices
  • Only Online Courses
  • Time In Service

Only SAT Preparation Courses

PrepScholar specialized in SAT and ACT preparation courses. This may be advantageous for customers seeking courses for these test; however, customers seeking courses for other tests will have to research other companies. 

High Tutoring Prices

The price for both online courses is $397. This price is reasonable for the test preparation industry; however, their tutoring services are much more expense than competitors. Tutoring services include the online course and range from $995 to $6,995.

Only Online Courses 

PrepScholar only offers online courses. They do not offer any in-person or online live sessions. Their tutoring services are completed over the Internet through Skype or Google Hangouts. 

Time In Service

PrepScholar is a very new company, one of the newest in the industry. Customers looking for more established companies will want to seek out other options. 

gavel

The Bottom Line

PrepScholar offers customized SAT and ACT preparation courses. These courses are designed to meet the needs of individuals. All courses are performed online and allow flexibility for busy students. We recognize PrepScholar as a good SAT and ACT online prep company. Their price is more affordable than many competitors. 

However, those looking for an inexpensive program should look at other companies. Their tutoring services are also more expensive than competitors, so we recommend seeking other options for tutors. PrepScholar only offers SAT and ACT prep courses so customers looking for other tests will need to seek out other options. 

Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

Star Rating

3.6

star star star star_half star_border

32 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

53%

4 grade

9%

3 grade

3%

2 grade

6%

1 grade

28%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star star_half star_border

Quality

star star star star_half star_border

Service

star star star star_half star_border

Trustworthiness

star star star star_half star_border
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Beth B.

After researching many options, we selected PrepScholar both for SAT Prep, and College Admissions – Full Essay Service and Application Review Service. The SAT Prep was very helpful for my son, and the resulting score we were very proud of. The College Admissions services were wonderful. Our consultant, Julianne, was the best! She did an amazing job! Her communication style (both to my son and me), turnaround time, and guidance were remarkable. The essays were always 100% my son’s thoughts and wording. She assisted with the flow and encouraged him to add more detail when needed. We met our early deadlines for applications, and her assistance in reviewing the applications was very beneficial. Overall, we are so happy we went with PrepScholar!

2 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

vanessa varela Key Biscayne, FL

We chose PrepScholar among 5 other companies offering college counseling, and we are more than satisfied with our decision! The company is very organized, responsible and clear. Claire, besides being very knowledgeable, managed to get to know our daughter and manage her times much better than we have done in 18 years. She offered Lucia a wide repertoire of schools that were unknown to us and to the rest of her classmates, opening up opportunities for her acceptance. She took the time to understand Lucia's interests and strenghts, as well as her weaker sides. We loved working with Prepscholar and Claire! Totally recommend. She got into many schools she loved.

9 months ago

star star star star star

Eric Cambridge, MA

Our son used PrepScholar to get support with the college admissions process. Since he goes to a public school, he was used to getting minimal time and attention from his high school counselor. This prompted us to look for a counselor who cold help him more in-depth and it was probably the best decision we could've taken. The consultant we got assigned was amazing!! She was attentive, charismatic, smart, and knowledgeable about the whole process. My son and her met weekly and she was available via email to answer additional questions any time. This made the whole process smoother and we're proud to say that our son got into 2 of his top 3 choice schools!

9 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Tom Jones White River Junction, VT

We had a unique situation to jump in with Prep scholar with just a few months before the January 15th application deadlines. This was unexpected and a little stressful for our family. Our Prep Scholar counselor, Paige, was very efficient and calm. She was able to increase her availability to make up for lost time and we got all the final product applications in ON TIME. I would highly recommend Prep Scholar services, and, I think it would have been even more of a great value and experience if we had started sooner.

8 months ago

star star star star star

Dayna K Mount Kisco, NY

I was beyond happy with PrepScholar. Anna was our personal consultant and she was incredible. My son would not have had such an amazing common app essay if it wasn't for her. She made the process seamless which is not an easy task with my son who is not a strong writer. He has thoughts but has trouble putting them on paper. Anna was wonderful at guiding him and then was so clear with her suggested edits. After we finished the common app essay with her, we bought another package and had her assist with a few of the supplemental essays. Again she was so amazing!!

9 months ago

star star star star star

Reem E Trenton, NJ

Prepscholar was honestly the best choice I made when it came to studying for the SAT. I took a Princeton Review course the summer before my junior year planning to take the SAT in October. The course was not helpful at all for me as it wasn’t personalized to what I needed to work and focus on. Even after the course, I had to do a list of self studying to bring my practice test score up. In October, I got a 1430. This was pretty good for a first score, but I really wanted above a 1500 to stand out. In April, I found I PrepScholar. I called several times and they answered very quickly, trying to get all the info I can on their course. I completed the course within a month, ready for the May SAT. Keep in mind, you should probably give yourself about two months to complete the course, as it requires a lot of self dedication and motivation to complete. However, once I did, I got a 1570!!!! I would definitely recommend the course as it is customized, cost-effective, and easiest to use and understand.

3 years ago

star star star star star

Debbie Lincolnton, NC

Our experience with Prep Scholar was excellent...and we are NOT employees, friends, or such as mentioned in previous reviews. What was most helpful was the customized plan based off of the diagnostic test. This program is definitely geared toward self motivated students or students who have someone at home urging them to put in the time. A suggestion for improvement would be the option of a live team of tutors for students who are still stuck on a certain concept, but not needing full tutoring. Example: purchase 1 hour of live help that could be used on an as needed basis...10 minutes here, 15 minutes there, etc We actually would like to commend the customer service! Although it would be VERY NICE to be able to call or chat versus having to wait for an email response, they always answered within 24 hours, and most requests or questions were answered the same day if it was early enough in the day. In addition, they offered discounts if you had multiple family members using the program or if you purchased the SAT and then decided to add the ACT or vice versa. They were prompt in issuing the credit to our credit card once discount verification was complete. As far as their money back guarantee, they DID honor it for the ACT program quickly once proof of scores were reviewed. In addition, they offer the 5 day FREE trial period which gives you full access to the program for a realistic experience to see if it is a good fit for the student. Another suggestion would be the option to retake quizzes for all areas even if they were skills that had been mastered. When prepping far in advance of test dates, it would be nice to quiz again over material that was covered months earlier...just as a refresher. Our daughter put in the time, completed the full programs, and earned excellent scores! We purchased both the SAT and ACT Prep and we will use them again when our next daughter is ready to begin prep.

3 years ago

star star star star star

Aspen F Manhattan, MT

Although i am not familiar with their way of operating in customer service, i have used the ACT prep program since june of this year. After studying for about 4 months (only a couple hours each week), i raised my score from a 24 to a 28. What i appreciate the most is that they try to use all three methods of learning (auditory, visual, and kinesthetic) in order to help you obtain the information. they also adjust the complexity/broadness of a course so that if you are a beginner in a skill, they include beginner's information. There are three practice tests you may take to get an estimate of your new score. All in all, the program is great for independent studiers who simply need practice.

4 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Connor McDaniel Katy, TX

The results were amazing! I got into 11 out of 12 of my colleges, all of which were major public universities across the US. I feel that a major part of my success was due to the help I got for my essays, as my grades weren’t particularly amazing, but not bad of course.

8 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Lucia Correa Varela Medellín, ANT

It was most beneficial in helping me find Colleges that were the right fit for me. My counselor was really devoted to getting to know me and showing me places that matched me. She was also amazing with writing help. Made everything so much easier!!

8 months ago

star star star star star

Austin Che Chicago, IL

We had a good experience with PrepScholar. It's an online program that was really convenient for my daughter who had way too many activities as a junior. They have thousands of questions, videos, and good answer explanations. My daughter felt she got what she wanted from it and improved her ACT score by 4 points in addition to her own research using books from the library. It's not as personal as hiring a tutor but it's a lot less expensive and in our experience about as good.

3 years ago

star star star star star

Raina Flatley Montclair, NJ

I thought PrepScholar was a pretty good program. My son improved his SAT score by 130 points and that was enough for the schools we're interested in. It does require the student to be motivated, since there isn't a teacher goading the student into studying everyday. Customer support was done by email, usually we got a response within the day, it was enough for what we needed and we didn't have any technical issues.

4 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Christian Kang Johnson City, NY

My SAT Tutor and my college counselor were both perfect fits and helped me immensely. In addition they were prompt with their emails and were sure to address any questions I may have had.

8 months ago

star star star star star

Duan Las Vegas, NV

My opinions , customized training of the program have been mixed throughout the year, but altogether I think that it is an effective preparation option for the SAT reasoning test.

4 years ago

star star star star star

Sicely Lyn Russell Mesa, AZ

I used this site for some of my Act prep and honestly it boosted my math score! The test questions are good and it gives explanations that make sense!

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Timothy Rich Herriman, UT

I really like the method of test prep that they have, it focuses on working on and teaching things that you don't know rather than just reteaching you things that you already know.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Aanand Patel Mumbai, MH

I liked the personalised attention with the counselling

8 months ago