Google Play Logo
star star star star star_half

6.8

Overall Score

LAST UPDATED: January 24th, 2024

Google Play is an efficient way to buy or rent what you love to watch. Google Play makes transferring your movies quick and easy, it also gives you the option to watch your library on the go. You can save purchased movies on multiple devices, allowing you to view movies, even if you are unable to connect to the internet.

Top Ranked Companies

thumb_up

The Good

  • Access to content anywhere
  • Save content to five devices
  • Parental controls available

Access Anywhere with Google Account

With Google Play, your purchases link to your account, which allows you to watch your favorite movies and TV shows anytime anywhere, even if you are offline.

Download Options

Users can download purchased movies to up to five devices. If you reach this five device limit, you can remove a movie download from any device, allowing you to re-save that same movie to a new device.

Occasional Free Rentals

Occasionally Google Play will provide users with a free rental, available on any device instantly.

Seamless Google Account

Not only can you keep your movies and TV shows in one place, but you can also keep any other purchases you make with Google Play linked to one account such as games, music, and apps.

Parental Controls Available

Google Play allows users to set maturity levels as well as a PIN code for all purchases. This allows parents to protect their children from accessing anything they shouldn't be viewing. Google Play has many great benefits to their streaming TV services.  The main benefit to using Google Play is that it is tied with the users Google account.  Everything a user purchases from apps to movies is accessible in one place.  And users can access their content anywhere, due to everything being tied to their Google account.
thumb_down

The Bad

  • No cloud storage
  • Can be expensive
  • Pay to view

No Cloud Storage

Though it's great to take media on the go, Google Play does not allow users to upload or save movies to the cloud. Users have to keep their home library and movies purchased through Google Play separate.

Expensive Long Term

Google Play can be rather expensive compared to other streaming platforms. Because users don't pay a monthly fee for unlimited access to a company's library, users pay per rental, which can add up and be expensive.

Google Supported

If you're not an Android user customer support on other devices may be tricky. However, Google Play is available to all users who create a Google account. Google Play's benefits definitely outweigh the drawbacks but it is good to take note of the few drawbacks Google Play does have.  The main fault is that users pay for just about everything they watch.  So although the Google Play library is large, everything users want to see is for purchase.  After just a few purchases, users will have spent more than a monthly price for Netflix. View Top Rated Companies

gavel

The Bottom Line

Google play is a great step toward integrating services and platforms for Google users. If you'd like to keep your library updated and linked with your account on the go, Google Play is a great solution. Similar to Apple TV or Amazon, Google Play now allows you to store any and all of your Google or Android purchases in one place. This makes billing, searching, and overall experience more seamless than ever. But do note that everything you want to watch on Google Play is for rental or purchase. There are very few free TV episodes and movies available to watch for free. So after just a few rentals and purchases you have spent more than the Netflix or Amazon Prime monthly payment amount.
Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

Star Rating

info

4.7

star star star star star_half

103 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

64%

4 grade

19%

3 grade

9%

2 grade

4%

1 grade

4%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star star star_half

Quality

star star star star star_half

Service

star star star star star_half

Trustworthiness

star star star star star_half
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
star star star star star

mary martin

I use the Google Play service originally to extend my storage for my Gmail account etc. It came with some wonderful extras that I did not expect like super great photo editing and extra storage and you can play your music on albums that you have purchased on Google Play music anytime! I have never had a problem with Google and don't expect to! Do yourself a favor and sign up for Google Play membership if you need these extras that I have mentioned! I use it stream music videos from Google TV as well with excellent quality and results!

2 months ago Edited December 11, 2023

star star star star star

PETER Othniel

Affordable and reliable in providing me with a place to find, enjoy, and share Apps, music and books. With Goggle play i was able to download all my andriod applications and manage my subscriptions.

1 month ago Edited January 12, 2024

star star star star star

Peter Fidelis Lagos, LA

Am a big fan of Disney.In 2013 Google play streaming service made it possible for me to watch the Disney film "Frozen". Google play and vudu,as of 2015 got me streaming on thesame movie..

3 months ago

star star star star star

peggy cherry Fayetteville, NC

I can only say that it works well. I have never had an issue with this service. I buy music, movies and games form this site.

2 months ago

star star star star star

Jeri Bryant

I love your recommendations. I was able to find stuff I didnt know I needed but very helpful. I tell my iphone friends they are missing out and paying for some apps is not a thing wiht google. Thank you

5 months ago

star star star star star

Sherry Betts

I have always been an Android phone user. I find the Google Play really easy to locate an app that I want to download. It mainly takes only minutes to locate and install any app that I want to get. I have used Google Play to stream t.v. programs and movies. It is super easy and has a wide variety of programs.

7 months ago Edited July 19, 2023

star star star star star

Erinjean87 San Diego, CA

I've used Google play for a very long time. Easy to use. There are a ton of options to choose from.

1 month ago

star star star star star

Nini

I use google play to download my favorite apps and to stream music. Almost all songs are represented. Not the most intuitive design, but overall I am using it for a while and don't want to change anything.

8 months ago Edited July 14, 2023

star star star star star

Lisa Imes DeMotte, IN

Easy to use, easy to download. Custom services answer your questions.

1 month ago

star star star star star

Rafet Afnan Mymensingh, 34

Google Play is the newest online streaming service of Google that meets customer demands and satisfaction. Google Play is easy to use and there are 30 days free trial version too! Google Play offers you the latest movies and shows that are not on Netflix too! You can arrange your favorite movie genre into your Google Play Library. Most importantly, You can use it from any device. Subscription fees based on series shows, and vary from show to show. On newly updated Google Tv you can only watch your subscribed items, which is a bit harsh. And more than 480p is restricted.

2 years ago Edited September 14, 2021

star star star star star

Aaron Anderson

Vast app selection, user-friendly interface, reliable downloads. The go-to store for all your app needs!

3 months ago Edited November 20, 2023

star star star star star

Dee Blackstone, MA

I recently got an Android phone after having only iphones. I was worried that it would be hard to get used to but the Play store is so easy and has every app I need.

6 months ago

star star star star star

Shannon Cummings

I love how the app can make suggestions based on what the app heard by my words asking in their search criteria. I can not live and work without this app.l

7 months ago Edited July 3, 2023

star star star star star

Who Knows Baltimore, MD

I have had an amazing experience with Google play streaming. I love that I can stream my favorite movies and T.V. shows. There's also an option to download those movies/shows to watch offline later. All together a great service.

1 year ago Edited September 13, 2022

star star star star star

b. ellena Kansas City, MO

Google Play comes with that trusted "Google" name of which it definitely lives up to. It I'd my main source for application content downloads and 9 times out of 10 I find what I am looking for in a very fast and uncomplicated way!

1 year ago Edited September 8, 2022

star star star star star

Shaterria N Fort Lauderdale, FL

I am loving the new rewards system google play store has. Any games or in game purchases you make are converted into points and you can rack those up to use in game. I also love how easily accessible apps are and how they are categorized.

1 year ago

star star star star star

Bridget Walker Gulfport, MS

Who doesn't love Google Play. It's the best service on my phone. Without their service my phone would be useless. It's the best service I have and the price is so affordable that any one can afford to have it. You can find everything there.

1 year ago

star star star star star

Pete Dizbon Daly City, CA

Every time I use Google Play, I am not disappointed. The quality of apps is wonderful, and they are easy to install!!

5 months ago

star star star star star

Kevin Beard Waldorf, MD

Google play is amazing, it has the most updated apps that you're able to download for all of your needs.

5 months ago

star star star star star

Robert Horn II Pahrump, NV

I enjoy watching movies and documentaries on Google Play. Google Play offers a wide variety of shows that both my wife and I like.

6 months ago

star star star star star

Teresa Bills Little Rock, AR

I love Google play, it's great. I enjoy all the point I make and am able to redeem. The games are awesome. My favorite way to play.

7 months ago

star star star star star

Playa Del Carmen Eats and Drinks Cancún, ROO

Great variety to choose from and I've always found an app to use even if it wasn't what I went into the app to look for.

8 months ago

star star star star star

Keaton W Copperas Cove, TX

Google play is where it's at. There's a add on called Google opinion rewards where they give you up to a dollar to answer short surveys. Helps with saving money in the games store

1 year ago

star star star star star

Shantel Palomino Euclid, OH

This is a great.i really like playing the games and being able to leave a review for everyone to see it also has a library with everything in it customer service is great and security is always protected

1 year ago Edited November 2, 2022

star star star star star

melrose1989 Carterville, IL

I love google play. I recently joined a couple years ago. I love how you get "play points" for many purchases that you can use towards credits in the future once you have enough.

2 years ago

star star star star star

Chris Bright Tempe, AZ

It is really easy to down load much needed apps from this platform. I really like that I can go to a page and update my installed apps all at once. They are also really good at resolving over charge issues

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Mickey Mangum Long Beach, MS

I downloaded several tracks from Google Play that were not in Apple Music. I found it to be very similar to the other online music platforms I've used. It works fine and payment is simple via card. The quality of the sound files are great.

4 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Jacob American Fork, UT

I definitely recommend Google Play. I love having monthly deals like free movies, $5-$10 off movies, and even clearance movies that receive new titles constantly. Movies are way cheaper through google play than anywhere else I can find.

4 years ago

star star star star star

Amanda George IL

Their streaming services are top notch. Definitely better than other ones. Will continue to use it and stream content.

7 months ago Edited July 7, 2023

star star star star star

Chad Edgar Wentzville, MO

Streaming TV plenty of shows to watch my movies really awesome place to so when you want to do this anything from learning to Syfy history Gaia all kinds of stuff

2 years ago Edited February 10, 2022

star star star star star

Emerald Scott West Jordan, UT

Google play is great. I purchase and rent movies from them all the time. As long as you can access your Google account you can stream all of your movies easily.

6 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Rosie Hansen Salt Lake City, UT

Google Play allows you to download games, apps and pretty much whatever you may be looking for. Really user-friendly and downloads are pretty fast, especially if you are connected to wi-fi.

4 years ago

star star star star star

Aj B (Hichou) Queen Creek, AZ

I use this all the time, never had any issues that customer service couldn't fix

8 months ago

star star star star star

SAMANTHA EDWARDS TX

Google Play is an absolute great company. They are always coming in with new games and apps. I would recommend them to anyone on any day of the week.

1 year ago

star star star star star

Adam Sokal Warsaw, 14

I use just google play for my phone apps. I really like that you can read other users reviews before installing the app that is interesting for you.

2 years ago

star star star star star

Alex Danielson Riverton, UT

We've used Google Play to purchase movies we couldn't find for purchase anywhere else! Service is reliable and price is on point!

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Dylan Curtis Pleasant Grove, UT

This is a great service, I get to put my digital movie copies onto Google Play with our family email address and everyone can enjoy the movies wherever they are.

4 years ago

star star star star star

Zac Marx Brighton, CO

Google Play has one of the best deals for streaming tv and movies. With constant deals and cheap giveaways, you can get classics for a great deal and have access anywhere.

4 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Jess Root Gilbert, AZ

I have used this to stream movies I own and also to purchase and rent movies. Sometimes you can find free movies and deals. Easy to use on mobile device.

5 years ago

star star star star star

K North Liberty, IA

Easy to use, decent pricing, and a lot available

5 months ago

star star star star star

TC B Florissant, CO

No complaints with Google Play! It is very easy to stream onto our Samsung TV!

6 months ago Edited August 11, 2023

star star star star star

Kelly Branch Bryan, TX

I have google play on my smart tv I use to watch movies and download apps to watch different shows.

9 months ago Edited May 10, 2023

star star star star star

Bianca Youmans Orangeburg, SC

I love their platform and variety I like that they have a lot to choose from which make things easier

1 year ago

star star star star star

Mandy Pesce Laurelton, NJ

I love this app. I also love the rewards points system they have where you can cash in points for things!

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

DeeDee G. Dallas, TX

Google play works great! I love the service and all the movies I get on it. I do not have any buffering issues so overall I reccomend!

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Erin American Fork, UT

google play is pretty perfect. its very helpful if you need a quick song or show in a snap and its as easy as using google

5 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Dylan Curtis Pleasant Grove, UT

We use this to upload our DVD library so we can stream movies when we don't have access to the DVDs and DVD player. Sweet service.

5 years ago

star star star star star

Richard

Great variety. And easy to learn and use.

8 months ago Edited June 14, 2023

star star star star star

Yaminah Williams West Chester, PA

I like that Google play is convenient. I can access and use so much on this app.

1 year ago

star star star star star

Gail Mann Charlotte, NC

What I like most about Google play I am able to download a verity if different apps as needed

1 year ago