Realtor.com Logo
star star star star star_border

6.5

Overall Score

LAST UPDATED: September 21st, 2022
Realtor.com was started in 1995 and is owned and operated by Move, Inc. It is also the official website for the National Association of REALTORS®. The company currently has more than 4 million listings pulled from nearly 800 Multiple Listing Services. Most of these listings get updated every 15 minutes.

Top Ranked Companies

Zillow Logo
#1 Zillow chevron_right
7.4 Overall Score
4.4
star star star star star_half
(665)
Apartments.com Logo
#3 Apartments.com chevron_right
6.3 Overall Score
4.0
star star star star star_border
(183)
Trulia Logo
#4 Trulia chevron_right
6.0 Overall Score
3.9
star star star star star_border
(97)
thumb_up

The Good

  • Plethora of features
  • Filtering options
  • Frequently updated listings

Plethora of Features Realtor.com makes finding property details incredibly easy. On a listing's page, you can find everything from the property's history, surrounding schools and neighborhoods, to nearby restaurants, grocery stores, gas stations, and more. A mortgage calculator is included on nearly every listing as well. According to our research, Realtor.com is one of the better Real Estate Search sites we've found that provides this amount of information. Filtering Options Realtor.com has an extensive array of filtering options when buying a home. This includes not just the basics of the price range, bedrooms and bathrooms, but includes a tall list of amenities. These amenities include a two-car garage, fireplace, pool, hardwood floors, water view, tennis courts, single or multi-story, and many others. This could be extremely useful for individuals looking for homes with specific perks. Frequently Updated Listings The website touts that roughly 80% of listings are updated every 15 minutes. Most listings will even display a posting history so customers know how long they've been posted. This is excellent to know so the customer can be aware that they're always getting up-to-date information.

thumb_down

The Bad

  • Can't directly contact seller
  • Can't directly sell your home
  • Lack of info for some properties
Can't Directly Contact Seller On Realtor.com, everything is done through the real estate agents. No information is provided on how to reach the home's owner, but Realtor.com makes it incredibly easy to contact the home's real estate agent. Can't Directly Sell Your Home If you haven't figured it out by now, everything on Realtor.com is done through-you guessed it-realtors. If you want to sell or rent out your property, the website requires you to go through a licensed realtor. Lack of Info for Some Properties On some but not all, Realtor.com doesn't feature photos of properties. This is definitely not ideal for a real estate website in that every home buyer wants to know what the property looks like before they have to show up to take a look. Some information is also not featured on properties such as sex offenders or crime rates in the area.
gavel

The Bottom Line

Realtor.com is a powerful Real Estate Search site that gives plentiful information on listings across the United States. Consumers would do well to give the website a look, especially if they're looking for specific amenities on each property. The only downside is that everything must be done through a professional realtor, including listing and buying/renting property. Overall, Realtor.com is a great experience.
Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

Star Rating

4.2

star star star star star_border

190 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

55%

4 grade

22%

3 grade

13%

2 grade

3%

1 grade

7%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star star star_border

Quality

star star star star star_border

Service

star star star star star_border

Trustworthiness

star star star star star_border
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Annette Nelson Salt Lake City, UT

Realtor.com has a buyer cash-back program. I liked the incentive, so I contacted them about finding an agent. I talked with realtor.com about the program and they confirmed I was eligible. At this point, I'm learning, I should have received an application, which I did not, nor was I told I needed to fill one out. I have now closed on my property and have been denied the cash-back because I did not fill out the application. It is unethical for them to offer something (over $1000) and later tell you that you can't have it because of something they didn't give you to sign. I'm very frustrated with them.

2 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Liam Knuj Stamford, CT

A good database to search, but do not do business with any of their realtors. They will harass you non stop. Ask for the listing agent and do not speak to anyone else. Further, they never provide the taxes on their listing. They are idiots. this is important information. I have to go to Zillow for that.

2 weeks ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

juan garza Ennis, TX

This realtor.com charged my account without knowing just wanted to look in the housing market not be charged $49.00 a month for some information, tried to cancel could not reach no team member for help.

4 weeks ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Sherri Earl Santa Maria, CA

I have been using Realtor.com for many years. I see now that they are allowing "time shares" without giving consumers the option to opt out of viewing those. Buyers look at the site and some unsuspecting consumers do not read the fine print but rather think they are getting a steal on a big home. I'm done with Realtor.com and will now switch to another site that separates the time shares. I'm smart enough to know that when I see a very low price on a big house that it is a time share. Common Realtor.com you can do much better.

7 months ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Walt Masiak Bloomfield, NJ

Horrible experience with advertising Dept at Realtor com. They advertise an Agent Branding service where Realtors can buy advertising space for their area. Unfortunately your ads will not show in your town as the person searching has to enter a specific ZIP Code only. Unless you work in a large city that differentiates subdivisions by their ZIP rather than a name, don't use this service. Your ad will never pop up in anyone's searches. I purchased the agent branding and no one could find me in the towns that I purchased the ads. Customer service informed me that I will only show if a proper ZIP Code is entered and not the town or sub division name, even if that particular town only has one ZIP. I immediately cancelled my subscription on the first day, within 24 hours. I was given a confirmation number and told that a refund will be applied to my credit card within few days. 10 days later still no credit was given. After calling Realtor.com and spending 45 minutes waiting for the customer service, I was told that now they will take care of it within a few days and I was given yet another confirmation number. When I emailed the original finance department person, I got a nasty reply back. When I politely called him on the issue not being solved I did not even get an acknowledgement back. So now, two weeks after my request to cancel the membership and get a full refund, which they said that they will grant me with no problem, I had to call my credit card and dispute this transaction. If Realtor.com can do this to 500 agents country-wide and hold on to their money for an extended period of time, they are making good interest and the use of it for free. Bad business practice. Not a way to treat your customers like that. And to think that they work for us, the Realtors. I feel ashamed of being a member of that organization.

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Jeremy Dunn, NC

It saddens me to think back over the years of hearing Realtor.com portray their website as a respectable place to search homes..."by Realtors, for Realtors". What a joke! The unprofessional manner in which the staff of Realtor.com sales and management team operates is disgraceful. Today, I am truly ashamed for the respectable symbol and title "Realtor" to be associated in any way with the business model and actions of Realtor.com. The secretive and greed driven entity of Realtor.com has reached a point in which, the title "Realtor" should in no way be associated with one another. The operations, dealings and business practices of this site are no reflection of the honorable and trustworthy title we hold dear. A "Realtor" has a duty to serve the public with honesty and always place the clients' needs above our own while Realtor.com operates only to serve themselves, with no care for the men and women who actually work for and along side the public. I never thought I would see the day, I would respect Zillow.com far more than the site our proud title is, and will forever be linked to.

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Munish Rajpal Denver, CO

“LEADS - POOR QUALITY OF LEADS + LOW VOLUME” I thought online marketing is the way to go but realtor.com are taking me for a ride. I am getting less 1/4 the lead volume, and the once I am getting are other realtors calling in on their listing or venders trying to sell services. Additionally they have unethical way of capturing leads as the consumer is thinking that they are reaching out to listing agents and are NOT aware that their information is SOLD to other agents. I am ok if they are open about it on their site and consumer is aware of it. On top of it they told me that they are keeping the rates the same for poor quality leads and low volume till it start hitting your credit card that you are over paying. Will update this review as things unfolds.

5 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

JOHN MARKEY Saint Petersburg, FL

I find the site HORRIBLE. The page of listings chronically jumps all over the place. (I've used 3 computers) work,home,phone,neighbors!!!! Also if condo's are listed 'FOR SALE', it should be MANDATED that the HOA fee is listed as well as pets accepted or not. If it's not listed this send's a negative message to potential buyers, as if buyer's are like myself, I won't even open any further, thus causing them to lose a potential buyer (why hide the fact's, a buyer find's out, and as a "seller", there's nothing more annoying than getting an appointment , cleaning the place up for a showing, only to get the feedback, the buyer wasn't interested because the HOA fee is to high, and/or they need to have a pet friendly bldg. I have bought and sold 8 homes in 4 years, and hate when they use Realtor.com , as you keep getting such poor quality jumping around the screen, when you go back to "search, sometimes if your on page 5....it jumps back to page 1 !!!!!, and you have to re enter all the info back in that your looking for a certain price, beds, bath's. Extremely poor service quality. I can't believe people pay for advertising on this web-site !!!!

6 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Lupita Esquibel Vacaville, CA

I purchase leads from Realtor.com and they are horrible they are sold to 10 agents that end up calling the same client who is upset after getting all those calls from RE. I tried cancelling and they are still charging my account a year later apparently I have to cancel every year in January or it will keep on renewing! WTF I guess Realtor.com is despread for money they don't know what cancellation means! !!

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

r vido Orem, UT

Signed up with Realtor.com for leads in February. Paid upfront right under $3000 for the year. Thus far I received 6 leads. 2 answered right away with STOP to not receive any messages from me right away. 2 were an inquire about renting or renting to own the property. One actually replied to me contacting her with a runaround to mortgage lenders and she's not anywhere close to qualify in the next year to be gracious. Last one, no response whatsoever... I keep trying because each lead is so freaking expensive but seriously the biggest CRAP I have paid $$$ for! Don't just walk away from this, RUN!

1 year ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Cleto Vasquez Worcester, MA

I swear these people at realtor.com you go on to ask a question and now I’m being contacted by realtors with numbers from Germany, Los Angelos and so on all the do is constantly text you but you cannot respond back , they are selling your info to realtors all over the country stay away from this website

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

upnorthwi Bellevue, WA

I have used Realtor.com in an attempt to find properties in my local area. I felt that they did not have updated information on what is available around me.

9 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Cynthia Landing Forest City, IL

Rarely receive a phone call from them they also have a huge delay very unprofessional

9 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Sally Gaines Miami, FL

Was looking for a Realator they took over a year to call me.

9 months ago