Windsor Windows Logo

Windsor Windows

star star star star_border star_border

3.3

Overall Score

LAST UPDATED: June 29th, 2022

Windsor Windows & Doors began as a small operation in Des Moines, Iowa, in 1946. The company offers four distinct product lines to help architects and homebuilders tackle a diverse array of applications. Windsor ships building materials throughout the United States and into Canada, Mexico, and China. Windsor remained a regional wood window company until being purchased by Woodgrain Millwork, Inc. of Fruitland, Idaho in 1987.

Top Ranked Companies

thumb_up

The Good

  • 20-Year Warranty
  • Craftsmanship
  • Dealers around the World
  • Replace Your Old Windows

20-Year Warranty

Windsor Windows & Doors offers a limited 20-year warranty for its replacement windows. The warranty automatically comes with the purchase. Depending on the style of window you purchase, a limited lifetime warranty may be available.

Craftsmanship

Windsor guarantees “Quality design, timeless beauty, and skilled craftsmanship.” One size does not fit all when it comes to windows. Windsor Windows will build and style each window to fit the look and feel of your house. Each window is energy efficient with Low-E glass and a thermally efficient glazing system. This style of insulated window helps keep the consumers’ house at the desired temperature and decreases energy bills.

Four styles of windows and doors are available to match your home:

  • Pinnacle Wood Clad Windows and Doors — designed with durability and built with pine, alder, or fir tree wood
  • Legend Cellular PVC Windows and Doors — provides cellular PVC performance and gives your home a painted wood frame look
  • Next Dimension Vinyl Windows and Doors — dependable and energy efficient, these windows are equipped with weather durability and color retention
  • Revive Pocket Replacement Windows — designed to fit the existing window frame and are available in aluminum clad, wood, and cellular PVC

Dealers around the World

Windsor Windows & Doors covers all 50 states as well as additional locations in Canada, Mexico, and China. Since you cannot purchase the windows online, Windsor Windows & Doors work with dealers around the world to supply their products. You can see if there is a dealer near your residence by visiting the website.

Replace Your Old Windows

The Revive Pocket Replacement Windows allows you to easily replace the windows in your current home with a more stylish and higher quality window. The company offers three materials to choose from: Wood Clad, Hybrid, and Vinyl. Each window purchase is built to the specific dimensions of your windows. Windsor Windows & Doors promises that these Revive Pocket Replacement windows require less labor, can be installed within a few hours, and will not disturb the interior or exterior surrounding walls.

thumb_down

The Bad

  • Undisclosed Prices
  • Difficult to Navigate Website

Undisclosed Prices

Unfortunately, Windsor Windows & Doors doesn’t disclose prices on its corporate website, making it difficult for potential customers to discern whether this brand fits their budget. The company works with independently owned window contractors to distribute the product. Some of these stores have showrooms for you to look at the different types of windows. For those looking for something to be easily shipped to them without leaving the house, this is not the brand for you.

Difficult to Navigate Website

The Windsor Windows & Doors website provides a lot of information on each of the different styles of window options, but it can be overwhelming trying to sift through it all. It doesn’t explicitly say that you will need to purchase its windows through a dealer.

gavel

The Bottom Line

Windsor Windows & Doors provides a wide array of options for your new home or your current one. You are sure to find a style that will complement the design of your home. While the prices are not listed online, customers can visit one of the many dealer locations. You can find a dealer close to you by visiting the website. The company offers extensive warranty options and provides each customer with the knowledge and tools they need to keep their windows and doors in top shape.

View Best New Windows Companies

Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

Star Rating

3.2

star star star star_border star_border

23 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

43%

4 grade

9%

3 grade

4%

2 grade

4%

1 grade

39%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star star_border star_border

Quality

star star star_half star_border star_border

Service

star star star_half star_border star_border

Trustworthiness

star star star_half star_border star_border
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Darrell Stanley TX

Extremely bad experience with patio doors that have a 3 point locking mechanism. Right at the 12 month point of closing on the home, the locking mechanism froze and our builder recommended us to the dealer, Builders Source. The Builders Source rep recommended we purchase a new a new complete locking apparatus. Then, we found out that no one locally works on these doors and someone would need to come out of Houston at a rate of $350. We finally contracted with someone locally to stop by and look at the door who determined it was just the lock that froze. The locking mechanism was not needed. You guessed it, Windsor would not agree to take it back so I am out $189. Inferior doors from a company that does not stand behind their product or have service people in mid size (250,000) cities. Steer clear of Windsor is my recommendation.

2 months ago

Windsor Windows Logo

Reply from Windsor Windows

Darrell - Under our 10-year parts/hardware warranty, there should have been no charge. Please call us at 1-800-218-6186 and ask for our customer service department so we can make things right. I apologize for the frustration you've experienced.

Jun. 30th, 2022

star star star_border star_border star_border

Tim Z Des Moines, IA

I replaced 5 windows in my home with sash replacement windows. I was supposed to be able to replace these windows by myself, which, I did. I am a journeyman carpenter. The measurements for these windows were not taken correctly... ( I did not take them) .None of these windows close/seal correctly. I know how windows are supposed to be replaced And how they are supposed to seal After they are installed. DO NOT Spend your money on these windows!!! You will not be happy with them. Tim Z.

4 months ago

Windsor Windows Logo

Reply from Windsor Windows

Tim - We are sadded to hear this and would like to talk with you to gain a better understanding of the issues you experienced. Could you please provide me with your contact information? (If you set the reply view to Private, only I will see it). Best regards, Linda at Windsor

May. 11th, 2022

star star star star star

Ryan O'Leary Winter Park, FL

Windsor Windows and Doors has become one of our favorite and most trusted window suppliers; from their detail focused production process, to their fast responding customer service, Windsor has both met and exceeded our expectations at every turn. Our Windsor rep is Susan C, she has helped us with everything from learning about the details of quoting to finalizing and ordering. We are very excited to continue our partnership with Windsor and cannot wait to see what we will be building next!

3 years ago

Windsor Windows Logo

Reply from Windsor Windows

Ryan - Thank you for your review! We greatly appreciate the strong partnerships we have developed through the years and appreciate you taking the time to review us.

Apr. 10th, 2020

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Shane Klein Hammond, LA

I was at week 16 into an 18 week window order when the tornado hit. No one can provide me with any information on an idea on what I should do with this order. After placing over 50 phone calls, still haven’t had anyone return my call. Three weeks into this and still no answers, just a paragraph from Mark R with no sense of urgency!!!! No updates, nothing. You should be providing daily updates to your customers. Your lack of information is unacceptable. If it’s best to cancel orders you need to let us know because as of now we do not know if you all plan to reopen anytime soon. I’m very sorry I went with your company😡. This is causing me major problems, and with y’all not providing updates, it’s simply unbelievable.

6 months ago

Windsor Windows Logo

Reply from Windsor Windows

Dear Mr. Klein, We have experienced a very unfortunate series of events that have impacted your order. In addition to the extended lead times the entire industry is experiencing due to supply chain issues, we have also endured significant tornado damage to our vinyl production facility which has put a halt to our manufacturing of that product line. Please know that we not insensitive to your situation. We fully understand the significant impact this has had on our customers and we are doing everything we can to get our facility repaired as quickly as possible. We don’t have the answer yet as to when we can start manufacturing vinyl products again. We have been keeping in close communication with our distributors and once we receive the engineer’s evaluation, we will understand the extent of the damage and determine how long the repairs will take. We hope to have that information by the end of March. Unfortunately, your order was one of the worst case scenarios. Your products were about to be produced when the tornado struck on March 5th. We understand your frustration… You had already waited 16 weeks for your product and now we cannot commit to when your products will be produced. If you start over with a different supplier, your will likely be waiting another 4-5 months. Be assured that your order, if you decide to keep it with Windsor, will be some of the first products we produce as soon as we are up and running again. We certainly sympathize with your position. The tornado damage was out of our control. We are working seven days a week to examine the damage and repair our building so we can resume production. We will communicate to our distributors (and they in turn will communicate to the homeowners) as soon as we receive the information we need to develop a plan to move forward. Sincerely, Window Windows & Doors

Mar. 30th, 2022

star star star star star

Sarah Kelly Parkton, MD

Windsor windows are an exceptional product, at a great price point. They can accommodate all of your window and door needs with custom capabilities, and a variety of finish, glass, and hardware options. Windsor makes buying windows easy, with a variety of product offerings to ensure your budget and design needs are met.

3 years ago

Windsor Windows Logo

Reply from Windsor Windows

Sarah - Thank you for your 5-star review! We greatly appreciate your business and we will continue to do what it takes to earn it.

Apr. 10th, 2020

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Michael Brannan Hoffman Estates, IL

Very disappointed. Placed an order for windows and doors for a new construction project in mid-July. The windows arrived and have been installed. As to the Pinnacle clad doors it's been nothing but broken promises as to the delivery dates - moved from October, to end of November, to the latter part of December and now January 12th (maybe, if we are to believe anything Windsor tells us). This is a serious problem for our project now that winter is upon us. Sure there are supply chain issues, but if you can't produce and deliver your products say so early on in the order process so we can go elsewhere. I wouldn't order Windsor again.

8 months ago

Windsor Windows Logo

Reply from Windsor Windows

Michael - We apologize for the multiple delays on your delivery date. We do understand the negative impact this has on your project. At the time that you placed your order, we thought we could produce and deliver them as quoted. Unfortunately, we have been unable to get the raw materials required to build your products, which has caused these delays. These types of supply chain issues are unprecedented and prevalent throughout many industries, but they seem to be particularly prevalent in the residential construction industry. We understand your frustration and regret that we have disappointed you. We will continue to work to rebuild your trust.

Dec. 31st, 2021

star star star star star

Kyle Labar Louisville, KY

We have exclusively carried Windsor for 35 plus years. Windsor has a variety of products at a fair price. Their service is excellent, and we enjoy the relationship that we have developed with them over the years.

3 years ago

Windsor Windows Logo

Reply from Windsor Windows

Kyle - Thank you for taking the time to review us. We appreciate your business and the long term relationship we've built together.

Apr. 10th, 2020

star star star star star

Tim D Baltimore, MD

Windsor has been a great company to work with. They are on the forefront of product development and design. They provide a product that is not typical for their price-point with upgraded features not found elsewhere.

3 years ago

Windsor Windows Logo

Reply from Windsor Windows

Tim - Thank you for your 5-star review! We greatly appreciate your feedback!

Apr. 10th, 2020

star star star star star_border

Mikey I Highland Park, IL

It’s nice to have a window grow as you need it without waving to use a number or series. Windsor’s options are easy to add and won’t jack up the price 20%-30% And the Representitive is outstanding. Always available and follows through always

3 years ago

Windsor Windows Logo

Reply from Windsor Windows

Mikey - Thank you for your review. At Windsor, we strive to be easy to do business with -- from our representatives, to our inside sales people and customer service. Thank you for being a Windsor customer!

Apr. 10th, 2020

star star star star star

Travis Baker Oklahoma City, OK

Windsor provides our customers with multiple choices that fit into everyone's budget. As well as always staying up with current trends. From traditional to contemporary, Windsor always has the right solution for our needs.

3 years ago

Windsor Windows Logo

Reply from Windsor Windows

Travis - Thank you for your 5-star review! We are pleased to hear that we consistently meet you and your customers' needs -- from design and style to budget and selection. Thank you for your business!

Apr. 10th, 2020

star star star star_border star_border

sherry Cadiz, KY

I had a home built in 2015, windows were installed and when it was time to clean the windows there were "marks and smears" throughout certain windows. Windsor agreed and replaced all, (major hassle). Three years later, the windows do not clean well. I wash windows in Spring and Fall, using various cremes and solutions, I still cannot get them clean. I've had Pella and Marvin windows in past, would consider them in the future. A lot of money for any good window, not so sure I saved by going a little cheaper

3 years ago

Windsor Windows Logo

Reply from Windsor Windows

Sherry - We're sorry to hear you are having issues with cleaning your windows. Windsor uses Cardinal Glass -- one of the most reputable glass suppliers in the industry. Insulated Glass does have a protective film on it, but Cardinal tells us they have not had any complaints about the protective film causing residue. Our Care & Use guide recommends using a vinegar-based solution (10% vinegar and 90% water) or commercially available ammonia-free and alcohol-free window cleaner. Cardinal recommends a product called Sparkle to clean off anything foreign that might be on the glass. It is a paste substance that has a very gentle abrasive quality that often removes any residue. Another product that our field service techs have used with great success is called Xenit. It’s available off of Amazon. If these solutions don't work, I encourage you to reach back out to your local Windsor dealer so he can inspect them to see if there are any extenuating circumstances.

Jun. 13th, 2019

star star star star star

Wendy Hunter Riverton, UT

We recently built a home, and after lots of comparing, we went with Windsor Windows! We absolutely love the look and quality of our windows. We were specifically looking for real wood, push out windows like we'd seen in Europe. We found them with Windsor.

1 year ago

Windsor Windows Logo

Reply from Windsor Windows

Wendy - Thank you for the 5-star review! We very much appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We're so glad you found what you were looking for in Windsor Windows & Doors!

Feb. 3rd, 2021

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Matt Stuebe Chicago, IL

Don't bother ordering windows from them. We ordered in May and after being pushed back twice, were told at best September 29th which was an absurd 19 weeks later. Needless to say we didn't trust them to deliver (nor should you) so we canceled and ordered windows from Weather Shield and got them in 5 weeks. Windsor's attitude of "well supply chain issues. nothing we can do about it" is the sign of a frustrated sales staff, a horrible management team, and a lack of caring for how much they are actually hurting their clients. Call around, its not as bad as they say. Sure the industry is in a bad spot, but the poor management of Windsor put them in a far worse spot than their competitors

1 year ago

Windsor Windows Logo

Reply from Windsor Windows

Dear Matt - The material issues that Windsor is experiencing is a very wide spread and documented issue. We are happy that you were able to get your materials faster. This has been a very trying and frustrating time. We are very disappointed in our current lead times but are going to extraordinary measures to improve our performance.

Sep. 12th, 2021

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

GZ Minneapolis, MN

If I could give them a negative star review I would. These people have been nothing but unresponsive, and unsupportive of their products. Unfortunately our builder used their products on our new home, and they have been leaking from day one. I have had to re-insulate and use 3m film on the windows from the first day because the windows leak. After numerous attempts to have the warranty department come out and fix the issue, they sent someone to tell me that WINDOWS LEAK, and that's just the way it is. They denied any claim for warranty. I have had a few companies come out to check on window replacement, and they all told me that these windows suck, and Windsor should replace them because they should not leak like that. NEVER USE THIS COMPANY!!!!!!!!

2 years ago

Windsor Windows Logo

Reply from Windsor Windows

Mr. Zilberg - We are sorry that you are so unhappy. I checked with our service department and our records indicate that we have sent 4 service people to examine your windows: a Windsor service technician, your builder, the window distributor's rep, and a rep from a 3rd-party service company. It's reported that all 4 of these professionals determined that the amount of air infiltration is normal and that the way weep systems work can allow for mild air infiltration, especially during high wind scenarios. They also explained that the room over the unfinished garage is difficult to heat because of the unheated area beneath it. We regret that you are disappointed, but Windsor, your builder, and the window distributor have tried to be as responsive as possible to your requests for service.

Apr. 10th, 2020

star star star star star_border

Jeff Omaha, NE

I put 14 window replacements in and a sliding door and they are AWESOME! Easy installation and very energy efficient… I"ve been extremely pleased with them now for over 10 years.

5 years ago

Windsor Windows Logo

Reply from Windsor Windows

Jeff - Thank you for the highly positive review! We aim to please, and we're glad our windows and doors have worked out so well for you!

Jun. 13th, 2019

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Leslie Walsh Danville, CA

Very disappointed. We placed an order back on May 20th for over $25,000 in new windows. We were told at that time the turn around time was 8 weeks, or approximately July 15. Yesterday, we were advised the new delivery date would NOT be until September 3, or an additional 7 weeks. This delay is now causing significant issues/delays for our addition/remodel, as well as additional costs. Unfortunately we are stuck........

1 year ago

Windsor Windows Logo

Reply from Windsor Windows

Leslie - We sympathize with your situation. Nearly all of the manufacturers in our industry are experiencing supply-chain issues as a result of the pandemic. This shortage is a unique situation that has developed over the past few months. We are trying to get materials as quickly as possible to keep up with production needs. Unfortunately, there just aren't enough raw materials to meet demand, and that's the reason for the extended lead-times. As the supply of raw materials has continued to dwindle, it's forced us to extend lead-times even further. It's very frustrating for everyone. Please be assured that we are fulfilling orders as quickly as we can and will ship your order as soon as possible.

Jul. 31st, 2021

star star star star star

Alex John Laguna Niguel, CA

Overall a great company and the service. They done job professionally and in a timely manner. I bit pricey but you get what you paid for

1 year ago

Windsor Windows Logo

Reply from Windsor Windows

Alexey - Thank you for taking the time to describe your experience with Windsor Windows & Doors. We strive to provide professional, timely service and are happy that you are pleased. Thanks again!

Jul. 21st, 2021

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

SA Detroit, MI

Extremely unprofessional , poor service and even worse product . We were sold on the company when we build our home in 2016 , have had problem with 3 french doors , still having problems and they are not even offering service when I am willing to pay for the service . Their recommended service company is 4 hrs away so I have to use a third party who may not be familiar with the product , Don’t buy into it , poor products and poor service . Extremely dissatisfied.

1 year ago

Windsor Windows Logo

Reply from Windsor Windows

SA- We are sorry to hear of your disappointment. At Windsor Windows & Doors, we pride ourselves on our customer service and do all we can within reason to make things right for our customers. To that effort, we made three courtesy calls at no charge to service your Windsor patio doors in 2018-2019, even though it was past the 1-year service warranty period. During those visits, we corrected the problems that prompted you to contact us. Our records indicate that the issues were not with the door panels themselves, but with the door handle hardware that was installed onsite by the contractor. It's important to understand that although hinges are applied at the factory, door handles are installed onsite by the contractor after the doors are installed, and we do not have control over how that was done. We did correct those issues for you and did it as a courtesy outside of the normal warranty. Most recently, we provided additional service provider names for you to contact in your area. We are sorry to hear that you are still dissatisfied.

May. 3rd, 2021

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Joe from michigan Grand Rapids, MI

Purchased 27 Windsor windows in September 2018. Windows arrived damaged in November. Was sent replacement windows in December which were also damaged. Waited until January for some more, which nevered arrived. Waited until February 8th for more replacements, which never arrived. Waiting again with no expected date of arrival. Home is in Michigan and have been using plywood over 5 window openings all winter long. Extremely unhappy. Hopefully any one who reads this does not choose Windsor for their home.

3 years ago

Windsor Windows Logo

Reply from Windsor Windows

Joe - To be honest, this particular job has not been one of Windsor’s finest moments. We recognize that multiple mistakes were made on this order and it has turned into one of those “Murphy’s Law” situations. We want to assure you that this does not reflect Windsor’s normal performance, and we are embarrassed to say the very least. We have been in communication with your distributor and are working hard to make things right.

Jun. 13th, 2019

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

james Brevard, NC

Ordered 12 double hung windows. Half need repaired or replaced. Have been trying to get it done for 8 months they keep coming up with excuses. And these were Pinnacle Wood Clad Windows supposedly a top of the line product. If I were you I would use a different manufacturer.

1 year ago

Windsor Windows Logo

Reply from Windsor Windows

Hello James - This particular job has not gone well and we apologize for the issues you have encountered. Our service technician made the necessary repairs this past Thursday, as scheduled. Your products should now meet your expectations and we hope this has restored your confidence in our company.

Jul. 31st, 2021

star star star star star

JW Sanders Baltimore, MD

Windsor has been a great company to work with. They are dedicated, friendly, and easy to work with.

3 years ago

Windsor Windows Logo

Reply from Windsor Windows

JW - Thank you for your review! We value the long-term relationships we have built with customers like yourself and appreciate you taking time out of your busy day to provide feedback.

Apr. 10th, 2020

star star star star star

Scott Stivers Salt Lake City, UT

Fantastic company with a terrific product. And better pricing than the competition.

5 years ago

Windsor Windows Logo

Reply from Windsor Windows

Scott - Thank you for the positive five-star review! We strive to be easy to do business with and are dedicated to building value into our products in order to provide the best windows and doors for your budget. Thank you for taking the time to give us a shout!

Jun. 13th, 2019

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Taylor Siren Gilbert, AZ

Windsor windows installs quality windows that are durable and can stand the test of time.

4 years ago

Windsor Windows Logo

Reply from Windsor Windows

Taylor - Thank you for the 5-star review regarding the quality and durability of our windows. For more than 70 years, Windsor has been driven to provide homeowners with durable, quality products for a fair price, and we are happy to hear you are pleased!

Jun. 13th, 2019