Sleep Number Logo
star star star star star_half

6.9

Overall Score

error This company may not service all states.
See states serviced
LAST UPDATED: May 16th, 2022

Since the first Sleep Number store opened in 1987 under the name Select Comfort, the company has transformed the mattress industry with the idea that "one size does not fit all" when it comes to sleep. Their Sleep Number adjustable air mattresses use an air pressure setting to adjust the level of support on each side of the bed. This way, if you need more or less support due to your weight, sleep position or pain, you can adjust the bed’s firmness, so that both you and your partner get a good night's sleep on a comfortable mattress set for your individual needs.

They currently offer 8 different Queen size options ranging in price from $999-$5,099. There are a few types of mattresses available, but all of them are Smart Beds with Responsive Air technology that can automatically adjust while you are sleeping to make sure you get deep, restful sleep.

They also use a system called Sleep IQ to track each night’s sleep quality. Sensors inside the bed measure your breathing, heart rate, and movement to provide insight into what you need to get a better night's sleep. Results and info are viewable online or via a mobile app. You can also control your bed with the SleepIQ mobile app or the special remote.

Here is a breakdown of the current options:

  • The Classic series includes the two lowest-priced options and a choice between a 2 or 3-inch gel-infused foam comfort layer.
  • The mid-range Performance series has two options and includes either a 4-inch Dynatex and Ergonomex comfort layer or a 5-inch Coolgenex comfort layer and an Ergonomex support layer to help support your pressure points. The different combinations help provide varying levels of pressure relief and support.
  • The luxury Innovation collection includes options with an even thicker foam layer and an added temperature balancing technology if you are a hot sleeper.

Sleep Number's adjustable air mattresses are also made to be usable with an adjustable base. The FlexFit adjustable base lends an added level of adjustability to help alleviate back pain and snoring, but also includes extras like foot warming and under-bed lighting.

You can purchase Sleep Number mattresses or a Flexfit adjustable bed online or from one of 550+ branded retail stores nationwide.

Keep reading to learn more about Sleep Number and to read Sleep Number mattress reviews from real customers.

Top Ranked Companies

thumb_up

The Good

  • Financing Options
  • Comfort Trial
  • Warranty
  • Shipping

Financing Options

Financing is available online, in-store, by phone or Live Chat. Their budget-smart financing lets you pay for your mattress over time. You can enjoy everyday financing for 12 months or limited-time promotional financing offers.

Comfort Trial

A 100-night comfort trial is offered on Sleep Number mattresses. If owners are not satisfied, they can return the product within 100 days. They will be refunded, less original shipping fees.

Customers will be responsible for return shipping. This gives you the chance to see if the mattress fits your expectations.

Warranty

Defects are covered by a 25-year limited warranty. This includes all parts of the mattress and foundation. Costs for repairs or replacement parts for your air + foam bed is prorated based on your purchase date.

Shipping

Sleep Number beds ship through either standard UPS or with white glove service. You can choose. Standard ground shipping with UPS costs $89.99. Home delivery and setup costs $199.

thumb_down

The Bad

  • High Prices
  • Shipping

High Prices

Sleep Number offers very advanced products compared to other run-of-the-mill mattress stores. Therefore, their products are rather expensive. If you choose to purchase a mattress from Sleep Number, you will be paying somewhere between $899 and $5,000.

Shipping

Along with the high price of their mattresses, shipping is costly as well. It is great that they give you the option to choose between white glove or standard delivery, but other luxury options, like Tempur-Pedic mattresses, come with free shipping.

gavel

The Bottom Line

Sleep Number has been offering its products and services to its customers for about 30 years. They have gained the trust of their customers by offering multiple financing options, a desirable return policy, and a variety of products and price ranges to choose from.

However, because of their advanced technology, mattresses here are going to cost more compared to regular innerspring, or memory foam mattresses.

View Best Mattress Companies

Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

Star Rating

4.3

star star star star star_half

232 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

57%

4 grade

22%

3 grade

13%

2 grade

2%

1 grade

5%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star star star_border

Quality

star star star star star_half

Service

star star star star star_half

Trustworthiness

star star star star star_border
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Kateri McKnight

I love the fact that this mattress adjusts to the body’s firm neediness. My mother has these mattresses in several of her bedrooms, so when my family and I visit we draw straws for the certain rooms. Each side of the beds can be adjusted and this helps from person to person’s slumber.

8 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Keith Anderson Henderson, NV

My wife and I bought this bed about 3 years ago and really like it my wife has had back problems and needs a really firm mattress to sleep on I like a softer mattress so with her side at like 85 and mine said at 35 or 40 this mattress is really good. We liked it so much we decided to stop buying cheap mattresses for our kids who are only 12 and 14 but we bought these sleep number mattresses for our kids so they can adjust it to how they like and they can have it for them for many many years into their young adult life and take it with them when they move out of the house because these beds have an extremely long warranty with them

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Noriko Johnson Pleasant Grove, UT

We tried them at our friends house and really liked it so we got one for ourselves. It’s been a great bed and love that we can have different setting of firmness for my husband side and mine. When we stay somewhere we always looking forward to come home and sleep on our own bed. I like the sleep IQ app where we can see our sleep records. One thing that I was disappointed about is a worker who helped us told us that our friend who introduced us this bed should get some credit towards future purchases but they never received anything in a mail. So I called the store to talk to him but they didn’t take care of it.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Lesa Burgess Pleasant Grove, UT

The sleep number bed is an interesting bed that takes some time getting used to. However, once you get your settings & comfort number it will become a great bed for you. I found that a number of stores in the Salt Lake City area had Sleep Number beds readily available. You will be able to adjust the comfort of your bed from both sides of the mattress. Once you've slept on it a few nights, the bed has the ability to conform to your body which will relieve a ton of back pain. I've been told that this mattress has a longer lifespan than the average mattress, however I have not had it long enough to know that so time will tell!

4 years ago

star star star star star_border

Noureddine Lalami Brentwood, CA

Great beds that plug in to your power outlets with the ability to adjust the firmness to your needs. Also, good customer service. No back up if the power goes out.

8 months ago

star star star star star_border

Donna P. Fairfield, OH

I liked being told about the "IQ" of your sleep...I would have liked to have seen how it works with one of the beds, instead of just on a smart phone! I love my pillow that I received in exchange for my visit to the store. I have a ComfortFit Classic!

4 years ago

star star star star star_border

Tina Lyons White Springs, FL

Gapping and platform issues. I have the split top king size. When the top is close together the platforms hit one another when being raised and lowered. If the top platforms are separated a bit to stop them from hitting, there is a large gap between the top ends of the mattress. Feel as if I could fall into the gap. Don't like it.

4 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Diane Dieter Allentown, PA

I bought a Sleep Number bed and I am so glad that I did. I have been in pain for several years and nothing helped me until I purchased a Sleep Number adjustable bed. I can raise and lower my bed and most importantly select the perfect number of softness that I need each night. It was pricey after trying so many beds, there was nothing that compared.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Erin Abel San Marcos, TX

My Sleep Number bed has been great. I love the mattress part of the bed. Very comfy. I do wish I had NOT gotten the "split" bed - where either side can be raised individually. The "hole" between the sides makes it hard (and uncomfortabe) to cuddle with my hubby - even when both sides are flat. However, I guess that was my bad choice. I do wish that a separate remote (to adjust bed settings) would be included in the package. The app is just a pain to use when you are ready to go to sleep - instead of just pushing a button on a remote. But, overall, very satisfied.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Alyssa Lopez Gilbert, AZ

I was convinced that my original mattress was an adequate match for me, until I went to Sleep Number and found my true match. It is so much more comfortable to sleep on an adjustable bed with settings it remembers, and I am able to adjust myself in order to read and watch TV comfortably. However, since the bed is split into two sections (one for each person), there is an awkward space in between the two sides where you can partially fall into.

3 years ago

star star star star star_border

Leon Yoakum Los Angeles, CA

Bought a sleep number bed at the mall. I love the choice of 2different settings. I didn't like the over inflated price

4 months ago

star star star star star_border

Nicholas Genes Los Angeles, CA

I bought a sleep number, hoping it would last longer than a regular mattress, but the foam you put around the baffles started to break down and make my bed lumpy. It was nice until that started happening.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

L Cody Morongo Valley, CA

Have had a sleep number for quite a few years. Nice bed, but after awhile I needed to up the setting. I think their prices can be a bit high. But I think that the value is there. All in All ,it's a great product. They keep uping their game as well.

1 year ago

star star star star star_border

Lmt3 Provo, UT

We’ve had a Sleep Number bed for several years now. It’s so nice to be able to adjust the hardness or softness of the mattress. One’s comfort level can change from time to time so it’s nice to be able to adjust to what feels good.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

JAKE American Fork, UT

I have had a sleep number bed for a while and I really like it. The setup was very easy. Also the remote is very easy to use to get it the desired hardness or softness. I have a bad back and this mattress has helped a lot being able to adjust it to what works best for my back each night .

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Cayla robinson Sandy, UT

The mattresses from her are extremely comfortable and I never loose a nights sleep when sleeping on them. I am a dancer so recovery time is essential for my career and these mattesses makes recovery easy. Recommend to anyone!

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

McKenzie Christiansen Provo, UT

This mattress has changed my life. I used to not be able to sleep because of back pain and not being able to breathe. But once I switched, I get at least 10 hours of sleep a night. And I don’t wake up in the middle of the night like I’m restless. It’s also great how costomisable it is to meet my exact needs for each night. Would reccomend.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Gary Hall Saint George, UT

Great mattress - I love a softer mattress than my wife, so we love the adjustment!

4 years ago

star star star star star_border

courtney tennant Salem, VA

Sleep Number has very comfortable mattresses, however they are sometimes overpriced and nothing is hardly on sale so I only bought a mattress from them one time.

1 year ago

star star star star star_border

Wilson Hannold

Lasts forever. Very comfortable. The only issue is that the two halves have a divider that wears out and makes you feel like your falling into the middle.

4 years ago

star star star star star_border

Angelica Torres Farmingville, NY

The bed is comfortable, was more so in the beginning. One side is losing air all the time so I suspect a leak but how can that be when the inner mattress is so deep.

4 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Sherry Pitts Fort Walton Beach, FL

Nice bed. To expensive, but over all a good bed. The cooling sheets are awesome . And their curved pillows are wonderful for the neck and head area. All in all they took care of us.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Karencita Z Cedar Hill, TX

I have been using the P5 split king size My body is still getting used to it but I really like when I use the option of watching tv Maybe because it’s new technology but it’s way too pricey for a mattress

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Lynn D Tarone Rio Rancho, NM

The bed was good and we did sleep a little better. The people were very helpful when we had issues. The sleep experience was not as I had hoped and the parts, when they wore out were expensive.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Mike John Logan, UT

Great product and customer service. The only thing I would say is the cost of accessories is rather high!

8 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Glen2021 Spring, TX

Excellent bed for a couple that has different sleeping preferences. This is the first bed my wife and I can both be comfortable on.

10 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Larry R Thrash Shalimar, FL

IThe bed provides many different firmness levels as well as different head positions. This is really helpful when really tired.

1 year ago

star star star star star_border

Mark Troxel Saratoga Springs, UT

Good mattress, not better than all, but I have never found a mattress that I'm completely comfortable on.

4 years ago

star star star star star_border

Lorraine Fordham Silver Spring, MD

Love the comfort and adjustability. Would be five stars but the attached twin beds are hard to make up.

4 years ago

star star star star star_border

Gary H Renfrew Albuquerque, NM

We love our Sleep Number bed, except that we now see the newer ones with automatic adjustment during sleep.

4 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Rocio Diaz Tallahassee, FL

Mattresses can quickly become expensive however the quality is impeccable. Customer service is also superb.

10 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Jeanne Breden Columbus, OH

They responded quickly with problems we had in the beginning and helped me understand the process better when I had difficulty.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Thomas Hullinger Pleasant Grove, UT

Sleep number is the bed for you! I have a problem snoring and this has helped as I can feel the difference, and my wife can hear the difference.

4 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Sandra Kojic Jacksonville, FL

Great variety of different mattresses so they can suit anyone.

6 months ago

star star star star star_border

Gary Fairfield, CA

Comfort, quality, lifespan. Mattress is lightweight so changing bed sheets is simple enough.

4 years ago

star star star star star_border

Bernice Hecht Winter Springs, FL

its great to be able to adust the firmness of my side different from my husband's

4 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Taylor Larson Nakhon Sawan, 60

I get great quality sleep with my Sleep Number mattress because I am able to adjust it. It is very expensive, however.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Jorge Nino ,

Love my sleep number bed it’s a queen and it’s different and comfortable yet I should have purchased a king

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Myah Smith American Fork, UT

Sleep Number actually has really nice mattresses. So glad I was able to buy from them. Service was amazing.

3 years ago

star star star star star_border

John R Switzer Wauconda, IL

very comfortable & durable; a tad overpriced. Switched to Craftmatic now.

4 years ago

star star star star star_border

Kelly Cox Valparaiso, IN

excellant bedding just diffficult to cuddle and keep sheets on

4 years ago

star star star star star_border

Stacey Hancock Homosassa, FL

Amazingly comfortable but quite expensive. The bed itself was amazing!!!

5 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Kathy L Crudele Bowling Green, OH

Love the flexiblity of my sleep number bed. It has comfort levels for everyone.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Jim Plainview, NY

Super comfortable but the plush will hurt your back over time. Make sure to get firm.

1 year ago

star star star star star_border

Sharon Watkins Columbus, OH

No real complaints other than the fact they are pricey

4 years ago

star star star star star_border

David C Morrow Stockton, CA

comfortable and highly customizable sleep

4 years ago

star star star star star_border

Trina

One side has small air leak. Otherwise, I love it!

4 years ago

star star star star star_border

Ann Summerville, SC

Love the bed. Client service so far has been good.

4 years ago

star star star star star_border

Ray Gallivan Elgin, IL

Comfort and quality of product. Great service.

4 years ago

star star star star star_border

John Booker Lawrenceville, GA

good but not perfect, mattress needs more support

4 years ago