Sleep Number Logo
star star star star star_half

6.9

Overall Score

error This company may not service all states.
See states serviced
LAST UPDATED: May 16th, 2022

Since the first Sleep Number store opened in 1987 under the name Select Comfort, the company has transformed the mattress industry with the idea that "one size does not fit all" when it comes to sleep. Their Sleep Number adjustable air mattresses use an air pressure setting to adjust the level of support on each side of the bed. This way, if you need more or less support due to your weight, sleep position or pain, you can adjust the bed’s firmness, so that both you and your partner get a good night's sleep on a comfortable mattress set for your individual needs.

They currently offer 8 different Queen size options ranging in price from $999-$5,099. There are a few types of mattresses available, but all of them are Smart Beds with Responsive Air technology that can automatically adjust while you are sleeping to make sure you get deep, restful sleep.

They also use a system called Sleep IQ to track each night’s sleep quality. Sensors inside the bed measure your breathing, heart rate, and movement to provide insight into what you need to get a better night's sleep. Results and info are viewable online or via a mobile app. You can also control your bed with the SleepIQ mobile app or the special remote.

Here is a breakdown of the current options:

  • The Classic series includes the two lowest-priced options and a choice between a 2 or 3-inch gel-infused foam comfort layer.
  • The mid-range Performance series has two options and includes either a 4-inch Dynatex and Ergonomex comfort layer or a 5-inch Coolgenex comfort layer and an Ergonomex support layer to help support your pressure points. The different combinations help provide varying levels of pressure relief and support.
  • The luxury Innovation collection includes options with an even thicker foam layer and an added temperature balancing technology if you are a hot sleeper.

Sleep Number's adjustable air mattresses are also made to be usable with an adjustable base. The FlexFit adjustable base lends an added level of adjustability to help alleviate back pain and snoring, but also includes extras like foot warming and under-bed lighting.

You can purchase Sleep Number mattresses or a Flexfit adjustable bed online or from one of 550+ branded retail stores nationwide.

Keep reading to learn more about Sleep Number and to read Sleep Number mattress reviews from real customers.

Top Ranked Companies

thumb_up

The Good

  • Financing Options
  • Comfort Trial
  • Warranty
  • Shipping

Financing Options

Financing is available online, in-store, by phone or Live Chat. Their budget-smart financing lets you pay for your mattress over time. You can enjoy everyday financing for 12 months or limited-time promotional financing offers.

Comfort Trial

A 100-night comfort trial is offered on Sleep Number mattresses. If owners are not satisfied, they can return the product within 100 days. They will be refunded, less original shipping fees.

Customers will be responsible for return shipping. This gives you the chance to see if the mattress fits your expectations.

Warranty

Defects are covered by a 25-year limited warranty. This includes all parts of the mattress and foundation. Costs for repairs or replacement parts for your air + foam bed is prorated based on your purchase date.

Shipping

Sleep Number beds ship through either standard UPS or with white glove service. You can choose. Standard ground shipping with UPS costs $89.99. Home delivery and setup costs $199.

thumb_down

The Bad

  • High Prices
  • Shipping

High Prices

Sleep Number offers very advanced products compared to other run-of-the-mill mattress stores. Therefore, their products are rather expensive. If you choose to purchase a mattress from Sleep Number, you will be paying somewhere between $899 and $5,000.

Shipping

Along with the high price of their mattresses, shipping is costly as well. It is great that they give you the option to choose between white glove or standard delivery, but other luxury options, like Tempur-Pedic mattresses, come with free shipping.

gavel

The Bottom Line

Sleep Number has been offering its products and services to its customers for about 30 years. They have gained the trust of their customers by offering multiple financing options, a desirable return policy, and a variety of products and price ranges to choose from.

However, because of their advanced technology, mattresses here are going to cost more compared to regular innerspring, or memory foam mattresses.

View Best Mattress Companies

Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

Star Rating

4.3

star star star star star_half

232 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

57%

4 grade

22%

3 grade

13%

2 grade

2%

1 grade

5%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star star star_border

Quality

star star star star star_half

Service

star star star star star_half

Trustworthiness

star star star star star_border
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Mark Troxel Provo, UT

I like that myself and my wife can have different firmness settings. The firmness of the bed not only varies by the resistance to compression but also by the amount of weight or pressure from the individual. So a setting of 45 for me is not the same as a setting of 45 for a person of a different weight. The pressure settings are very individual for the person using the bed. The down side is the chamber design is not perfect. The bed will sink slightly in the heaviest area like the hips/waist, and less in the extremities.

4 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Mary Kate F Simpsonville, SC

Sleep number mattresses are great for their firmness and back support, but one downside to their mattresses are that they tend to deflate after a few years. This causes the mattress to unevenly distribute it’s air. With that said, if you are willing to buy a new mattress after a few years, Sleep Number mattresses will deliver on their contouring, cushiony, comfortable sleep experience.

8 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

CypressH Ellicott City, MD

My husband and myself got a sleep number bed when we saw the commercials. It feels like two separate mattresses laid next to each other, and we’ve had some issues with air pump. Outside of that they work as advertised and we have our separate firmness preferences.

8 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Carlos A Hidalgo Houston, TX

I purchased their "lower end" mattress. The mattress itself was, and is, very comfortable. There is small issue as you go towards the middle of the Queen mattress. Because the "air mattress" is separated into two (2) separate bags, the middle is not always firm.

8 months ago

star star star star_border star_border

Jen Clarks Summit, PA

I have had a sleep number bed for about 10 years. I don’t like it. My husband sleeps at a 30, me at 65. If he gets up, my number changes. If he puts his leg on my side, the number changes. When we first got the bed, he never blew his side up. He just left it at his sleep position. Come to find out, the side flattened. It’s like the mattress has a spare tire. I can never get my number correct and I’m usually hurting.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Tonya Heath ,

Local store CS reps are amazing. Company itself? Not so much. We purchased our mattresses and bc we had moved, they would not accept our tax exempt card. We were waiting on our new ones with our new address but the VA said our current ones were still valid. But SN made us use our old address then said to wait 24 hours then call and change it before it gets delivered. It took multiple calls to change it. One rep wanted to refund it all and start over, which would have cost us since it was online and tax exempt only worked locally. We purchased our beds locally and saved $900 bucks in taxes. Then, even on day of delivery, they were STILL headed to our old address! We moved to a different city and they still didn't correct our address! Also, this was during covid so mail was very slow. Legally our tax exempt cards were valid and they still refused them, nearly costing us our bed. We returned the cooling mattress accessory. It was a joke. We paid cash for 2 of them ($999 each) but they won't allow their stores to cut you a check or return your cash. No, they have to mail you a check AFTER it is processed. It takes 24 to 72 hours to process and up to 21 days to get your check. We are in a technological world. They could have direct deposited our money or let their store cut a check. But no, we returned the equipment so they had both the return AND our money. Not impressed by the bed either. Just not. After 3 back surgeries I thought I would love it. I wish I had never purchased it.

1 year ago

star star star star_border star_border

Crystal Ashburn, VA

I went on a smiley360 mission to try out the sleep number beds and pillows. Compensation for my review was a free pillow from smiley360. The visit was nice visit. It was really neat seeing where the pressure was on my body when laying on setings for a reagular bed.

5 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

David O Pleasant Grove, UT

Napping on a Sleep Number mattress is like sleeping on air. The adjustable, inflatable products they offer are comfortable and fit the body well. The only downside I would have to say is the loud noise that comes with adjusting the air inside. It can be hard for others to sleep in the same house when I change it! Despite the noise, Sleep Number is a genuine and comfortable mattress I can see myself using. Three and a half stars.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Rhona Leffler Olney, MD

I just could not get comfortable on a Sleep Number bed that was in a hotel room I stayed in. It was supposed to be a perk, but I felt like I was camping...I was up all night inflating and deflating it and never could find my comfort zone! It just wasn't for me, but that was many years ago, so perhaps it is more comfortable now.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Sky Blue Christmas Tree Compton, CA

The bed is a lifesaver for my back and shoulders once I adjusted, however, the company is dishonest, albeit through wording rather than a bold-faced lie. When returning a bed, you only return the mattress. They'll keep your money from the frame. Furthermore, EVERYTHING is overpriced. even the pillows can be over $100.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Gina Marie Commack, NY

My father had a sleep number bed which I utilized for one year. I think it’s highly up and the price is too high I personally have gone with Serta sleepies and other companies for half of the price and had a much better experience after all sleep as essential

1 year ago

star star star star_border star_border

Alexa Cooper Provo, UT

I like using Sleep Number with my younger sister when we shared a room growing up. Our mattress had a hole though that would deflate and that previously caused my dad to eventually misalign his spine which led to an expensive surgery and recovery.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Kyle Bucher Fishers, IN

Way too overrated for the price. Yes, you can dial in your desired firmness, as can your partner. That is a nice feature, for sure. But in all reality the difference from 10-90 is barely tangible, and you're paying a significant premium for that niche diffierence. There are really good mattresses at a fraction of the price.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Brennan Orem, UT

Overpriced for an average product. I never really saw the benefit of Sleep Number versus other mattresses. I could see it being a good fit for certain situations but it for sure wasn't for me. Customer service was great, just didn't like the product.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Lindsey B Orem, UT

We didn't find Sleep Number worth the money we spent. We also didn't really use different sleep numbers once they were set which we felt defeated the purpose of having different options. People with very different sleep needs might have a very different experience with Sleep Number. Wouldn't recommend to people with normal mattress needs.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Angela Nelson Pleasant Grove, UT

We enjoyed our Sleep Number bed for a few years, but then it developed a leak and we could never fix it and get it to hold the setting. Ultimately we were disappointed in the durability of such an expensive product. We have since returned to traditional mattresses and are happier.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Chelsea Pleasant Grove, UT

I felt like this mattress did not last as long as others and became very uncomfortable. Would not purchase a mattress here again but very affordable!

8 months ago

star star star star_border star_border

Darbles32 Managua, MN

I don’t know if it was just the cheaper mattress that I slept on but I had a hard time getting it to the setting I wanted and to have it still feel comfortable

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

OverItAll Leesburg, FL

I bought the bed second hand which made it affordable. I think the price for a new one is way too high. The ability to regulate each side independently is great and I am happy with my purchase.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Jobie Goodro Orem, UT

My husband really likes a firm bed and I like soft, we thought this would be a perfect fit. But we both hated the mattress. Despite that, their customer service was great! And we were able to get a full refund.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Lori Thurgoood Saratoga Springs, UT

We just bought one about a month ago it has been ok!!! Not a soft as I was told! But good quality!

8 months ago

star star star star_border star_border

James West Jordan, UT

Not impressed with the Air Bags. Have had to replace both. Trying to get warranty service from the store took forever.

4 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Brandon Kimball Thurgood AZ

The sleep number system started to not work after owning for a couple of years.

8 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Richard Kellogg Kirkland, WA

Good bed, very comfortable, had a pump issue but they resolved it satisfactorly.

11 months ago

star star star star_border star_border

MVK Riverview, FL'

Average Quality for this Product. The product was picked for the cost only

4 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Jerry Festa Tolleson, AZ'

The bed they sold me is way too soft, even at the 100 setting.

4 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Dean Lodi, CA

Over ten years older but has been a very good bed for the money

4 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Lisa Hanson Calabasas, CA

Average comfort given our expectations and reviews. Convenient and easy to use though.

3 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Jim Holloway Upland, CA

I purchased a very good mattress, but it was expensive

4 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Anonymous Long Beach, CA

they are no more comfortable than a less expensive mattress

4 years ago