LightStream Logo

LightStream

check_circleVerified

star star star_half star_border star_border
101 User Reviews

3.9

Overall Score

LAST UPDATED: February 28th, 2022

LightStream, a division of SunTrust Bank, offers its customers highly competitive fixed-rate financing for a variety of needs, including credit card or debt consolidation from the convenience of a computer or mobile device.

LightStream advertises a hassle-free loan that rewards customers for their credit, providing same-day loan approval and funding. Thus, qualification requirements are strict and favor those with excellent credit, a solid credit history, and a low debt-to-income ratio. 

LightStream customer reviews are primarily 1-star, providing customer accounts of transparency issues and qualification difficulties, even with good credit.

search

Highlight: LightStream personal loan rates and terms

  • APR range — 2.49%–19.99% (with AutoPay discount)
  • Loan amounts — $5,000–$100,000
  • Loan terms — 24–144 months
  • Minimum credit score — 680

Keep reading for pros and cons, and LightStream reviews from real customers.

thumb_up

The Good

  • Flexible Loan Terms
  • High Max Loan Amount
  • Competitive Rates
  • Direct Lender
  • Quick Application Process
  • Loans for a Variety of Financing Needs
  • No Loan Origination Fee or Prepayment Penalty
  • LightStream Mobile App

Flexible Loan Terms

LightStream has various loan terms available for customers. The maximum loan term offered through LightStream is a 144-month (12-year) loan, which is higher than the average loan term of 60 months. 

There are also several other term options available through LightStream. Customers can select to have a repayment term as short as 24 months (two years). 

High Max Loan Amount

LightStream allows customers to borrow as little as $5,000 or as much as $100,000, higher than many other lenders in the industry. 

However, to qualify for this maximum amount, an excellent credit score (700+) is required, which may not be possible for every borrower.

Competitive Rates

LightStream offers competitive annual percentage rates ranging between 2.49 percent to 19.99 percent* (with the AutoPay discount). It is important to note that rates vary by loan type and loan term.

With such a wide range of loan amounts and repayment terms available, borrowers have the ability to select a loan that will best fit their needs and financial situation.

However, with such competitive rates, LightStream requires a credit score of 680, which is much higher than some of its competitors. And to qualify for the lowest interest rate, you must have an excellent credit score.

Direct Lender

Unlike many of its competitors, all of the funding for a LightStream loan is provided in-house, which means immediate loan funding upon the close of a consumer's loan. This also means that there are no third parties involved in the process, resulting in no transfer of personal information. 

This is good news as there is less of a chance that a consumer will fall victim to scams, predatory lending, or other forms of illegal activity such as identity theft.

Quick Application Process

A LightStream personal loan can be approved with funding transferred within the same day of application, which is faster than other competing online lenders. This is great for borrowers who need funds as soon as possible.

However, same-day funding is only possible if a borrower is approved by 2:30 p.m. Eastern time on a banking business day, and has completed the loan agreement process.

Loans for a Variety of Financing Needs

LightStream offers loans for numerous financing needs and provides fixed rates and terms for each loan type on its website. These options include:

  • Auto
  • Kitchen or Bath Remodel
  • Debt Consolidation
  • Swimming Pool
  • Medical
  • Wedding
  • Timeshare
  • Boat

It's important to note that signing LightStream's contract means you are agreeing to spend the loan only on the specified loan purpose in your application. There are many competing lenders who do not have such strict stipulations and allow borrowers to use their loan to fund whatever they'd like.

No Loan Origination Fee or Prepayment Penalty

LightStream does not charge an origination fee or prepayment penalty fee. This means you will not have to pay an additional fee to fund your loan, and you can pay it off whenever you want without penalty. The option to pay off the loan early allows you to save a great deal of money in interest.

Additionally, LightStream does not charge a late fee if you miss a monthly payment. This is unique in the industry, but LightStream provides itself with some assurances that borrowers will make their payments on time by requiring a high minimum credit score.

LightStream Mobile App

To easily manage your loan, you can download the LightStream app, available on both Android and iOS. Through the app you can check payment due dates, make payments, monitor your balances, and even apply for a new loan if needed.

Visit Site

thumb_down

The Bad

  • No Pre-Qualification Option on Website
  • Fund Stipulations
  • Loan Refinance Stipulations
  • High Minimum Credit Score
  • Negative Customer Reviews

No Pre-Qualification Option on Website

LightStream does not provide a pre-qualification option on its website, a service that most other personal loan lenders provide, allowing you to see rates and terms based on your credit score and personal information without any impact to your credit score. 

Fund Stipulations

When you apply for a LightStream loan you will be required to specify the loan purpose, whether that be an auto loan, a debt consolidation loan, or a loan for medical expenses or home remodeling. Although you can lose your loan for a variety of needs, funds must be used specifically for the reason stated when applying for the loan or it is void. These are basic terms of the agreement and apply to each and every processed LightStream loan.

Loan Refinance Stipulations

LightStream doesn't offer refinancing on existing LightStream loans. This is a common practice in the industry - lenders not providing refinancing on their own loans - and Best Egg, for example, has the same refinancing stipulation. However, LightStream does refinance loans from other lenders.

High Minimum Credit Score

LightStream's estimated minimum credit score is approximately 680, which is high in comparison to other online lending companies. This high minimum requirement allows the company to offer competitively low rates and high loan amounts.

However, LightStream does claim to be a personal loan company that rewards its customers for excellent credit, meaning that you can access competitive rates and terms if you have a strong credit history and assets, demonstrating your ability to save money.

Negative Customer Reviews

LightStream finance reviews from customers reflect a number of low-star reviews with around 64 percent of its reviews recorded as one star. The main LightStream complaints voiced by consumers highlight unclear financial guidelines, and a low acceptance rate even for those with an excellent credit score. 

It should be noted that there are currently less than 100 LightStream reviews. Take note of the anecdotal reviews that you read, but keep in mind that limited reviews offer a limited perspective on a company and its overall loan experience.

gavel

The Bottom Line

As a direct lender, LightStream offers personal loans through SunTrust Bank. With a high minimum credit score, LightStream is ideal for individuals with good to excellent credit, a strong credit history, and a good debt-to-income ratio. Consumers with little to no credit will have a difficult time receiving a personal loan from LightStream, and current customer reviews express this difficulty.

A LightStream loan can be used for a variety of needs, including debt consolidation, the most common use of a personal loan, but LightStream requires that you use funding on what you listed in your loan application, which can be limiting. Other top-ranked lenders provide more flexibility in how borrowers can use their loans. 

We advise you to read customer reviews below and compare the lender against other top-rated personal loan companies before making your decision. 

*Your loan terms, including APR, may differ based on loan purpose, amount, term length, and your credit profile. Lowest rates require excellent credit. At least 21% of approved applicants applying for the lowest rate qualified for the lowest rate available based on data from 1/01/2021 to 3/31/2021. Rate is quoted with AutoPay discount. AutoPay discount is only available prior to loan funding. Rates without AutoPay are 0.50% points higher. Subject to credit approval. Conditions and limitations apply. Advertised rates and terms are subject to change without notice.

Payment example: Monthly payments for a $10,000 loan at 2.49% APR with a term of 3 years would result in 36 monthly payments of $288.57.

Maximum APR for a LightStream loan is 20.49%.

Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

Star Rating

2.4

star star star_half star_border star_border

101 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

31%

4 grade

3%

3 grade

0%

2 grade

2%

1 grade

64%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star star_border star_border

Quality

star star star star_border star_border

Service

star star star star_border star_border

Trustworthiness

star star star star_border star_border
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
star star_border star_border star_border star_border

eric klauss El Paso, TX

If I could I would give them no star. Terrible is all I can say. I have a credit score of over 800, make decent money and just finished paying for my house. I have $6000 left to pay on my SUV. The process I was told would take 3 hours and the money would be in the bank the next day. Well they kept asking for more info, even some that I don't have. I gave them proof of my income, my husband's income, then our last income tax but they wanted tax schedule that I don't have. I lost so much time with supposedly so good company. We have never been denied any loans, nor did we ever default on any loan.

1 year ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Shin Han Norcross, GA

My experience with these folks was really unpleasant. They wanted to see all kind of documentation then denied my application with out any good reasons. My credit score was over 700 at that time. I applied for an auto loan with Penfed and got approved for $68k with 4% interest after that. All good reviews sound really hard to believe, some people said they got approved without proof of income (for an unsecured auto loan?) If your credit is that great, you can get a secured loan else where with much less interest rate. Unsecured loan with high interest doesn't make any sense for people with stellar credit. Customer service replied emails fast but without any knowledge about the loan. From the language they used in the email, it was like talking to a high school kid. There are many lenders with great reputation, look elsewhere trust me.

1 year ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

JupiterMining Seaford, DE

I have a 780 credit score, solid work history, and a solid payment history on a car loan through Suntrust/Truist. I applied for a credit consolidation loan in hopes of getting a lower interest rate so I could pay down a couple of high balances more quickly. I was rejected for having high balances -- the same ones that I was seeking a loan to pay off. Well, duh... I thought that was the point of a consolidation loan? I would understand if other aspects of my application made me a risk, such as low credit score or poor work history, but that's not the case with me so I am truly confused. The top page of reviews on Google for this company comes from Lightstream themselves, so of course those reviews are all glowing. Couldn't find anywhere on their site to leave my own review. So that page is probably a load of b.s. Sorry I wasted my time. Lesson learned, use a real bank and not some fake internet lender.

1 year ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Matt Hurley New Port Richey, FL

Horrible OVERALL experience! The process of getting money is simple, but then it goes downhill from there! You will regret it!!! Min $100 payments only, some payments take up to 4 days to pull while YOU get charged daily interest! $100 - (4x $20= $80) = $20 payment.. They don't tell you this while applying! We called in last week for the final payoff amount, logged in that evening, clicked "make final payment", and here we are, still have a loan with lightstream 7 days later, waiting for another manager to call us back next week (still being charged interest)! The rep today said we could make ANOTHER final payment and ask for a refund later! HAA!! What a joke!

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Celeste Evans, GA

STAY AWAY! My husband and I have banked with SunTrust for over 40 years. The original account was opened when it was Trust Company Bank of Georgia. We've had several vehicle loans and even one of our mortgage loans was with them. Our original vehicle loan was paid by us (there wasn't autopay at the time) on time, every time. After that, every loan was autopay, therefore guaranteeing no late payments. Anyway, we both have very good credit scores and since selling our last house in July 2018 and both of our vehicles having been paid in full for several years, we have zero debt to income. He makes well into six figures (plus bonuses-which we didn't include, since it is not guaranteed income). Between the two of us we have 4 major credit cards that are paid in full and on time every month. There is literally zero liability for this loan and yet we were DENIED!! In the past, we've always gone into our local branch and worked with a loan officer but because my husband was out of town this week, he called Suntrust. He was guaranteed this loan due to our relationship with the bank, but was told that this is the way SunTrust does loans now. He had no reason not to believe the person on the line. What a liar. Needless to say, our business of 40 years is not coming to an end. We're going back to banking with the smaller banks that actually care about their customers, like Trust Company aka SunTrust once did. SunTrust, you are doing yourselves no favors by backing this horrible company. Shame on you!!

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

AL Lugo Sorrento, FL

To start I have a 780 credit score with very little debt. Two credit cards with a $ 25,000 limit . One card has $1,500 balance the other $ 1,800 balance my other cards are paid off over $150,000 equity in my $400,000 house . I take great pride in having good credit and protect it with all i have. I make well into the six figures a year and light stream turned me down for a pool loan!! I have never been so angry in my life! I would not have applied had I known their track record. Don't apply with Light stream as chances are good you will take a hit on your credit score. Again, I have excellent credit with little debt and the turned me down. They are a waist!!

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Vandaln Lowell, NC

Everything seemed promising but... I was applying for a loan I wanted to purchase through private party. But because the seller was still financing the car Lightstream didn't want to continue with the application. First of all, I never heard of a bank/credit union denying a loan because the seller had a loan on the vehicle. Just give me the money, I pay off their loan and give them the difference. Simple and every other loan provider does it. Second this information should have been displayed easy to see before I gave the company all my personal information. Customer service was like oh its is in our FAQs section... I'm not going to go digging around your FAQs for a question I never knew I had to ask in the first place. Bottom line: If trying to finance a vehicle through private party deal go somewhere else, and listen to all the other reviews.

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Robert Mechanicsville, VA

I received mailing from LightStream, trading as part of SubTrust, offering loans to reduce the rates on higher rate cards via debt consolidation loan. I have a middle 700 credit score, pay all of my debts on time and yes, I have a few credit cards. I applied for the loan to be able to make 1 payment a month in place of multiples. I was immediately denied because I have credit accounts and they have balances on them. This is crazy to offer debt consolidation loans and deny because the applicant has debt. The only thing I got was a hit on my credit score thanks to their hard pull on my credit. I would never use LightStream and I would even question using SunTrust, as they gave LightStream my information for contact.

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Nebula Albuquerque, NM

Terrible experience with LightStream, I do NOT recommend them. They sent an email saying I was pre-approved and inviting me to apply. Based on many reviews on this website and the high regard Nerdwallet seems to hold them in, I did so. I immediately got an email asking me to contact them via phone to answer a couple of questions. I was asked a number of questions basically asking me to justify why I had high credit card debt and why did i need a loan to consolidate that debt. This with a FICO score of 720 and an income of almost 200K (with an admittedly somewhat higher DTI). I next got an email asking me to upload my W-2, most recent paycheck stub and proof of retirement accounts. I then got another email asking me to call again, which I did, where I was grilled AGAIN about why did I want a loan to consolidate these credit cards? Again, isn’t this why you offer these loans, you morons? So you can get the interest payments instead of the credit card companies? So I patiently answer the questions again, whereupon an hour later I get an email saying they have declined the loan. All why they’ve done a hard pull of my credit. Over 30 years of credit, never a single late or missed payment (not one!), own homes, own the building my business is located in, etc., and this is how they treat a potential customer. Absolutely terrible.

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Micaela Deegan Vero Beach, FL

My significant other and I applied and were approved for a personal loan through LightStream, a division of SunTrust. We used the loan for debt consolidation of our credit card balances, we were loaned $30,000 plus $105.70 doc stamp fee for a 5 year term at 13.34% interest with monthly payments equal to $690.25. The loan was funded 5/15/18. We made our first payment 6/26/18 for $150, which was applied toward interest only, this payment was in excess of the monthly payment which was made on 6/28/18 for $690.25. We made our second payment 7/25/18 for $160, which was applied toward interest only, this payment was in excess of the monthly payment which was made on 7/30/18 for $690.25. We then made a payment of $10,000 on 7/31/18, only $10.69 was applied toward interest the remainder, $9,989.31 was applied toward the principal. The next payment we made was to pay off the balance on 9/10/18 for $19,384.64. The principal balance of $30,105.70 plus $969.44 in total interest has been paid, but this company insists that I still owe them INTEREST towards the loan!

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Jeff Hammerberg Indian Hills, CO

WARNING - LIGHTSTREAM IS HORRIBLE! Don't even bother applying to a company with so many negative reviews from people with outstanding credit! There is no personal experience - no "real person" to speak with, it's automated with very tight standards, even I don't understand! I have 800+ Credit / 100k income / Zero Credit Card Debt / More Money in the Bank than the auto loan I applied for, and was still denied!! (my credit union approved me in 30 minutes). My guess is they looked at three home loans on my credit report - not recognizing that two of the homes are rental properties generating positive income and just calculated my debt-to-income was out of wack... crazy that they don't ask for details - just a rude "your denied". This company is losing lots and lots of great business just by their "quick and easy" approach. I knew there was no way I'd get denied, so I was suckered into applying by their low advertised rates - don't you be a sucker too! Any credit union on the planet will give you a loan at low rates and you don't have to be a member to apply! I used Security Service Credit Union.

5 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Nick Massey

They keep asking for more information and each time they want more personal information added to each request. Had I know that they were asking for information that’s not actually required I would have been better off. Now my identity has been stolen and credit compromised! What a nightmare. Beware what you send them!

10 months ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Ann Norvell Matthews, NC

This company does not clearly disclose anywhere that these are unsecured loans when applying for a loan. I unknowingly applied for what I thought was and was advertised as an Auto loan NOT An unsecured loan which is harder to qualify for. My 807 FICO score didn’t matter and now I have a hard pull on my credit. This is deceptive as consumers should be made aware what they are actually applying for, why ask if the loan is for a car from a dealer or a private person if it’s an unsecured general loan? Deceptive!

1 year ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Jeff Franz Phoenix, AZ

To start with I have a 800+ FICO. Have a single debt (House). Have a DTI of 22% and residual income of over 10k monthly. Have had 3 loans with LS all paid as agreed and early. I have had credit back to 1981. So I apply today for $15,000 and get denied. Unable to pull a credit report. You’d think they would at least reach out to see if there was a data issue. But nope and out and out denial. Then I email them. No response. Poor experience.

1 year ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Jack Achee Deptford, NJ

What I liked about the process of applying for a $10k loan with LightStream was the simplicity. However, I've kept my credit score above 800 for almost a year and was still denied. If I would've known it's a randomized algorithm that approves loans, I would not have wasted the penalty of a credit inquiry. I do not recommend unless you already don't care about your credit score.

1 year ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Lucas Raymondville, TX

I would like to give this so called company a zero rating if possible. I tried twice to apply within two days. The first time, I had a credit freeze on one of the credit bureaus. After all the hard work removing the freeze and checking with the other credit bureaus, I tried again. I was rejected again (within minutes). I have a credit score over 700 so not sure what the problem is. Supposedly an insufficient credit history which i don't even understand. I have had several credit cards and good history all paid off. Not sure what type of customers they are looking for.

1 year ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

dmcallister Granger, IN

I will never use them again. I used this company for a loan previously in the year. Good experience, and I even paid the loan off early. Fast forward, I apply for the exact same loan again and am denied. I have a 766 credit score and a debt to income of 25% (homeowner). I make 70k a year and have well over 10x assets for the loan request. They could not give me any legitimate reason as to why, other then "debt to income doesnt meet standards" or "income doesnt meet standards" I will NEVER use them again.

1 year ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Ann New Port Richey, FL

Horrible!!!!! 0 stars! I have a beautiful credit and have plenty of money! Yet, they denied me twice for not having a sufficient credit score and finances!?? Not doing their jobs correctly and pissing people off in the process. My frustration will be written everywhere! If u are reading this... do ur self a favor and and save ur self the time and frustration... Find another company!

1 year ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Mark D Cedar City, UT

My credit score was over 800 but my interest rate was over 10%, nowhere near the low end they advertise. It was a 60 month loan but I was able to pay it off after 13 months. When I tried to pay it off, on Oct 1 their website would not let the payoff take place until the 3rd, after they had taken out the monthly payment. Then they added another $8.65 in interest from the 2nd to the 3rd. It does not seem like much but if I can pay on the 1st they should not try to squeeze 2 more days and charge more interest. Legal thieves.

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Jack Glenwood Springs, CO

Terrible company. I applied for a tiny house loan. I have no debt except for a vehicle, make six figures, and have an 800+ credit score. They turned me down and offered ZERO in the way of any alternatives or recommendations. This is by far the more unprofessional bank with which I have ever had an experience. Now my credit is dinged with an inquiry. This is not a user friendly bank for people interested in tiny homes and a minimalist lifestyle. They only loan to people who have a lot of assets. DO NOT TRY TO GET A LOAN FOR A TINYHOME WITH THEM!

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Summer Hunter Sarasota, FL

This company does not have the best customer service for clients. They to do not make you feel completely secure with proceeding into a loan agreement. There underwriters request too much for a small approval rate. I received a better rate, loan terms and amount; plus better customer satisfaction with NFCU. I would not recommend Lightstream for a loan in anything.

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Buttapecan24

Their underwriter are horrible. They only approve you for half of your annual salary amount. I went through all the hassal of trying to give them documentation to still only give me a low approval loan. My credit is 770 so if you have an annal salary of 46k you will only get approved for like 22k. Also, they customer service are not all on one accord. Definitely would not recommend this company to anyone!

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Sonja Lilburn, GA

Bad experience during trade of automobile. The new finance company took 32 days to payoff my loan and they still reported it to my credit bureau. No flexibility even thought my loan was paid early and on time throughout the life of my loan and I’ve been a SunTrust customer over 20 years and my mortgage is through SunTrust. I was expecting more loyalty especially when the late pay was no fault of my own. I won’t be doing business with them again.

4 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

D Gardner

Total BS/scam company. Do not use them. I wanted to get a credit card consolidation loan and have never been late ever with any payment and they would not give me a loan. Lied about doing a hard pull and wanted to know what I bought with my cards. I provided more than enough documentation with all my available finances and they still would not approve it.

4 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Jerry n

Worst experience I been through. No number to call HIGH credit scores I own all my asserts. No one calls you. Only respond by email customer service is bad. They PULL your credit multiple times lowering your scores. SunTrust needs look at lightstream and fire this terrible company and do it in house Sun trust or another 3rd party affiliate light stream is not trustworthy at all.

4 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Kenny True Greensboro, NC

Wanted to do an auto refi, have over 8k in equity, and 100% pay on time ratio's. Debt % is high, however with credit history over 29 years of on time pay, they declined. Their disclaimer say's they look at all aspect's, although obviuosly did not. I would have considered it a slam dunk, or a secured loan. I will never use this company as my debt ratio's reduce, and would not recommend any service from them.

5 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

ravellin Endicott, NY

Non-deliverers!! With FICO around 770, income well over $100k, less that 25% utilization, this ought to be a mere formality. Nevertheless, they declined application after responding to their "pre-selected" offer, leaving a "hard" inquiry on the record. Never seen such nonsense before, and it's by far not the first personal loan I applied for. Welcome to another blacklist, LightStream scammers!

5 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

VK

Waste of time, wanted a pool loan for 65k had more than double in liquid assets available, kept hounding me for more info more documents, kept supplying. Credit score was close to 700, denied me anyway. Not really sure who's getting approved but they must not be borrowing much money and that's why they're approved. Its also true that they don't let you specify certain info and just judge off basic numbers. IE: Not counting that mortgages are paid through renters generating positive income.

5 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Divya San Dimas, CA

Horribly rude customer service over email. They advertise one rate but approve a different one by tricking you and saying that they will give 0.5% for autopay. Instead they up their rate by 0.5% than what any other institution is offering. The rude emails indicate that they either are tanking and at this point not looking for new customers, or their employees are so underpaid that they take it out on the customers. Either way, beware.

5 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Craig R Fairfield, CA

I found LightStream not to be straightforward. I have excellent credit (820+), very good income, and solid assets. They initially implied I'd get a great rate, but into the process, I could tell I was getting the old "bait & switch" rate... I saw rather quickly into their process that their tactics were deceptively opportunistic...

1 year ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

DEG La Junta, CO

They give the impression that you will be approved after they do a soft pull, and encourage you to apply. After the hard credit pull is done, I am denied. My credit is in the mid 700's. Would not waste the time of day to apply with them, they are not worth it!

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

max Steel Texarkana, TX

The company does not do as they advertise. They lure you in with good rates and an easy application process . Then turn your information over to other companies after denying your application. Read the reviews. They're pretty much spot on.

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

EastCoastBoast Rolesville, NC

775+ 30yrs of good credit not one late pay and want me to show pay, retirement, cking ,savings, stocks, bonds for a secured auto loan? Paystub and and credit pull understandable the rest waste of time, insulting. Other financial aval with lot less drama.

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

MT Arlington, TN

They sent me a preapproval, and a rate range. I went ahead with the full application and agreed to the HARD credit pull for this reason and they denied me. I'm disgusted. I would never have applied and agreed to that if they hadn't pre-approved me. Nothing changed! Disgraceful behavior.

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

karthik Mountain View, CA

They are such a waste company. Dont trust. This company is scam. I repeat .... total scam. If you want your good credit history to go down without processing loan, then only apply loan. I have credit of 800 and 200k Still denied. Never late paid or my debt to income is over 50%.

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

D Rakes Huntington, WV

I was told my loan amount would be in my by morning after my verification went through and nothing has shown up. On top of that I received an email from my bank that a purchase i made the end of Feb was being investigated since I asked, which I never did so.

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Robert Reid Clinton, IL

Referred from LendingTree with a great APR offer. After pulling a hard inquiry, I was told that they couldn't honor that, but I could take a different type of loan for double the initial interest rate. Bait and switch after putting an inquiry on my credit history, which could change the offers from other lenders.

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Tgreen DeSoto, TX

Per LightStream rejection letter, I have an average credit score (from Equifax and Experian) of 797. So, if you are responsible (low debt, always pay on time, and pay off all debt early) you are not eligible for financing through LightStream. Apparently they prefer, high debt and risk, in order to over charge on rates and add fees.

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Victoria Surprise, AZ

In June 2017 I applied for a personal loan and they declined me simply because they wanted my husband on the loan too. However Sofi immediately approved me (without hubby) for $30k and within 4 days the money was in my account. Won't bother with Lightstream/SunTrust again.

4 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Yelena Columbia, MD

Extremely rude. Spoke with Andrei who was upset because me and my husband share an email address. Continued to ask questions about my life and family that pertained nothing to the Loan. After an hour of arguing I told him to cancel the application. I've never set with such scum in my life!! Don't Use This Bank!

6 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Ellen Hackensack, NJ

Unless you have a 750+ score DO NOT apply. They will deny you and then sell your information to predatory lenders who will robo call your cell within one hour of your denial. DO NOT APPLY here.

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Calette Grant Mullins, SC

The wanted me to send money. I did like a dummy and still wasn’t approved. They wanted me to send more. Never got approved and I told them to cancel my application and refund me now I’ve been blocked. Lawyer up time!

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

NBB Irving, TX

This is the worst company I have ever seen .I have 772 score .In the soft pull they had showed me an offer .But they have rejected my application and made a hard inquiry. Stay away from this company.

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

ean Pomona, NY

Was denied . Reasons Insufficient income. 2,Serious delinquency.3, Collection .4, Lack of recent credit repayment history. all lies. credit score is 720,have 6 accounts never late. no delinquency.

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Robert Phoenix, AZ

BEWARE! I wish I could have read this reviews before applying with my loan with them. I have perfect credit and make a decent amount of money and they just denied my application.

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

barry Hull, TX

Their idiots by email, perfect credit, 15 minutes denied. Its funny my credit score is higher than theirs. Trashy company. Do not go there. BEWARE they will ruin your credit rating running it several times.

4 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Art Layton, UT

Worst experience ever! Do not waste your time unless you have perfect credit ( low risk) in which case you don't need a loan from Lightstream. All it got me was a credit inquiry on my credit report.

4 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

JAY P El Monte, CA

Horrible correspondence. How does one with 730 credit score get rejected??? Oh, because you don't a pre-qualification list. Thanks for tanking my score.

1 year ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Tim Johnson Eureka, IL

What a joke... Requires at least 660 credit score and mines over 750 with income over 5000/ month applied for new car loan and got denied, definitely will not recommend...

1 year ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Rick Young Benton, AR

What a joke of a company. Refused my application with a credit score of 721. Was trying to combine my debts but not with this company. Waste of time.

1 year ago