ZipRecruiter Logo

ZipRecruiter

star star star star star_half

6.3

Overall Score

LAST UPDATED: November 8th, 2022

ZipRecruiter was founded in 2010 in Santa Monica, CA and has grown to provide its services to over 7,000,000 job seekers each month. The company's mission is to help people find meaningful employment and has done incredibly well in completing that mission. ZipRecruiter makes it easy for employers to find talent by connecting job seekers to relevant companies. ZipRecruiter has over 10,000 new companies subscribe each month, has 100+ job distribution partners, and has provided its services to over 1,000,000 employers. 

Top Ranked Companies

Indeed Logo
#1 Indeed chevron_right
7.9 Overall Score
4.4
star star star star star_half
(721)
LinkedIn Logo
#3 LinkedIn chevron_right
5.8 Overall Score
4.4
star star star star star_half
(493)
Glassdoor Logo
#4 Glassdoor chevron_right
5.3 Overall Score
4.2
star star star star star_border
(221)
thumb_up

The Good

  • Price range
  • Reach
  • Resources and learning materials
  • Special features
  • Customer support

Price Range

Employers may test out ZipRecruiter's services with a 4-day free trial. After that, they must choose the package that best suits their needs:

  • Starter (3 active jobs slots): $249month
  • Team (10 active job slots): $375/month
  • Company (20 active job slots): $576/month
  • Big Hiring (50 active jobs slots): $752/month

For an additional fee, jobs can get a "traffic boost" (guaranteed 100 more hits) or be listed on paid job boards like Monster.com and LinkedIn. All of ZipRecruiter's services, including resume distribution, is completely free for job seekers, and that is expected always to be the case: "ZipRecruiter will never charge job seekers for anything."

Reach

ZipRecruiter's resume current database includes over 13 million job seekers. Over 640,000 new jobs are posted daily within ZipRecruiter's job board network (over 100 other sources) and social network.

Resources and Learning Materials

This site does a good job explaining how to "search smart" using various titles, quotes, and terms. It provides more guidance in this area than most other employment sites. Additionally, their blog contains employment education within four categories:

  • Job search tips
  • Interview tips
  • Career advice
  • Insights

One excellent article to search in the archives is titled "Your Most Productive Job Search Schedule," an extremely practical yet novel approach to finding a job.

Special Features

Job seekers will find ZipRecruiter to be easy to use, as it has several features that simplify the job search process. First, those with a LinkedIn profile can import their LinkedIn profile to ZipRecruiter.com as they build their presence on ZipRecruiter. They can sign up for listing notifications, track the status of their applications, and apply with a 1-tap system, linking their profile information with potential jobs.

The job search bar works great, but the job browsing page is a great alternative as well. All jobs in the system that can be categorized are very simply and clearly laid out by state, category, and job type so browsers can narrow their search using the keywords most commonly used in each industry.

Employers can include pre-interview surveys or quizzes (free-form, multiple choice, or yes/no) in job postings so they can view individual responses alongside a resume. Another perk is the option of collaborating with team members to rate, organize, filter, share notes, and add labels to potential candidates-all online through ZipRecruiter. Candidates can also be exported to Excel. Both job seekers and employers benefit from the resume database.

While employers pay for this service, job seekers don't have to pay anything to opt in. Only paid employer and recruiter-identifying account holders can access this information. Resumes are well-formatted for easy downloading, printing, and sharing with colleagues during the hiring process. On the job seeker side, applicants don't have to spend time worrying if their documents have been seen, as resume views are updated under their application status.

Customer Support

ZipRecruiter makes it easy to get in touch with them for assistance. They offer live help through chat or phone from 6am-6pm Pacific Time daily. Questions can also be answered on the Twitter account @ZipRecruiter.

thumb_down

The Bad

  • Experience

Experience

ZipRecruiter was founded in 2010, so it is one of the newer companies in the job search industry.

gavel

The Bottom Line

ZipRecruiter was definitely created with the job seeker in mind, just as much as the recruiter. The website layout is user-friendly, live help is available, both searching and browsing options are intuitive and clear, and the resume distribution system is mutually beneficial. There is a lot to like about this company, clients to at least test the 4-day trial before committing to pay for ZipRecruiter's services.

Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

Star Rating

4.6

star star star star star_half

1,185 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

77%

4 grade

13%

3 grade

4%

2 grade

2%

1 grade

4%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star star star_border

Quality

star star star star star_half

Service

star star star star star_half

Trustworthiness

star star star star star_border
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
star star star star_border star_border

scotty Saint Paul, MN

I use zip recruiter a lot. they have a lot of easy search functions and the pages are easily laid out, not too much clutter. They also have a large job pool to look at and Connect with. I would have give them a higher rating however they have a droid Who sends job ideas everyday but he does a pretty good job. Its when you get an email coming from a hiring manager saying they are interested in you for this position you should put on hand go check it out and apply that's a spam that's just to get you to go back on zip recruiter

8 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Brittney Mac Gregor Louisville, KY

I would say Ziprecruiter is one of my most used job search tools. I like the fact that it can be used as an app on my phone and it also has the 1 button apply button. It has helpful things to assist in creating a resume, and it has little short tests to verify your skills to potential employers. Like all job board sites I have used so far, whenever you upload information or apply to a job, about a dozen unsolicited calls and emails start to pour in and can last for up to months. That would be my biggest complaint and because of that, I have a hard time recommending any job board, even zip recruiter to others. Although I have had some potential employers reach out when I have applied, for every legit employer, I'd get about 20 scammers calling.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Michelle Chandler, OK

I signed up for ZipRecruiter when looking for employment. At first it was great, but then my inbox started to get overran with emails from them. Some of the jobs weren't legitimate, which was a complete waste of my time. Finally stopped receiving emails from them.

11 months ago

star star star star_border star_border

Anthony Teat Detroit, MI

Has not been a bad experience just need more info about actually interview instead of just other jobs to apply for and still after weeks not get a job interview of which I picked

3 years ago

ZipRecruiter Logo

Reply from ZipRecruiter

Hi Anthony, Thank you for review and we value your feedback and I understand your concern and we are here to help you. We would be happy to go over specific details and assist you with your account, please feel welcome to email our dedicated customer care team at so we can look at your account and share some information with you which may assist you in your job search and landing an interview. Thank you and have a good day! Leticia Tier II Customer Care Advocate

Jul. 30th, 2019

star star star star_border star_border

Judy Hart Spring, TX

This is is my first experience with Zip -recruiter. I just started looking for a care- river's position today and received an email stating that there was a match for what I am seeking.

3 years ago

ZipRecruiter Logo

Reply from ZipRecruiter

Hi Judy! Thank you for your review as we do appreciate your valuable feedback! We are so happy to hear that you've started your job search with ZipRecruiter, and that you were notified about a job that matches what you're looking for! Please never hesitate to contact our friendly customer care team directly for assistance with your job seeker profile. We can be reached via email at . We wish you the best of luck on your job search! Kind Regards, Tier III Support ZipRecruiter

Jul. 25th, 2019

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Kort Kort Hopkinsville, KY

I have use this company before to obviously look for jobs. During that experience, I had a really hard time trying to navigate the website and get all of my information put in in order to apply for jobs. It was very disorganized. Customer service was great though. They were ready and willing to assist me in whatever way that they could.

1 year ago

ZipRecruiter Logo

Reply from ZipRecruiter

Thank you so much for sharing your experience! We're so happy to hear that our team was able to navigate you successfully through the site. 😃 -TC

Jun. 28th, 2021

star star star star_border star_border

Jake Mecham Lehi, UT

Helpful to find options, not helpful when trying to submit resumes and actually apply. They also send TONS of emails which can be helpful at first, but be sure to unsubscribe when you are done job searching or you will get 50 emails a day.

1 year ago

ZipRecruiter Logo

Reply from ZipRecruiter

We'd like to assist you with all these issues you're experiencing, Jake! Please email our customer care team directly at [email protected] We look forward to helping you and getting these things resolved very soon! 😃 -TC

Feb. 3rd, 2021

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Matt Markin Kearney, NE

The way ZipRecruiter Narrows down job search results compared to Glassdoor or indeed is very poor. For example it constantly ask me about doctor title jobs or even CDL qualified jobs after specifically stating I am qualified for neither. I think Word of Mouth in most situations would be a better job locating resource!

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Sharon W Honolulu, HI

I initially started using ZipRecruiter because it was advertised on a lot of the podcasts I listen to. They send a lot of emails and updates on job statuses. The site is very user-friendly, but there are some false job listings that have resulted in unwanted calls and spam emails.

2 years ago

ZipRecruiter Logo

Reply from ZipRecruiter

We understand your concern and we have a dedicated Trust and Safety team that handles all suspicious activity. Please report these instances by emailing [email protected] Our team will thoroughly investigate all reports and take appropriate action. Job seekers can also report suspicious jobs by clicking the 'Report Job' button on the job ad. Thank you. ~DW

Aug. 4th, 2020

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Aaliyah Lobendahn Orem, UT

Zip recruiter helped me find a lot of jobs near me and I was able to find my current job at the mall from it! When your my age is a little harder to find jobs but this app really helped me and I was able to see what was near me or close by and it always gave me daily reminders on what was available

2 years ago

ZipRecruiter Logo

Reply from ZipRecruiter

Hi Aaliyah! Thank you so much for sharing your valuable feedback. We love to hear that you've found success while using ZipRecruiter for your job search. Congratulations on your employment! Should you ever have any questions or concerns, our dedicated customer care team would be happy to assist you at any time. Please feel welcome to email them directly at . Thank you for letting us be a part of your job searching journey! Kind Regards, TC Customer Experience

Feb. 18th, 2020

star star star star_border star_border

Genevieve moreno San Antonio, TX

This was ok , very easy info to fill out and takes little time. I haven't heard back from them yet but I recommend this to any teen or adult in need of a job

3 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Willi Irving, TX

I love the ease of use however job search results should pertain to my search criteria, not sales, nursing, janitorial, or marketing. I want mfg results only.

3 years ago

ZipRecruiter Logo

Reply from ZipRecruiter

Hi Willi! Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback! We at ZipRecruiter take so much pride in hearing from our users, and how we can improve. We do aim to provide the most relevant job suggestions possible! These are based on your profile activity as well as your keyword preferences. Our dedicated customer care team would be more than happy to walk you through how to modify these within your account, at any time! Please feel welcome to email us directly at . We look forward to assisting you! We wish you the best of luck on your job search! Kind Regards, Tier III Support ZipRecruiter

Jul. 30th, 2019

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

xabriah glenn-young Tallahassee, FL

Zip recruiter could be so much better if they didn’t spam you emails that don’t even apply to you. Even as you opt out you’ll receive them but never an email about an updated application

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

J. Garrett Lansing, MI

I don't particularly car for ZipRecruiter for the simple fact that they send me job leads for positions that I don't even qualify for or that I'm not interested in. I'm glad I don't have to pay for this service!

1 year ago

ZipRecruiter Logo

Reply from ZipRecruiter

Please reach out to us at [email protected] if you'd like assistance with this. Our 24/7 Customer Care Team can show you how to filter & search for jobs, view your application status, upload your resume, add skills, a cover letter & references, customize your job alerts, and answer any other questions you may have. We're happy to help! ~Dee

Aug. 27th, 2021

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Noah Provo, UT

It was moderately effective, but it seems to have a very limited selection of jobs. It's tricky because they're at the mercy of which companies use them, but it was hard to find jobs with specific criteria.

1 year ago

ZipRecruiter Logo

Reply from ZipRecruiter

Thank you for your valuable feedback. If you’d like to share any ideas or have any questions, please reach out to us at [email protected] We are always looking for ways to improve our app. ~Dee

Jun. 23rd, 2021

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Ben and Cin Kenilworth, NJ

Although I utilize ZipRecruiter, I find that they send me a lot of jobs that do not always fit my job description to my email. Otherwise when I am searching for work, I find ample opportunities.

2 years ago

ZipRecruiter Logo

Reply from ZipRecruiter

Thank you for your review! We'd like to help. Our 24/7 Customer Care Team can show you how to filter & search for jobs, view your application status, upload your resume, add skills, a cover letter & references, customize your job alerts, and answer any other questions you may have. We look forward to hearing from you. ~DW

Aug. 3rd, 2020

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Ponch Thompson South Jordan, UT

When using ZipRecruiter, it drove me a bit crazy. It wants to charge me to post to 80+ concurrent services. If I want/need that, that is great. If I don't, stop bugging me.

3 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Takara Fayetteville, NC

I have been a member for many years and my experience with ZIP RECRUITER has always been Pleasant,!Reliable and easy to use.

3 years ago

ZipRecruiter Logo

Reply from ZipRecruiter

Thank you Takara for the feedback! I'm glad the service is working for you! If you need additional assistance, please contact us at . Kind Regards, Miranda Tier II Support

Nov. 6th, 2019

star star star star_border star_border

Angenette Simpson Palm Beach Gardens, FL

I've been on a few interviews with the help of zip recruiters...they are persistent in selecting good matches for my profile

3 years ago

ZipRecruiter Logo

Reply from ZipRecruiter

Hello Angenette, Thank you for your review! We are happy the service is working for you! If there is anything else we can assist with, please reach out to us at . Happy Job Hunting! Kind Regards, Miranda Tier II Support

Nov. 7th, 2019

star star star star_border star_border

OSCAR-GODFRIED ABEL JACOBSON

It's credible, helpful, maintains your privacy n notifies you as soon as possible about any opportunities that match your resume

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

kimberli eicher Bend, OR

The main issue is being bombarded with daily emails for jobs I am not looking for. On the other hand, they are diligent in providing current opportunities.

1 year ago

ZipRecruiter Logo

Reply from ZipRecruiter

We can certainly assist you with your job alert emails, Kimberli! Please feel welcome to contact us at [email protected] -TC

Jun. 4th, 2021

star star star star_border star_border

G Burt ,

ZipRecruiter seems like a service that focuses more on the experience of job providers but not that of candidates. Didn't like looking for jobs on ZipRecruiter.

1 year ago

ZipRecruiter Logo

Reply from ZipRecruiter

We're so sorry to hear this! We are certainly here to help our users find their next great opportunity. Should we ever have the chance to help you again, please contact us at [email protected] We would be more than happy to assist you! -TC

Feb. 3rd, 2021

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Asher Pappas Sandy, UT

its great if you're only looking for jobs in one specific field, like customer service for example. There's not many filter or search options like you get on indeed.com

2 years ago

ZipRecruiter Logo

Reply from ZipRecruiter

Thank you for your feedback, Asher! Please reach out to us at [email protected], if you'd like assistance with this. Our 24/7 Customer Care Team can show you how to filter & search for jobs, view your application status, upload your resume, add skills, a cover letter & references, customize your job alerts, and answer any other questions you may have. We're happy to help! ~DW

Aug. 31st, 2020

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Tanya A Long Beach, CA

I like the jobs listed, but there are too many adds and to have sign up for things just to look at a job is awful!!! Too many adds and too many hoops for this website.

2 years ago

ZipRecruiter Logo

Reply from ZipRecruiter

Hi Tanya, please reach out to us at [email protected], if you'd like assistance with this. Our 24/7 Customer Care Team can show you how to filter & search for jobs, view your application status, upload your resume, add skills, a cover letter & references, customize your job alerts, and answer any other questions you may have. We're happy to help! ~DW

Aug. 3rd, 2020

star star star star_border star_border

Beth Lavey Siloam Springs, AR

In general, I like ZipRecruiter. I personally have had issues in that the setup options do not seem to work well.

4 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Keiana Knowles Tallahassee, FL

This website is okay, they didn’t have a lot of the kind of jobs I was looking for, salary based jobs and not part time

1 year ago

star star star star_border star_border

Kyle Provo, UT

I've heard a lot about this website from podcasts, but it was a little underwhelming with the options I saw available...

1 year ago

ZipRecruiter Logo

Reply from ZipRecruiter

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, Kyle! -TC

Feb. 3rd, 2021

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

M L ,

amazing diversity for job search. like some of the suggestions that come to my inbox however sometimes you are way off. enjoy the one tap apply

1 year ago

ZipRecruiter Logo

Reply from ZipRecruiter

Thanks for your download and feedback! Please reach out to us at [email protected] if you have any questions. Our agents are available 24/7 and can show you how to view your application status, customize your job alerts, add references & a cover letter, and answer any other questions you may have. We are always happy to help! ~DW

Jan. 6th, 2021

star star star star_border star_border

bobby deter Cumberland, MD

too many job applications that are not in my field. But overall very useful.

10 months ago

star star star star_border star_border

LeAnn Baytown, TX

I used ZipRecruiter in my past job. It was okay. I liked other websites better.

1 year ago

star star star star_border star_border

Osajiele Oboite Houston, TX

It’s being good with zip recruiter, I have being getting great job offers through them.

3 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Ansari

I am searching for management level jobs but i am getting entry level jobs. Thanks

3 years ago

ZipRecruiter Logo

Reply from ZipRecruiter

Hi Ansari, Thank you for your review. We appreciate it! When sending alerts, we construct a profile of each job seeker based on their searches, clicks, resumes, and applications to more accurately determine your interests and preferred locations. If you would like to improve the matches in your job alert, I would suggest clicking on jobs that you find relevant to your interests. Once we've got a few more signals from you, we can improve the results of your alerts, and help you find a management level job! Should you need any further assistance, our Customer Care Team can be reached via email at Thanks again for contacting ZipRecruiter and best of luck with your search! Miranda Tier II Support

Nov. 7th, 2019

star star star star_border star_border

Patcharanee Utamawoottikumjorn Antioch, IL

You wanted me click to apply for jobs but what for? I did but never got any responses.

3 years ago

ZipRecruiter Logo

Reply from ZipRecruiter

Hello Patcharanee Thank you very much for taking the time to review ZipRecruiter, your feedback is very important to us! I'm sorry to hear you never received any responses from our click to apply feature. We would love for you to reach out to us and go over your profile to see if there is anything we can do to improve your job search. Please call at 877-252-1062. We are available 24/7 but email, phone or chat. Kind Regards, Tier II Support

Jul. 24th, 2019

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Jordan Bell Orem, UT

ZipRecruiter has a wide variety of job opportunities where you can find a place to work.

9 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Andriana Cesaire Tallahassee, FL

I thank zip recruiter for always sending me emails and alerts about jobs. A pretty good job finder in my opinion.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

LaShawn Cullins Long Beach, CA

It was easy to apply for jobs with minimal effort. It was not successful in obtaining call backs or job interviews.

1 year ago

ZipRecruiter Logo

Reply from ZipRecruiter

Thank you for your download and feedback! When you apply, we send the employer your profile information and resume (if you have one on file). So we always recommend keeping your contact information current and check your messages regularly. If you ever need assistance, we are available 24/7 at [email protected] We're happy to help! ~Dee

Aug. 19th, 2021

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Diante Jordan Milwaukee, WI

I like how personable the company is, but all the jobs they sent me were very much of not what I was looking for.

1 year ago

ZipRecruiter Logo

Reply from ZipRecruiter

Hi, Diante! We can certainly help you in adjusting your job alerts and suggestions. Please feel welcome to email us at [email protected] for further assistance. -TC

Jul. 27th, 2021

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Noah Talbot Provo, UT

It's difficult to unsubscribe. I found a job outside the site and had a tough time stopping the emails.

1 year ago

ZipRecruiter Logo

Reply from ZipRecruiter

Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear you had such a frustrating experience. If you need assistance, please send an email to our 24/7 Customer Care Team at [email protected] We are always happy to assist. ~Dee

Jun. 29th, 2021

star star star star_border star_border

Alvin Hawkins Longview, TX

Overall satisfactory well done but improvements in job categories a must.

3 years ago

ZipRecruiter Logo

Reply from ZipRecruiter

Hi Alvin, We value your opinion and feedback about the platform and we are glad you would like to share that with us. Its so great to get your review and that overall you are satisfied with the account. I would like to hear more about your feedback on making improvements in the job categories. please send an email to and we will be happy to listen. It’s such a pleasure to assist you and for any questions or concerns and we will gladly help. Leticia Customer Success Team

Jul. 28th, 2019

star star star star_border star_border

Ulises Torres McFarland, CA

I find good possible positions but not one has contact me to set an interview

3 years ago

ZipRecruiter Logo

Reply from ZipRecruiter

Hi Ulises, Thank you for submitting your review and your feedback is important to us. I understand how frustrating finding a job can be and we are here to assist you in ensuring that you are utilizing the features in the account which will get you the jobs you are most qualified for and we will be glad to answer any questions or concerns you may have. Please email our dedicated customer success team at and we can go take a look at your account. I wish you the best! Leticia. Tier II Customer Success Team

Aug. 3rd, 2019

star star star star_border star_border

Jennifer J Smith Fayetteville, NC

Most of the job sent to me are out.of my area or already closed

3 years ago

ZipRecruiter Logo

Reply from ZipRecruiter

Hi Jennifer! Thank you for providing us with your valuable feedback. We're sorry to hear of any less than exceptional experience while utilizing ZipRecruiter for your job search. We do aim to provide the most relevant job suggestions possible, based on your profile activity and keyword preferences. Our dedicated customer care team would be more than happy to walk you through how to modify these at any time! We can be reached via email at . We wish you the best of luck on your job search! Kind Regards, Tier III Support ZipRecruiter

Jul. 26th, 2019

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

sharon denise lowe ,

i never got a job i got people reach out but never recurted me for a job i was disappointed

1 year ago

ZipRecruiter Logo

Reply from ZipRecruiter

Thank you for your feedback, Sharon. Please reach out to us at [email protected] if you have any questions. Our agents are available 24/7 and can show you how to view your application status, customize your job alerts, add references & a cover letter, and answer any other questions you may have. We are always happy to help! ~DW

Feb. 17th, 2021

star star star star_border star_border

Dwayne James Pickens Madison, WI

They constantly send jobs to your phone or email.

3 years ago

ZipRecruiter Logo

Reply from ZipRecruiter

Hello James, Thank you for your feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve our service for Job Seekers. If you would like to change your notification settings, please click the "Me" icon in the top right hand corner of your dashboard and select "Notifications" from the drop-down menu. From there, you have the option to enable or disable each individual category of notification by toggling the check boxes. If you choose to have job alert emails enabled, you may control the details and settings of those emails on the Alerts tab of your account. If you have additional assistance, please contact us at . Kind Regards, Miranda Tier II Support

Nov. 6th, 2019

star star star star_border star_border

Teya Kimberly, ID

Was fast and helpful hoping to find a second job

3 years ago

ZipRecruiter Logo

Reply from ZipRecruiter

Hello Teya, Thank you for your feedback. We are hopeful you will find a 2nd job soon with our service. If you need any additional assistance, please contact us at . Best of luck on your job search, Miranda Tier II Support

Nov. 7th, 2019

star star star star_border star_border

Professor yonce Mounds, OK

Just list the job. Quit saying I have a job for you.

3 years ago