ZipRecruiter Logo

ZipRecruiter

star star star star star_half

6.3

Overall Score

LAST UPDATED: November 8th, 2022

ZipRecruiter was founded in 2010 in Santa Monica, CA and has grown to provide its services to over 7,000,000 job seekers each month. The company's mission is to help people find meaningful employment and has done incredibly well in completing that mission. ZipRecruiter makes it easy for employers to find talent by connecting job seekers to relevant companies. ZipRecruiter has over 10,000 new companies subscribe each month, has 100+ job distribution partners, and has provided its services to over 1,000,000 employers. 

Top Ranked Companies

Indeed Logo
#1 Indeed chevron_right
7.9 Overall Score
4.4
star star star star star_half
(721)
LinkedIn Logo
#3 LinkedIn chevron_right
5.8 Overall Score
4.4
star star star star star_half
(493)
Glassdoor Logo
#4 Glassdoor chevron_right
5.3 Overall Score
4.2
star star star star star_border
(221)
thumb_up

The Good

  • Price range
  • Reach
  • Resources and learning materials
  • Special features
  • Customer support

Price Range

Employers may test out ZipRecruiter's services with a 4-day free trial. After that, they must choose the package that best suits their needs:

  • Starter (3 active jobs slots): $249month
  • Team (10 active job slots): $375/month
  • Company (20 active job slots): $576/month
  • Big Hiring (50 active jobs slots): $752/month

For an additional fee, jobs can get a "traffic boost" (guaranteed 100 more hits) or be listed on paid job boards like Monster.com and LinkedIn. All of ZipRecruiter's services, including resume distribution, is completely free for job seekers, and that is expected always to be the case: "ZipRecruiter will never charge job seekers for anything."

Reach

ZipRecruiter's resume current database includes over 13 million job seekers. Over 640,000 new jobs are posted daily within ZipRecruiter's job board network (over 100 other sources) and social network.

Resources and Learning Materials

This site does a good job explaining how to "search smart" using various titles, quotes, and terms. It provides more guidance in this area than most other employment sites. Additionally, their blog contains employment education within four categories:

  • Job search tips
  • Interview tips
  • Career advice
  • Insights

One excellent article to search in the archives is titled "Your Most Productive Job Search Schedule," an extremely practical yet novel approach to finding a job.

Special Features

Job seekers will find ZipRecruiter to be easy to use, as it has several features that simplify the job search process. First, those with a LinkedIn profile can import their LinkedIn profile to ZipRecruiter.com as they build their presence on ZipRecruiter. They can sign up for listing notifications, track the status of their applications, and apply with a 1-tap system, linking their profile information with potential jobs.

The job search bar works great, but the job browsing page is a great alternative as well. All jobs in the system that can be categorized are very simply and clearly laid out by state, category, and job type so browsers can narrow their search using the keywords most commonly used in each industry.

Employers can include pre-interview surveys or quizzes (free-form, multiple choice, or yes/no) in job postings so they can view individual responses alongside a resume. Another perk is the option of collaborating with team members to rate, organize, filter, share notes, and add labels to potential candidates-all online through ZipRecruiter. Candidates can also be exported to Excel. Both job seekers and employers benefit from the resume database.

While employers pay for this service, job seekers don't have to pay anything to opt in. Only paid employer and recruiter-identifying account holders can access this information. Resumes are well-formatted for easy downloading, printing, and sharing with colleagues during the hiring process. On the job seeker side, applicants don't have to spend time worrying if their documents have been seen, as resume views are updated under their application status.

Customer Support

ZipRecruiter makes it easy to get in touch with them for assistance. They offer live help through chat or phone from 6am-6pm Pacific Time daily. Questions can also be answered on the Twitter account @ZipRecruiter.

thumb_down

The Bad

  • Experience

Experience

ZipRecruiter was founded in 2010, so it is one of the newer companies in the job search industry.

gavel

The Bottom Line

ZipRecruiter was definitely created with the job seeker in mind, just as much as the recruiter. The website layout is user-friendly, live help is available, both searching and browsing options are intuitive and clear, and the resume distribution system is mutually beneficial. There is a lot to like about this company, clients to at least test the 4-day trial before committing to pay for ZipRecruiter's services.

Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

Star Rating

4.6

star star star star star_half

1,185 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

77%

4 grade

13%

3 grade

4%

2 grade

2%

1 grade

4%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star star star_border

Quality

star star star star star_half

Service

star star star star star_half

Trustworthiness

star star star star star_border
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
star star star_border star_border star_border

Jason Ballwin, MO

We used Zip Recruiter for several months. We got some applications, but really only 1 of them was a person actually qualified for the position, and he wound up accepting a job elsewhere. We've had much more luck finding good people through sites like Indeed, Craigslist, and our own website. When I went to cancel my auto-renew, at first was told via a pop-up that I would have to call. I called and was going to be on hold forever, so I used Live Chat. The chat operator asked me why I was cancelling, then basically told me they'd have to have someone call me because they can't cancel over chat. Then why offer it as on option in the chat drop down? Person did call, but then she had to transfer me to ANOTHER person. That person did turn off my auto-renew, but the whole process did seem way more tedious than it actually needed to be. It was, frankly, annoying that I felt like I had to call to cancel so they'd have the chance to give me a sales pitch about why I should stay. I suppose this set-up of having to pay for a monthly subscription including a certain number of "slots" would be a good set-up for some companies, but we are a small business, and honestly, it didn't really work for our needs.

5 years ago

star star star_border star_border star_border

BillM Costa Mesa, CA

Already provided a lot of suggestions, ziprecruiter is becoming a joke among applicants!!! Listings become stale and are not updated, no actual feedback is ever provided from the employer/hiring manager viewing your resume/ application!!!! At least real meaningful feedback/response!!

3 years ago

ZipRecruiter Logo

Reply from ZipRecruiter

Hi Bill, Thank you very much for providing your experience with us. We at ZipRecruiter take pride in the feedback from our users, and we're very sorry to hear of any less than exceptional experience while job searching with us. Our dedicated customer care team would like to assist you with your profile and provide some tips at any time. While we would like to assist as much as possible, we unfortunately cannot guarantee that an employer will reach out to all candidates to provide feedback. Please feel welcome to email us directly at . We look forward to assisting you further! Best of luck! Kind Regards, Tier III Support ZipRecruiter

Jul. 30th, 2019

star star star_border star_border star_border

Breanna Jones Salt Lake City, UT

I felt way too bombarded with daily emails from them. I unsubscribed quickly after signing up because I did not like all the jobs they sent me. Way too much. It is a good place to search for jobs but don't give them your email.

5 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Brooklyn Jensen Provo, UT

I signed up for ZipRecruiter and they ended up selling (or something) my name and email to several other job sites. ZipRecruiter and those other websites then sent me countless email for irrelevant jobs. There were so many emails that I ended up needed a new email since that one officially turned into a junk email where I wouldn't have been able to find anything important.

1 year ago

ZipRecruiter Logo

Reply from ZipRecruiter

We appreciate your feedback, Brooklyn. If you need assistance with customizing your notifications & email preferences, please reach out to us at [email protected] Our agents are available 24/7, and we are always happy to help. ~Dee

Sep. 1st, 2021

star star star_border star_border star_border

Kat New Brunswick, NJ

They send you any an all jobs that there are. They don't take into consideration things at your qualified for nor do they send you things that are in the salary range that you are looking for.

3 years ago

ZipRecruiter Logo

Reply from ZipRecruiter

Hi Kat, Thank you for your review and we value your feedback. I can understand your concern about receiving alerts that are not in line with your experience and I am happy to provide some information. The alerts are generated by how you search for jobs on the job boards and there are options for you to set up alerts with skill and keywords on your account to be specific to your qualifications. We can assist you with more information, please send us an email at and give us the opportunity to help you get more specific job ads related to your preferences. Thank you for your review and we look forward to assisting you further. Leticia Customer Success Team

Jul. 25th, 2019

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Miller Clarksburg, MD

I recently used ZipRecruiter for my job search after being laid off from the impacts of the pandemic. I was disappointed in the amount of false results I was getting. Some email notifications that took me to totally different companies and website.

1 year ago

ZipRecruiter Logo

Reply from ZipRecruiter

Thank you for your feedback, Miller. Please reach out to us at [email protected], if you'd like assistance with this. Our 24/7 Customer Care Team can show you how to filter & search for jobs, view your application status, upload your resume, add skills, a cover letter & references, customize your job alerts, and answer any other questions you may have. We're happy to help! ~DW

Mar. 12th, 2021

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Diana Miami, FL

I liked the layout and it’s very user friendly but they do not verify who posts their jobs and if they are credible. I’ve applied to several jobs through their site just to find that so many of them were fraudulent and trying to get you to work without pay.

2 years ago

ZipRecruiter Logo

Reply from ZipRecruiter

We have a dedicated Trust and Safety team to handle all suspicious activity on our website. Please feel free to reach out to them directly at [email protected] should you ever run into this again, Diana. Best of luck with your search! -TC

Dec. 23rd, 2020

star star star_border star_border star_border

Katie Kearney Vienna, VA

The second you put any information in, be prepared to be spammed with a ton of emails. The platform is hard to navigate around through and I feel like they list very irrelevant jobs as matches for you. Was not a big fan of them.

4 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Joshlyn Francis-wright Powder Springs, GA

I couldn't get through the interview on the app. It would not submit the information. Some of the listing weren't accurate. And the responce rate was poor. I ended up just using indeed.

2 years ago

ZipRecruiter Logo

Reply from ZipRecruiter

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We want to ensure your app is working correctly moving forward! Should you ever wish to use us again, please email our team at [email protected] for assistance. -TC

Dec. 23rd, 2020

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Michelle SM. Cedartown, GA

This site offers a lot of jobs to apply for. However, sometimes when you go for an interview, the job descriptions on the website does not match what the interviewer job descriptions.

2 years ago

ZipRecruiter Logo

Reply from ZipRecruiter

Hi, Michelle! We're very sorry to hear about this. Unfortunately, the ZipRecruiter team members don't partake in the formulation of the job descriptions or what occurs during interviews. If you ever come across any suspicious activity or illegitimate information, please feel free to contact us directly so our team may look into these matters further. We wish you the best of luck with your job search! 😃 -TC

Sep. 29th, 2020

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

John Cayton Nolensville, TN

I felt that the jobs listed were largely irrelevant to what I would search. So either the search results are off or they don’t web scrape enough jobs.

1 year ago

ZipRecruiter Logo

Reply from ZipRecruiter

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your feedback. Please reach out to us at [email protected] if you'd like assistance with this. Our 24/7 Customer Care Team can show you how to filter & search for jobs, view your application status, upload your resume, add skills, a cover letter & references, customize your job alerts, and answer any other questions you may have. We're happy to help! ~Dee

Jun. 28th, 2021

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Mark McKeown Raleigh, NC

Do not seem to do any matching of your capabilities to applications and continue to get many multiple emails for the same opening.

2 years ago

ZipRecruiter Logo

Reply from ZipRecruiter

We can always help you improve your job alerts and suggestions! Please feel free to email our customer care team at [email protected] 😃 -TC

Oct. 30th, 2020

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Nancy Paugh Long Beach, MS

Most jobs listed are repeat listings. Company's list jobs that don't exist to have a list of potential candidates on hand.

2 years ago

ZipRecruiter Logo

Reply from ZipRecruiter

Hi Nancy! Please email us directly at , so our team can assist you with your search. We are available 24/7 and happy to explain the way our platform works!

Feb. 9th, 2020

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

topaztije ,

I don't find that the alerts are relevant to my search criteria. I have applied for a few jobs via ziprecruiter.

2 years ago

ZipRecruiter Logo

Reply from ZipRecruiter

We can certainly assist you with customizing your job alerts and suggestions! Please feel free to email our team directly at [email protected] 😃 -TC

Dec. 23rd, 2020

star star star_border star_border star_border

Dee Farquharson Washington, DC

Used this site for only a couple weeks. We riddled with scammers trying to get personal information.

3 years ago

star star star_border star_border star_border

Leland Bostick Coram, NY

They keep giving me jobs that no employer would hire me for.

3 years ago

ZipRecruiter Logo

Reply from ZipRecruiter

Hi Leland, Thank you for your review and your feedback is valuable to us. I can understand your concern in receiving jobs that are not relevant to your qualifications. We do have different options available to target the field you are in and we would be happy to go over these with you. Please send our dedicated customer care team at with your concerns and we are here to assist you. Have a good day! Leticia Tier II, Customer Care Advocate

Aug. 2nd, 2019

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

LBurr96 Salt Lake City, UT

I have tried to search for jobs here, but it was more frustrating than helpful.

10 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Jonathan Isaac Rodriguez Los Angeles, CA

i dont like zip recruiter ecause im not sure what they want me to pay to see my jobs.

1 year ago

ZipRecruiter Logo

Reply from ZipRecruiter

Please contact us at 877-252-1062. Our agents are available 24/7 to fully assist you with your account and answer any questions you may have. Thank you, and we look forward to hearing from you. ~Dee

Sep. 13th, 2021

star star star_border star_border star_border

Ivy King Norcross, GA

ZipRecruiter sell your information without your knowledge. You get tons of unsolicited calls!!!

1 year ago

ZipRecruiter Logo

Reply from ZipRecruiter

Hi, Ivy. Please contact our data team directly via email at [email protected] Our team would be more than happy to explain how your data is stored as well as how your information remains secure. We wish you the best of luck with your job search! -TC

Feb. 3rd, 2021

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Emily Grossman Houston, TX

ZipRecruiter will fill your junk mail to the brim with jobs you were not looking for !

2 years ago

ZipRecruiter Logo

Reply from ZipRecruiter

For assistance with improving your job alerts and editing your job alerts frequency, please email our 24/7 Customer Care Team at [email protected] We are always happy to help! ~DW

Feb. 3rd, 2021

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Binky Little Rock, AR

It would be really great if you did not send me so many flyers in the mail. That is ridiculous.

2 years ago

ZipRecruiter Logo

Reply from ZipRecruiter

Thank you for your feedback. We understand that it can be frustrating to receive unwanted mail. We sent you a private message with a link you can use to unsubscribe using the offer code on your flyer. We also included our customer support email in case you need additional assistance. Thanks again and have a great day. ~DW

Feb. 26th, 2020

star star star_border star_border star_border

Stacy Kay Salt Lake City, UT

Not super easy to search. I prefer indeed.com because it has a cleaner, easier to read look.

4 years ago

ZipRecruiter Logo

Reply from ZipRecruiter

Hi Stacy, Thank you for your review as we greatly appreciate your feedback! I certainly understand the importance of having an easy to use interface. If you have any specific suggestions regarding site navigation or overall look, please submit them to so we can pass them along to our Product Team. If you have any further questions or concerns please feel free to reach out to us at . You can also reach the rest of our Customer Success Team by calling 1 877-252-1062 24/7. Kind regards, Tier III Support

May. 17th, 2018

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Ernest Wells Newark, DE

I was getting too many job opportunities that were not what I was looking for!

1 year ago

ZipRecruiter Logo

Reply from ZipRecruiter

We're sorry to hear this, Ernest! We can absolutely assist you with adjusting your job alerts. Please feel welcome to email us at [email protected] -TC

Jun. 7th, 2021