Indeed Logo
star star star star star_half

7.8

Overall Score

LAST UPDATED: February 10th, 2024

Indeed.com is known for its simple web interface, expansive job pool, and popular app. The site was launched in 2004 and introduced its pay-per-click advertising model in 2005. It has consistently been a leader in the job search industry with an average of 180 million unique visitors per month. 

Top Ranked Companies

thumb_up

The Good

  • Price range
  • Reach
  • Special features
  • Experience
Price Range
Employers have two standard options to post job listings with Indeed. Post a job for free
  • Listing appears in general search results
  • Can accept mobile applications only
  • Manage candidates directly from Indeed account
Sponsor jobs for $5+/day
  • Listing appears above free listings in sponsored search results (these jobs receive up to five times more clicks than the free listings)
  • Pay only when people click on jobs, up to the amount set in budget
  • Can reach more candidates through desktop, mobile, and job alerts
For businesses with large numbers or especially ambitious hiring goals, Indeed's sales team can help design a custom hiring campaign.
Reach
180 million people visit Indeed.com every month, and the company has a talent database of over 60 million resumes. Indeed's services are available in over 50 countries and in 28 languages.
Special Features
  • Users can operate the salary search bar to find the median salary of all current jobs matching the search query-which could include a mix of skills, keywords, and job titles. This search tool is keyword-based and uses market rates rather than data from previous years.
  • Indeed's extensive resume database has more than 60 million resumes-all of which can be searched and viewed for free on Indeed. Employers can contact their first 100 candidates for free, and then pay $1 per contact after that.
  • Company pages within Indeed allow businesses to build their talent brand for free. Company pages can include photos, stories, reviews, announcements, and other company information that can give job candidates insights about potential employers. Employers can also engage with customers by responding to reviews.
Experience
Indeed was established in 2004 in Austin, TX.
thumb_down

The Bad

  • Resources and learning materials
  • Customer support
Resources and Learning Materials
Indeed's learning materials are scarce. Aside from a few job search tips, there is a press room that covers company media coverage and news, and as well as a blog that is about average compared to other job search blogs. We did find one article particularly amusing though: comparing the home city labor markets of the Cleveland Cavaliers and the Golden State Warriors during the 2016 NBA Finals.
Customer Support
Indeed's help center addresses account issues, job alerts, job search tips, resume file management, and applying for a job. For further concerns, users can submit a request to be contacted via email after declining a few suggested topics. While this is a pretty efficient way of handling queries, Indeed would come across as more customer-friendly if a ticket could be submitted without needing to jump through any hoops.
gavel

The Bottom Line

Indeed is a fantastic search engine for both employers and job seekers. Job seekers have the option of selecting different salary ranges as part of the advanced search-an important option that really should be the norm among job search engines, but is surprisingly not! Employers can pay for services in small increments ($1 for each resume contact after 100 free, $5 for each sponsored job posting per day) rather than committing to a full month of services that may or may not be fully utilized.
Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

Star Rating

info

4.4

star star star star star_half

763 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

61%

4 grade

24%

3 grade

11%

2 grade

3%

1 grade

1%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star star star_half

Quality

star star star star star_half

Service

star star star star star_half

Trustworthiness

star star star star star_half
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
star star star star_border star_border

Christian Nakamura Secaucus, NJ

I've never actually found a job with my account on Indeed. I've heard of people who have, though. It seems for me that I keep getting recommended jobs that don't match my entered preferences at all. I enter "part-time" and it gives me lots of full-time jobs. I tell the site that I have no experience with HVAC, but I keep getting recommended HVAC jobs that require 5 years experience. It doesn't seem to be able to accurately pinpoint jobs for me, despite all the information I've given it. Maybe one day it'll work for me.

6 months ago

star star star star_border star_border

Tammy Dietsch Burlington, IA

I used indeed when I first started looking for a new fob after 30 years working at one place. I found it easy to use all though I did not get a job through it.

3 months ago

star star star star_border star_border

julie roberts

Plain and simple, indeed never landed me a job. Their job boards got overtaken by multiple posts for a single job, scam jobs (MLMs, selling Verizon door to door, etc). I don’t see them as standing out from the pack of other job search sites. One thing I do like is that they will continue to store your profile so if you’re looking for a new job after a being off the market, your resume and profile are waiting for you and you can update it fairly quickly

11 months ago

star star star star_border star_border

Emma Morrill

Indeed has lots of good things going for them. They show a decent amount of information about the jobs and employers. I would prefer if they have an accurate number for salary instead of an estimated value based on local competitors.

9 months ago

star star star star_border star_border

Dana Hatfield Bullhead City, AZ

Yes they come across with multiple listings, but the problem I had was that many of the listings were not for jobs even close to where I lived. Many were out of town and out of state even. If I wanted to look for a job in another state I wouldn't have asked for jobs in my current city. I never got a job through them, and only 3 interviews for positions I was well qualified for. Not a satisfied user.

2 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Mindy Clarke Tacoma, WA

I used Indeed for awhile looking for work. I did not really care for the layout of the site. I also did not get matches as often as I did on other job sites.

8 months ago

star star star star_border star_border

Tiffany Baines Akron, OH

Effective for finding jobs that are hiring. But send you way too many options that aren't even an option for me having filled out info for them to firm some profile or experience in jobs and what I'm looking for. Sick if getting all the e mails about jobs that don't apply to be at all

3 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Sandra Dubas Salt Lake City, UT

Indeed has some good job postings, but I do not like that I have to provide my contact information on their website. I get a lot of spam emails and calls from them. However, I have found some good jobs on their website and its simple to search from jobs with their filters.

6 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Brittney Mac Gregor Louisville, KY

I find that I don't' use Indeed as much as some of the other job boards, mainly because it just lacks in the advanced features of it's competitors. I find that most jobs I can find on indeed I can also find on the other job boards. I haven't had a negative experience with the website, I just prefer to use other sites for my job searches. I'd say it's rated as your average job search site without the extra bells and whistles.

2 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Mason Allen Provo, UT

Indeed for Job Searching is nice if you are trying to explore. There are so many different industries you can scroll through and look at that it helps to just see what is out there. However, whenever I have been looking for a certain job, I find it harder to get those since higher paying jobs don't seem to always be posted on Indeed. There is also a lot of traffic and so I think it is harder to be noticed if I apply off of Indeed.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

jedimvma Tysons Corner, VA

Indeed is usually where i search for jobs, and have found a couple of jobs using it. it doesn't always have accurate information, and the app and website could be more user friendly. using the app seems to be more convenient. i always have trouble accessing my messages on the website which can be frustrating. overall, i'm content with using it, but do hope to see some improvements the next time i'm starting a job search.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

paul gingell Frimley, SRY

This job recruitment platform posts different types of jobs online to view and to forward an application.I have used this platform on quite few occassions and found most job details posted by recruitment agencys are inaccurate and not good enough. Overall i have found when applying for a job here it can be a waste of time due to not enough infomation being given by these agencys.

3 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Matt Hanzel Saratoga Springs, UT

Tried to use the service for my recent extensive job search with very little success. Found the categories and the taxonomy of the site difficult to follow. Wound up using LinkedIn jobs and had much better results

5 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Megan Roper South Jordan, UT

Indeed is hard to completely understand. There is always a new update or change, so I never feel like I understand the program and am needing to reach out to a rep to answer my questions. I am happy about how many candidates Indeed does bring in and have been very impressed by it.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Nelly Nakhon Sawan, 60

I heard about this site from one of my close friends. She found her current job off of the site but I didn’t have her same luck. The information for some jobs was out of date and they were very few companies that got back to me in a timely manner. I didn’t not end up finding a job by using Indeed.

2 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Rachael Berhan Salt Lake City, UT

I feel like indeed can sometimes be helpful for finding jobs in your area but it's not always an accurate representation of which jobs are available. Also I feel like the Indeed search engine can be finicky because sometimes there will be jobs I've never seen before that have been listed for a while.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Nell Damascus, MD

I am a hiring manager of a small group- we get candidates from indeed and I find that many candidates are not sure what they applied for. It feels like a cold call when I follow up on an application. But I’m glad to have candidates

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Abby Bostick Groton, MA

My indeed account did not help me find my current job. All I seemed to get was spam or very unrelated to my field recruiters showing interest in me, but was not useful at all to me. I do like how easy it is to submit a resume.

3 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Corbin Short ,

Indeed has some really nice features that can be embedded on other websites to make it much easier to apply for jobs quickly. Indeed seems to have less data than Glassdoor though. When I want to see more reviews on interview processes, Glassdoor is where I typically find them.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Gilbert M Des Moines, IA

I liked the posts at first. Then I started to get repeated posts that were no longer available. I the process of looking for a job I wish to see apps made a little easier. I resume and submitt. I would like to see some live assistance with building and selling the resume.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Kara Thompson Humble, TX

indeed seems very convent and is daily easy to navigate but iv yet to actually acquire a job from there iv had a couple interviews and they just weren't jobs that they portrayed to be, very easy communication but employees just dont choose to communicate over the messaging feature. i love that it refers jobs to me that fit my search and resume

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Ryan Harpenau Fayetteville, AR

Indeed always has plenty of jobs available to apply to and makes it a quick and easy process. However, I feel like employers see that someone who applies through indeed is applying to many other jobs which they may find unattractive.

3 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Abby Driggs Provo, UT

Website well organized and each job description was pretty concise. But I didn’t feel that the job descriptions were consistent. Some were really long included too much detail. I think for something like this bullet points would be helpful when describing job requirements.

4 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Jeff B Orem, UT

While using Indeed I wasn't very impressed with their service. I felt like they didn't have that one thing to set them apart from other Job Search services. If you are someone that simply wants to look for available jobs and not "dig into" information then it might be a good fit. Otherwise I would start my job search elsewhere.

5 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Aiga Orem, UT

it use to be really good tool for job searching. i have noticed that they have repeated job listings over and over. i do not see any updates or new job postings. i have received a few calls regarding my resume but not as many as i would have liked.

5 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Spencer Millett Lindon, UT

I was recently looking for a job, and used Indeed. I liked the fact that they did provide me with many job openings and it very simple and easy to apply for those jobs. I was not a huge fan of the emails I keep receiving from them even after I found a job. It has been very difficult trying to get them to stop sending me emails.

5 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Tammie Newsome Milledgeville, GA

Indeed is a great site however company leave job listings up when their is no job. I found that disappointing to put in application for a job already filed to be a waste of time.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Crystal F Conneaut, OH

I have used it both to search for jobs and to hire employees. Looking for a job... it’s very helpful. Trying to hire... leads were not the best, very expensive and not a good return on investment.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Kurt Lucas Olney, MD

I wanted to find a job offering great benefits, close to home, and offering a sales territory within 50-70 miles around the office. Indeed was able to help me accomplish that quickly and efficiently.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Sicely Lyn Russell Mesa, AZ

I thought it was super confusing to use. I didn't like it that much. It didn't help me get a job and they sent me way to many emails about jobs that I wouldn't even qualify for.

3 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

G Burt ,

Indeed as a platform seems to be behind it's competitors in terms of features and aesthetics. Didn't really enjoy searching for jobs on their site and didn't find that it was very effective either.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

M L ,

good reviews to go along with job search. like the amount of options to choose from in a given field. however when i put remote some of the jobs that come up turn out not to be which takes up my time.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Christian Parry Logan, UT

It’s easy enough to use, but lacks some things that LinkedIn has that make LinkedIn way better. It’s hard to create specific search criteria, at least it was for me. Overall it isn’t bad, just not as good as LinkedIn.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

CAHomeOwner Clovis, CA

I have submitted applications through this website in the past. Have had a few email requests directing me to apply again to the company hiring. But no real luck with anything anyone was hiring for.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Matters Norfolk, VA

I applied to a bunch of jobs through Indeed and never heard from any of the hiring companies. Maybe my resume was not that good at the time, but it felt like it was not very personable.

3 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

M Zamora Austin, TX

Great resource for open positions, but also a lot of false/scammer type openings.

7 months ago

star star star star_border star_border

scotty Inver Grove Heights, MN

Indeed has a lot companies posting positions but they also have fake email saying their interested in you for a position but they never go anywhere

1 year ago

star star star star_border star_border

Sathvik Aithala Portland, OR

Falls short compared to it's competitors, and lack of salary information makes job hunting an even more painful process than it already is.

1 year ago

star star star star_border star_border

Yolanda Queer Shelley, ID

Indeed is easy to use, however, I started getting emails from spam users after signing up. Not what you want from a job search website.

2 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Phabie Mobile, AL

The layout of the site is great and it is easy to find job openings. Would be better if it gave the status of applications once it is sent.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Jared Robinson Provo, UT

Indeed in and of itself is really easy to use and fairly straightforward, but is not a great platform with which to communicate with possible employers.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Q Kelly Hallandale, FL

I haven’t received a job offer through this group I do however receive a bunch of solicitations through emails from companies offering jobs that I’m not interested in

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

abw fsu Tallahassee, FL

Really easy platform to find a job and get your name out there. Not too difficult to navigate and makes the job application process a little more streamlined

2 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Dave Spokane, WA

I can see how Indeed would be helpful for younger folks, but at my level (20+ years experience), I just didn't see any relevant job listings on Indeed.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Sarah Marfo Tallahassee, FL

This website always has over one hundred jobs available. There are many things to apply for but at time it can get tedious when there aren’t any responses for employers.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Caroline HARARY Citrus Heights, CA

They email you the same jobs over and over again. They also make you submit an assessment test when applying for a job. I consider that a waste of time and very annoying.

3 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Kyle Provo, UT

Compared to other job board sites Indeed seemed a bit sparse. Maybe it's just due to my demographic, but the postings that I could find all seemed a bit spammy.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Erin Glendening Pearl River, LA

Indeed is pretty good from a job seekers perspective. But for the employers standpoint it’s pretty frustrating to use because you have to pay to keep an job ad up.

3 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Juan Beaver, PA

I have found a few jobs on here. There are a lot of postings to choose from, but they don't require employers to post hours or salaries i think they should.

4 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Michelle Chandler, OK

I used Indeed when looking for employment. I never went to an interview. Itseems like all the emails I received from "employers" were mostly spam.

2 years ago