Oral-B Logo
star star star star star_half

6.2

Overall Score

LAST UPDATED: October 6th, 2023

Oral-B has been a leader in dental hygiene and oral care for over 60 years. The company started in the 1950s with its first toothbrushes designed with soft, flat-ended nylon bristles by Dr. Robert W. Hutson. Years, and many impressive innovations, later Oral-B has been a part of the Procter & Gamble company since 2006. 

In general, electric toothbrushes clean better than manual toothbrushes. Studies have found that electric toothbrushes can increase plaque reduction. Electric toothbrushes are also very helpful to people with limited dexterity due to age, disability or people with dental appliances. Oral-B has a large line of electric toothbrush options from affordable models in its Pro Series/Vitality to its high-tech iO series.

However, all models feature the company's unique dentist-inspired round brush head with special CrossAction bristle design and 3D Cleaning Action technology that pulsates to break up plaque, then rotates to sweep it away. Oral-B heads are completely round, unlike any other toothbrush, and they move in a spinning motion. Speed varies from model to model, but Oral-B clocks its top tier brushes at 8,800 oscillations per minute.

Like other large dental hygiene companies, Oral-B has an impressive charity mission. In 2020, Crest and Oral-B donated more than $2.5 million in products and care across the United States.

Top Ranked Companies

thumb_up

The Good

  • ADA Accepted
  • Visible Pressure Sensor
  • Free Shipping and 60-Day Money-Back Guarantee 
  • High Tech Features

ADA Accepted

Oral-B is one of the first electric toothbrush brands to be accepted by the American Dental Association (ADA), demonstrating the highest standards of safety and efficacy.  The ADA’s Seal of Acceptance was created in 1931 to help consumers identify safe and effective oral health care products. Select Oral-B toothbrushes have met the rigorous requirements for ADA-acceptance. This is a great indicator of the effectiveness of the company's toothbrushes for customers. 

To achieve this distinction, Oral-B’s toothbrushes had to pass a series of ADA laboratory tests and meet the dental standards of the ADA and American National Standards Institute. It also had to submit studies proving clinical safety and effectiveness. 

Visible Pressure Sensor

Protecting your gums when brushing is very important. Brushing too hard can damage teeth and gums, leading to problems like gum recession and enamel wear which can lead to tooth sensitivity. Several electric toothbrush companies now offer some sort of pressure sensor and pressure monitoring with their toothbrushes. Oral-B’s electric toothbrushes have various pressure sensors. Its lowest line has built-in pressure sensors that automatically stop the pulsations if you brush too hard. Its top of the line electric toothbrush models have built-in pressure sensors that display a red light on the brush when you brush too hard. 

We like that Oral-B’s pressure sensors either provide visible feedback or turn off oscillations to protect your gums and enamel without needing users to have an app open on their phone simultaneously as with some competitors. Having immediate, visual feedback is very valuable.

Free Shipping and 60-Day Money-Back Guarantee

Like many of its competitors, Oral-B offers its customers free shipping within the contiguous 48 states of the United States of America or the District of Columbia. It also has a generous money-back guarantee. The company's 60-day money back satisfaction guarantee is one of the best in the electric toothbrush industry. Customers that are not satisfied with their Oral-B product can call its customer service phone line and receive a one-time per household refund within 60 days of purchase. 

High-Tech Features

Oral-B has been a leader in oral care and dental hygiene technology for over 60 years. Its electric toothbrushes feature some great dental technology such as smart sensors, interactive color displays, and magnetic quick-charge station.

Its top of the line brushes feature Bluetooth connectivity with its app. The Oral-B app, coupled with its iO and Genius series brushes, uses sophisticated 3D brushing recognition and AI technology to assess brushing behaviors across 16 zones in the mouth. Its brushing recognition technology can monitor brushing across the front, top, and back surfaces of a user's teeth.

We like that even its most affordable toothbrushes include some high-tech features like a pressure sensor. This makes it stand out from its competitors that only include such features on higher-end models.

Oral-B’s technology has been recognized with awards. Its top of the line Oral-B iO brush was a 2020 Red Dot Award winner of its best product design category. This award recognized it for state-of-the-art technology, functionality, and superior performance. It was also a winner in Allure’s prestigious Best of Beauty 2020.

thumb_down

The Bad

  • Potential to Be Loud
  • Expensive

Potential to Be Loud

Reviews of Oral-B’s toothbrushes are overwhelmingly positive; however, some customers complain that its electric toothbrushes can be loud. It is possible that the Oral-B electric toothbrush could be louder than other electric toothbrush designs due to its unique oscillating/pulsating motion rather than sonic vibrations.

Oral-B heads are completely round, which is unique, and they move in a spinning motion. Though the speed varies from model to model, Oral-B says its top tier brush rotates at 8,800 oscillations per minute. 

Expensive

While Oral-B has a full line of toothbrushes with a large price range its top of the line model, the iO, rings in at top dollar. The iO is packed with technology that took years of development and that is highly impressive within the dental hygiene industry.

The cost of the Oral-B iO toothbrush is in line with the cost of the highest-end toothbrush offered by its top competitor. But, yes, the company's most impressive toothbrushes are also very expensive. And some reviewers question whether the features that command this high price are even needed. 

gavel

The Bottom Line

Oral-B has a decades long history of developing electric toothbrushes with the newest technology, often that the company itself launches into the dental hygiene market first. Its oscillating, round toothbrush head is unique in the industry.

We were impressed by the technology that Oral-B has incorporated into its electric toothbrushes, especially the iO toothbrush. It is a company that is clearly dedicated to researching and developing technology to support oral hygiene. 

While its highest end toothbrush model is very expensive, it does have a full range of toothbrushes. It also offers customers free shipping and an excellent money-back guarantee. Overall, we think that any customer will be able to find an Oral-B toothbrush to fit their budget and dental hygiene goals. 

View Best Electric Toothbrushes Companies

Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

Star Rating

info

4.5

star star star star star_half

69 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

65%

4 grade

22%

3 grade

9%

2 grade

1%

1 grade

3%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star star star_half

Quality

star star star star star_half

Service

star star star star star_half

Trustworthiness

star star star star star_half
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
star star star star star

Jaci Rhoades Bryant, AR

I love you using oral B's electric toothbrush for my son. He is 8 years old and it can be difficult to get into some of those areas in the back and between teeth. With Oral B, we can get "there". We just got back from the dentist office and had a wonderful report.

2 years ago

star star star star star

Julia UP Southbury, CT

I like it how well it cleans the teeth as compared to regular toothbrushes. It grips well in the hand and charging works for a full week before you need to charge again. The only con being it doesn't come with an on/off button. Else its a verh good product. Would recommended

2 years ago Edited September 14, 2021

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Erin Williams Midvale, UT

I've used an electric toothbrush from Oral-B for a few years now, it makes brushing my teeth really easy and holds its charge for a pretty good time. The only problem is that sometimes there's some sort of black build-up that collects inside the hollow piece, which can be difficult to clean out, but if I try to keep it semi-dry inside it isn't often an issue.

2 years ago

star star star star star

Marcin Warsaw, 14

Oral b electric toothbrushes are the best. All my family are using them, never going back to manual toothbrushes. After cleaning teeth with oral b they feel much cleaner than after cleaning with regular brush.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Phalda Morris Jacksonville, FL

Oral-B works well and keeps my teeth cleaner than a manual toothbrush. I love that their toothbrushes come with multiple settings depending on what you need. They also have a range of prices and types of toothbrushes so everyone can get something that works for them.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Paige McDanel Lehi, UT

I have purchased multiple electric toothbrushes from Oral-B. They are incredibly durable and have a long battery life. All of my Oral-B electric toothbrushes have been user-friendly and haven't been tough on my gums. Oral-B is my go-to brand for any tooth-brush purchase.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Korinne C Riverton, UT

We have used Oral-B electric toothbrushes for a couple of years and love them. I love the price of them and that they are easy to replace when they get old. There are a bunch of different color options which help keep my kids toothbrushes apart. They are better at brushing their teeth since they've had them.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Carnan Fort Collins, CO

I finally gave in to my dentist and got an Oral-B electronic toothbrush. It has been a game changer. I was so reluctant to try it because I have very sensitive teeth. My dentist told me to give it a good try for 2 weeks. It took less than 2 weeks to get used to it and I can tell a huge difference. We've since gotten all of our children one.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Cole Haight South Jordan, UT

I have had one of their toothbrushes for a very long time and I have really liked it . They clean teeth very well and they whiten teeth good. They last a long time especially since you can replace the heads of the toothbrush which makes it last forever.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Nazjah Yates Tallahassee, FL

My oral-b electronic toothbrush was recommended to me by my dental hygienists and I'll never go back to a regular manual, hand-held toothbrush again. It cleans between your teeth better and just gives your mouth a better overall clean feeling. I would definitely recommend it.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

roberto arcia Columbia, MO

I have owned an Oral-B sonic electric toothbrush for the past two months and I typically do not like electric toothbrushes. When it comes to dental hygiene, Oral-B is by far the best out there. I will continue to buy replacement caps for my toothbrush as it is the best I have ever experienced from an electric toothbrush.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Jade Knowles Tallahassee, FL

I had braces through middle and high school. The dentist recommended this brand for a spin tooth brush and it works wonders! Keeping your teeth clean is extremely difficult with braces, but very important. Oral B has helped me keep my perfect smile and had made my orthodontist visits easier.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Jaelyn Morris Tallahassee, FL

Oral-B makes great electric toothbrushes. They have basic models all the way up to advanced ones that can connect to your phone. Electric toothbrushes are great for your oral health and Oral-B makes great products for that.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Jennifer Orlando, FL

I won’t use anything else! I didn’t take my Oral B on vacation and regretted it. My teeth didn’t feel nearly as clean using a manual toothbrush. I love my Oral B toothbrush!!

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Heather Riverton, UT

I really like oral-b. My husband and I have used the Oral-B tooth brush for a long time. It helps you get a very through mouth cleaning. I feel like it has improved our dental health.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Emily D Herriman, UT

We had our dentist recommend that we get an electric toothbrush recently. I was hesitant because of cost. Oral-b was affordable and we saw great results next time we had our check up.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Brooklyn Jensen Provo, UT

The toothbrush was gentle on my gums while still doing a great job of cleaning my teeth. Something I liked about it was that it would vibrate to get my attention if I was applying too much pressure.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

soporia moment Tallahassee, FL

When I first got my Oral B toothbrush I generally felt the different from a regular toothbrush then a Oral B toothbrush. It literally takes all the left over food you’ve ate earlier from between your teeth.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

KS Orem, UT

My husband and I live our Oral-B toothbrush and the fact that we can share and have separate brush heads. It's so nice to have the travel case to keep everything together and clean

2 years ago

star star star star star

courtney tennant Salem, VA

Oral-B has a variety of toothbrushes and mouth care that leave my teeth feeling nice and fresh. It is my go-to brand I love it

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Sydney Buena Vista, VA

I love my Oral-B Toothbrush, it times you so you know how long you have brushed for and comes with a charger! It even comes with different colored rings to put on

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Lauryn Pelch West Jordan, UT

I love my oral-B toothbrush. I use to use some other brand but I never felt like it was clean. I use it everyday and my mouth feels so much cleaner and I love it so much.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

anna blaser CA

Super easy to use, and super efficient. Using this toothbrush has helped me so much and even my dentist has told me that my teeth have had less plaque.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Brylee Roberts Riverton, UT

I have one of the electric toothbrushes and it is nice because it looks nice and lasts for a long time. It makes your teeth feel nice after you use it

2 years ago Edited January 31, 2022

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Anya Lee Jacksonville, FL

I’ve had my oral-B electronic toothbrush for many years now and I’m glad to say that I won’t be switching anytime soon! Their toothbrush head replacements are great!

2 years ago Edited November 10, 2021

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Rylie Crandall

I love my electric toothbrush from Oral-B. It was recommended by my dentist and I feel like it cleans my teeth better than any toothbrush I’ve ever owned.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Luke M Herriman, UT

This was the best price for an electric toothbrush I could find. I bought one for each family member. They work really well!

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Hannah Barth Tallahassee, FL

I use Oral-B toothpaste and toothbrushes everyday. I feel like my teeth feel cleaner and look whiter. I love using these products.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Ruth Jeanmary Tallahassee, FL

I have an oral b electric toothbrush and I love it. My teeth feel super clean after every use and its super easy to replace every 3 months. love it!

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Omara Obas Tallahassee, FL

I love my toothbrush. I wish the bristles on the brush could spin but it only vibrates. I'm still able to get a good clean out of them.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Heather Milke Olney, MD

My children loved the Oral-B spin brushes. It helped to get them brushing well when they weren't able to do well with manual toothbrushes.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Elizabeth Slocomb, AL

I have bought several electric tooth brushes from Oral-B and all have been reliable and efficient. I would buy again.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Terrah Anderson Herriman, UT

My favorite electric toothbrush! I even take it with me when I travel. My teeth feel so much cleaner when I use it.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Naomi Jacksonville, FL

My mouth with always be fresh when I use oral B. This is the only brand I use when I brush my teeth.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Andriana Cesaire Tallahassee, FL

Great product for an affordable price. I also like the design of the product and how clean my teeth are after I brush.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Elisabeth Kinghorn Bangkok, 10

Oral-B is the only brand I trust with my oral health. I trust their products and love the affordability

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

hminfo Olney, MD

The spinbrush has been a great purchase for my children. It has helped them have better brushing habits.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Lyssa Bonifay, FL

Oral-B is great, the best deep cleaning electric toothbrush brand I have ever used!

1 year ago Edited March 2, 2022

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Savannah Peay Pleasant Grove, UT

It's a great way to clean my teeth. Easy to charge and to pack different places.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

sherry crane Stuttgart, AR

Being someone with gum disease it’s very important to keep your gums healthy and Oral B works

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

J B Sandy, UT

I keep an Oral-B electric in my desk at work. It's my daily tool after lunch. Love it!

2 years ago

star star star star star

Hannah Burke Rexburg, ID

Cleans well and has variety of options to choose from

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Brandon Kimball Thurgood AZ

Haven't had cavities the last 6 dental appointments need I say more!?

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Teneil Alexander, AR

Love my Bluetooth toothbrush, the guiding tool is amazing

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Robyn Haight South Jordan, UT

Love my Oral B electric toothbrush. My teeth feel so clean.

2 years ago