H&R Block Logo
star star star star_half star_border
517 User Reviews

6.9

Overall Score

LAST UPDATED: August 17th, 2022

H&R Block has offered professional tax services since 1955, giving them over 60 years of experience. H&R Block has served over 550 million clients and have offices within five miles of most American households. It offers a wide variety of tax filing options at different prices and resources to clients. H&R Block also helps clients prepare taxes in one of their many offices or online.

With H&R Block, customers can do online tax filing with software on a computer or through a mobile phone (iOS and Android apps). 

H&R Block offers audit support through its Audit Risk Identification feature which boosts the overall value of the software and the Double Check function and ensures total accuracy. 

While filing, there are embedded links directly into forms to provide clients insights to learn more and find answers to questions. 

In addition, there is a "walk through" workflow and bookmark options for users. A big plus is that an Accuracy Guarantee is included with every product.

Top Ranked Companies

TurboTax Logo
#1 TurboTax chevron_right
7.5 Overall Score
4.5
star star star star star_half
(832)
thumb_up

The Good

  • Guarantees
  • Member Resources
  • Suggested Tax Deductions
  • Customer Support

Guarantees

Every tax return comes with the "H&R Block Guarantee," covering any interest or penalty fees from the IRS. The guarantee also encompasses auditing.

Member Resources

H&R Block provides free in-person audit support for clients, and clients receive a 5 percent bonus refund on top of their federal refund to be used at over 15 retailers. Also, live chat is available for clients to help them with any questions or concerns when filing.

Tax filers who use H&R Block can choose to receive their tax return as a direct deposit to their bank account, which makes it especially easy and convenient.

Suggested Tax Deductions

Standard Deductions The standard deduction is a fixed dollar amount that reduces the income you're taxed on. Your standard deduction varies according to your filing status. In 2014, the standard deduction was:

  • For single or married filing separately -- $6,200
  • For married filing jointly or qualifying widow(er) -- $12,400
  • For head of household -- $9,100

Itemized Deductions Itemized deductions also reduce your taxable income. Ex: If you're in the 15% tax bracket, every $1,000 in itemized deductions knocks $150 off of your tax bill. You might benefit from itemizing your deductions on Form 1040, Schedule A if you:

  • Have itemized deductions that total more than the standard deduction you'd receive
  • Had large, uninsured medical and dental expenses
  • Paid mortgage interest and real estate taxes on your home
  • Had large, unreimbursed expenses as an employee
  • Had a large, uninsured casualty (fire, flood, wind) or theft losses
  • Made large contributions to qualified charities
  • Had large, unreimbursed miscellaneous expenses

Customer Support

H&R Block offers a number of ways to get in touch with them:

  • By phone: 1-800-472-5625
  • Twitter: @HRBlockAnswers
  • Live Chat: Live support is offered in programs to paying customers.
thumb_down

The Bad

  • Supported Forms
  • Most Popular Version Prices

Supported Forms

For basic tax preparation, H&R Block offers 1040, 1040a, 1040ez. These tax forms are standard for filing taxes if individuals are employed in full or part-time jobs. 

For those who are self-employed, H&R Block offers a Schedule C. The Schedule C is a form used for people to report how much money they earned or lost from their business during the fiscal year. 

To report on multiple owned properties, H&R Block offers a Schedule E. The Schedule E allows individuals to report how much money they earned or lost from renting their properties during the fiscal year.

Most Popular Version Prices

Federal

  • H&R Block Deluxe - The best way to go for homeowners or investors. This option has a fee of $34.99
  • H&R Block Premium - The best way to go for self-employed or rental property owners. This option's fee is $36.99

State

  • H&R Block Deluxe - The best way to go for homeowners or investors. The fee is $54.99
  • H&R Block Premium - The best way to go for self-employed or rental property owners. This option costs $36.99
gavel

The Bottom Line

Tax season is when taxpayers receive the money they overpaid in taxes as a tax refund. Whether someone is filing a very simple set of tax returns or relatively complicated ones, this software is likely to provide the tools needed. Using an online tax filing software is cheaper than paying a tax preparer to do the work for you.

The filing process can be confusing, and getting it done correctly is important. Online tax filing software is a great resource for filers preparing their own taxes.

H&R Block puts direct links into online forms, giving clients insights into their questions during the application process. In addition, clients are walked through the online tax preparation filing process and are provided with several guarantees to provide peace of mind. 

However, the H&R Block tax prep software doesn't automatically offer suggested deductions, which can make a big difference in what your tax return looks like. 

H&R Block has expanded its free tax software include more complicated forms. If your tax situation isn't too complicated, you may be able to do a free file with H&R Block. Overall, H&R Block has several great features and is a good choice for tax prep.

View Best Tax Prep Companies

Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

Star Rating

3.6

star star star star_half star_border

517 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

44%

4 grade

21%

3 grade

9%

2 grade

4%

1 grade

22%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star star_half star_border

Quality

star star star star_half star_border

Service

star star star star_half star_border

Trustworthiness

star star star star_half star_border
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
star star star star star_border

Doglover San Diego, CA

I have been very happy with my tax lady Silvia. They are fast efficient and helped me get back on track with my taxes. It's a little hard to get an appointment but over all good service and fast response when you do finally connect. They are a well known company so they are creditable. I always seem to come back to them after yay if another tax place. I believe it's because I like that they are knowledgeable and will do what's right. They give you great advice on filing and always return your calls.

2 months ago

star star star star star_border

Trisha Ross DeWitt, MI

I have used H&R Both at a location and online off and on for 10-20 years now and they are very professional. I prefer going to a location, but since the pandemic I've used it online. I don't like that they make you pay for 2 different services online just to finish the federal even though it's "free federal" and to file the state you have to pay again. Otherwise it's a great company.

5 months ago

star star star star star_border

Crystal Connell Denver, CO

The locations on was kinda bad but the staff was kind and helpful, she did a good job at explaining and helping me get everything back on my tax return

2 months ago

star star star star star_border

Rae Martinez Peoria, AZ

I like that they usually run on time. Disappointed that from year to year you may have to use a different preparer. At the location close to us, there was turn-over and seemed we always picked someone that wasn't there the next year. What was done - was done accurately and preparer always knew latest laws, etc. Seemed to be a little expensive since the computer did the real work - especially once we got to the point where we were standard deductions. I just don't feel comfortable doing them myself. The convenience was worth it.

7 months ago

star star star star star_border

Dan Woodland Park, CO

The. Forms were easy to use and instructions easy to follow very thorough, accurate and easy even for my first time. I highly recommend them.

2 months ago

star star star star star_border

Darla McBride Gutshall Lexington, NC

I was a client starting in 2002 when I first moved to N.C. from F.L. & had never had to file a state tax return. I added a spouse in 2003 & a baby in 2004. My tax pro was vert informative & remembered me year after year. In 2008, I started working in a franchise office as a client service rep. Now, I'm still a client service rep but, I'm also tax preparer & an office coordinator. I love interacting w/ my clients & I couldn't ask for a better boss. To me, the value is phenomenal. Year round service, pros who know their tax laws & go above & beyond to make you feel like you're family; not just a number!

8 years ago

star star star star star_border

Dave Fortin Kingston, PA

Professional but expensive! I do feel they are very thorough however. I wouldn't say I'd never use them again but I've learned to process my own taxes now which is much easier and cheaper. H&R is great if you're unsure of what to do and need that extra assistance.

9 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Sirdriz77 Fairfield, CT

I used H&R Block a handful of times when my taxes were simple and I only had one job. I went in person to a local office. The process was very simple and I had no issues with my return, but I didn’t feel like they took much time to educate me or ask me questions specific to my industry that could have potentially found additional deductions.

7 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Krista Griffith Tulsa, OK

I've been using them for years to do my own taxes at home. They walk you through every step, give you many opportunities to make changes or add new info, and make importing last years data simple. Four stars for being a little pricier than others.

7 months ago

star star star star star_border

Tiffany Baines Akron, OH

Great service, but extensive! Went and our appointment took much longer than anticipated, but the computer was running slow due to being the first day the electronically filed taxes went through in the system. They were very apologetic and have us the best possible refund option and was helpful in answering questions we didn't understand, explained a lot and made the process easier and less stressful!

2 years ago

star star star star star_border

Linda New Lexington, OH

I have worked for H&R Block for almost 10 years and, although it's not always perfect, we have the best knowledge, training, software and people! It is a fun place to work and there are lots of opportunities for advancement. Being a seasonal company can cause problems, but at least our doors are open year round to serve our clients. I hope to continue to work for HRB for a very long time!

8 years ago

star star star star star_border

James Richards Las Vegas, NV

I've used h&r block for years. They really do help you to get as much money you can get. Trustworthy, honest.

3 months ago

star star star star star_border

Teresa Taylor FL

I used their online service it was pretty good pretty easy.

1 month ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Gaju Shrestha Provo, UT

I have used H&R Block (online) to file my tax for couple of years. Tge steps were easy to follow and they checked everything and made sure everything covered and maximum refunded.

6 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Ron Thurgood Denver, CO

I have felt the Software was very good for the basic tax filing. As I have had more and more different income streams I was not as comfortable with if it or I was filing things properly. I moved to a tax advisor now.

6 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Noureddine Lalami Brentwood, CA

They have the tax software process down to the science. Helpful customer service. I don't like the fact that you need to pay for higher package to get live help, especially if you are in the middle of doing your taxes.

7 months ago

star star star star star_border

Beverly Schacher Long Beach, MS

We used to use H&R Block when my husband was self employed, recently retired. We actually used the same tax preparer for several years and were very satisfied with his knowledge and experience. It was a little expensive but well worth the peace of mind that we were getting the most deductions allowable while keeping within the laws.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Teri M. Logan, UT

I like that I can easily enter my info and H& R block will alert me with any potential problems. I have set up an account and my previous years are already there so I can compare between years. H& R Block usually sends me a discount each year as well for being a repeat customer. I haven't had to contact them for problems so I can't assess any customer service interaction. I can also easily have them prepare the state forms with just a few more questions. It has been an additional $37, but I like the ease it provides.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Randy Mckirgan Chicago, IL

I've used them almost all my working life all the way up until 2 years ago they missed my taxes up so bad I had to travel from Michigan to Georgia two or three different times all because of an error on their part something that shouldn't have even happened almost cause me to miss the tax deadline along with penalty fees and everything so I decided not to use them anymore

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Lesa Burgess Pleasant Grove, UT

H&R Block is easy to use when to comes to getting your taxes done. The software is easy to install. It was easy to import data from other spread sheets to the software. I had a couple issues that needed to fixed, so I had the customer service. In doing so, it fixed the problem that I had, which was just a minor numbers issue. I'm glad I was able to talk to someone because I felt like they maximized my refund. I recommend this product!

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Kurt Didenhover Salt Lake City, UT

H&R Block online tax software is helpful and easy to use. I have used them for the past few years and they always have the easiest interface to work with.

6 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

anna blaser St Louis, MO

H&R Block is a really good thing to use if you’re just trying to do simple tax returns. If things get too complex, the agents aren’t really sure what to do.

6 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

brandon wilkins West Valley City, UT

I’ve used them for several years. They used to send out a disc through the mail with a discount. They need more options depending on what kind of help you need. Strongly considering other options with how much it cost me to prepare and exile last year.

1 year ago

star star star star star_border

Mike Curtis Guyton, GA

I used TaxAct for six years. It is a good product but priced itself out of my market. I originally used TurboTax but the same thing happened there. Now I’m back to TurboTax because it is now less expensive! I’ve used TaxAct, TaxCut, and H&R Block software. All have similar features but TurboTax gives me more for my $.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Hannah Denver, CO

I love the ease that this service has provided me when doing my own taxes. As a young adult, I found that this website provided me with much direction to accomplish the goal of what I needed. The only thing I do not like is the frequency of emails that come to me from using this service, It can be very repetitive and overbearing.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Francis Soyer Issaquah, WA

We have been doing business with H & R for the better part of 15 years-8 years in the Bellevue WA location where we reside now. I guess the biggest reason for the 4 star rating instead of 5 is because of inconsistency. Our tax person is super nice and very intelligent but I think that perhaps a bit overwhelmed!? That office stays quite busy!

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Silvia Lobendahn Orem, UT

I have personally used H&R block for over 10 years and I think that it's easy to use. It also you to feel comfortable by having an H&R agent check over your work so you feel 100% sure of your return. I have enjoyed using this product from home to complete my tax returns.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Tom Gourley Pleasant Grove, UT

We used H & R Block services when our filing was fairly simple and straightforward. We found their services very fairly priced and the instructions easy to follow. We didn't need to use their customer service because the on-line instructions were easy to follow.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Brennan Orem, UT

I feel like H&R Block is a good option if you have complicated taxes. The price is well worth it if you are in that situation. I didn't really need the extensive options with them so I slightly overpaid. It is a great company and would recommend if your circumstances fit their mold.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Erika American Fork, UT

Have used H&R before. Once our tax return became more complicated through the years we decided to switch to another service. It was a little more difficult to try and do the complicated taxes through it. But for basic taxes it worked ok. I felt the price was expensive once you were doing anything but basic tax returns.

3 years ago

star star star star star_border

Fernando Delgado Tempe, AZ

We attempted to file our taxes thru H&R block but process was a little confusing compare to other tax preparation services. I would recommend to try to make the process online easier especially for people that don't have much knowledge about taxes.

3 years ago

star star star star star_border

Lindsay Fritts San Diego, CA

Used H&R block last year for my return, they were pretty good! I start using the online filing, but then had questions so made an appointment and went into the office. Super helpful guy who ended up giving me advice to go home and file myself (it would have been really expensive for him to do it). Really liked that he was honest with me!

3 years ago

star star star star star_border

Eric San Diego, CA

While they provide quality service with friendly staff, I would not recommend them if you have a simple tax return to file. Websites that offer tax services will be better for that but if you have a more complex return to file, they are great to work with.

3 years ago

star star star star star_border

shirell West Haven, CT

great place striaght to the point great help with tax breaks n they explain well

5 months ago

star star star star star_border

Steve Pitman Largo, FL

Ive been a tax custome of h r block for over 25 years,ive always had a great experience with h r block,and they have always been honest and accurate.

10 months ago

star star star star star_border

Belle Pierdon Willoughby, OH

When I used H&R Block it was a bit too pricey. They got the job done just fine but I would not be likely to recommend them to others

10 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Amy N Sandy, UT

The H&R Block agent was very thorough and careful with my tax return. They did a good job. I felt they were a bit on the expensive side though.

6 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Jec Canby, OR

Lots of locations / convenient. Smaller offices they are not there year round, only during tax season, which is frustrating when you need to get a hold of someone.

9 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

McKenzie ,

I liked the convenience of H&R Block when I needed help preparing my taxes. I feel that the customer service was good and they helped me in a timely manner. I would recommend them for simple tax solutions.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Sarah Watters Quinlan, TX

I like that they guarantee that they'll get you the maximum refund and that you can go into a local office to see someone in person even if you did your taxes online using their tax software. Always satisfied.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Shannon Lehi, UT

We have used H & R block for years and love the convenience and service. A little pricey when compared to other tax companies/providers but paying for convenience and trust is worth it.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Dylan Findlay South Jordan, UT

The H&R Block tax software is very simple to use and asks all of the pertinent information. The only problem I’ve noticed is that sometimes the fees to file your state taxes seem ridiculous.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

L. T. Sacramento, CA

I've used them for over 5 years. The ease of filing everything online is fantastic. Of course, it helps that they store my past filings and pre-fill things that haven't changed.

4 years ago

star star star star star_border

Cheyenne Stewart Knoxville, TN

Very friendly company. Some of the representatives seemed to need more training. They didn't handle personal paperwork as they should have.

1 year ago

star star star star star_border

Ted Rock Island, IL

The ease of using the product is great. I like that each year I can import the previous years data. What a time saving feature that is.

1 year ago

star star star star star_border

Tom Pleasant Grove, UT

I have used H&R Block in the past and they are a very trustworthy company that has great customer service and knowledge about my taxes.

4 years ago

star star star star star_border

Rick Galliher

Had to pay taxes on taxes already paid - but H&R Block went back for as many tax years as allowed and straightened it out

4 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Rocio Diaz Tallahassee, FL

They are great for tax prep and customer service is superb, however, they are very expensive to use in comparison to other tax prep services.

9 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Suravi Chakraborty Spring Hill, FL

I’ve been going to H&R Block for Long time. I only like service from one particular place. I believe not everyone is Experience as others. Overall I love H&R Block.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Don Boren American Fork, UT

If your taxed aren't very complex, they provide decent service. If your taxes are complex with more deductions, etc...you are probably better off going to a CPA.

2 years ago