H&R Block Logo
star star star star_half star_border
517 User Reviews

6.9

Overall Score

LAST UPDATED: August 17th, 2022

H&R Block has offered professional tax services since 1955, giving them over 60 years of experience. H&R Block has served over 550 million clients and have offices within five miles of most American households. It offers a wide variety of tax filing options at different prices and resources to clients. H&R Block also helps clients prepare taxes in one of their many offices or online.

With H&R Block, customers can do online tax filing with software on a computer or through a mobile phone (iOS and Android apps). 

H&R Block offers audit support through its Audit Risk Identification feature which boosts the overall value of the software and the Double Check function and ensures total accuracy. 

While filing, there are embedded links directly into forms to provide clients insights to learn more and find answers to questions. 

In addition, there is a "walk through" workflow and bookmark options for users. A big plus is that an Accuracy Guarantee is included with every product.

Top Ranked Companies

TurboTax Logo
#1 TurboTax chevron_right
7.5 Overall Score
4.5
star star star star star_half
(832)
thumb_up

The Good

  • Guarantees
  • Member Resources
  • Suggested Tax Deductions
  • Customer Support

Guarantees

Every tax return comes with the "H&R Block Guarantee," covering any interest or penalty fees from the IRS. The guarantee also encompasses auditing.

Member Resources

H&R Block provides free in-person audit support for clients, and clients receive a 5 percent bonus refund on top of their federal refund to be used at over 15 retailers. Also, live chat is available for clients to help them with any questions or concerns when filing.

Tax filers who use H&R Block can choose to receive their tax return as a direct deposit to their bank account, which makes it especially easy and convenient.

Suggested Tax Deductions

Standard Deductions The standard deduction is a fixed dollar amount that reduces the income you're taxed on. Your standard deduction varies according to your filing status. In 2014, the standard deduction was:

  • For single or married filing separately -- $6,200
  • For married filing jointly or qualifying widow(er) -- $12,400
  • For head of household -- $9,100

Itemized Deductions Itemized deductions also reduce your taxable income. Ex: If you're in the 15% tax bracket, every $1,000 in itemized deductions knocks $150 off of your tax bill. You might benefit from itemizing your deductions on Form 1040, Schedule A if you:

  • Have itemized deductions that total more than the standard deduction you'd receive
  • Had large, uninsured medical and dental expenses
  • Paid mortgage interest and real estate taxes on your home
  • Had large, unreimbursed expenses as an employee
  • Had a large, uninsured casualty (fire, flood, wind) or theft losses
  • Made large contributions to qualified charities
  • Had large, unreimbursed miscellaneous expenses

Customer Support

H&R Block offers a number of ways to get in touch with them:

  • By phone: 1-800-472-5625
  • Twitter: @HRBlockAnswers
  • Live Chat: Live support is offered in programs to paying customers.
thumb_down

The Bad

  • Supported Forms
  • Most Popular Version Prices

Supported Forms

For basic tax preparation, H&R Block offers 1040, 1040a, 1040ez. These tax forms are standard for filing taxes if individuals are employed in full or part-time jobs. 

For those who are self-employed, H&R Block offers a Schedule C. The Schedule C is a form used for people to report how much money they earned or lost from their business during the fiscal year. 

To report on multiple owned properties, H&R Block offers a Schedule E. The Schedule E allows individuals to report how much money they earned or lost from renting their properties during the fiscal year.

Most Popular Version Prices

Federal

  • H&R Block Deluxe - The best way to go for homeowners or investors. This option has a fee of $34.99
  • H&R Block Premium - The best way to go for self-employed or rental property owners. This option's fee is $36.99

State

  • H&R Block Deluxe - The best way to go for homeowners or investors. The fee is $54.99
  • H&R Block Premium - The best way to go for self-employed or rental property owners. This option costs $36.99
gavel

The Bottom Line

Tax season is when taxpayers receive the money they overpaid in taxes as a tax refund. Whether someone is filing a very simple set of tax returns or relatively complicated ones, this software is likely to provide the tools needed. Using an online tax filing software is cheaper than paying a tax preparer to do the work for you.

The filing process can be confusing, and getting it done correctly is important. Online tax filing software is a great resource for filers preparing their own taxes.

H&R Block puts direct links into online forms, giving clients insights into their questions during the application process. In addition, clients are walked through the online tax preparation filing process and are provided with several guarantees to provide peace of mind. 

However, the H&R Block tax prep software doesn't automatically offer suggested deductions, which can make a big difference in what your tax return looks like. 

H&R Block has expanded its free tax software include more complicated forms. If your tax situation isn't too complicated, you may be able to do a free file with H&R Block. Overall, H&R Block has several great features and is a good choice for tax prep.

View Best Tax Prep Companies

Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

Star Rating

3.6

star star star star_half star_border

517 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

44%

4 grade

21%

3 grade

9%

2 grade

4%

1 grade

22%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star star_half star_border

Quality

star star star star_half star_border

Service

star star star star_half star_border

Trustworthiness

star star star star_half star_border
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
star star star star_border star_border

Jewelleah Kempers Los Angeles, CA

I have to give H&R Block only 3 stars, even though they did a great job at saving me $22,000 in capital gains taxes one year because they have been recommending to me the wrong tax return forms for several years. According to the Paperwork reduction Act of 1984, I am not supposed to be filing a 1040. They seem to recommend this form to everyone, and that is not the correct form to be utilizing if I am an American National and not a U.S. CITIZEN. There is a significant difference between the two and it is disheartening to know that I could have saved a ton of money in income taxes had I been utilizing the correct IRS Forms. H&R Block did provide great service when they helped me save all that money on capital gains though, which I appreciated at the time very much, and so I give them 3 stars overall. They need to brush up the employees with the details of the paperwork reduction act of 1984 which UNIFIED all forms for an established single use and their agents are unaware of this important money saving detail!

1 day ago

star star star star_border star_border

Kmzokie Tulsa, OK

They are fast and friendly and very organized. I appreciate the work they do.

1 week ago

star star star star_border star_border

Brittney Mac Gregor Louisville, KY

I have only used H&R twice, each year to do my taxes. One out of the two years, I had an itemized list because I was filing as a sole proprietor. H&R screwed that up big time. My taxes ended up being filed late that year because they were "held hostage" in the office for several months. I ended up getting them mailed back to me and filed them myself. I'm giving 3 stars, because after speaking with the company manager, it turns out it was just a rouge employee that had taken my personal taxes to her home to work on them and I'm guessing they got misplaced for some time. No excuses but I was made to believe that the employee was beyond reprimanded and that was not the general practice of the company.

11 months ago

star star star star_border star_border

Kay Conway, SC

The people who work there are very nice. I, like so many here, agree they are way too expensive. I paid $530 this year, the most I have ever paid to do my taxes and she gave me a $40 discount so it would have been $570! I was there an hour so who makes that kind of money for an hours worth of work for you, a doctor, a lawyer for an hours worth of time at a computer?! Go somewhere else if you can. I wish now that I had. They take advantage knowing that you have to do this. Nothing against the person filling out the forms, she is nice. I know that she doesn’t make the prices. I bet the profits for H and R Block are in the billions for their CEO and shareholders.

3 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Gonzalez Carmichael, CA

The office I went to was very helpful. My agent was super nice and helpful. She explain it all with detail, she answered all my questions. Overall service was great but the price for simple form ouch! Its free online? Its good if you're new and have questions or have a large form.

2 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Lindsey Newman American Fork, UT

We have used H&R Block for years to do our taxes and it really is so user friendly. But a couple of years ago after we had gone through and checked everything, it didn't flag that we had used our alotted number of student academic benefit deductions and we were later (years later) taxed heavily for that. Since then we've been far more wary of using the program.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Benjamin Taliulu Salt Lake City, UT

I like their DIY tax filling options they walk you throug it step by step which is the good part but even if you chose the free filing option they charge you at the end to file. I don’t know if I was missing something but I feel like I went through the steps pretty thoroughly and couldn’t find and option to keep it from charging me. Not that it costs much but after taking all that time to fill out the info you I just didn’t want to deal with it anymore so I just paid. Although I am happy with the service I dislike how it gets you at the end. But like I said maybe I missed something.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

NT Pleasant Grove, UT

first experience was not a good one. i called ahead to make appointment to avoid long line. when i arrived i still had to wait 30 mins. i was with a gentleman who was a new employee as he still didn't fully understand the state rules/regulations and had to leave and ask his manager questions. after 45 mins we found out we had to do it again and i had to schedule another appointment. i gave the new employee another chance knowing he is new. at the end of the process H&R block fee was charging me almost $400 to file my taxes. i immediately declined and never went back.

3 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Luke Swierczynski Troy, MI

Had my taxes done by them one time and they missed a ton of savings. I ended up doing my taxes myself and found what they missed. Have never tried them since.

9 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Mike Ika West Valley City, UT

We used H&R Block the first time we itemized our deductions. It was nice letting someone else do our taxes, but it was more expensive than I liked. I did like that there was a guarantee, but ultimately the price is what led me to go with an independent CPA.

2 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Jon Scoresby Saratoga Springs, UT

The services provided are good. I have been able to meet with professionals to get the work done. They seem to know their stuff. The one downside was the cost. It started out reasonable but over the years it has gotten more and more expensive.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Dean Ogden, UT

I used H&R Block before switching over to Turbo Tax. After years of paying what seemed to be a lot more than I should I finally made the decision to switch. H&R Block do a great job with your taxes but they just simply charge to much. I would recommend using a different service if at all possible.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Lindsey A Brown Lehi, UT

I haven't been super impressed with H&R Block over past years. I used them a couple times but with each of my questions I felt like the expert that I was working with should know the answers and they usually didn't. I felt like I was just another number with them and they were not willing to spend an accurate amount of time with me.

3 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Amanda Purpura Gibsonia, PA

My husband and I have been H&R Block customers for years. The service is good but the cost is very high. We did also have a year where our taxes were filed incorrectly and we needed to re-do them and re-submit although that was at no charge since they were at fault. Easy to get an appointment in evening and weekend hours.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Nicholas Nesbit , TX

This company is okay to use if you do not have any specialized needs. I would not recommend this company if you have a business that requires itemized expenses or if you own a business.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Randy Scoville Pleasant Grove, UT

I went to a booth they had at Walmart. I have a business and I wanted to see if they could do both individual and business taxes. The rep was really nice, but it was much cheaper to go to another place for my tax prep.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Jeff B Orem, UT

I feel like they are overpriced for the services they offer. I would recommend using them if you are a novice when it comes to taxes but there are better options if you are comfortable on your own. Very nice staff though.

3 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Lawrence Foster Scottsdale, AZ

We used them one year and they seem to charge more for their service than we got from Turbo Tax. Its good to just give your file to someone who is competent, but a lot of money for services we don't need.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Tony Riverton, UT

Tried this for the first time and it's not as user-friendly as I hoped when it comes to getting started. Once going, things smoothed out and it seemed pretty decent.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Amy Boren American Fork, UT

We did this one year before we had a company tax from to file as well. If your finances are simple they are great. We have an accountant now who prepares our taxes.

2 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Marissa Redwood Falls, MN

H&R block was fine, but they ended up charging me for certain filing services that I can get for free through other Tax services, so I don't use them anymore.

3 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Laura Mccall Yuba City, CA

They are good but they charge way to much for their service.

7 months ago

star star star star_border star_border

Daniel Seattle, WA

Their online system is just OK and is more of a feeder mechanism to more expensive in person offerings.

4 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Lynne M Hodson

Hidden fees. Not easy to use. Confusing and difficult. No way to simplify if you have a simple return

4 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Ivy King Norcross, GA

My experience was a FAILURE! I went to get my taxes done and at the end my price was double of what was quoted in the beginning!!!!

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Krisa Logan, WV

It’s nice not having to complete tax things myself, but I think they are way overpriced. However, I’ve always had good experiences.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

take7 Sandy, UT

Not my favorite and cost me more. They say they're very helpful but it took too long to get the help I needed versus other tax filing resources.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

David T Salt Lake City, UT

I used H&R Block one time, but I found for the price that they weren’t any more creative or helped me save money more than software programs did.

2 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

jessica Mesa, AZ

These places charge way to much money to do your taxes. Overall though there tax prepares are nice and courteous. They just charge way to much.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Leslie West Jordan, UT

H&R Block has some decent tax preparation software. The only thing that irritates me is that they charge so much to file your state taxes.

3 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Phyllis and Michael Dusenbery Kansas City, MO

They are way to expensive for just having to type in a few numbers into the computer,

4 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Kjirstin Peterson West Jordan, UT

Low cost, but not very helpful. You get what you pay for. In order to get help, you have to pay extra.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

noahemm White Plains, NY

A lot of tax advisors are new people or washed up. It seems as theyre not familiar with all tax breaks

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Haley Tallahassee, FL

They’re great and affordable unless you’re impacted by their site wide crash and it removes all of your progress.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Mickey Mangum Long Beach, MS

I once used HR block for tax prep. The preparer was great, professional and my taxes were filed efficiently.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Derek Barlow Oklahoma City, OK

Not very knowledgeable and very expensive

7 months ago

star star star star_border star_border

Greta

Nothing, great company would recommend for tax preparer work.

4 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Ed Mr Locksmith

i dont feel they took care of my issues on a consistant basis

4 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Nell Damascus, MD

It was when I first needed taxes done. Great place to start. Helped me know what to do!

1 year ago

star star star star_border star_border

tasha stewart Athens, AL

I felt like I was overcharged when using their services.

1 year ago

star star star star_border star_border

Leonard Goodboe

service knowledge depends on office you walk into.

4 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Robert Parrillo Farmingville, NY

Never been audited in 20 years using block.

4 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Jim Irwin Canton, MI

Customer service is lacking. No phone number to call.

4 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Uilani Eke Palo Alto, CA

They charge too much but I was happy with their instant refunds.

4 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Lenny Grabert Salt Lake City, UT

They were average. Agent was a nice person

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Meliame Selu Layton, UT

Charges you too much to do taxes. Wish it was cheaper

3 years ago