Best Company Guarantee SunPower Logo

SunPower

check_circleVerified

star star star star star_half
2,192 User Reviews

9.9

Overall Score

error This company may not service all states.
See states serviced
LAST UPDATED: September 24th, 2021

Founded in 1985, SunPower Corporation is a solar company that prides itself on delivering reliable energy and long-term peace of mind for homeowners and businesses. The company is a pioneer in the industry and currently holds more than 500 U.S. patents for solar technology.

SunPower is known for its top-quality and high-efficiency solar panels that generate more power than conventional solar technologies. SunPower Panels have an attractive appearance and come in a few different size and wattage options to help both residential and commercial consumers get started with renewable energy. The majority of SunPower installations are completed by its expansive network of certified dealers.

SunPower offers a number of payment options, the most efficient solar panels in the industry, state-of-the-art monitoring for its customers, and a 25-year workmanship and product warranty.

While the company does not offer PPAs to residential customers, its lease program is a cost-effective alternative to outright purchase. The company leverages its dealer network to perform most of its installations, which in some cases can make it confusing for customers to know who to contact if there is an issue; however, these dealers are SunPower-trained and -certified, so customers should experience consistently high-quality regardless of service area or SunPower dealer.

Awards and Certifications

In 2019, SunPower was awarded the solar industry’s Sustainability Award. It was the first solar panel manufacturer to achieve Cradle to Cradle™ recognition, which recognizes the company’s material health and reutilization, renewable energy use, water stewardship, and social fairness.

The company is also certified with the North American Board of Certified Energy Practitioners (NABCEP); in fact, the SunPower Equinox Best Practices exam is one of the listed certification programs available through the NABCEP, and is requisite for SunPower dealers to pass before they can start installing SunPower’s premium products.

Products

SunPower has been on the cutting edge of solar technology for more than 30 years. Consequently, the company excels when it comes to innovation and design of solar cell equipment, enabling customers to be confident that they will have the highest-quality solar products expertly installed on their homes.

In fact, the solar installer provides the highest-efficiency solar panels you can buy today. The solar panel manufacturer engineers elite solar modules that are up to 22.3 percent in solar panel efficiency, and carry a temperature coefficient of -0.29, meaning output will not be negatively affected because of excessive heat. Each SunPower panel is made of anti-reflective glass and coated with anti-reflective film for optimum durability and to ensure that they capture as much sunlight as possible. In short, SunPower cells provide the best value for your money.

The SunPower X Series solar panels excel in terms of power generation and deliver 44 percent more energy per watt than competitive products. This means that SunPower can provide more clean power for its customers' homes with a smaller solar installation and fewer panels than other companies.

Every SunPower solar panel also boasts 75 percent more energy per watt than conventional solar panels, meaning that an investment in a SunPower solar energy system pays off significantly more in the long run.

In addition, SunPower panels maintain their energy production much better than conventional panels in partially shaded conditions, making them a better rooftop solar option for customers who live in a cloudy region or an often shady area.

In addition to being highly efficient, SunPower panels are uniquely attractive and aesthetically pleasing. While many other companies in the solar industry offer conventional solar panels — traditional blue photovoltaic panels with bright, visible frames and mounting hardware — SunPower's panels are all black, and their mounting system sleek and nearly invisible, allowing the SunPower solar installation to blend in better with the rooftop on most homes.

SunPower recently introduced SunVault™ storage — a powerful and sleek residential storage solution that pairs with SunPower Equinox®, the company’s premier residential solar power system. Once widely available, SunPower panels that are installed with SunVault storage will allow customers to have ready access to electricity even in the event of a power outage.

Monitoring of system status and performance is extremely important for customers who want to see how much energy the panels on their roof are producing — currently, as well as historically — and ensure that everything is operating as it should.

SunPower provides a helpful, convenient app for customers to do just that. The app provides important system information such as power output, estimated savings, energy production over time, and the environmental impact of the energy generated by the system. All of this system information is easily viewed on a smartphone.

SunPower systems also include a consumption monitoring kit, which is installed if the homeowner’s site is compatible. With consumption monitoring, homeowners can view current and historical energy usage, and the SunPower app provides more in-depth information about their energy profile.

Warranties

SunPower offers multiple warranties to protect its customers' solar energy systems, including a 25-year Complete Confidence product warranty, which covers the equipment itself, and a 25-year workmanship warranty, which covers the labor and solar installation. The clean energy company also offers a 25-year performance warranty, which covers the customer in the event that their solar modules underperform in terms of energy production and output.

Financing

SunPower offers three different payment options for customers to choose from that help them save on their electric bill: solar leasing, purchasing with cash, and financing with a loan.

With the lease option, SunPower Capital owns the system and the customer effectively rents the system via monthly payments. The lease comes with a 25-year performance guarantee, as well as easy options in case the customer needs to transfer the lease.

SunPower also offers outright purchase and financing options for customers interested in the tax credits and other incentives that supplement the benefits of solar power ownership. Loan terms for solar systems typically range from 5 to 25 years and do not have any prepayment penalties attached.

Many customers may be interested in obtaining a SunPower module through a Power Purchase Agreement (PPA) because this payment method typically includes some kind of $0 down option, which eliminates a barrier to entry for them to go solar.

Unfortunately, SunPower only offers PPAs to commercial customers; however, the company's solar lease option can provide immediate financial benefits (and at a flat rate) to customers.

The cost of a SunPower solar system ultimately depends on several factors, including current energy usage, available amount of unshaded roof space, the local utility’s net metering policy, and other factors. The easiest way to learn exactly how much solar will cost you is to obtain a free quote from SunPower.

What Customers Are Saying

Of the more than 2,000 verified SunPower reviews listed on Best Company, nearly 75 percent of customers rate the solar provider a perfect five out of five stars. Customers are consistently impressed by the company’s solar panel systems, professional staff, and fast installation.

Some users on our site have provided negative feedback with regard to SunPower's customer service. Common complaints include difficulty to reach a representative, delays in returning phone calls, and inability to resolve issues.

Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

not_listed_location

SunPower Frequently Asked Questions

Is my home a good candidate for SunPower solar power?

Knowing how much you pay for electricity is the first step in evaluating whether your house is a good candidate for solar. The general rule is that solar makes the most financial sense for someone with a monthly electricity bill of at least $75. A utility bill of $75 is the threshold at which residential solar customers will see solar savings.

Another factor is your home’s roof. It’s a good idea to replace a roof that is near the end of its life before installing solar panels. Solar panels should be installed on roofs that are in good condition and will not need to be replaced in a 20 to 30 year span of time. To find out more, homeowners can contact a SunPower representative. 

How are SunPower’s solutions different from traditional solar energy providers?

The SunPower Equinox® system is the only complete home solar system that is designed and warranted by one company. With the highest efficiency panels on the market, SunPower® solar panels provide more energy with less space. And homeowners can have confidence with the unique design of SunPower solar cells. With a solid copper backing, SunPower cells are resistant to corrosion unlike conventional solar cells. This helps the solar panels to perform more efficiently for a longer span of time. It’s one of the reasons that SunPower offers its homeowners a 25-year industry-leading warranty (Monitoring system warranted for 10 years).

Does SunPower provide a solar + storage solution for homeowners?

Yes. SunPower offers the SunVault™ Storage solar battery, which is comprised of two boxes: the energy storage system and Hub+™. Additionally, all customers receive access to SunPower's mobile app to view their performance and manage system settings. SunPower provides a 10-year warranty for SunVault Storage as part of the Complete Confidence Warranty — the same warranty that covers your SunPower Equinox solar system. It is important to note that SunVault Storage is only available in select locations at this time.

What should I expect during a SunPower solar online appointment?

SunPower energy consultants are experts in evaluating, designing, and estimating solar systems. Homeowners can expect an in-depth consultation that lasts approximately 45-60 minutes. During the call, an energy consultant will spend time assessing your current needs as well as how your needs might change in the future. To do this, a series of topics are discussed — from utility bill history to overall energy saving goals.

These important details factor into the design of a customized solar system and include opportunities for you to decide where panels will be placed on your roof. At the end of the consultation, the energy consultant will provide you with a quote based on your energy needs.

Are there federal incentives available when going solar?

The biggest solar tax incentive is a federal tax credit called the Federal Solar Investment Tax Credit  or ITC. It is available to qualified homeowners who purchase solar energy systems for residential properties.* The credit, which is applied to your income tax, is equal to a percentage of the cost of eligible equipment. Many state and local governments also provide incentives for homeowners with solar power. A visit to SunPower's website can identify those offers based on location.

  • Tax credits subject to change. SunPower does not warrant, guarantee or otherwise advise its customers about specific tax outcomes. Consult your tax advisor for advice on how the tax credit may apply to your circumstances.
Message from
SunPower

COVID-19 has changed the world in many ways, but it hasn't stopped the demand for affordable electricity that reduces our carbon footprint. So how can solar power technology be installed in ways that protects family and loved ones? SunPower is here to help. We put safety first – always – and give customers the best options in service and equipment. SunPower makes going solar safe and simple from the comfort of home. Homeowners can set up a free online appointment on the SunPower website with one of our solar pros and get in-depth advice without worry.

keyboard_arrow_up keyboard_arrow_down
bestcompany guarantee

Best Company guarantees your satisfaction if you choose a company that has earned this distinction. If you're not satisfied after 30 days, simply let us know and we'll give you $100. Yes, it’s really that simple.

Learn More

Star Rating

4.4

star star star star star_half

2,192 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

75%

4 grade

11%

3 grade

2%

2 grade

2%

1 grade

9%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star star star_half

Quality

star star star star star_half

Service

star star star star star_border

Trustworthiness

star star star star star_half
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Julie Haddonfield, NJ

I don't like that the billing is usually a surprise. They send a bill every three months and they aren't great at updating the billing website so I can see what I'll be billed. They are very nice to answer questions over the phone. It took a very long time for them to install everything - about 6 months from the day I decided I wanted solar panels installed. I like the way the panels look. They are very clean and great looking on my roof.

3 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Tx Mike Columbus, TX

I have been trying to find a company that will install some solar panels I already own plus some additional ones and the requisite inverters, disconnects etc. for a grid tie system. No one seems to want to do this as they keep pushing this solar lease option. As far as I'm concerned as a homeowner, paying a monthly lease is no better than paying a monthly utility bill. I think that these solar companies should have to state SPECIFICALLY in their advertising that they only offer solar lease packages. It would save a lot of time and trouble!

3 weeks ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Solar Farmers

The SunPower app does not work properly since installation approx 4 months ago. We constantly receive error messages about Wifi connection; slow data transmission; etc. We are unable to see true stats for ourself so every month we have to wait for our electricity bill to confirm the system is truly working. We like to see our own stats in real time, which is what we were told we'd be able to do. When we call the SunPower customer service number we're referred to our installer. The installer has come out to check our unit multiple times, they contacted SunPower about the issue but are uncertain when the app will function properly. This app situation with no solution in sight is not ideal and we feel like we have been taken advantage of. We were told we'd be able to monitor our unit, but we cannot.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Russell Runge Pearl City, IL

They don't fallow up or return emails except the sales and they still haven't fixed monitoring login

2 months ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

sdcyclist Oceanside, CA

Sunpower was in my top 3 to choose. They were not the least expensive, but their total package of product quality, warranty, and service made them my choice. The salesperson was very knowledgeable and made me confident in my choice. The Installation was not very good though. There was a lack of communication and expectation setting. Also little collaboration.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Francesca Pardo

The installation was efficient, but there were a myriad of issues with procedures like: coordinating the inspection, coordinating rebates, and most importantly they affected the monitoring of a previous solar system. They finally heard me and sent a tech out to troubleshoot what happened. They now know how to correct it, but it has yet to be done. This issue is now 4 months old.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

John Goleta, CA

The installation went very well and they did a great job. I just had theSunPower certifier come out. He explained everything to me very well and it looks very sophisticated.

6 months ago

star star star star_border star_border

Bryan Horvat Lakewood, CA

I will recommend SunPower most likely to my friends but I have had a mixed experience on the customer service side. When the solar system was originally sold to us, the sales guy seemed decently knowledgeable. However, I did ask him about "Planet of the Humans" documentary released in 2019. This movie makes a case that renewable energy is not nearly as sustainable as it is portrayed. I asked the sales guy about this and he had not seen the movie. This surprised me a bit. I asked for more information on the sustainability of solar panels in general. He said that “no one has asked this before.” I was very surprised by this. He referred us to the main page on SunPower’s website which shows all the awards that SunPower has received. While this is impressive, I could not find a clear definition of specifically what SunPower does to be more sustainable than other companies. He did promise to provide more information but never got back to us with the information. He did follow up about the sale, however. We decided to go forward with buying the system anyway. By the way, we paid almost twice the average cost of a system sized within California or about 182% of normal. I am OK paying this much because I am happy to support a company that will reinvest the profits into improving their solar technology. I have been looking forward to investing in solar energy for my home for a very long time. Still, it is a little hard to see every estimate for other solar installer coming back far lower than I paid. https://www.energysage.com/local-data/solar-panel-cost/ca/#:~:text=As%20of%20October%202020%2C%20the,California%20coming%20in%20at%20%2414%2C950. The installation process was much longer than the longest estimate they provided. We started talking to the sales guy in May and I finished signing the last of my paperwork on June 1 to kick off the process. I was not able to turn on power until September 23. Throughout the process, I did not receive much transparency as to why things were taking so long until I followed up with the individuals supporting my case. There were various reasons including the city permits getting rejected 3 times and taking time to be resubmitted and reviewed. The utility took a very long time to respond as well. Still, I would have appreciated a lot more transparency on how things were going. Also the crew working on the project management for my installation sounded very burned out and disheartened when I was able to get them on the phone. I am not sure, but it sounds like the company is struggling a bit internally and that is coming through on how the employees sound. For example, the program manager was surprised that I cared about the environment at all when talking about the panels. She did not sound sure that they are better for the environment than just sticking with the utility. Being that she worked for a solar company, I am very sorry that she sounds so down. She should have no doubt that what she is doing is making a difference and very important for this world. If she is not feeling that way, her company is not taking good enough care of here and probably not clearly imparting a company mission statement that she can believe in. My system is now installed and seems to be working. Despite the fact that the power and energy graphs on my app seem to improperly log the data periodically and show 0 production customer service is assuring me that everything is working as expected. I have a lot of hope for the solar industry. I hope that things get better for SunPower and its employees. We need more solar power in this world to bring our global CO2 emissions down. There are few pursuits more important today.

11 months ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Virgil Dahl

Corporate folks don't get back to me in a timely manner. Tech have been to my home twice for a total of 4-6hrs and tell me my system is fine when it isn't.

9 months ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

company. Claustre

The monthy data provide is wrong. For the summer months the report indicated Solar produced more than I used. However. I was charged for 4 months by the power comlany.

10 months ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Cowboy13

There are too many times my app doesn't give me my info because the system is not functioning properly. If I delete the app and start over that usually gives me access again. Very awkward to do all the time.

1 year ago

star star star star_border star_border

Nichole R McDermott Mount Royal, NJ

Everything was good up until installation day. The team that installed my solar panels were unprofessional and messy. They cracked my ceiling, ruined my landscaping and left garbage behind. I was very happy up until this point. They did send someone out to fix the ceiling but communication was very sparse. I constantly had to reach out to people to get answers.

10 months ago

star star star star_border star_border

Don Fresno, CA

We have been promised a status update from you since 8/15/2019. You left me a message on Friday to call you get a status update and to understand my concerns. You ask for a call back time and phone number which I gave you in a returned call. The information I left went to your voice mail because you didn't accept the call. I followed up later in the day and was told you left for the day. I was assured you would call on Monday. It is now 1:30 PM and no call. Sunpower has known for over a month that our system was not performing to specifications based on the monitoring you do daily. I called you immediately upon receiving last months production report. The response I got was boiler plate response - shading of the panels and dirty panels. Neither would cause NO PRODUCTION ( that's 0 production) for days at a time. We expect you to be as concerned about the lack of production as I am. Obviously that is an erroneous assumption. Please give me your plan and schedule for bringing our system to within specified production levels. Don

2 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Misty Saddle Brook, NJ

We began our 20 year Sun Power lease in 2012 and were initially very pleased with it. However, during the last two years we became concerned with the production of the system and contacted the company. We were told that the system was operating well and that the production level fell within the guaranteed ranges, so there was no problem. We saw, however, that there was an erratic pattern of efficiency and we thought that the system should be checked on site. In spite of many requests, both by phone and by email, this was never done. Now, in the midst of one of the hottest summers in recent years (multiple 100+ days,) all the electricity to our house shut down at least five times within two weeks. Initially, we were told by PSEG that the problem was caused by our SunPower system and that if it continued we needed to contact them. My husband contacted SunPower Customer Service and was told that we would have to contact either our local power company or an electrician to check the box and troubleshoot the situation. Then, if the problem was determined to be theirs, they would send someone. When my husband said that the local company had already been here and said that SunPower needed to come, they gave him the number of the local affiliate (Solar Energy World) who had initially installed the system. We called twice and have no idea whether anyone has received the message, although I did indicate that we had almost an emergency situation since there was no electricity at all in the house when a shut down occurs. The number connected us to a voice message requesting simply that we leave a name and phone number. (It is now four days later and we still have received absolutely NO RESPONSE from Solar Energy World.) In searching for that company online in an attempt to find other means of contacting someone, I came across this Best Company site. When I saw that Sun Power was listed as one of the most desirable companies to use for solar energy, I began to go through the reviews which had been written. In doing so, I found two in which a Kari had left her email address and told the person writing the review to contact her. I used that email address and explained the whole situation. Within a half hour, I had a return email from Kari in which she told me that she had forwarded our situation to Sun Power's Austin office. Within about another hour, I had a phone call from Erica from that office. In the meantime, we had contacted an electrician friend to come and take a look at things. He determined that the problem was NOT due to our SunPower system, but that PSEG needed to come back and evaluate it. (The problem was that the circuit breakers in the box were not tightened properly, resulting in damage to the insulation on the wires in the box.) Both Kari and Erica followed up with us via email and Erica also called again to make sure that the problem was being taken care of. As a result of her action and followup and that of Erica, I have modified both the ratings and the review which I originally posted. However, some of my concern still remains. For a major solar energy company like SunPower to refuse to troubleshoot their equipment (the response which my husband received when he called) is not only unsatisfactory and disturbing, but also potentially dangerous. For a local affiliate not to respond at all is also unsatisfactory, disturbing and potentially dangerous. Because I have the contact information for both Kari and Erica, I am hopeful that there will be no future problems should we need customer service assistance from SunPower again. However, I only have that information because I happened to come across it. There is no contact information provided directly by the company which results in real customer service in the event that someone needs it. In order for my rating of SunPower to go any higher, I would need to have a radically different response when I make a phone call regarding efficiency of the panels or a potential problem with the system.

2 years ago

SunPower Logo

Reply from SunPower

Hello Misty, I'm sorry to hear of your situation. It is our understanding that you have discovered that faulty wiring in the meter is the reason for the power outage. We are glad that you were able to discover the resolution. If you have any further questions please do not hesitate to contact us again. We appreciate your business and value your feedback.

Aug. 1st, 2019

star star star star_border star_border

Michele Del Mar, CA

NOTE THE ADDENDUM at the bottom of this review. First Review: After I completed an on-line form, I was pleased that a Sun Power representative called me within a few minutes. After verifying my address, he asked if we had trees over our roof. I told him that we had some, but that the west-facing roof is clear of trees, as is part of the east-facing roof. He told me that an image he was looking at on-line showed that the roof has too much tree-shade for us to be eligible for solar power. I asked what the source was of his image, and he didn't specify. I explained that we have less tree-shade that we used to have, and that the west-facing roof is fully clear. He persisted in saying the house is not a candidate for solar panels. Despite my suggesting that the image he was looking at on-line is outdated and that we have shade-free roofing, he repeated his claim. I explained again that I believed he was basing his evaluation on inaccurate information, and that by not offering to evaluate the house in person, he'd just lost a potential customer. May 28: ADDENDUM to the above review: I was contacted by SunPower and have now been offered an explanation about their services. If only the person I'd initially talked with had fully explained this, I wouldn't have gotten so frustrated. Based on the new information, I've changed my rating of the company. Having not yet taken full advantage of their services, I can't give a complete review.

2 years ago

SunPower Logo

Reply from SunPower

Hello Michele, I'm sorry to hear your expectations have not been met. Our Sales team has specific process in place to determine if the customers' project is one we can completed or if we need to hand off to a local dealer . According to our records, we believe a local dealer would be the best option to help with your solar needs. If you would like that information, please send me a private message. I will provided you with the dealers' contact information. We appreciate your business and truly value your feedback.

May. 24th, 2019

star star star star_border star_border

Robert Jensen Stockton, CA

This is my second home with SunPower Panels. The panels themselves are working well. This system has micro inverters which have given me trouble. The first year the Inverters started failing one by one. Finally they replaced the Inverters on each pane. Now about a year later it's happening again. Though the communications is good the service takes a lot of time. So far one month after the first call I finally saw the service techs. They were unable to repair and the person they were talking to on the phone said they will monitor the system and send someone back in April! Why they already know that at least two inverters are not working! RHJ Stockton, CA

2 years ago

SunPower Logo

Reply from SunPower

Hi Robert, We're sorry to hear you're experiencing this issue, and we will work diligently to get it resolved as quickly as possible.

Mar. 22nd, 2019

star star star star_border star_border

Gerald Ott Avon Park, FL

In 2010 but we had SunPower installed and were very happy with the system. August 2018 we had a failure of the inverter which was replaced in September but it was not compatible with the new inverter. After monitoring the system for several weeks, we noted the system was not operating at the correct watts. It was producing less than half of the power. I contacted Alternative Energy and they came to the same conclusion. I have side by side comparisons of monthly statements from Duke Energy of six consecutive months which proves our point. Alternate Energy checked out the panels and came to the conclusion that the panels have several faults in them. They (Alternate Energy) informed us that Sun Power was not willing to live up to the warranty that was presented to me at the sale which states a 10 year limited warranty.

2 years ago

SunPower Logo

Reply from SunPower

Hello Gerald, I'm sorry to hear about this issue, and I will have a customer service supervisor look into this for you as soon as possible.

Dec. 31st, 2018

star star star star_border star_border

Abundio Ramos Vacaville, CA

This is my 3rd year working with Sun Power, last year I was shock when PGE pool over $800.00 from my account as a result of not enough power that I had requested originally they suggested 40 panels I requested more so it was added 5 more that should be more then enough will delivery 2500 KW. I replied I don't want to get a bill from PGE I was assure no bill will come, 1 cottage in my property is not in use yet . I just cant imagine , so I contacted Sun Power their suggestion add more panels or buy another system ? if had known this purchase is the way to go, do to the prices on energy cost . I inquiry about battery same company and they don't offer batteries backed. But they are in training to offer it soon. System works fine just did not delivery as promise . PANELS AMERICAN MADE ? I was told they are made in china it had sing on the panels. So I hope the ones been installed now are AMERICAN MADE.

3 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Karen Leominster, MA

There were many hiccups in the installation process. The sales person told us that SunPower would put in a new 220 electric box, but when the contractor arrived we were told that it was not on the work order. We finally got the 220 electric box, but it took several phone calls. We were told that it would be a 2 day project and it became a 4-5 day project. The inspection had to be 2 different times as the city had to do 2 inspections and the solar installation group did not know that 2 inspections were needed.

1 year ago

star star star star_border star_border

Robert Washington, MI

Junk, absolutely and simply. Avoid this company at all costs. There microinverters fail at an unbelievable rate and I believe they are in the 3rd generation of supplying this horrible equipment. After you pay continually for repairs it ends up costing you to have solar, not to mention the dramatic outlay. To sum it up, SunPower is a company not ready for prime time. Have read reports the microinverters come from China and judging from my failure rate I would not be surprised!

3 years ago

SunPower Logo

Reply from SunPower

Hi Robert, thanks for your feedback and I’m sorry to hear that your expectations have not been met. We'd really like to look into this further. When you have a moment, please send us a private message with your contact details. -Thank you.

Jul. 30th, 2018

star star star star_border star_border

W. Thompson Grand Junction, CO

I was never able to get to view the production online after 8 years. It took WEEKS to get repair parts when the system quit working. I only found out it quit by accident.

8 months ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

brad

Service has been really great. Possibly leak from install but they came by to patch it. Took forever after install to finally close out.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Pamela Gould

Lack of communication on what's happening, or when they are late or when they are not bothering to call on a scheduled call.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

James Surprise, AZ

More than a month after install, part of the monitoring software still doesn't work. I've opened tickets and they keep closing them unresolved.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Keith Foster Fort Worth, TX

I have a constant failed connection in order to monitor my panels production online, despite router change and switching internet providers

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

concerned owner

I have been having issues with my mobile app and the system never seems to connect to wifi and you get no help when you call.

1 year ago

star star star star_border star_border

Dr Bonnie Drozdowicz Milford, CT

Made appointment for what I thought was an in home consultation for solar power panels. I had my husband stay home from work to be there. Turned out to be a phone call. Would have been fine if told in advance that was the case.

1 year ago

star star star star_border star_border

Paula Swartz Brevard, NC

The young man that came to our house was nice, polite and seemed informed. Why I am giving only 3 stars is that we requested a quote if we bought the unit outright and we never received it. We were not impressed with the company overall because of the lack of follow through.

2 years ago

SunPower Logo

Reply from SunPower

Hi Paula, I'm sorry to hear that you didn't get the information you needed while doing your solar research. If you're still interested in SunPower, and we can help, please email me at .

Sep. 19th, 2019

star star star star_border star_border

Moti Bergenfield, NJ

Overall the service was OK BUT I was not clearly informed that i will still get billis from the electrical company and from SunPower and that my Electrical expense will be higher until the end of the first year and only then SunPower are going to do adjustment and pay me back.

2 years ago

SunPower Logo

Reply from SunPower

Sorry to hear about this concern. I will have a customer service representative reach out to better explain how this works. Usually the only fees you'd have from your local utility might be a nominal connection/usage charge and if you use any energy that your solar doesn't cover. Most of our customers make enough energy during peak months that they earn credits and end the year in the positive or even receiving money back from the power company.

Jan. 11th, 2019

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Jane

Good product but not good customer service and terrible customer service on the financing part of our deal.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Ralph Takakjian Fresno, CA

The local rep did a poor job of assesing my needs. have a pool not a spa,2 freezer s,two refrigs etc etc etc

2 years ago

SunPower Logo

Reply from SunPower

Hi Ralph, Sorry to hear that your system wasn't initially installed as promised. I see from our files that we expanded the size of it to meet your needs. If it's still not performing up to our performance guarantee, certainly please give us a call so we can help you with this.

Dec. 12th, 2018

star star star star_border star_border

Mike Tierney

Since the solar panels were installed, they have not worked properly. Since May, Sunpower has been diligent is correcting the problems. I expect this Saturday they will finally have everything operational.

2 years ago

SunPower Logo

Reply from SunPower

Glad we finally got everything fixed for you, Mike. Don't hesitate to reach out for anything in the future.

Feb. 6th, 2019

star star star star_border star_border

Could be better

Diminishing production efficiency is "paid for/made whole" in amounts far less than the value lost. This is likely a known reduction factor. The amount paid should equal the value lost.

2 years ago

SunPower Logo

Reply from SunPower

Thank you for your feedback.

Dec. 31st, 2018

star star star star_border star_border

mason clark Odessa, FL

main sales person keep stalling with what trees had to be cut my main computer lost communication with system and have not been able to track for years no one seems to be able to fix

2 years ago

SunPower Logo

Reply from SunPower

Hi Mason, Thank you for your review. We'd love to be able to resolve your system communication issue. Please email me your address and contact information, , so we can have someone assist you. Thank you!

Sep. 28th, 2018

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Lisa Callaway Venus, TX

Problems with my app, problems with incorrect grid info.

6 months ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Stan Holtman Bakersfield, CA

Their App is not accessible with Voice Over.

7 months ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Anonymous

Installation went fine, but after a year I am trying to get my yearly performance numbers.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Steve Mulholland

My chat experience yesterday was terrible. I started 6th in line and it took hours to get through.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

M Wilson Lenexa, KS

I'm not saving quite as much as expected and temps not hitting the numbers we had planned.

1 year ago

SunPower Logo

Reply from SunPower

Hello M Wilson, I’m sorry to hear that your expectations have not been met. We'd really like to look into this further. When you have a moment, please send us a private message with your contact details. Once I have your account information, I can have an Executive Service Specialist reach out to you to discuss your concerns in detail. We appreciate your business and truly value your feedback. Thank you

Jan. 7th, 2020

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

nabo Lake Elsinore, CA

Within 3 months of installation I have non-functioning panels and no timeline for fixing this

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Robert Sica Chico, CA

After the system was up and running they didn't give any updates on how the system was preforming

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Tom Sollebarger Sunnyvale, CA

I have had on going problems with my inverter for over one year than have not been resovled

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Jerry

This company's communication is terrible.

9 months ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Conservative Penn Valley, CA

I wish the app was more real time rather than 2-3 hrs behind

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Dalesincal Concord, CA

Great product, service and installation slow or poor responses.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Barbara Andersen Rancho Mirage, CA

System is not working well at present. Not sure if it's Renova or SunPower.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

David Hostetler Algonquin, IL

APP is terrible it’s consistently not working or several hours late

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Gonzales Roger

Poor online monitoring tool. It's mostly not functional. Useless.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Jay Tyson

They make a good product, but the customer service has been poor.

2 years ago

SunPower Logo

Reply from SunPower

Thank you for the feedback, Jay. I'll reach out privately to see if we may better assist you.

Feb. 6th, 2019

star star star star_border star_border

Silas Stewart Lake Alfred, FL

They seemed somewhat discourteous and they seemed more interested in passing me off to other companies and that didn't sit well with me.

1 year ago

We're on a mission to empower consumers to make the best decisions and connect confidently with companies that deserve their business.

© 2021 BestCompany.com LLC - All rights reserved Privacy Policy | Terms | Do Not Sell My Personal Information