Canopy Energy Logo

Canopy Energy

check_circleVerified

star star star star_border star_border
33 User Reviews

5.5

Overall Score

error This company may not service all states.
See states serviced
LAST UPDATED: August 26th, 2021

Canopy Energy offers full-service, personal, local, residential, commercial, and governmental solar services in California, New York, and New Jersey. The company, which was founded in 1990, has quite a bit of experience under its belt and has installed 85 solar systems per month on average since 2016. The company assigns a personal expert to see each customer through the entire process, comes to the customer's home at a time that suits them, offers a customized solution, manages the installation, and saves the customer money. Canopy Energy strives to offer uncompromising quality and meticulous ease for its customers.

Top Ranked Companies

thumb_up

The Good

  • Excellent Warranties
  • High Quality Equipment
  • Outright Purchase and Loan Options

Excellent Warranties

When it comes to warranties, Canopy Energy offers some of the best in the solar industry. The company offers a 25-year workmanship warranty, which covers the labor and installation, as well as a 25-year equipment warranty, which covers the panels.

High Quality Equipment

Canopy Energy offers high quality equipment from respected brands, including SolarWorld panels and SolarEdge inverters.

Outright Purchase and Loan Options

Canopy Energy provides its customers with the option to either purchase a solar energy system outright with cash, or finance it with a loan. Because of this, all of Canopy Energy's customers can take advantage of the benefits that come along with solar ownership, including tax credits and other incentives.

thumb_down

The Bad

  • No Leases or PPAs
  • Limited Availability

No Leases or PPAs

While Canopy Energy focuses on providing its customers with solar ownership options, the company does not offer leases or power purchase agreements (PPAs), which are both popular options among home and business owners.

Limited Availability

Currently, Canopy Energy's services are only available in California, New York, and New Jersey. Consumers who live elsewhere unfortunately will not be able to go solar with this company.

gavel

The Bottom Line

Canopy Energy is a solar energy company that offers great warranties, high quality equipment, and cash purchase and loan options. However, the company does not offer leases or PPAs and currently only offers its services in California, New York, and New Jersey.

View Best Solar Companies

Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

Star Rating

2.8

star star star star_border star_border

33 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

39%

4 grade

6%

3 grade

3%

2 grade

0%

1 grade

52%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star star_border star_border

Quality

star star star star_half star_border

Service

star star star star_border star_border

Trustworthiness

star star star star_border star_border
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
star star star star star

Perry Rector Garden Grove, CA

Exceeded my expectations. Moved to larger house with pool and central air. Purchased 29 panels. Home needed, new electrical box, new roof, and extra repairs due to extensive termite damage and dry rot. Roof has a steep pitch on 2 story house. Several contractors did not want to bid on roof because it was a difficult project. Canopy found construction experts for repairs. Within a few weeks construction began. Solar panels were delivered and installed as new roof was installed. Within 2 weeks of starting construction the system is producing power, but is shut off, waiting for final inspections and approvals.

1 year ago

Canopy Energy Logo

Reply from Canopy Energy

Thank you!

Aug. 27th, 2021

star star star star star

Ed Luna Rancho Cucamonga, CA

I’m surprised to see negative reviews, my experience was really good. Had the consultation and I got what I feel was a really good deal. I was going to spend like 70k in electricity over the next 25 years and my system cost me 30k which I thought was a no brainer. The guy told me up front that it’s not an over night process and it would be 1-3 months to complete the whole project. Which I figured since it’s construction... all in all was pretty fast, within 5 weeks the job was done and my system was on. The guys name that helped me was Pedro, kept in touch throughout the process and dropped me off a gift (bottle of tequila I had mentioned I like)

1 year ago

Canopy Energy Logo

Reply from Canopy Energy

Thank you!

Aug. 27th, 2021

star star star star star

ISMAEL TORRES Riverside, CA

I read all the reviews and comments about Canopy Energy, but I want to write down my experience with them. All the personal that I meet are very professional. The saleswoman came to my home and demonstrate to me that this company is very serious and help the family to obtain the solar system, also, she give me her own cellular phone number to call to any hour in case that I have a question or a problem with my system. They find me the wright program to qualified me for finance and until now I'm very satisfy for the economy that I have in electricity. They do the all process in two month. Thank you Canopy Energy and to all your personnel. Ismael

3 years ago

Canopy Energy Logo

Reply from Canopy Energy

Thank you so much for your nice words and your support, Mr. Torres! We are so glad you are happy with your solar system!

Mar. 26th, 2019

star star star star star

Maria Calderon Daly City, CA

We had our roof replaced and solar installed in 2017. Our Canopy Energy rep, Sharon, was very helpful during the decision process. He took time to explain the benefits of solar and check on our electricity usage to see if it would be a good fit. We are right on the border of making solar worth it since our normal electric bill is very low, but after I did some research as well we decided it would make sense. Plus, we needed a new roof anyway, and the estimate we received from the roofer that Canopy Energy used was the lowest of the estimates we had received from other roofers. Our roof was completed in just a couple of days, though they did leave a mess. As for the solar system we were impressed at how quickly it went up and with really no disruption to our day to day lives. Since it's been on it is working very well. We've had the system for about 9 months now. The system has been running great. All in all I would recommend Canopy Energy, especially if Sharon is your rep.

3 years ago

Canopy Energy Logo

Reply from Canopy Energy

Mrs. Calderon, your reviews go straight energize the Customer Service and Operations Teams! Thank you for such nice words!

Mar. 26th, 2019

star star star star star

thomas lewis

hello. my grandfather once told be i'm not rich enough to afford buying something cheap. canopy are not cheap , i could have done it much cheaper. but i saw here the bad reviews and decided that i have to write my own personal experience with canopy. from the first moment the salesman entered my house , i know that this is someone i could trust , and after about 3 hours i even liked the guy. ans so decided to do business with them. in my opinion every home honer that dose not install solar is crazy , it's the best investment i ever did. from the very start i was treated with respect has a bank with give a millionaire . my every need was met and the new guy tal made sure to call me and ask if there is anything else i desire. thanks canopy i appreciate it and feel 100% pleased that i choose your company.

3 years ago

Canopy Energy Logo

Reply from Canopy Energy

Mr. Lewis! Thank you for taking the time to write this review! We understand that you could have taken your business anywhere else and we are grateful that you decided to hire us for your project! We also 100% agree with you about the need for people to go solar as it makes so much sense, from the environment to your pockets! Your kind words go a long way with our teams here! Thank you so much...

Mar. 26th, 2019

star star star star star_border

Dino Marsili San Ramon, CA

Overall, I am a very satisfied customer. I was looking to purchase a high quality solar system from a reputable company with a high quality warranty. Canopy delivered on all those fronts. My only gripe was their communication throughout the process. There were several instances when I was not contacted (despite my PLEADING for communication) when a Canopy representative showed up without me knowing. With crime escalating, it is uncomfortable answering the door to a stranger. If I did not answer, a serious time window would have been lost. In fact, I heard of the installation date from the rep that came unannounced with the panels. I discussed this with the company and they promised me they would improve this for future customers. This was the only real concern that I had. Otherwise, the installation was great, the American made Mission Solar Panels are pumping out power, the work by the installer was great, I am getting the 30% IRS credit just in time, they are poised to honor the 25 year warranty, and the price was good. Beware the price may surprise you but it seems to be worth it. Great experience overall!

1 year ago

Canopy Energy Logo

Reply from Canopy Energy

Thank you for taking the time Dino!

Mar. 31st, 2020

star star star star star

Jonathan Ludwig Pittsburg, CA

I searched/shopped around for solar for awhile until I found canopy. This company is one of the best from start to finish. The whole process took about 6 weeks, and we couldn't be happier. From Ilana (our sales rep) to final inspection (Sorry can't remember his name) the whole team was courteous, knowledgeable, and professional. They kept their appointments, explained everything every step of the way, and made the whole experience one to write about!

3 years ago

Canopy Energy Logo

Reply from Canopy Energy

Mr. Ludwig, We are always working hard to please our customers and reviews like yours make it worth it every time! Thank you so much for your support!

Mar. 26th, 2019

star star star star star_border

Ron Scholz Pacifica, CA

Albert did a great job installing the system as I wanted done. All system components except the solar panels inside the garage. This was a custom installation. The system has be working as promised. PG+E will not let a system produce more than 110% than what you have been using. Also PG+E will put you on timed tier system. We chose 3:00 pm to 8:00 pm. There are other plans. Canopy made out the proper work for use to be approved to use our system in the PG+E system. The only complaints was the fact that the system delivered was not complete at the start of the job. They had an UBER driver and FEDEX deliver some of the items. I had to convince one of their personal where I wanted the components to be placed. I can monitor the system from the solar energy web site. Their sales person(Steve T.) was really helpful when we had problems, resolved quickly. Had the system operating for the last week , works as advertised.

3 years ago

Canopy Energy Logo

Reply from Canopy Energy

Mr. Scholtz, we are so glad you had a positive experience! It was a pleasure to work for you. Best to you...

Mar. 26th, 2019

star star star star star

Tatiana Bryant Huntington Beach, CA

After spending countless hours researching different solar firms, speaking to sales people... I can say they are among the most professional, committed and ethical people I have been affiliated with, and I recommend them without reservation Very good with communicating every step I was well informed about, Installation was very smooth and quick. I can't believe more people aren't doing solar systems...

3 years ago

Canopy Energy Logo

Reply from Canopy Energy

Mrs. Bryant, we couldn't be happier to hear you were satisfied with us. It is thanks to customers like you that we all come to work excited! Thank you so much...

Mar. 26th, 2019

star star star star star

Nicole H Stockton, CA

I met with several solar companies before choosing, my Friends used Canopy Energy and referred us to them for our solar panels system. The salesperson, professionally answered my questions and explained the process from start to finish. I couldn't be at the site, all team helped me every step of the way and sent photos during the installation . I am truly pleased with the entire experience and recommend them.

3 years ago

Canopy Energy Logo

Reply from Canopy Energy

Mrs. Hopkins, thank you for the nice words. We are very happy that you are pleased with your project and with us. We wish you an amazing day!

Mar. 26th, 2019

star star star star star

Chris Petersen San Jose, CA

Canopy Energy went above and beyond my expectations. I have had my solar panels for 6 months now and they are saving me money. The sales consultant was very good on explaining & Installation was quick and professional . They' kept us up to date with the whole process and, Still checks in with me to make sure I am happy and everything is going well. I highly recommend for anyone looking for solar.

3 years ago

Canopy Energy Logo

Reply from Canopy Energy

Mr. Petersen, thank you for the words and we welcome any recommendation from you! We have a very generous referral program! Don't hesitate to get back to us. In any case, we are grateful for your review. Best!

Mar. 26th, 2019

star star star star star

toni e Beverly Hills, CA

All the staff at Canopy Energy were very pleasant, professional, and I found them to be very knowledgeable about their product. When a misunderstanding came about, they were receptive to my questions and were very thorough with their assistance and helping to resolve the matter to my satisfaction. Overall I recommend this company. They were neat and clean and did not leave a mess at the end of the work shift. I now am using the sun to produce electricity!!

3 years ago

Canopy Energy Logo

Reply from Canopy Energy

Dear Toni E, Thank you for writing this nice review about your experience with us! We are so glad you enjoyed it. Don't forget our generous referral program! We wish you the best...

Mar. 26th, 2019

star star star star_border star_border

Kevin Aguanga, CA

Mixed review is all I have to offer I had searched for a solar company as I live in riverside county and have a manufactured home no one would touch it. I received a robocall from green world pro or eco something or other within a week I had an appointment. My sales person had ties to good friends of mine and I believe he was ethical. I mentioned that reviews I read were about half good and half not so good he said competitors also leave reviews. I'm not a competitor I'm a customer. The process took longer than normal with permits the cost of replacing my meter raised the price of my system it was never upgraded and when asked if they reduced the cost they ran me around and never answered if it actually had been reduced. System installed installers came did a good job said they would be back after inspection and would bring matching touch up paint I gave them a sample patch to color match told them to just get the information on paint mix and I would be happy because I would rather paint the whole front of my place myself then have them touch up a two foot square their ladders scrapped bare. They didn't even bother getting me that. They missed the first inspection because they didn't have the trench dug half of which I dug myself because after dig alert left because I knew they missed my water lines and my electric service from the pole. Which actually isn't anything against canopy unless they only asked dig alert to public utilities coming from the street the only thing they marked was fios phone line. The next problem which is ongoing is the system is supposed to be monitored no one asked up what wireless companies actually work in this rural area they use Team Mobil SIM cards to monitor the system guess what... No service here. Now last year we put in a.c. and our bill had gone up to to double our normal rate for previous summer's as you know 2019 has been very mild so far so we haven't used the a.c. yet this year so I expected since we aren't using very much electricity our bill to be nil it seems 14 panels has only cut our usage by about half when hardly using any power to begin with so on top of paying about half my previous bill I have the additional 200.00$ dallors for 20 years. Over all I think I will give 3 stars but only if the quit blowing of my concerns of 1 did they reduce the total price by the amount of the meter that was not replaced and my system is supposed to be monitored we will get back to you as time drags on I believe it less and less. Kevin Baker.

2 years ago

star star star star star

‎Bernie William‎s Fontana, CA

Installed solar on my home 6 months ago and did a great job They were a good price and had the best warranty My neighbor used them for a roof and solar and they did a great job gain Great people to work with! Responsible and was informed of every step through the process.

3 years ago

Canopy Energy Logo

Reply from Canopy Energy

Mr. Williams, we are very glad that you enjoyed your experience with us! It matters so much to us that you are happy! Have a great day...

Mar. 26th, 2019

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Odon Dizon Canyon Country, CA

My system worked for a month then shut down. Been trying to get any support to have it fixed. No return calls. No support. I will try to wait a little longer for an agent to contact me before I consider legal action.

3 months ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Tim Alderman Crockett, CA

Worst solar company ever. I contracted with them in October 2019 and still not completed, they never finished the job. Add to that their panels flew off my roof and they won't fix. Meantime I am paying two finance companies plus a full PG&E bill every month. Workers don't keep appointments once made, even with the city inspectors. I had to hire my roofer to come fix the damage their panels caused and they won't cover that either. I have photos and an SMS conversation with manager as proof. Neighbor had similar experience, just not as bad. They abandoned him as well. Letters to headquarters ignored as well. I am asking finance firm to reopen complaint they closed when Canopy said they fixed all my problems.

1 year ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Kathleen O’Neill Sonoma, CA

Canopy Energy is a lousy company with which to do business. I received a telemarketing call disguised as a call coming from my own area code. I wish I had never answered the phone and ultimately agreed to have them install my solar system. It’s nearly impossible to get a hold of anyone, but the company is likely using the Coronavirus as an excuse for its awful customer service. My system was approved by PG&E last Monday and I’m still trying to get a tech to come power up my system. When I have had a return calls from the company, it’s always with somebody different. I’ve never dealt with a company that feels so disjointed, but their business model is not working. They suck at customer service. Avoid them like the plague!

1 year ago

Canopy Energy Logo

Reply from Canopy Energy

Ms. O'Neill, We are sorry that you feel that way. You contracted Canopy Energy on 1/28/2020 and the estimated completion date on your contract is April 28th, 2020. Your installation passed final inspection within 3 weeks only and it took PGE one month to provide your PTO, which occurred March 22nd. Indeed, the Coronavirus has been hard on everybody and our workforce had to be temporarily reduced but we are working on scheduling a technician to turn your system on. We could also walk you through doing it remotely while we schedule the installation of the monitoring. In any case, hoping that you change your mind about us, we will provide your financing with the first month paid for by us. Thank you for your trust and support in these difficult times. CE.

Mar. 31st, 2020

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Erim A Foster Carmel-by-the-Sea, CA

Canopy Energy is one of the most unethical and negligent organizations it's ever been my misfortune to come in contact with. I suggest you stay as far away from these people as humanly possible. There are plenty of solar companies in California who are both competent and ethical. In April of 2018 my elderly parents contracted Canopy Energy to install a solar energy system on the roof of their house. As of now (10/24/2019), the project is still incomplete. Canopy completely abandoned the project and were unable to resolve their recurring problems passing the PG&E inspection. There were a total of three inspections by PG&E, all of which Canopy failed for the same reasons. They ordered the incorrect splice box twice despite the fact that the correct box is clearly described in the "green book." They have since effectively abandoned the project, leaving an open trench in the backyard, piles of dirt, sand and trash everywhere, and a 200 amp electrical cable running along the ground from the power poll to the house's electrical panel. This is insanely dangerous, particularly when the owners are elderly people and unable to deal personally with such issues. This has been the condition of the project for over eight months now (see attached photos). They also managed to sell the financing for this project to a third party entity, allowing them to get full payment and abandon the project, leaving my parents on the hook for 15 years of payments while their solar system is incomplete and the project is a total disaster. We've been forced to hire lawyers and seek legal arbitration in this matter in order to pay off the debt incurred, hire a competent and ethical contractor to finish the job and pay legal expenses. Stay away from these people! They are unethical, incompetent and predatory. I plan to continue to pursue the outstanding complaint with the state licensing board as far as I possibly can, as well as any other options I can think of to put them out of business. See attached photos for the current state of the project and the condition they left an elderly couple's home, apparently with zero regard for their safety and absolutely no concern for basic business ethics or professionalism. Update 11/15/2019: Canopy was notified of breach of contract back in September and had ten days to remedy. They did absolutely nothing in that time, not so much as a phone call. As of 9/20/2019 the contract was terminated. So they missed their chance to complete the project by about eight months, during which time they repeatedly failed PG&E inspections for the same reasons, were incommunicado for weeks at a time, ordered the wrong splice box twice, claimed to have ordered the correct box a third time but it never showed up, etc, etc. I've never seen such gross incompetence and lack of ethics in my life. The fact that Jordan claims they tried to remedy the problems when there was an open trench and live power cable lying on the ground in the back yard for eight months is laughable. The claim that the project is complete and just awaiting final inspection is so ridiculous I don't know where to begin. As anybody can plainly see from the photos, there's a three foot trench in the back yard, the splice box is sitting above ground, there are piles of dirt, sand and trash everywhere, and the panel hasn't even been installed. What kind of idiot would think that's a completed project? And, as an additional fun wrinkle to this story, Canopy Energy has since filed a mechanics lien against my parents property, even though Canopy is clearly in breach of contract, never completed the project, and my parents have been making regular payments on the financing despite everything because they're legally obligated to do so. We've filed a demand for arbitration in this matter as unfortunately legal action is the only way to resolve it. Canopy has also refused to respond to arbitration and instead decided to file the ridiculous mechanics lien. The lack of basic decency of these people is breathtaking. It's very discouraging to have to deal with such unethical people, but unfortunately it's the only way to resolve this disaster and prevent other people from being taken advantage of. Canopy Energy has no business operating as a licensed contractor in the state and I plan to do everything I can to prevent them from doing so.

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Doug D El Cajon, CA

Canopy Energy put a system in November of 2017! At the end of 2018 I owed my power company eight hundred dollars as my guarantee was if i didn't make enough power with my brand new system canopy would pay the difference! It took six months and 30 to 40 calls, but they finally paid! Forward to 2019 and I owe my power company again! Only now canopy has pulled out of San Diego fired 95 percent of it's people and now I can get no one to call back! This company is not very sound and has no intention of honoring it's warranty and guarantee! It was a high mistake to haves used this company! I have contacted an attorney and will try to get some renumeration from this poorly run company! I don't believe they will be around long enough too chase after!

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

charles Coulter Perris, CA

NOT HAPPY AT ALL. Their presentation sounded great. They were installed witin a week and city inspected and approved 2 days after install. his was Aug 26th 2019 install date, Aug 28 th city inspected and approved. Here we are at October 9th and SCE has no application for the Nem program so i can go live with my install. I keep getting the run around after compaining to 3 people at company i finally received te docusign for the nem program on Sept 19th. as of today Oct 9th Still have not turned in paperwork. Now I am paying for regular electric and solar panels that i cannot use. At this point due to their customer service I recommend not using them. My attorney is next involvement. By way they were paid for the panels in full already!

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Kathy Fisher Newark, CA

I signed a contract in December, 2017 for the removal of existing thermal solar, removal of old roof, installation of a new roof, new electrical solar and replacement of existing thermal solar. Dawn W was the sales person and was very knowledgeable, competent and helpfu up until the time I really needed her help. Various different crews came out to do the work and it took much longer than anticipated. Throughout the whole process nothing ever happened when they said it would. The work was done in a very sloppy fashion and I had to get them to come back several times to rectify things. The inspector did not pass the work the first time which was when one of the managers actually came out and stuck plastic letters on the front of the house because one of the items was that they had to be able to identify the location of the house, in case of fire. I was sent custom made signs which they said were for safety and were going to be put in several locations. I still have one of them in a file, they told me to throw them away. It took some time to get the thermal solar put back on the roof. It was the middle of winter and we could not test for leaks as it was raining. When we had some clear weather, we turned it on and it leaked like a sieve, all over. They said they’d get someone to come back and fix it. A technician came back three or four times, each time it still leaked. He finally gave us his cell phone number and asked us to call him directly if there were anymore leaks as he was going to be fired. The leaks were finally repaired almost a year later. In fall 2018, during the first storm since the solar had been replaced, the galvanized sheeting under some of the solar panels blew off the roof and ripped, those that didn’t blow off, were blown sideways under the panels. Some of the panels also blew loose and the wooden blocks they used to secure it to the roof were blown loose, as well as the metal strapping they’d used to secure it, came loose. I have been contacting them continuously from then to try and get them to repair it and secure it to the roof properly. They sent one technician out who said that they needed to “modify the entire system” as it had blown off and was broken. We never heard from that technician again. They sent two people out, they were here for about an hour (it started raining) and took all the broken and torn pieces of sheeting and put them back on the roof. They said they had to order replacement parts and would be back. I never heard from them again and when I called, Itay D, the current manager, he told me that it had been correctly replaced and they would not be doing any additional work and I as wrong about them having said they'd order replacement parts. After many emails and phone calls back and forth, he simply said he had a picture of the solar system secured to the roof. I asked if they would pay for a thermal solar company to come out and evaluate the installation of the system. I got a quote for $153, Itay said they would pay that amount for the evaluation. Diablo Solar came out and told me that the entire system had been put back incorrectly. They'd glued wooden blocks to the new roof tiles and tried to secure the panels to them. They had all blown loose, as it had not been strapped down. Diablo gave me a quote for $3,880 to install it correctly. I sent the quote to Itay at Canopy and had Diablo do the work as there were still storms and it needed to be secured to prevent further damage. To this day, I have not received the $153 that Itay Darvish approved and he continues to tell me that he has sent the invoice for the $3,880 “up the ladder” but does not envision it will be paid. I have repeatedly asked for the name of his superior and he will not give it to me. I finally also emailed Dawn, the sales person, asking for her assistance with this, but she has not replied to my email either.

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Dell Petersen Fremont, CA

After two months of continous phone calls (sometimes several per day) from Green World Pro, we took action. We made an appointment for the sole purpose of complaining about these calls. We were told the company would be SolarWorld. NOTE: SolarWorld is a solar panel manufacturer, not an installer. The company turned out to be Canopy Energy. The sales person stated that Canopy and Green World Pro are the same company. We told him we would not do business with Green World Pro or any company associated with them. The salesperson apologized for the phone calls and said we would be removed from the call list. Take note Green World Pro/Canopy. Any time you call, we'll make an appointment. I file a complaint for every call with the FTC. In addition, I am registering as a participant in the recent class action suit.

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

DEAN AKAHOSHI

I signed a contract with Canopy Energy for a solar panel system for my home on Aug 10, 2017, But after a read the contract. I found out that there some things not in the contract that the salesperson had promised: 1) sales person stated a 30 Warranty, Agreement only states a 10 year. 2) sales person stated I would get a 30% rebate/tax credit, Agreement states that if the rebate is not 30%, I would have to pay the difference of actual and estimated amounts. (This was not mentioned by the sales person). On Aug 13, 2017, I cancelled the contract. It's been 60 Days, And they still have not refunded the $1000.00 Deposit. I have contacted they several times and they just give me EXCUSSES, And that the deposit is in processing.

4 years ago

star star star star star

Veronica T Belgrade, 00

Excellent service, very friendly staff and customer support. I would always reccomend Canopy Energy.

9 months ago

Canopy Energy Logo

Reply from Canopy Energy

thank you!

Aug. 27th, 2021

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Rico Miran Stockton, CA

Canopy Energy made the panels seem like a good move telling me how I can use my panels all day and night. I just got a PGE bill for $998.00 after my first year. The teck never came back to my house to show me how to monitor my usage or what app I should be using. I was even madder to find out they used old breakers in my panel box so everything was tripping breakers at over 100 degrees out side and the workers left me with no power for 2 days.

1 year ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

stephan hibner Pittsburg, CA

worst decision ever to use canopy energy . no communication no responses to complaints . no one returns your calls . signed contract in January its June and i have no idea when this will get finished . luckily i have a layer on retention . stopped all payments due no responses or updates . been paying for 3 months . hope they enjoy taking these panels back off of my roof .

1 year ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Fed Up Benicia, CA

Illegally robocalls people on the Federal Do Not Call list using names like Green World Pro and Eco America. Owner Ori B. sued as head of multiple energy companies that did the same thing. He just closes them and opens another. Under no circumstances do business with these scammers, probably won't be around much longer anyway as they continue to do bad.

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Janice Jordan Danville, CA

False Advertising. Misleading claims. Bad customer service. I was told that by purchasing their solar system that I would save up to $250 a month on electricity. They focused their presentation around the Tiered pricing system. They KNEW that a law had been passed that put all new customers of solar energy in a NEM based pricing; thus eliminating tiered pricing. Now, after installation I am not saving any money: ZERO. I have reached out to them for 1 month to try and figure out what can be done and they ignore my calls.

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Chris Torun Culver City, CA

get 3 quotes. Canopy preys on un-informed consumers. Their sales persons use pressure tactics to make sure you don't get 3 quotes and purchase a solar system in one meeting. For all those that purchase a solar system, you did not get 2 quotes, you purchase a VW for the price of a Farrari .

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

soccermom San Francisco, CA

A terrible company. They ruined my house with water intrusion from their faulty roof. We went to court and I was awarded $10,000. I'm still awaiting payment. They have the worst customer relations and are corrupt!

2 years ago

star star star star star

Ana Kowalkowka Hayward, CA

Very thorough explanations convincing points

1 year ago

Canopy Energy Logo

Reply from Canopy Energy

Thank you so much Ana!

Mar. 31st, 2020

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Jack

A lousy company. Taking advantage of people relocate them and don’t pay their earned commissions. Bunch of Liars

2 years ago

Canopy Energy Logo

Reply from Canopy Energy

This review was posted by Jack C***n., a disgruntled former representative whose services were terminated for not only gross incompetence but also for creating thousands of dollars of damages with the company's assets. Now he goes online trying his best to bash the company with these fake reviews. We are glad he is someone else's problem!

Mar. 26th, 2019

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Ashley Gilroy, CA

High pressure sales tactics that made us feel uncomfortable in our home.

3 years ago