LifeStation Logo

LifeStation

star star star star star_half
2,503 User Reviews
LAST UPDATED: September 15th, 2022

Since 1977, LifeStation has been offering medical alert devices and medical monitoring services designed by medical alert industry veterans to help seniors live independently. LifeStation makes getting emergency assistance easier for seniors who want to live in the comfort of their own home at an affordable cost. 

LifeStation looks after the health and well-being of older adults, giving them, as well as their family members, peace of mind knowing they will be protected with LifeStation's emergency services and medical monitoring.

Additional highlights of the company include low monthly monitoring fees, no equipment fees, no activation fees, no contract length, and a lifetime warranty on LifeStation equipment. The medical alert company has high ratings and exceptional service, which is evidenced by a number of positive Life Station reviews below.

Keep reading our LifeStation review to learn more about the pros and cons of choosing this medical alert company or click here to go straight to LifeStation customer reviews

thumb_up

The Good

  • Low Price and No Long-Term Contracts
  • Multiple Plan Options
  • System and Warranty
  • Fastest Response time in the Industry
  • Complimentary Alert Messaging
  • 30-Day Money-Back Guarantee
  • 5-Day Battery for Mobile System
  • Waterproof Alert Button
  • "Find My Loved One" Feature
  • Free Spousal Alert Monitoring
  • LifeStation Reviews

Low Price and No Long-Term Contracts

LifeStation has lower prices on medical alert systems than most other leading competitor medical alert companies. On top of that, there are no long-term contracts that rope customers into service for a specified period of time. With LifeStation, customers can cancel at any time without having to pay a cancellation fee. Both of these points make LifeStation a very wise financial choice.

Multiple Plan Options

LifeStation offers a variety of plans to ensure there is a choice that fits every consumer, regardless of their specific lifestyle. Whether you are regularly on the go or typically remain at your home, LifeStation has a plan to fit everyone's needs. You can also choose between monthly, quarterly, or annual billing services. Plan details for LifeStation's three main packages are below:

At-Home Package — $22.95 per Month

This package is best for customers who most often remain at home but still want to remain independent and safe in the case of an emergency. 

  • Shower-safe buttons wearable as a pendant or on the wrist
  • Sensitive whole-house 2-way speakerphone
  • Optional fall detection pendant available
  • Plug compatible with landline phone jack or modem — optional Cellular System available

On-the-Go Packages — $37.95–$43.95 per Month

This package is best for consumers looking to be more active with their LifeStation medical alert system and who plan to leave their homes quite often. This medical alert device is made specifically for an on-the-go lifestyle.

LifeStation's mobile medical alert called the Sidekick boasts the most advanced suite of capabilities to date in a medical alert system. Leveraging AT&T's 4G LTE network, the nation's fastest and most reliable system, it takes advantage of LifeStation's award-winning monitoring center, allowing seniors to get help quickly and confidently, anywhere in the country. The Sidekick boasts the most accurate location services, utilizing GPS and Wi-Fi. It is fully waterproof; you can take it in the shower or bath with no worries.

The second mobile medical alert option LifeStation offers is the Sidekick Smart. This is a sleek medical alert smartwatch that is great for customers looking for a stylish option. The plan starts at $43.95. The watch includes the following:

  • Location services
  • Pedometer
  • Weather updates
  • Water-resistant technology
  • Heart rate monitor

System and Warranty

LifeStation's medical alert systems are covered under a lifetime warranty. Their in-home system consists of a pendant or wristband with an emergency alert device button and a base station that is connected to their monitoring station. The base unit and emergency button work within 500 feet of each other. When you press the button, a Care Specialist is notified that you are having an emergency.

The base station features an enhanced speaker and voice capabilities that gives users two-way communication with a Care Specialist even if they have fallen down. For those without a traditional landline, LifeStation offers products for alternative phone service and mobile devices for seniors with active lifestyles. Read LifeStation reviews below to read about customers' experiences with different types of LifeStation alert systems.

Fastest Response Time in the Industry

LifeStation's monitoring station exceeds both national and industry standards for training and response time. It is a UL-listed and 5 Diamond Certified medical monitoring center with a strict training protocol for its personnel, starting with six weeks of formal classroom training and mandatory exams at the end of every module.

Once this training for the response center personnel is successfully completed, there is field training guided by TMA certified instructors. All new personnel receive weekly performance reviews for three months. This ensures a high standard of customer service and a quick response time.

The average LifeStation response time is 20 seconds. The company encourages its customers to do a monthly system test so they can see how quickly LifeStation responds to alerts. LifeStation systems also have check-in capabilities that allow the company to check your system each week to ensure it is communicating with the monitoring center.

Complimentary Alert Messaging

A LifeStation medical alert device also offers caregivers the option for an alert messaging service that sends automatic email notifications in the event their loved one has an emergency. It also performs a silent weekly test of the loved one's system and notifies them if the system has any issues.

30-Day Money-Back Guarantee

LifeStation features a 30-day money-back guarantee for any customer on any payment plan. This includes customers that still pay month-to-month. This can give customers peace of mind that they can test out LifeStation and get their money back if the medical alert service doesn't work for them. LifeStation is essentially risk-free, and anyone can try the service without committing to any fees or contracts.

5-Day Battery for Mobile System

LifeStation's mobile medical alert system has an impressive battery life of up to five days, which is an upgrade from the previous 36 hours. This is considered impressively long, especially compared to other medical alert companies. 

Having a lengthy alarm battery life ensures the medical alert owner does not have to worry about charging the system every day and has the ability to go days without having to worry about doing so. LifeStation also replaces medical alert batteries for free so customers do not have to worry that this cost would be out of their pocket.

In the case of a power outage, LifeStation's medical alert monitoring system also has a backup battery that lasts for up to 32 hours. When your power turns back on, the battery will begin to self-charge.

Waterproof Alert Button

All of LifeStation's medical alert buttons are waterproof. This means you don't have to worry about taking off the alert device when showering, taking a bath, or during other activities that involve water. This is especially convenient since wet areas are the most fall-prone areas, so it is a major plus that you'll still have protection in these instances.

"Find My Loved One" Feature

For a limited time, LifeStation has created a "Find My Loved One" feature to go with all mobile GPS device packages. This feature allows anyone on the emergency contact list of the medical alert owner to text "Find + [medical alert owner's name]." The contact will then receive a text message with a link to the address of the loved one's location on a map.

Whether it's used as an extra safety precaution or a way to find a medical alert device if lost, this feature adds additional peace of mind and added security for medical alert owners and their loved ones. With a simple text, they can check up on their loved ones and their whereabouts at any time.

Free Spousal Alert Monitoring

If you have a spouse or another person in your home who also wants medical alert monitoring, LifeStation will provide the monitoring services completely free. The only cost the second medical alert user is responsible for is an extra help button, which is $3.99 per month. 

LifeStation Reviews

LifeStation consumer reviews are overwhelmingly positive, highlighting exceptional LifeStation customer service, affordable pricing, quick response times, and quality equipment. LifeStation complaints are minimal, demonstrating a positive customer experience and awarding LifeStation a high star rating.

Knowing LifeStation has reliable service and highly trained professionals can give consumers peace of mind that their loved one using the medical alert device will be taken care of.

thumb_down

The Bad

  • Additional Fees
  • Limited Range from Base Station

Additional Fees

One way LifeStation's alert service falls short of its competitors, who offer spouse coverage at no additional charge, is by charging an additional fee of $3.99 per month for every extra alert button. Also at an extra cost is a LockBox, a bathroom and hallway alert button, and automatic fall detection, which some companies offer for free or include in the subscription fee.

However, the fee is minimal and won't raise your monthly payment by a significant amount. Check out LifeStation reviews below to see if this has proved to be a problem to past customers.

Limited Range from Base Station

LifeStation has a 500-foot range from the base station for its medical alert devices. Many medical alert providers have ranges closer to 1,200 ft. A larger range gives consumers more flexibility in how far they can travel from the medical alert device base station and ensures more protection in the case of a fall or another emergency.

gavel

The Bottom Line

LifeStation offers both standard benefits as well as modern technological features like mobile GPS tracking technology and audible notifications, letting users know the battery needs to be recharged. LifeStation's pricing is on par with the lower to middle range of industry standards with a price-lock guarantee of one monthly rate and a 30-day money-back guarantee.

LifeStation's greatest strength lies in the industry certifications it holds, such as UL approval and TMA certified instructors to provide peace of mind. The major selling points are LifeStation's state-of-the-art monitoring center, the automatic alerts for caregivers, and LifeStation Fall Detection. The medical alert service is known for its quality medical alert systems with high-end equipment, exceptional customer service, and affordable pricing, including a low-priced monthly fee, no activation fee, no equipment fee, and no contract length.

If you're interested in learning more about the medical alert provider, read LifeStation reviews below to see what current and past customers have to say about the company, its customer service, its equipment, and more. 

View Best Medical Alert Companies

Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

not_listed_location

LifeStation Frequently Asked Questions

How does LifeStation work?

LifeStation medical alert systems are easy to use and set up. After you receive your system, plug in your devices to activate your service. A customer service specialist can also assist in setup and testing if any questions arise. To get help, press a button on your pendant or device. You’ll be connected with a trained LifeStation Care Specialist. The care specialist will assess the situation and help you determine who to call — whether it’s family members, friends, or emergency responders. Help will reach out or arrive at your location depending on the situation. The monitoring center is available 24 hours a day and 7 days a week.

How much does LifeStation cost?

LifeStation offers affordable systems starting at just $32.95 per month. All the medical alert equipment is free, you just need to pay a monthly monitoring fee. LifeStation does not have any hidden charges or long-term contracts. Below are a few of starting prices for LifeStation’s systems: - At-home systems start at $32.95 per month - Mobile systems start at $37.95 per month - Smartwatches start at $43.95 per month Other add-ons include bathroom and hallway buttons for $2.95 per month, a lockbox for $2.95 per month, a PAPA Pals service for $5 per month, a fall detection pendant for $10 per month, and an extra button for $3.95 per month.

Do I need a landline to use LifeStation’s medical alert device?

Nope, a landline phone is not required. LifeStation medical alert devices rely on AT&T’s 4G LTE network. The cellular coverage is included in your monthly monitoring rate. You’ll always stay connected even if your power goes out.

Are LifeStation’s devices waterproof?

Yes, LifeStation’s mobile and in-home medical alert systems are fully waterproof. LifeStation encourages customers to wear their medical alert devices in the bath and shower to stay connected if a slip or other emergency occurs.

Does LifeStation offer fall detection?

Yes, LifeStation offers fall detection as an optional add-on. The fall detection device costs an additional $10 per month.

Does LifeStation have a money-back guarantee?

Yes, LifeStation offers a 30-day money-back guarantee for those who would like to return their equipment and cancel service.

Star Rating

4.5

star star star star star_half

2,503 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

68%

4 grade

20%

3 grade

6%

2 grade

2%

1 grade

3%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star star star_half

Quality

star star star star star_half

Service

star star star star star_half

Trustworthiness

star star star star star_half
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Ruth

They always answer me within 40 seconds. They're very courteous.Very clear, very concise. Just very good. I like that it's easy to access. It's powerful. I can talk from close by or in another room or even from the basement and they can hear me. I like that if they don't get an answer, they come automatically. The one time I really needed it, I had an issue, it was not LifeStation, it was the phone line because it was down. I was not able to use my LifeStation and I was on the floor for 2 days and finally somebody came to fine me and I had medical treatment after that. It wasn't LifeStation's fault, it was the phone service's.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Anne Fleming Zachary, LA

I'll be 80 soon but I'm still able to live alone and take care of myself for the most part. My daughter discussed this with me and both her and my father felt like it would be a good thing to have when I'm home alone. Since I live on my own, that's very often the case. I use it a lot at home, whenever I go outside to the mailbox, or just to take a walk. I wear the one around my neck since I like it a lot better than the one that goes on my wrist. With it you don't have to have your hands on the phone all the time, the button is just right there for you, all you have to do is push it and they'll be there. I'm just hoping that whenever I need it I'll get great support from them. It relieves my children's worries and makes me feel safer.

4 years ago

LifeStation Logo

Reply from LifeStation

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review Anne! Hopefully you will never need to use it, but i am glad that it helps relieve some worry and gives you peace of mind. That is why we are here.

Jun. 6th, 2018

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Cendie Dietrich Lake Chelan Community Hospital Chelan, WA

I work for Lake Chelan Community Hospital and have installed several units. I had to call back several times to get the hospital credit on a few of the units. When I had called to order the unit I had explained to the sales rep that I was new at purchasing the unit through lake Chelan Hospital and wanted to make sure we would get the credit for the unit then when looking into it both units I ordered we were not getting the credit. Also one lady client was very unhappy with the way the landline fall detection hung horizontal and not l vertical on her neck and felt the company could come up with a better looking la-nerd for around the neck the client canceled the order. I thought it was not good company policy to make our company pay for the return of your product.

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Esterline York & David Williams Elk Grove, CA

My mother was the one that chose LifeStation. I recommended a different one, but since she wanted them specifically I bought it for her. Most times they were very responsive and gave me the correct answers to our problems. The button worked efficiently and just as advertised. I was contacted by LifeStation within minutes of them contacting EMS to go to my mother's aid. I was then contacted by the emergency room to let me know they had sent out people to my mother's house. That happened 25 minutes after LifeStation contacted me. Unfortunately, my mother didn't make it'.It all worked well though.

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Renee (Johnetta) Mustafa Carson, CA

I just liked the GPS, that was the main thing that convinced me to get it for my mother. Other than to test it, I haven't really interacted with customer service. The first time we tried it I thought they took too long to answer the phone. I was a little concerned about that should my mother have an actual emergency. They were also not very clear when they were explaining things about the equipment. I was told that one of the lights of the button should be on at all times, and I thought that meant that the device wouldn't work. Though I think that what they meant was that when you put it on the cradle the light should stay red. They weren't real clear about that, but it all works. It is a very valuable service.

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Anonymous Gresham, OR

I have the pendant that I can use in my house and that I can even take with me to the shower. I don't have to worry about anything, which is great since I'm alone in my house a lot. As soon as I press the button I know somebody will respond to me. I also have the worldwide system thing, so that means that I can carry it all with me no matter what state I go to. Every time I've called they've answered me right away and directed me to the right person that can take care of my situation. It has been great. They are also there and ready every time I need to test my pendant. On one occasion I needed it to be replaced and they sent it to me right away. I haven't tried any other company or system, but based on what I heard from others LifeStation has everything that the other companies do. Besides, the unit that I have seems more durable than the ones I've seen other people wearing. They all look very generic and fragile but mine is sturdier.

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Fern Hoffman Sun City, AZ

We did some investigating and came up with that one. I haven't used it much, but they've been alright. I am not too happy with the equipment though. I don't like the box that I have to carry around with me. I have to take it with me all the way to Washington and then carry it back with me. It's really heavy and not easy to carry. Besides, when I'm flying it's not the easiest thing. I'd like to have something that's simpler. It would also be nice and a lot more useful if the thing worked if i fell outside, there's really nothing I can depend on if that were to happen. If it could also automatically detect falls without me having to press the button it would be great.

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Miriam Heller Shingle Springs, CA

I got something from Kaiser about LifeStation since I'm a member. I thought I would give it a try and ran with it. So far I've only actually used it once. They were here in no time at all with an ambulance and took me to the hospital. Price-wise it's pretty much the same you'd get with other companies. I did have some problems with some of the units that they sent me to wear. They just didn't have the signal working the way it should and I had to call a couple of times to have the thing checked. Another problem that I've had is that I just forget to do the monthly checks, mainly just because I forget. I would think that they could call you themselves to check on you and in fact I'd recommend they do that. Other than that, I have nothing else to say.

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Anonymous

I looked at consumer reports and other financial things about it and as far as that went they seemed to be what I was looking for to give to my mother. The unit itself was excellent. She constantly wore the pendant and they were excellent whenever she had calls. There were a couple of times when she needed their help and they called the ambulance and contacted the neighbors as well. That part of the process went very well. Currently though I've been trying to contact them to cancel the service since my mother no longer needs it. She moved to an assisted living facility. LifeStation hasn't returned my calls about that though. I mean, customer service is great about taking care of the patient, but as far as the actual administration side of things, I'm not happy with them.

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Stella Vermillion Orangevale, CA

I got it because the price was good. At first I had some trouble with them. It turns out that if you accidentally activate the thing and they sent the fire department, the insurance doesn't really cover that. That happened to me and I thought I was covered but I had to pay $1800 for that. In the end my daughter finally called their head office and they made it so that they would call me first to make sure it was an actual emergency before sending EMS. That way if it's an accident I can avoid having the fire department come out here. The next time I set the alarm off by accident without realizing it they actually called me to make sure I was ok. That was good. They are reliable and the price is good.

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Scott Sydorick New Kensington, PA

I like the necklace that can detect falls. The condition and health problems that I have make me go unconscious a lot of times. I can't push any buttons or do anything if I pass out, so I need LifeStation to detect the fall on its own. It also has GPS tracking, so even if I'm not in the house and fall the response team can find me in a large city like Maryland. Customer support has always been helpful with any questions I've had about my machine or the necklace itself. They always call to check in on me whenever I fall or if my alarm is set off. It has really been helpful, I'm alive today because of it. I just think it's a great system. Anybody with a health condition should definitely look into getting one for themselves.

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

T.C. or Anonymous Merced, CA

My son was the one that got it and said it wasn't too expensive. Their customer service people have been usually available and very helpful. The device is very reliable and not too expensive. I've been satisfied with it, though lately there has been this voice coming on that scares the living daylights out of me about every hour or so. I've asked and there doesn't seem to be a way to tone it down. It seems to be because the battery is low and it has been beeping so far, but they've sent something to fix that and I have to wait 48 hours for it to arrive. In the meantime, if anyone is in the living room, they'll just jump up a mile when this thing comes on. It's so loud and annoying. I'm getting antsy about it. I've had to put up with it for 2 or 3 days now.

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Thomas Walter Lake Worth, FL

I'm home by myself and since my wife has dementia she can't really dial 911 if something happened to me. I had no other resource for that, so when somebody called me and gave me a good deal for the service, I signed up with them. I have one mounted right beside my bed and one mounted low near the floor by the toilet. That way, if I pass out, I have one that I can wear around my neck and have another somewhere in the house. I've used it once and I feel secure with it, it makes me feel better. It gives me a lot of security. I also test it once a month or so just to make sure that they answer it. I have been offered similar programs that are cheaper, but for the time being I'm going to stick with them.

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Doris Workman Walton, KY

Their advertisement was the first that I ran into so I just went with it. They're pretty expensive. The only problem I really ever had with them was when my mother accidentally pushed the button and then didn't know which button to press again to stop them from calling the ambulance. There was really no way for me to help and stop that from happening either and it caused us a bunch of trouble. It would be nice if they could find a way to stop the alarm from a different number. I don't know how much we got charged for that...As for the device themselves I think the box is fine, but they should do something about the durability of the strap for the necklace.

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Stephanie Gogarty Pacific Grove, CA

I had had a stroke and my daughter did some research to find something to help me. Customer service has been very supportive, especially when I lost the little white thing that goes on the necklace. It fell off of the black strap that it latches onto. They sent another one right out to me and I was very happy with that. The only thing is that they sent me the exact same model so it could fall off again. I think they should redesign that, especially since they charge you extra if you lose it. They were kind enough not to charge me this time because I objected, but still. I haven't had much experience with the machine, it just keeps doing what it's supposed to be doing. I accidentally pushed the button one day and everything worked exactly the way it was supposed to. If I had been in trouble I would've gotten help immediately. As far as the value goes, from the standpoint of having someone available all the time and instantly if you were to fall, it's good. But from the standpoint of paying 30 some dollars a month to just wear something that you don't use all the time, then it could be better. It would be nice for it to be somewhat more affordable.

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

J.H. or Anonymous Denver, CO'

My sister who lives in Texas did some research and picked this one. It was a combination of things, including the training of the people in the call center, that made her feel better about getting the service. We kind of fumbled with the system at first but they were really helpful and nice about it all. My mom had a thing where she left and accidentally pressed the button. She had a very good experience with the person that answered though. They were nice and didn't shame her about the accident. They just made sure that my mom was ok. The necklace button that she wears around her neck has a crack in it already. It's not waterproof anymore. I think the should work on it a bit more to make it more durable. Still, we're grateful to have it, it gives us peace of mind to know that if my mom falls or something happens, she can get help and still be safe.

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Sandra Humpherys San Marcos, CA

I tried with other companies before switching to LifeStation. With the others, it seemed that the device would overcharge all the time and then stop working. Since the doctor wanted me to have one, my son and I decided to get LifeStation through Kaiser. It definitely works, maybe too well. I use the necklace and it's very lightweight and doesn't bother me at all. Still, it's very sensitive and goes off if I lean too close to the TV or even when I wore it under my shirt. Whenever we had false alarms, they still went and responded immediately to know if I was having trouble. Once I didn't even hear the emergency call and they went ahead and called my son. Since they couldn't get a hold of me, they ended up sending the firefighters, which was a little embarrassing. Still, I appreciated the response time.

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Lois Plymale Pacifica, CA

I was with a different company but their necklace was too big. Since the prices were the same for LifeStation and that other company, I went ahead and switched. The only thing that I miss about the other company is that they used to call me every month to make sure that the thing was working and LifeStation doesn't. Other than that, I think the box that comes with the service is not great. I've actually complained to them a couple of times because when it starts saying 'emergency, emergency' it's too loud. It goes on for 3 minutes or so, and since I live in an apartment I'm afraid my neighbors just hear this thing going 'emergency, emergency.' They told me there was no way to lower the volume so I guess that can't be changed. It does take awhile to get an answer from them, but so do the other companies. I really would like to get the device that can be used outside while driving or visiting someone.

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Karen Mikich Flushing, MI'

We wanted something for my 87 year old mother so that she could notify people if she needed help. She has fallen several times because of her age and instability. Whenever this happens, the device automatically detects the fall and triggers an alarm. The company then just calls her to check if she is ok without her having to push a button. Customer service has been very responsive and pleasant to deal with. They follow through with special requests and keep my mom's profile up to date with the information we give them. They just do everything the way we would expect them to do it. The only problem we've had is that the device is really sensitive and, for instance, if the dog jumps on my mum's lap it can press the button with its paw. We've had to put a little box around the device so that doesn't happen. Other than that, I have been very pleased with the service.

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Ivan Iniguez Tucson, AZ'

I got the service for my parents and they've only had it for a few months. They haven't had any issues, but I think my dad pushed the button accidentally a few times. Meds have showed up on some of those occasions, so I know the service works. As long as the batteries and connection work, they're good to go. I also like that they provide the ability to order a special lock to store keys for the responders to get in. It's a bit more money, but it's a nice feature. As for the device itself, even though it works fine, it looks like it's kind of aged, as if it was an older model. What a pay a month is not bad, though I'd like it if they offered some kind of discount or help for families with lower income. I know it's a competitive market, but it would help us and them in getting more customers.

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Bryan Turner Portland, OR'

I got it since it was recommended by Kaiser medical. Normally I have it on my wrist, but unless there's an emergency I don't activate it. The response team is very alert though. Whenever I have accidentally activated the device, they have responded immediately. They have responded to every inquiry I had and have been very polite, responsive, and competent. I do think that the device could be better. The velcro that you use to strap the wrist unit gives out in about 3 months and then you need to replace it. It would also be nice if they made the button recede further into the device so that it is harder to push it accidentally.

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Anonymous Portland, OR

My daughter in law got it some two years ago when I was moved to Portland. I was in my 80s then and they got me a condo to live on my own. Because of that, they decided I should have some kind of alert system in case I fell or something. Though, I don't know if I would've picked LifeStation if it had been up to me. One of the problems I have is with the lock that they give you so that the emergency people can come in. You see, there are two doors to get through if you want to get all the way into my condo. The lock thing is already installed for my own door, they did all that while I was gone, but if the emergency people want to get to my door they need to be let in to the condo area first. There's no lock for that. I called them and asked them what would happen if there was an emergency, and they said they would have to ring all the doorbells to be let in. That's no good though, all the people here are elderly and it wouldn't work on an emergency. I'll have to get another lock box for that, but I don't know if there's an extra charge or how that would go. On top of that I also think they take a while before they answer, though I'm not sure if that's how all the medical alert systems are. The necklace also bumps into things very easily and goes off, I don't like that.

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Lois Cragle Dallas, PA

After I fell and broke my ribs, my daughter said that I needed it so she got it for me. I have not had any emergency or reason to use it, but I have set it off a number of times. They were always very courteous and when I tell them I'm sorry and explain the situation they've been very nice about it. I have seen some of my neighbors and people that live in my senior housing area and know that they've used the service already and they always help them out. Customer service has always answered promptly and given me answers to any questions I might have. My only concern is that it's fine here in my apartment but it doesn't cover the area outside of it and a lot of accidents could happen then.

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Linda Barber Tucson, AZ

Before I got the device, I had fallen down in our backyard and couldn't get up. My husband was in the house, and it took me a while to get his attention. After that we decided it would be best to get something like LifeStation. They were really nice when we called them to discuss their offers, the cost, and everything else, so we decided to go with them. We've tested it a few times, but we haven't had the need to use it for an emergency. Still, every time we do testing, they call us to make sure everything is ok. I know they are watching after us and check right away, I appreciate that. We feel more comfortable having it around.

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Philip Barnett Scottsdale, AZ

LifeStation saved my life once. I dislocated my hip in my bathroom, and both my cellphone and land line were out f reach. I couldn't move at all, it was really painful, so I pressed the thing on my wrist and they called me. Even though my television was on, I heard them calling and they were able to hear me too. If I hadn't had that thing, I would literally have died of starvation. I would've been on the bathroom floor for 4-5 days and no one would've been able to hear me. It's a lifesaver. The only problem I ever had with them was after I moved into a different apartment. I had to reset it and I tried to do it over the phone. I called them twice, both times taking 40 minutes without solving the issue. A computer expert came by and he fixed that in 10 seconds. Other than that, it has been a blessing.

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Debra Pensacola, FL

I've had to use it several times. That's how I've gotten EMS to the house for my father. They are pretty efficient when we call and when we need help. Lately it hasn't been quite as efficient as it was when we first started with it but they are pretty good. I like the fact that we can get some help immediately if my dad gets in trouble and he can get some help and I like the fact that there's more than one person that can be contacted if he sets of the alarm.

2 years ago

LifeStation Logo

Reply from LifeStation

Thank you for the review Debra! If you ever feel that the unit/service is not working as effectively as it could, please give us a call so we can try to make any fixes to improve the quality of your service.

Feb. 26th, 2020

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Leona Krum, TX

I like the fact that it is very portable but I don't like the fact that in the short time, I have had three units malfunction. However, customer service has replaced them each time. One time they couldn't hear me so they accidentally called the emergency people before they called my cell to confirm. I think it is a good idea and could be a good product, it just need a but of improvement.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Geraldine

They always answer the phone it seems. It's a little longer than it was when I first ordered it. I would be a lot more at easy if they answered quicker when they are called. The wait time is a little longer than before. I have the full alert for the falls and it's very sensitive. I have set it off a few times because it's more sensitive than the original I had.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Sue Canton, MI

The customer service has always answered my questions when I have them and usually get back to me pretty quickly when I do call. They have been there on several occasions and they've been very helpful and I appreciate them being there. My dad had fallen and I was not home and I got a call from LifeStation saying that he had fallen and I was able to contact my husband he was able to get home and help him so that was appreciated that if he didn't have LifeStation, he would have been laying on the floor for who knows how long until one of us got home.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Shelley Elmira, NY

Every time I have to use LifeStation, they've been very helpful. I like that it works quickly but I don't like that when I'm upstairs, I don't think it's possible for me to talk to them. I'm on a severe insulin because I'm a diabetic and I've had to use it when my blood sugar has gotten so low that I'm passing out, so that works good. I've been upstairs and leaned against the window and started the alarm and I wasn't able to cancel it from upstairs. I wish there was a way to cancel it from the device.

3 years ago

LifeStation Logo

Reply from LifeStation

Thank you for the review and feedback Shelley! If you are worried about being able to talk to us when using the device, we would ask you to make sure that the device is in the center of your home to allow it the greatest chance of being able to reach you anywhere in the house.

Apr. 18th, 2019

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Helen Bondurant, IA

They were very slow to answer. They were thorough in explaining what was involved. I have a previous unit from another company what when I press the buttons, I got a response immediately. This one, I press the button and I get some kind of a buzz thing and I'm pretty sure it's a telephone ringing and then they come online. They're very thorough but if I was in a situation where I needed help, I don't want to wait around for a phone ringing. I don't appreciate that the necklace flops around.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Maurine Aumsville, OR

I got this because of its availability most any place. I like the fact that it can be used most anywhere and not just 600 ft from your house. It's bulky and a little more expensive than other ones. I have accidentally pushed the button 4-5 times and I've always received a quick response. When I told them it was an accident, they weren't angry or upset. They are very kind and the audio is very clear.

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Willie Diboll, TX

The only thing I don't like is when the alert went off yesterday, they did not contact me first. I'm the one that set it all up for my dad and I didn't get an alert, if I did they didn't leave a message. But other than that, if you hit the button they will call that person inside the house. It does have good rates, it's just reasonable rates, I like that.

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Marcella Nador Calabasas, CA

I'm a Kaiser member and they were promoting this service. I felt that, since they were linked to Kaiser, they would have all my information and I wouldn't need to go and pre-set anything, they would take care of that. The portable fall detector is a bit heavy on my neck and the string on it seems to irritate my skin sometimes. Those things could be improved. A couple of times when I tested the button their response time was not as urgent as I would've liked it to be. Maybe it was because it's test mode and it's not really an emergency, but I'd like them to be quicker.

4 years ago

LifeStation Logo

Reply from LifeStation

Thank you for the review Marcella. Our monitoring specialists try to answer every call as fast as they can, but with so many customers and only a set number of specialists, we can never guarantee an immediate response every time. They strive to be as quick and efficient with each customer, but as we do not know whether a button press was intentional or not, we need to take every situation seriously until we hear from the client.

Jun. 5th, 2018

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Joe Caminiti Racine, WI

I picked them because of the cost, the user reviews, and because of the fact that they had a call center located in the United States. Customer service is good and they're very helpful, it just takes a while for someone to pick up when you call them. The button is also a little large, they should make it smaller. Overall it has been a good experience though. We had a competitor's device but that did not work nearly as well as LifeStation.

4 years ago

LifeStation Logo

Reply from LifeStation

Thank you for taking the time to write a review Joe!

Jun. 11th, 2018

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Lisa Solly

What convinced me of getting it were the price and the options available with the device. It seems to cover all the needs my father has. I have had no issues with them. I've probably called once or twice with questions but they always answered those professionally. The only problem that we've had with it was the arm band and the necklace. He hasn't been wearing it for that long but the Velcro on them is very frayed already. It's not really made of the best quality.

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Sabrina Royster, daughter of client. Winlock, WA

It makes me feel better knowing that LifeStation is able to tell if my mother has fallen or she can touch the button if she needs help. I don't like that it goes off when she is just sitting still, and the person still calls her contact people and the ambulance even when she follows instructions to press button if she is okay. That they still call her contacts upsets them for no reason. Has happened a few times in last 4-5 months.

4 years ago

LifeStation Logo

Reply from LifeStation

I am sorry to hear that Sabrina. If the device went off accidentally and your mother was able to say that it was just an accident, the monitoring specialist should not have called the names on her contact list.

May. 31st, 2018

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Brenda Austin Orangeburg, SC

Basically, I needed the service for my father. I think they were the same company that I had gotten for my mom, and since it had been so beneficial I got it for my dad too. Customer support has been helpful, they explained everything to me clearly. I've had no issues with them. During the couple of times that I tested the service I thought that it took a little too long for someone to respond. I would've liked it if the response came on a bit more quickly.

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Roger Rullo Covina, CA

My girlfriend was the one that chose it for me. I mainly got it for her peace of mind, though it also gives me some security knowing that it's there. The button appears to be cheap, but I've accidentally set it off and it seems to work. They respond and react after I push the button, especially if they get no response back from me. Though in my first experience testing the equipment it took them several minutes to respond. Fortunately, I haven't had to use it for an emergency.

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Maria Mendoza Daly City, CA

We were referred to them by Kaiser. They have been very responsive whenever we have a problem or when we do the monthly checks to ensure that the system is working. I haven't really used it outside of that, but it seems to work. The value that you get for the price is great. Since my mom is turning 90 soon and we don't know what or when something will happen, it's really a lifesaver.

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Paul Nixon Fredericksburg, TX

We looked into it some time ago and the price was one of the things that made us settle on it. Service in general was important too so we considered that as well. The only issue I have with the equipment is that the base thing doesn't speak loud enough when it starts saying 'emergency.' I want to have a different one that speaks louder since this one doesn't seem fit enough for that. I've had a lot of false alarms but they always respond promptly. They got that just right.

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Anonymous Santa Rosa, CA

I think Kaiser gave me some information about them and, since I trust them and everything they do is ok by me, I went and checked it out. Customer service is great. I ran into one little problem once, but they were very courteous and helpful with that. My only complaint right now is with the device. I thought that the button would attach right to the wristbands but that just doesn't work. I've actually given up on that and just keep the button in the bathroom by the shower. I have been very fortunate in that I haven't really needed it, but I thought the wristband would be better.

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Anonymous Des Plaines, IL

I can't quite recall why I got it, I just did some research and thought they were reasonably priced. When I called them the operators answered my questions and were good, so I got it. I don't really use it a lot, but whenever I do call them they answer promptly. My device is several years old now, but it has been working fine. I'm happy with it so far.

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Lois Barker Santa Rosa, CA

Kaiser recommended it to me, so I got it. When I first got it a couple of years ago I realized that it didn't work outside of my home. I know to get that it costs more but I don't want to pay them for that. Still, I'm happy with the people that answer whenever I call them. I haven't had to call them for an actual emergency, but they are always nice. They helped me get a couple of replacement parts. I have no complaints about them.

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Anonymous San Jose, CA

A friend of mine who lives in Santa Cruz has it, so I went ahead and ordered it too. I've only had to use it once while I was in my bedroom. The LifeStation main unit is in the kitchen and I just couldn't hear anything they were saying in my bedroom. If I had fallen outside on the porch they same thing would have happened. I've been wondering whether or not I want to keep the thing because of that. I'm not entirely happy with it.

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Jane Huffman Portland, OR

LifeStation was a bit cheaper than the other more popular option out there and they basically gave me the same system. I mean, the other one also had a bit more range and you could take it away from the house too, but my main concern was it being affordable. I've had little interaction with customer service and I really haven't had a reason to use it, but so far it has all been fine.

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Kay Stump Ramona, CA

They were offering a special service, so I decided to go and get it. They don't really respond quickly when I press the button. It takes them a little while to respond, I actually tried to count once how long it took them but I lost track of things. I've actually never used it, it's just there on my bedside if I need it. One time during a very big storm last year the device went cuckoo. I tried to turn it off but it would just go off on its own at 4 o'clock in the morning. It was all a little scary.

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Mickey Moore Los Gatos, CA

I think I was told by Kaiser to get it for myself. I think they actually asked me to have a key outside so that the emergency people could get in, but I don't particularly like that. I just don't feel safe leaving a key outside. I've only really used it once by accident. I happened to hit the button in the middle of the night and set it off. Suddenly there were people screaming in my bedroom and I had to tell them all that it had been an accident so, I guess the response was good. It worked.

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Diane Kahle Kalida, OH

I chose it because it had GPS included. I haven't had any contact with customer service, but the service itself is ok. Though I don't like that the device is kinda heavy. I am kind of anxious since I don't know if it really works. I don't know if it's possible to try it out once a month or so, but it's something that's always in the back of my mind.

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Joan Johnson-Mccloyn West Jordan, UT

Since it gave me the option to leave my home whenever I needed to and there were no hidden fees, I decided to go with it. So far we haven't had to use it thank goodness, but as far as testing goes the answer has been quick. When the contract came in it was in my mother's name, so that meant that it was her ultimate responsibility to pay for the service. I didn't want it that way, since I was the one that was paying for it. I wanted them to change the contract so that my name would be on it, but apparently that's not really possible.

4 years ago