Alert1 Logo

Alert1

check_circleVerified

star star star star_border star_border
104 User Reviews

4.6

Overall Score

cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Dell Reed Meriden, CT

I ordered Alert 1 June of 2016 & paid $60.00 a month. Just now I found out they were that expensive because they were charging me for things I did not want or need. For instance fall protection, GPS, to be used away from home, & I don't know what else. Now I have another unit from them for $30.00 a month. Big difference. They should refund the difference BUT they tell me I used it for those months. Everyone was surprised that I was paying that much while other company's were $30.00 a month. Because of this I would not recommend anyone to use their company. I will use the new unit for now but might cancel them in a few months. Because of this problem I would not recommend them to anyone. They are a no. 1 in my opinion. BAD POOR

4 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Joe Livingston Lincolnshire, IL

Had one of these for my mother. Actually upgraded to the fall detection from older version which did to have fall detection. All the testing was always good. The one time my mother needed the fall detection it did not work. My mother laid on the floor all night until we found her the next day. The EMT took the pendant off and threw it on the bed and it called the control center. It was too late for us. I paid for a service that did not work. Tried cancelling service once mom was gone - no refunds folks - I paid the annual fee and they do not refund. After some discussion and sharing the results of my mother they agree to prorate the fee once they received all the equipment back. Just be careful - if you are using this service for peace of mind - it may not work when you need it most.

4 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Sue Leja Winchester, MA

BEWARD of fine print. HUGE fines if you don't return all the equipment. I returned everything, except the wireless router which was broken via the way they instructed me to in order to avoid the $500 non equipment return clause, something I was never made aware of when I got the service. I sent everything via overnight mail because I only had 3 days to return it before the next 3 months charge hit my credit card. Well, even though I returned EVERYTHING else, I am still being charged the $500 since ALL the equipment wasn't returned. I asked for it to be reduced since I returned everything else, they said NO.

5 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Paul Langner Racine, WI

My parents used Alert 1 and were satisfied with the service. They paid yearly rather than to have to pay every month. When my father died my mother decided to move to assisted living and she cancelled her service. One thing they don't tell you is that they will not refund any of the unused service. This means my mother spent hundreds of dollars for service she never received. This was never mentioned when she signed up and they gave her the bums rush when she requested a refund. Beware of the fine print. I feel they took full advantage of my elderly parents. Who's ever heard of a company keeping 8 months of payments. By the way, they told my mother to return the unit and they would look into a refund. She shipped it back right away and she never heard from them again.

5 years ago

star star star star star

john Williamsport, PA

I got this unit for my mother, now my father is confidant to leave my disabled mother alone in the home. It is great to know that help is a button press away.

7 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Geraldine Stonington, IL

They are always pleasant and helpful. Sometimes it takes them awhile to answer.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Anonymous Davis, WV

Handling of an alert could be more responsive. Retuned item and refund policy needs improvement.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Virginia Cedar Rapids, IA

They saved me from lying on the floor for days without help.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

teresa d'alessandro King Of Prussia, PA

when i press button to even just check in no one comes on right away! it is delayed

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Marlys Packert Sauk Rapids, MN

Very polite, always ask for relevant information and 3 response time.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Anonymous Warminster, PA

Hard to hear them, when I have hit my button. But they are very nice when I do.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Andrew

they have helped my mom several times, bringing either medical help or me.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Martha Tapley

My mother has pushed alert twice recently. I was notified immediately.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Vaughan

Accurate. Responsive to my needs. Very timely when I need them to be.

1 year ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Alice Tanzillo Springdale, WA

If you want to have peace of mind that your loved one is being cared for, DO NOT USE ALERT ONE! Their terms and service are completely oblivious to the fact the their primary clients are seniors, who may not have the sophistication or even mobility to keep to their terms. We returned the equipment after cancelling and insured it for $600. It was received two days late and they sent her a collection notice within a week. She had a complete meltdown. When I called them, they complained to ME about how unreasonable she was on the phone. She's 84!!!!

1 year ago

Alert1 Logo

Reply from Alert1

Hello Alice, we appreciate you taking the time to send this our way. We apologize for any confusion however we are unable to cancel an account out until all the leased equipment has been received. We would be willing to look into the account further for you, could you please provide the Member's name and/or phone number? Thank you, Alert1

Feb. 22nd, 2021

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Lynn DiSarro Laguna Beach, CA

Buyer beware! I do not recommend this company. They have a terrible cancellation policy, and if you are not aware of the date you subscribed to the service, they will automatically charge you, even if it's one day past the renewal date, and do so without your consent. Know your laws in your state laws about cancellation autopay reoccurring charges. There are many medical alert companies out there, this one I would NOT recommend.

1 year ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Doug Wilcox Gainesville, FL

The necklace device did not seat into the charger and charge as it should have, it has a design defect where we had to weigh down the device with a book to get it to make contact with the charger. Unfortunately my father no longer needed the equipment after two years. We send it back a few days after the annual contract was done and now they are demanding the entire next year of the contract, we offered to pay for the time we had the equipment, they denied that and are demanding payment for entire next year. I suggest you go elsewhere than Alert 1.

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

George E Lloyd Ridley Park, PA

I told them I needed a base using my FiOS land line. The box never worked when I got it a month ago. They refuse to refund the quarterly payment because of the service agreement. They broke the defacto contract thus I feel my compliance isn't necessary because they broke the agreement. They insist I return it and when I ask I am told it isn't part of the agreement which they breached making it non existant. They now say they will keep billing until I return the base unit and not return my money.

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Mike Bluffton, SC

I had this service for my ailing father for over two years. On one occasion, the alert was sounded, they could not reach a family member and did not put in a 911 call. My father passed away just two months after the third year renewal , I called to cancel his service and they will not prorate the remaining amount and issue a refund. They told me I could transfer to another person. I told them I did not have anyone else dying.

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

John F Hale Houma, LA

I canceled service to a unit I hade for a friend and they tried to tell me I did not have unit back in time and they billed me for another month. they did not have a current card on me, so they could not get paid. I did not pay. I had a unit for myself, and canceled it also, sent unit back with a tracking number. they sent me an e-mail bill saying that it did not get there in time. Charged me $40.00 + dollars. When I called about bill same day the bill went from $40.00+ to $80.00+. I will not pay. I will be report them to the BBB

4 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Emily West Babylon, NY

Unscrupulous company policy. I wish I had read these reviews 2 months ago. Sales pitch begins with a monthly program at a high rate and a 30 day refund then is moved to discuss savings by taking an annual plan at a reduced rate with no mention of the "lack of refund" policy. Then when the situation changes and the services are no longer required you are out in the cold with not even a prorated refund of any of the prepaid expenses. Unadulterated abuse of elders with an untested product! Company should be banned from senior facilities until policies are modified to protect the consumer!

4 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Thomas A Butler Globe, AZ

I am not happy with the service I got from the Alert 1 company when I returned the unit after 11 months of use. My 95 year old mother could not distinguish the black button to push from the black base. I painted the button with white finger nail polish so she could see it. When I returned the unit, they charged me $500 damage for replacement of a plastic button the size of a dime. Anyone buying this service should be aware, that upon returning the unit, they will find something wrong in order to get another $500 out of you.

4 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Aldona Ruppert La Grange, IL

I cancelled services for my mother-in-law. We had paid a year at a time as a savings. It turned out not to be a savings since the company would not return almost a full year of payment ($323)(August 2016-August 2017. We never saw or were told that this would happen. My family found this very unfair, particularly for a senior service. If we had known we would have paid quarterly.

5 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Marsha Oates Washington, DC

I got this system, the new cellular one, for my sister but she died before the equipment was taken out of the box. I called to cancel the service and to find out about a refund. THERE IS NO REFUND for the $159.00 I paid. I asked to speak to someone in management and was told I was speaking to a supervisor and she assured me the was no recourse. I am completely dissatisfied with this so called "customer service." Be very wary if you deal with Alert 1.

6 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Rita Brady Mechanicsburg, PA

They arrived quickly and were very courteous

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

ron pratali Cicero, IL

5 so far 3 service price keeps going up

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Richard Malverne, NY

Pricing has gotten too high and they added ancillary warranty fees to my subscription without authorization.

1 year ago

Alert1 Logo

Reply from Alert1

Hello Richard, thank you for your review. We would like to review the billing on the account and as to why a warranty was added without your authorization! Could you please provide the account information such as the Member's name and/or phone number?

Feb. 3rd, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Lilia Brown Alamo, TX

not easy to cancel and we have had it for many years. nobody lives in that house anymore 1 reviews do not seem to be accepted

1 year ago

Alert1 Logo

Reply from Alert1

Hello Lilia, thank you for bringing this to our attention. We strive to make everything easy for our members, including when they need to cancel their services. Could you please provide the Member's name and/phone number so that we can look into this further?

Feb. 3rd, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Roberta Mayes Kokomo, IN

Prompt , caring response whenever we need help.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Bonnie Smith Angleton, TX

Have used several times and were very reliable.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

David Shaw Houston, TX

Good response fast call back always available

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Teresa Lappin Chattanooga, TN

Prompt and always send help immediately if needed.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

chris Mentor, OH

They are accurate and always there! Great customer service!

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Tracy Kornrich Rochester, NY

They are efficient and reliable and always plesant

2 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Nancy Berg Fairfax, VA

GREAT RESPONSE WHEN I FELL AND BROKE MY SHOULDER.

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Cathy Banuchi Monroe, NC

Not only was I not offered the best equipment that would work for my mom initially, but during house fire this system was not the best option for it did not help in the safety of my mom, and to cancel the service was the worst experience ever where the assistant Victoria treated me like I had a listening disability which I did not appreciate. !

1 year ago

Alert1 Logo

Reply from Alert1

Hello Cathy, Thank you for taking the time to bring this to our attention. We are very sorry that you did not have a pleasant experience with Alert1 and hope that you were able to receive the instructions needed in order to cancel out the account. If you have not, please let us know and we can send them via email for you. The call has been reviewed and we greatly apologize for how the call was handled and will be providing the necessary re-training to handle future calls. Again we are very sorry for that experience but hope that you are able to have a good rest of your day and stay safe.

Jul. 1st, 2020

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Michael Williams Indianapolis, IN

This company is expensive and when we needed then the most, they weren't there! Waited over 5 minutes to get an answer. Finally aborted and called 911. We paid by the year. When I asked for my money back, they said no....... THESE PEOPLE ARE CROOKS. Use anybody but these hacks!!

2 years ago

Alert1 Logo

Reply from Alert1

Hello Michael, We apologize that the button did not work as you had hoped. We are sorry that our Technical Support could not assist you any further but once we receive the leased equipment we will be happy to cancel out the account. If you have any further questions please do not hesitate to give us a call at 1-800-693-5433 Option 2. Best, Alert1

Mar. 31st, 2020

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Patricia Gray Greenlawn, NY

DO NOT use this company. The service itself if fine but when you go to cancel they will try and charge you over $500 for so called "damaged equipment" the device we returned was in 100% working order when we returned it and it was a refurbished one anyway because we had to replace one a few months before canceling the service. BUYER BEWARE

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Jacqueline Blodgett Milwaukee, WI

Emergency equipment is useless. My friend fell and pushed the button - I arrived 45 minutes later and call still was unanswered. She had to crawl to the phone and in the process made matters worse - dislocating the ball of her hip. Canceled service immediately and they still charged my credit card.

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

RUBY MULL Derby, KS

Price goes up every year. Just paid for a year two months ago. My mother passed. We have had the service 4 years and never used it. When we did the monthly test, it took almost 2 min. to get a response. They will not refund the 10 months left of the year's payment I made. I would lean toward another company if you are needing this service.

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Roger Indianola, IA

Make sure you READ all the terms of your agreement and especially their terms of CANCELLATION OF SERVICE. I suggest you look around as I have the same complaint as many others. NO REFUNDS AFTER 30 days if they have your bank check number.

4 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Diane P Henderson, NV

This company is the worst. We sign up for an annual and when my Mom had to be transferred into an assisting living after a month of having the service they did not want to refund us any monies. They claim that they have over 200000 subscribers and you​ will not refund our funds. Reporting to the BBB

4 years ago

star star star star star

Betty Brundidge, AL

Awesome. Could not reach my daughter, so they called emergency services. Just what I needed them to do.

4 years ago

star star star star star

RJV

They are great and always respond with professionalism and courtesy. Very happy with the product and the service.

5 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Kurt Lucas Olney, MD

Alert has a very dependable product. It gives me the comfort level I was looking. for. Peace of mind.

11 months ago

star star star star star

Renee Wolfe Redding, CA

Staff is extremely helpful, courteous and professional. Alert1 is truly a life saver.

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Anonymous Hawley, PA

1 customer service; not 4 communication with accts

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Ariel Quintana San Clemente, CA

The bracelet did not work in an emergency..This is a warning to check it everytime you put it on.

1 year ago

Alert1 Logo

Reply from Alert1

Hello Ariel, thank you for taking the time to send us your review. We are sorry to hear that the button is not working for you. We would like to have one of our Technical Specialists reach out to you and assist in troubleshooting or replacing the wristband. Could you please send us the account information such as the members account and/or phone number?

Aug. 7th, 2020

star star star star star

Joseph Laskus Yadkinville, NC

Updated, I will give their customer service department an "A" for response.

4 years ago

star star star star star_border

Connie Siese Westland, MI

I like their pricing, the button is a bit smaller so more comfortable, service is great

5 years ago