error This company may not service all states.

Choice Home Warranty offers comprehensive protection against the high cost of repairs and replacements of major systems and appliances. The home warranty company strives to offer excellent service technicians, fast and simple solutions for its customers, and value for homeowners' money by reducing out-of-pocket expenses. The home warranty service provider appears to be delivering well on its goal of customer satisfaction, as is evidenced by a large number of positive Choice Home Warranty reviews below. Choice Home Warranty has been in business since 2008 and is one of America's fastest-growing companies, headquartered in Edison, New Jersey.

The Good

  • Choice Home Warranty Cost
  • First Month Free
  • Customer Service Open 24/7
  • No Home Inspection Required
  • Knowledgeable, Dedicated Team
  • Real Estate Agent Packages
  • Transferable Service Contract
  • Helpful Website
  • Extensive Coverage

Choice Home Warranty Cost

Choice Home Warranty has an affordable policy that starts at $495 per year or $43.75 per month. The monthly cost is more expensive because Choice Home Warranty charges a $30 surcharge if you opt for a monthly payment rather than a single annual payment.

Choice Home Warranty's average service fee is competitively priced at $60. 

First Month Free

Choice Home Warranty offers the first month of service free with the purchase of any of its single-payment and one-year warranty plans. The company also runs frequent promotions that allow homeowners to win new kitchen appliances when they apply for a quote. 

Customer Service Open 24/7

Choice Home Warranty provides top-notch customer service by allowing its customers to submit claims either online or by calling a toll-free phone number. The home warranty company's call center is available 24 hours a day, 365 days a year, giving customers peace of mind and the ability to submit service requests and receive assistance around the clock. The company website also has a simple contact form that is easy to fill out and is sent to them immediately. 

No Home Inspection Required

Unlike some home warranty companies, Choice Home Warranty does not require customers to have their home inspected in order to obtain a contract, which enables a more seamless transaction process for those signing up for warranty plans. This also allows customers to save money right off the bat by avoiding the cost of a home inspection.

Knowledgeable, Dedicated Team

With many home warranty companies, the claims process is not very personable, and service requests are assigned to a clerk in a large department. However, customers who choose to purchase a Choice Home Warranty will work with a knowledgeable, dedicated team of two or three representatives that will service their covered home repair needs quickly and efficiently.

In addition to being thoroughly involved in the claim, Choice Home Warranty has representatives that are available to answer any questions that may arise. And anytime delays take place, Choice Home Warranty requires their technicians to immediately provide the customer with an estimated completion date, so the customer is never left out of the loop wondering when the warranty service will be completed. 

Real Estate Agent Packages

Choice Home Warranty offers a number of plans and packages specifically geared towards real estate agents. Because home warranties provide a valuable safeguard on the home's covered major systems and appliances, both buyers and sellers will receive peace of mind.

Additionally, including a home warranty with the purchase of a house provides a competitive edge that makes buying and selling homes more enjoyable. Choice Home Warranty also understands the addition of home warranty service has the opportunity to help close a deal, which ultimately has the opportunity to make the seller and the buyer more pleased with the settlement. 

Transferable Service Contract

With Choice Home Warranty, coverage begins 30 days after enrollment and continues for 365 days from the start date. However, if a customer can provide proof of prior coverage through another warranty provider showing no lapse of warranty coverage, Choice Home Warranty will start new coverage as soon as the old warranty contract policy ends.

Any warranty contract can be renewed each year and is 100 percent transferable.

Helpful Website

Choice Home Warranty has a very helpful website that makes it easy to navigate the ins and outs of the company and what they have to offer. The service provider has sections on its website to separate potential customer types, such as homeowners, buyers and sellers, real estate pros, and contractors, making it easy for customers to know where to find the information that applies to them specifically.

The website also includes an extensive blog that is consistently updated with information regarding home warranties and related topics. In addition, Choice Home Warranty has a FAQ page that answers common questions, making it easier for customers to find answers without having to dig for them. 

Extensive Coverage

Choice Home Warranty offers extensive coverage similar to other top companies in the home warranty industry. Choice Home Warranty offers two coverage packages: the Basic Plan and the Total Plan. The Basic Warranty Plan includes basic home appliances, such as a water heater, a garage door opener, and a built-in dishwasher. The Total Warranty Plan includes all of the appliances in the Basic Plan, as well as more major appliances and systems, such as an air conditioner and a refrigerator.

The complete list of the offered warranty policies and items covered by each package, as well as optional coverage add-ons, are as follows:

Basic Plan: $495 per Year or $43.75 per Month

  • Heating system
  • Whirlpool bathtub
  • Garage door opener
  • Electrical system
  • Dishwasher
  • Ceiling fans and exhaust fans
  • Plumbing system
  • Built-in Microwave
  • Cooktop
  • Plumbing stoppage
  • Garbage disposal
  • Oven/range
  • Water heater
  • Ductwork
  • Stove

Total Plan: $600 per Year or $52.50 per Month

  • Air conditioning system
  • Refrigerator
  • Clothes washer/dryer
  • Heating system
  • Whirlpool bathtub
  • Garage door opener
  • Electrical system
  • Dishwasher
  • Ceiling fan and exhaust fan
  • Plumbing system
  • Built-in Microwave
  • Cooktop
  • Plumbing stoppage
  • Garbage disposal
  • Oven/range
  • Water heater
  • Ductwork
  • Stove

Optional Coverage: Cost per Year

  • Pool/spa: $180
  • Stand alone freezer: $40
  • Septic tank pumping: $65
  • Sump pump: $40
  • Limited roof leak: $70
  • Second refrigerator: $40
  • Septic system: $120
 
  • Additional spa: $180
  • Central vacuum: $40
  • Well pump: $100
 

 

See if you qualify

The Bad

  • Claim Denial Cases

Claim Denial Cases

Potential customers who have old appliances should note that they may be disappointed on warranty coverage for such items in the future. Covered Choice Warranty claims do not include damage resulting from known or unknown pre-existing conditions, misuse, abuse, or failure to clean and maintain covered systems and appliances.

However, similar to most warranty coverage, Choice Home Warranty's packages will cover the repair or replacement of appliances affected by normal wear and tear. Customers should carefully read the fine print and determine which of their current appliances will be eligible for coverage in the future. 

The Bottom Line

Choice Home Warranty is a respected organization with a solid track record. Its warranty policy and service fee are competitively priced compared to other top-rated home warranty companies.

Choice Home Warranty offers multiple package options that each provide extensive coverage, and its knowledgeable and dedicated customer service team is available around the clock to assist with claims and to answer questions.

It is easy to see why the company has received largely positive home warranty reviews. Because the first month is free and no home inspection is required, it's incredibly easy to purchase a Choice Home Warranty and start protecting yourself against the high cost of any unexpected repair or replacement of major appliances and systems.

With affordable monthly prices and a cheaper trade service fee than most, Choice Home Warranty is definitely a solid choice for your home warranty needs.

Check out Choice Home Warranty reviews below to see what real customers have to say about the home warranty provider. Current customer reviews note that warranty claims are resolved in a timely manner, technician service is exceptional, warranty policies are listed at affordable prices, and the customer service department is helpful and courteous. 

We'll Introduce You!

Call our recommended rep over at Choice Home Warranty below.

1-(855) 416-4247

Why Can I Trust Bestcompany.com arrow_drop_down

User Reviews

Star Rating

3.8
starstarstarstar_halfstar_border

9,248 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 star
53%
4 star
13%
3 star
7%
2 star
5%
1 star
21%

Sentiment Criteria

Value for your money
starstarstarstar_halfstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstar_halfstar_border
Customer service
starstarstarstar_halfstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstar_halfstar_border
search cancel
starstarstarstarstar

James Bortz

June 30th, 2018 Pittsboro, NC DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

Contacted by vender w/i 24 hours. Took the time to discuss the issue and get model number to ensure proper parts on hand. Showed up on time and resolved the issue quickly. Excellent first experience with Choice.

starstarstarstarstar

Mrs Davis

June 29th, 2018 Charlotte, NC DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

My air went out and CHW worked diligently to get a tech out in a timely manner...Thanks !....overall those involved was [email protected]

starstarstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

Al Morton

June 29th, 2018 Sun City, AZ DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstarstarstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstarstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

Om 6/25/18 I called Choice about my refer making a bad sound. They had the first tech here the first day. He said that the refer needed a ac person because it had a small leak and he could not fix it. So choice transferred the call to another company. Two days later they finally showed up and said the coil had to be replaced. They called Choice to get approval but were denied. In the mean time I have between $250 and $300 dollars of frozen food in a Large cooler defrosting. At this time I still have no idea when the refer will be fixed.

starstarstarstarstar_border

Tamika Evans

June 29th, 2018 Riverdale, GA

I just got my policy but the people here are very helpful and are willing to answer any questions you may have. Im sure if I need them they will be there for any repairs needed in my home.

starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

Judith Insinga

June 29th, 2018 Bellmore, NY DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

I had a claim on my refrigerator (leaking) going on 3 months...not resolved...part on backorder....repairman says nothing he can do??? I am going to cancel this contract unless I get a new refrigerator!

starstarstarstar_borderstar_border

John Deamos

June 29th, 2018 Georgetown, TX DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar_border
Customer service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

Signed up yesterday (6/28/18) and asked for a detailed email of your charges. You charged my credit card but no billing copy yet.

Choice Home Warranty Logo

Reply from Choice Home Warranty

Jul 08, 2019

We thank you for your feedback, a representative from our Consumer Advocate Department will contact you shortly in regards of your concerns. Regards, Choice Home Warranty

starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

Monique B

June 29th, 2018 Owings Mills, MD DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

The communication is very poor. I never know what is going on with my claim. I’m still waiting for my stove to be fixed. Terrible company very unhappy customer

starstarstarstarstar

John M Thomas

June 28th, 2018 Rayville, LA

The person I talked with was professional and very helpful.

starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

Reynold Vareed

June 28th, 2018 Salisbury, NC DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

Couldn’t get anyone on the weekend when it was boiling hot inside the house because a/c broke. Why pay 700/yr for this kind of customer service when they are not there when needed. I could have found someone to fix the a/c myself or tried to fix it myself instead of waiting until a weekday. This company is a CROOK

starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

Robert Falkowski

June 28th, 2018 Spring Hill, FL DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstarstarstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

I would probably not bother wasting time and money on this company. The salesperson will tout no inspection necessary. Will tell you if the home or units are not new, that that is exactly the reason to obtain The Choice Home warranty, “as nothing lasts forever” But should the need arise they will use the exact reason why you purchased the warranty to deny you claim. Not worth cost frustration and anger you will experience

starstarstarstar_borderstar_border

Leonard Sossamon

June 28th, 2018 Concord, NC DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

Heretofore, I would have ranked you a 5 star. But with my current claim, it seems unreal that it may take up to 8 weeks to replace my HVAC's condensing unit.

Choice Home Warranty Logo

Reply from Choice Home Warranty

Jul 24, 2019

We strive to provide the best customer experience therefore, we regret to hear that you had a less than satisfactory experience with efforts to uphold our highest level of customer satisfaction a representative from our Consumer Advocate Department will contact you shortly to address your concerns. Regards, Choice Home Warranty

starstarstarstarstar_border

jackie

June 28th, 2018 Duncanville, TX DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar_border
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar_border

so far I can not complain about the service that I have received. Service fee is appropriate for each claim. Customer service was helpful in my getting the service started.

starstarstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

SJP

June 28th, 2018 Scottsdale, AZ DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstarstarstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstarstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstar_borderstar_border

Many times I have been on hold for over 15 minutes before speaking with a Choice representative. Not happy with weekend claim responses.......we need to wait 48 hours or more before we hear back :(....and customer service is closed. Often need to speak with the actual company that will be coming to house....to make sure they know why they are coming.....an have right tools/ equipment i.e......certain size ladder....for this has NOT been explained before they too the job.

starstarstarstarstar

Lashonda Byrd

June 28th, 2018 Green Cove Springs, FL

The representative VINCE M. was very professional and straight to the point. I will give him a five star as well!!!!

starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

Lisa Guerra

June 27th, 2018 Phoenix, AZ DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

I wish I could give this company less than a rating of zero. If you need a home warranty, keep looking and don't pick Choice. I am an honest person who bought this home warranty as an extra level of added protection. I had been with Choice for 4 year and had no claims. Recently, I had two minor issues. Dealing with Choice to help with the issues was near impossible. I hope no one else has to deal with this too. This company will use EVERYTHING to get out of paying your claim.

starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

Dr. Adam C. Wright

June 27th, 2018 Houston, TX DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

Horrible company who could care less about its customers. Shady, shady business practices. Deny every claim even AFTER it’s been meticulously explained to the rep at the time it’s posted. Rude and adversarial to customers when confronted about such practices. All these “positive reviews “ online are clearly fraud. BEWARE!! Can not wait until my contract with them expires next spring. WORTHLESS POLICY....

starstarstarstarstar

Alice Serey

June 27th, 2018 Port Saint Lucie, FL DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

The plumber was very thorough and explained everything he did. Even solved a problem easily that two others couldn't.

starstarstarstar_borderstar_border

JUDY CAMPBELL

June 27th, 2018 Taylors, SC DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstarstarstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

we have used them a couple of times, and the repairs were done. I just do not like the fact you do not cover a lot of things that can go wrong in a home. for example a pre existing problem. That should be included.

starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

James Nemecek

June 27th, 2018 Mechanicsville, VA DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstarstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

CHOICE HOME WARRANTY ***** BUYER BEWARE ***** I am a retired senior citizen that was fooled into purchasing a CHOICE Home Warranty program by a smooth talking sales representative named David M. He convinced me that my major home systems and appliances would be repaired/replaced, even though my residence and some covered items were 15+ years old, by going through each covered item and explaining the inclusions/exclusions. What he failed to review were the nineteen(19) “Limitations of Liability” that would be unfairly leveraged to deny the replacement of my malfunctioning HVAC system. When my HVAC system failed, I submitted a claim and a service technician from A1 Services Company was dispatched to assess the issue. After spending approximately fifteen(15) minutes on-site, he advised that my freon level was low and asked if I wanted it charged. I requested that he get approval from CHOICE Home Warranty before taking any action, so he got in his truck, made a phone call and then left. I contacted the CHOICE Home Warranty claim service center repeatedly over the next four(4) hot summer days before receiving the claim denial response. In their technician’s opinion, my HVAC could not be repaired do to rust/corrosion that was an exclusion under the Limits of Liability as mentioned above. I engaged a HVAC service (at my expense) to perform an assessment and their conclusion was the failure was from normal wear, use and age. I submitted multiple appeals to CHOICE Home Warranty, which included the independent assessment, annual maintenance records and pictures to definitively show that there was no rust/corrosion on the components referenced in the claim denial, all of which were denied. And now the real eye opener, another area that Mr. Martin failed to explain, my only recourse was to pay $200 and file for arbitration, that limited my potential recovery to $1,500 under the terms of the agreement. It was quite demoralizing when I realized that the “best case” scenario was to net $1,300 to offset my $7000 HVAC replacement cost required after being without air conditioning during the battle with CHOICE Home Warranty for twenty-one(21) hot summer days. I have filed complaints with the Federal Trade Commission, Better Business Bureau and the state agency governing this type of service in Virginia and will wait to see what, if any, action is taken against CHOICE Home Warranty. I admit that I was suckered into this situation. I read the agreement, but had to engage an attorney to fully realize the layers of limitations and how the exclusions could be generically leveraged by CHOICE Home Warranty, so I am posting this review to provide awareness about the program and hopefully spare everyone else this painful experience. CHOICE Home Warranty markets a program that allows them to deny any claim, knowing that the consumer’s only option is to file arbitration which maximizes any potential recovery to $1,300, you draw your own conclusion. That is there business model, so it must be legal, right, don’t find out, please avoid engaging CHOICE Home Warranty!!!!!

starstarstarstar_borderstar_border

Robert Hesser

June 27th, 2018 Broomfield, CO

Customer service rep. Was informative but to pushy trying to upsell me on something I am trying for the first time. Very aggressive and a bit rude when I wouldn’t sign up for 3 year program.

Choice Home Warranty Logo

Reply from Choice Home Warranty

Mar 31, 2020

Choice Home Warranty makes every effort to enhance the sales experience, therefore, we appreciate your feedback. We have shared your feedback and concerns to the Director of Sales.

starstarstarstarstar_border

Beverly Pope

June 27th, 2018 Jacksonville, FL

The servicing company was dispatched in a timely manner to rectify my issue. The only problem was the lapse time waiting for approval on the parts.

starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

Ramesh Kamath

June 26th, 2018 Katy, TX DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

I signed up less that 3 months ago and it has been nothing but disappointing. 1. Upstairs AC unit took 3 visits over a few weeks from 2 different companies to fix a 'low freon' issue each time requiring us to stay away from work and the last contractor coming a couple of hours after the appointment window - at least he fixed the problem. 2. I requested CHW to authorize my own technician to repair our pool pump at a cost of $607.97. They authorized it and confirmed that they will reimburse me at their rates. They never mentioned during any of our 5 phone/online conversations that their rate would pay me only $235 out of the $607.97. 3. As mentioned in my other review, the standard contract covers only 2 AC units and adding coverage for a 3rd unit is not straightforward and includes having to deal with rude salespeople. 4. Following up on existing requests is not easy either. Wait times on phone calls were at least 30 minutes and sometimes over an hour. 5. They offer an online option to open or follow up on requests. However, the responses to requests often leave you to wonder whether they've read your request at all and frequently their response appears to be a straight 'copy and paste' from their customer service manual!

starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

Mike K

June 26th, 2018 Collierville, TN DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstarstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

Charged me for visit that didn't result in stovetop being fixed through C&C Appliance in Memphis TN (avoid, slob). C&C technician took a week to come out, replaced a part after another week, then stated he would come back in a week, then didn't return 5-6 phone calls for another 2 weeks. When I called Choice Home Warranty, it stated 'oh, it's been 30 days since you initiated your call, why are you upset that we will charge you again for someone else coming out?' To which I replied - 'because you didn't fix the original problem.' Poor customer service, poor practice with 30 days window to fix things when technicians appear to purposely not want to do so in 30 days when it's complicated. Rewarding poor customer service by C&C Appliances by allowing this to happen, it's pseudocommunism. Don't reward Home Choice Warranty with your money for such a scheme.

starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

Michael O'Bryan

June 26th, 2018 Edwards, IL DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

The system is flawed. I had scheduled repair then no one showed up. Called company and they said they refused the order. Warranty company never notified us. Had to wait 4 more days for A/C to be fixed. Had to wait 50 minutes to talk to someone about existing claim.

starstarstarstar_borderstar_border

Dennis Biega

June 26th, 2018 Freedom, PA DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstarstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstarstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

We have a dryer that’s not working the timer is not working the service man had to wait for your people to approve it it’s been almost a week since the service man was here why this not his fault it’s yours

starstarstarstarstar

Virendra Desai

June 26th, 2018 Schaumburg, IL DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

I have been a member of Choice, I have issues in disposal, and was taken care in a short time, Excellent job done by your assigned service people. We are happy and recommend our Friends!

starstarstarstarstar

Karen

June 26th, 2018 Las Vegas, NV DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

It’s summer in Las Vegas. Temperatures over 100...and the air conditioner stops working. Of course, it’s the busiest time of the year for all air conditioning companies and there is usually a long, hot, torturous wait to fix the issue. But not with Choice. By the time I went online to report it (on a Sunday) to the time it was completely repaired...one day! So grateful for the ease of putting in the claim to the priority it received to get done. I am one very happy customer.

starstarstarstarstar

Rose Mary Bernabe

June 25th, 2018 Hutto, TX DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar_border
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

My dryer was making a noise and my washer also made noise and he check both and fix the issue and also was respectful didn’t rush he made sure the job got done right he took the time to listen to my issue . Thank u for having someone come to fix my washer and dryer right a way

starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

Beverly

June 25th, 2018 Houston, TX DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

My my experience with choice home warranty terrible . just want to take your money. I would not recommend no one to this company ..

starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

Alesia D Choice

June 25th, 2018 Antioch, TN DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

Instead of $60. it end up costing me $340. to use my plan, I was treated very dishonestly and unfair because I keep all my service receipts for what I was told I didn't do in preventative maintenence. But because they were looking for default, no one was interested in seeing them or speaking to me further 😔 scared to call again but sadly my plan was paid up front for the year.

starstarstarstarstar

Kathy

June 24th, 2018 North Las Vegas, NV DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

Fabulous price for three-year warranty. Quick response for washing machine issue.

starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

Nancy Jimenez

June 23rd, 2018 Rio Rancho, NM DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

I placed a claim with this company for a stand alone freezer on June 14,2018. The freezer needed to be replaced so they sent me a notification they would mail a check for less than half of what it is going to cost to replace it. I wasn't happy with their service so I decided to call today and cancel my warranty and go back to First American. I was told the check would not be issued if I cancelled so I am going to have to pay for another month to receive what I already paid for. Horrible company!!!!!

Choice Home Warranty Logo

Reply from Choice Home Warranty

Aug 26, 2019

Choice Home Warranty provides home warranty service coverage on the systems and appliances listed as ‘INCLUDED’ under the terms of the User Agreement sent to you at purchase. It may also be found on

starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

michael steets

June 23rd, 2018 West Palm Beach, FL

The salesman on the phone told me that if something can't be fixed it will be replaced. Not some dollar amount given to me but a full replacement of the item. Then when I read the contract it said that Choice Home Warranty has the option to give me cash instead and that amount can be what it would cost them after their discount. He lied to me and I need a better answe or I will cancel.

starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

Zeb Whatley

June 23rd, 2018 Collierville, TN DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

We are new to choice home warranty. We bought a house in a new city. Upon moving into the house we noted the upstairs was not cooling. The thermostat is consistently 75-77 degrees despite being set to 69 degrees. We notified choice who sent their appliance company. We were told the AC units were just dirty and needed to be cleaned. We paid to have them cleaned. The AC is still not cooling. They came back and just said the units were old. We paid twice for choice to send someone out and neither time was the problem fixed. The temperatures remain 77 degrees. This is not acceptable. Our next problem pertains to a leak that was found. We noticed a leak coming down the wall in a downstairs bedroom. The leak was noted under a bathroom. We notified choice. A plumber was sent to the house. He said there was no leak. After he left we filled the tub with water and again a massive leak was noted. Again choice sent another plumber out. The plumber had to cut out dry wall to located the leak which was obvious. There was a large hold in a pipe. My wife was here when the plumber was working. After cutting holes in the dry wall and making a significant mess, the plumber told my wife he did not clean up and it was the customers responsibility to clean up the mess. This is the most absurd thing I have ever heard and quite offensive. At this point we are unsure what we are paying for because choice warranty has not been helpful. The most frustrating part of the experience is the lack of assistance provided by choice. We are constantly experiencing prolonged wait times on the phone for the problems that have not been fixed despite multiple appliance technicians coming to evaluate the problems. The leak and air conditioner problems have yet to be corrected.

starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

Sharon Hequembourg

June 23rd, 2018 Ballwin, MO DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

I am in the middle of my second claim with CHW. I will NOT be renewing my contract. It has not given me the peace of mind I paid for. The first repair (11 year old stove) was denied, and they wanted to give me $350 for the COST? of replacement (stove cost $2,000 when it was purchased). I am waiting for them to approve a simple washing machine repair (4 yr old machine.) They deny receiving paperwork from technician, even tho technician sent it 2 days ago. Horrible!

starstarstarstarstar_border

Joan V;erdery

June 23rd, 2018 Winter Springs, FL DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar_border

I have been satisfied with the exception of the repair on the garbage disposal Someone called me from Prada and never called back to make an appointment. I had to contact a private repair facility to get this repair completed. For other services, Choice has been very responsive to my needs and repairs have been taken care of promptly and efficiently. I am now awaiting your decision regarding our Amana refrigerator. I do feel "peace of mind" by having this home warranty.

starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

Naeem

June 23rd, 2018 Waldorf, MD DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstarstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstarstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

I have no idea why you would send me a review and my air conditioning is still not working. My air conditioner broke almost 2 weeks ago. My house temperature is around 85 degrees. I had to go buy multiple window and try to cool down my house. I am getting reimbursed for anything. There have been numerous no shows and 30 min wait phone calls to get through. I am not happy.

starstarstarstar_borderstar_border

leslie chester

June 23rd, 2018 Jupiter, FL DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstarstarstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstarstarstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstar_borderstar_border

So far I have two issues one the length of time it takes to get through you need the service where you lea ve your callback no so someone can get back to you whithout waiting on hold. As far as repair service needed my w/d fixed. First guys were a DISASTER, HOWEVER YOU REDEEMED YOURSELF guy no 2 he was excellent was extrmly pleased with his his service

starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

Sharon

June 23rd, 2018 Coldspring, TX DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

Nothing is covered once a technician comes out. A waste of money. Customer service employees are rude. Waiting on hole is ridiculous. I purchased 2 policies. Technician write up claims and CHW doesn't cover product if maintenance has been kept up. Don't waste your money .

starstarstarstarstar

Jim Blackburn

June 23rd, 2018 Statesboro, GA DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

They’ took care of our problem we were having with our hot water heater in a very professionally manner

starstarstarstar_borderstar_border

Robert Kennedy

June 22nd, 2018 Ruskin, FL

I really can't provide an accurate review at this time. I looked online for a quote, and as soon as I put in my phone number, I received a call. I don't really like that kind of tactic. I was given what seems to be a good plan at reasonable rates. I won't actually know until I have a claim. If I get what I paid for, I will be happy. The rates are lower than Sears home warranty service. We will see.

starstarstarstarstar

Nick Thomas

June 22nd, 2018 Las Vegas, NV DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

Fast response, great technical support, positive resolution

starstarstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

DARLENE BICE

June 22nd, 2018 DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstarstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstarstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstarstarstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstarstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

I have had this plan for 3 yrs. Each of the 3 times I've used it, it's been a hassle. I live in a rural area and there are no techs from CHW that will come so I have to get my own then go thru the reimbursement option. CHW normal payments are only about 25% of the actual cost. I spend hours on the phone trying to get actual repair costs. Probably will not renew my contract again.

starstarstarstarstar

Gerald Pereira

June 22nd, 2018 Las Vegas, NV DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

Every time I've had a claim, Choice Home Warranty has responded quickly by assigning a company to come and repair situation same day I reported claim. Never had any problem with them. I recommend Choice Home Warranty.

starstarstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

Alok Gupta

June 22nd, 2018 Marlboro, NJ DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstarstarstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstar_borderstar_border

I reported an issue with my a/c last Sunday. A technician was send Monday. however repair authorization is taking forever. My house I without a/c. There are too many exclusions having me think twice and recommending the service. I like some small things like have first service call free. Also not sure if you staff is listening to customer feedback, which can save CHW in costs from vendors, who are inflating costs.

starstarstarstarstar

Randy Reddell

June 22nd, 2018 Abilene, TX DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

The company you sent out to replace our garage door opener was very prompt and courteous. we had a good experience and like using Choice warranty as our warrany company.

starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

Mick

June 21st, 2018 Little Elm, TX DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

They don't pay any claims. They don't answer emails or responses in claims until you call and talk to them on the phone. They put you on hold for at least 30 minutes before answering their claim lines. Their sales line is available any time of the day with no home times.

history
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

Beverly A Bell

June 21st, 2018 Denver, CO

I called to ask questions about a home warranty and a representative by the name of Jack answered the phone and I was questioning plumbing coverage. He advised me that plumbing was not covered and asked would I be interested in appliance coverage and I told him no and before I could say anything else he hung up on me. I called back to make a complaint with a supervisor and was transferred to a recording. Not a very good customer service staff!

starstarstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

Muriel Silva

June 21st, 2018 Philadelphia, PA DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstarstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstarstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstarstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstarstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

It has been easy to file a claim and scheduling an appointment with the contractor. However, every service has had some hiccup which resulted in either the service isn't covered or most recently, the repair parts backordered for over a month. The CHOICE service rep has explained that there is noting they can do about it but the "super" customer rep has forwarded a check for the "cost of the repair" usually $200 or so. In the most recent, I have been told that I can use this amount towards the replacement of my washer since I already received a service call, This resolution seems contrary to the overall purpose of having this coverage and I am considering for the 4th time of cancelling my contract.

starstarstarstar_borderstar_border

jerome Keyzer-Andre

June 21st, 2018 Anoka, MN

Your sales force's hyperaggressive approach is not reassuring. I expect that of the dodgier sort of outfit. I will be asking the BBB about you. There has been some difference between prices quoted on Sunday the 17th and subsequently. This, again, is challenging to one's peace of mind. The "$100 off" figure is more than the annual rate I first heard.