Northstar Alarm Logo

Northstar Alarm

check_circleVerified

star star star star_half star_border
142 User Reviews

5.6

Overall Score

LAST UPDATED: August 3rd, 2022

Northstar Alarm is a home security and automation company with over 60,000 customers in more than 20 states. The company offers five monthly monitoring packages to choose from, but does not publicly disclose pricing information on its website. Northstar provides its customers with 24/7 professional monitoring and a lifetime warranty on equipment from Honeywell. Northstar Alarm is an upstanding member of both the National Fire Protection Association and the National Burglar and Fire Alarm Association.

Top Ranked Companies

thumb_up

The Good

  • 24/7 Professional Monitoring & Lifetime Equipment Warranty
  • No Landline Phone Connection Required
  • Free Mobile App Remote Access

24/7 Professional Monitoring & Lifetime Equipment Warranty

Northstar Alarm offers five home security system packages that feature home automation, energy management, and video surveillance services. Depending on the package, a Northstar technician will also equip the house with motion sensor and doorbell camera technology. The wireless cellular communication systems feature 24/7 professional monitoring and each installation is protected by a lifetime service protection warranty on the equipment.

No Landline Phone Connection Required

No landline phone connection is required for a Northstar Alarm security system.

Free Mobile App Remote Access

The control panel features two-way voice technology so customers can communicate in real-time with dispatchers in the case of an emergency. The Northstar alarm system provides Rapid Response Monitoring which allows them to dispatch help from emergency service providers within seconds an alarm signal is received. Customers receive remote access control of all included features (including door lock) through a Total Connect mobile app from Honeywell that can be used on any device. Customers are able to control home lighting, temperature, and even small appliances from the app. The surveillance technology provides live video access in the home anytime from anywhere. Customers can record and playback video footage anytime as well.

thumb_down

The Bad

  • 5 Year Contract
  • No Pricing Disclosure
  • Numerous Consumer Complaints
  • Automatic Contract Renewal

5 Year Contract

Each homeowner is required to sign a 60 month contract to access the Northstar alarm service.

No Pricing Disclosure

The company does not publicly disclose pricing information, including monthly fees, for its home security plans on its corporate website. Customers will need to contact a Northstar employee for specific pricing details. Even though equipment repairs are free of charge under the lifetime warranty, customers are responsible for a minimum $35 trip charge per home visit. 

Numerous Consumer Complaints

Per our Northstar Alarm reviews, many complaints involved alleged miscommunication from Northstar Alarm sales personnel to customers about contract lengths and monthly pricing on its home security plans. Customers also had problems with faulty equipment and trouble canceling service accounts. 

Automatic Contract Renewal

Each Northstar security system's contract renews automatically, unless the customer provides written notice of cancellation at least 60 days prior to the end of the initial or renewal contract term.

View Best Home Security Companies

gavel

The Bottom Line

Northstar Alarm offers several choices for home security solutions that feature 24/7 professional monitoring and lifetime equipment service protection; however, the company requires customers to be locked into a contract for five years and is not transparent upfront regarding pricing. The company also has received numerous complaints regarding its customer service.

View Best Home Security Companies

Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

Star Rating

3.5

star star star star_half star_border

142 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

60%

4 grade

3%

3 grade

1%

2 grade

0%

1 grade

36%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star star_half star_border

Quality

star star star star_half star_border

Service

star star star star_half star_border

Trustworthiness

star star star star_half star_border
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Beatriz Martinez Baytown, TX

I tried to cancel after they convinced my husband to upgrade apparently we were going to get better quality and service. Im having connectivity issue, the quality is horrible. I called to cancel the same day the installed they said i had to pay $1800 after speaking to a supervisor who was very rude. He said they could send a technician told him i was unsatisfied I wasn’t given what i was promised I shouldn’t have to pay for something i was promised and not given. Quality is horrible nothing compared to Vivint, their only solution was to continue to send out techs if I continued to have trouble or pay the $1800. They have horrible customer service, rude supervisors. I cancelled never want to deal with them.

6 days ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Doug Birkofer Murfreesboro, TN

Just a pathetic Company. Account Manager, Nate D told me our contract renews in July 2022 and since we didn’t give the 60 days notice our account would be renewed for a year. When I informed him my family has come across financial hardships and making these payments would be difficult (like so many families) he informed me if we didn’t make payments we would be sent to collections.

1 month ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

DuWanda J Beacham Vacaville, CA

Horrible company and unscrupulous tactics to keep you in contract. I called them to ask about cancellation policy , I’m formed them I wanted to cancel my contract. This was on a Friday 3 months before my 5 year contract would end. Called Monday and was told to email them . 2 emails and several phones called later I’m still being billed. They say I can’t cancel my contract because the request to do so should have been made 60 days prior to my contract ending date. Supposedly the first email went to the wrong department and my second email no one from the company acknowledged. This company is staying in business based on there horrible tactics and undercover policies. I’m getting an attorney .

2 months ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Tracy Smith Toledo, OH

I signed a 5yr contract with Northstar on our business in 2019 and day one we had issues with the equipment. There was a faulty sensor that caused the alarm to go off after setting it for the night. On and off for the next year we had a technician out to try to fix it but it never got resolved. In 2020 the pandemic hit and even though we had issues with the service already, Northstar did not care what was going on in the world or their customer service and that bill was the only one we had to pay in full when our business shut down. I eventually had to close, sell the building we were in, and moved out of state for work. I tried to compromise on getting out of the contract and they did not budge. Getting money from me was their top priority over fixing the issues we had from them. Then at the very end, they wanted money for a service they were no longer providing, to a business that no longer existed, in a building I no longer owned. DO NOT sign a contract with this company! They should be labeled as scam artists!

2 months ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Christie Mercier Arlington, TX

We had a power outage. When the power came back on, the device set up in the garage that lets you open and close the garage door from the northstar app, was beeping and flashing. When I called customer service. They told me to take the batteries out. There were no batteries!! It’s connectedto electricity. Duh, If they were batteries it would’ve started beeping and flashing after the electricity came back on. They need customer service people who know what they’re talking about. Also for two or three years I have been charged for a thermostat I do not have. I have contacted customer service several times and not once has I’ve been removed from my bill.

6 months ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Jennifer Massoth Grand Blanc, MI

Our house caught fire in April 2021, and we have been trying to cancel services with them ever since. Today finally came to a boiling point where they demanded proof from us, but can't manage to send us proof of what they're saying. (They claim to have sent an email April 22 that we never received, and then backstepped on how maybe an email wasn't sent). In July, we thought we had this sorted, and haven't been billed until October. Come to find out a $199 credit was put onto our account that we didn't ask for. This appears like our sercie had been canceled until we got charged $51.86 today. We were also never made aware of the price increase during this time. Today while trying to get this sorted and obviously upset, I was put through to smug male case managers who told me helpful things like "asking for your contract to read through after your house fire is "common sense", or when I say I want my service canceled for good they reply with "you have told me that 5 times now". Absolutely no sympathy, no class, and unhelpful. After retraumtizing my family today, hopefully with the email cancelation notice and our house fire report, they can stop robbing my family every month. I would never recommend Northstar Alarms to anyone.

8 months ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

No Name Goshen, IN

Completely bogus company, but they are millionaires. They automatically give you another contract unless you cancel in writing 60 days or more. Keep your elders away from these people or they will scam them. I am on a waiting list to cancel this contract for my mom of 94 yrs old. We have to wait till 2023 for cancelation. These people have no morals. I give them a Completely 0 minus 10.

8 months ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Kendra Scott Houston, TX

Our experience with Northstar alarm have been a nightmare. When we first signed up with Northstar we were never told the contract was for 5 years... that is fraud. If you are reading reviews and wondering if should choose them as an alarm company run an don't look back. We have camera items that are not working. We have been paying $85 monthly for 5 years. My husband started calling Northstar beginning in May 2021 asking them when was our contract up. He was told he needed to speak with a Manager and never did. When he called again and spoke to a customer service representative he was told to call back in October when his contract was up. So it is October and he called back he now being told that he needed to cancel in writing 60 days before the contract ended. Now a new contract has started for 18 months because the 5 year contract was not cancelled 60 day before it ended. This is VERY VERY manipulative and deceptive practices. Especially since he has been calling since May 2021 (we have documented proof) and was told to call back in October and when we did to be told this crap. I spoke to Mason who was not helpful at all. He told me there was no one else I could speak to besides him. No supervisors not management no one else could help us. Please do not waste your time or money. I demand for our contract to be canceled when it was supposed to cancel and not to start another 18 month term. We do not want to continue any business with Northstar or be responsible for any bills from this new 18 month contract. We were not aware of any 60 notice needed and was not given incorrect information from your staff. CANCEL OUR CONTRACT WHEN IT FIRST EXPRIED!!

9 months ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

T E Columbus, OH

Was also someone who was told the contract was 2 years but I ended up finding out it was a 5 year contract. Not happy at all with the service, equipment works when it want to and you come out way to much money than they’re actually worth because the city charges you a fee for having a security alarm, the city charges you when you request for police dispatch, for when the alarm goes off, You would think this is covered by the security payment being made each month of close to $80, which LAST 5 years!!! They charge a hefty fee for canceling and force you to send in writing that you want to cancel service

11 months ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Esther Castroville, TX

Horrible company! I cancelled my contract and noticed they were still charging! When I called they said they couldn’t find it and renewed my contract! I was never satisfied with this company and will never recommend! Beware!! This is frustrating!

6 months ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Kay See Lubbock, TX

Their product does not work and their solution is just to deactivate it on the control panel. The door bell stopped working and repair tech (from Ft. Worth) came out and the door bell worked for 6 days and another tech (from Lubbock) came out and door bell rang on the outside of the house and not the inside. Tech again came out on Saturday from Ft. Worth (I live in Abilene) and said that our equipment will not work on the platform we are on....Still cannot get NorthStar to do anything. All they want to do is re-set the system from India.

11 months ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

MC Mahan San Antonio, TX

Company will lie and scam you. Only time the alarm ever went off was for a short time. I got it shut off. No communication from the company. Next thing you know a cop shows up. He commence to berate me as no one called off his being routed to the house. "Your alarm company didn't call you?" he asked? "No sir." was all I could tell him because they have never called. Fast forward to last year, I called to cancel the service. The employee explained that I would have to wait until the contract was up end of May to cancel service. Now, this June we called to cancel and were told we needed to cancel in writing at least 60 days before contract expired, and that we were renewed for another 36 months. I explained to them that I would have canceled in writing in September if I had known that, but they lied, and are demanding I stay in contract. AVOID AT ALL COSTS. Total money pit, with no actual service.

1 year ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Jessica Grow Kennewick, WA

Lack of customer service and horrible response times. The absolute most heartless alarm company I have ever used. No regard for current circumstances. People are struggling to feed their families right now at no fault of their own, and they simply do not care. I have paid my bill for 3 years and finished my initial contract. I CANNOT afford extra bills right now and have pleaded to be removed from this service and they refuse. I was told to write a detailed letter outlining my circumstances so a termination of services could be considered. A response was promised within 3-4 days. After I sent my initial letter, as they told me to, I waited.... I ended up writing an email 1 week later asking for an update..... and nothing.... I called more than once with no one available to help me and no call back. When they finally called back 2 months later, it WAS NOT to respond to my letter, or my call requests, it was to collect payment. Prior to this issue, I have had nothing but problems with equipment. Service technicians can take a week to make it to you. I finally just quit using my system. The length of their contracts are ABSOLUTLEY INSANE! My choices are to be in a 17 month contract with my current payment.... increase to a 3 year contract for a lower monthly payment.... or let this go to collections. I am so incredibly disappointed with Northstar. Again, outside of current situation; they simply are not equip to be considered a quality provider. Do yourself a favor and use someone else. The auto renewal of your contract after completing 3 years is absolutely criminal! AND NO ONE went over that with me! CROOKS!

1 year ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

rodolfo gauna San Antonio, TX

Hello, Everyone! I just wanted to write this in case anyone was thinking of using North Star.... This company is really quite dishonest and a frankly, a rip off. I signed up with a service agreement of 60 months under the impression that if I was not satisfied with their service I could cancel if I felt I wasn’t getting the adequate service. However, after experiencing terrible service with them I decide to cancel and guess what? I can’t. I mean, I can, I would just need to pay the remaining months left on my service agreement. So I have two options; 1. Pay for a service I don’t use Or 2. Pay a large lump sum to them for the remaining months. Selling someone a service under the impression that they could cancel if they weren’t satisfied is such a deceptive way to sell. No wonder I see an average 6/10 score with this company. I would definitely re-consider not going with North Star if you were considering a home security service. I switched to Vivint (no service contract) and the experience has been night and day with them.

1 year ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Taretta Duvall Puyallup, WA

We have been loyal customers with NorthStar since 2012 - at that time only a few competitors were on the market and the sales agent was extremely nice to help us get set-up. The hardware installation went well, in comparison to 2020 security features Northstar hardware has much to improve upon. Yet, in 2012 it seemed very up-to-date. In 2016 we received our first "sales update" apparently someone came out and checked our service and I signed an addendum for another 60 mos (I totally did not know what I was getting into). When the service was sold to us, I was told we were getting security from the fire department and police, they'd be dispatched in anything happened. Well in 2018 - we were away on vacation, the call that you never want to receive between 2am-5am in the morning from Northstar alerting us that our alarm was triggered. Our neighbors were away and we had no one to check to make sure our home was intact - so while on the call with Northstar I said, go ahead and send the police, we are not sure if our home is okay". The Northstar representative informed us, oh we can't do that. Why? Your local police department is NOT apart of our direct contact; you'd have to pay them to come out to your home. I said, I thought that is what I pay you all for. Well, NO you actually pay the police and fire department directly they can send you a bill! OH, I was not aware of this, so you all are just a notification center. WHAT THE HECK am I paying for. I can get BLINK to watch my own home and see the notifications and call the police MYSELF. I said all that to say, that. I did not try to disconnect service at that time despite of their FALSE information, I maintained it......I chopped it up as another set of EYES. Fast forward to 2020....PANDEMIC....we are moving from our home, and will not have immediate replacement for us to live. We call Northstar to cancel and we are told to send a letter in writing for cancellation, we do that and then we find out that we have an EARLY TERMINATION fee of $1157.00 (and the sales manager Jorden says, I should be grateful that they are giving me a 10% discount). The fee is for $71.00 x the number of months from the ORIGINAL agreement. We signed in 2012 FIVE years = to 2017, then I was TRICKED in 2016 to sign another FIVE year addendum (to keep this LOW rate, not so slow when I compare what I can get now) so my actual term is from 2017 to 2022. So, the total above of $1157.00 is for all those months 6, 2012-6-2022. Jorden also, tells me it was my fault for not READING the fine print. TRUE, I was listening to the sales person assure me I can cancel, it's only another five years.....fact is I did not know the pandemic would happen to all of us, I did not know unemployment would be so harsh....and JORDEN had nothing to say, but it is legal, read your contract. Well I do not have my contract, I am in the process of waiting for them to send me a copy now. Mine, I am sure, is packed away as I MENTIONED I AM MOVING. All this to say. BEWARE, get BLINK, get RING - monitor your own home from your phone and computer.......NORTHSTAR does not add any value to you. They take money and they are not loyal nor honest about their service. We received ZERO upgrades, we have the SAME hardware from 2012

1 year ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Jeremy Fort Lauderdale, FL

If you see a NorthStar salesman’s, RUN! I detrimentally relied on the salesman’s promise that I could cancel if I was not happy with my service without any penalty. After having several issues with my system due to wind, I tried to get help from customer service. Customer service was rude and unhelpful. When I tried to cancel, I was told it would cost me $3k. When I moved to another house, I was charged for an installation fee although my equipment wasn’t never installed. When I did try to install the equipment, I was given a date three weeks out and was told the date and time was non negotiable. The Sad part is that I’m stuck with with them for three more years.

1 year ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Hans Steele Pickerington, OH

If I could give this company 0 stars I would. Worst company on planet Earth. They will promise and tell you anything to get you to sign a contract (my story) I had been a happy ADT customer for years when along came a Northstar salesman promising all sorts of things. I explain to the salesman that I would be moving in the year he explained this wouldn't be a issue all we would have to do is move the service at no cost to me. When it comes time to move they tried to raise my monthly rate. I refused as this was not part of the agreement in the initial consultation. They explained I could continue to pay for the monthly rate and the amount of time spent for unmonitored months would be credited to the account. I went with that. I was purchasing a new build it would take 4 months to finish. When it came time to reinstall the equipment they tried to blame me for equipment left at the old property. How was I to know what was needed. That's there job right. They uninstalled the equipment. They tried to charge me for it. I again refused. And the credit for the unmonitored months nope sorry can't do that so they lied to me. I was on the phone with Northstar for 4hrs with no real conclusion. Everytime I asked to speak to a supervisor I was told there was no supervisor available what a joke. They did offer to put the account on hold for 6 months to cover the cost of the equipment needed but 6 months would be added to my contract. Guess it's ok to ask me to pay for it twice. Be warned stay away from Northstar they're scammers, thieves with terrible I mean terrible customer service. Should have stayed with ADT better rates better equipment better customer service

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Shirley Fresno, CA

I find this company to be on the shady side. Because I didn't notify them in time they automatically renewed my contract for another 2 years. They did some fancy talking and recorded every conversation . They made it seem like that I requested to renew, with their slick talkers. The only way out of the 2nd contract was to pay a large amount of money , as I remember it was a couple thousand dollars. I was forced into keeping this service and no amount of talking, like "I can't afford it anymore, I'm old, 83, and you tricked me" worked. There is no sympathy with these people. I even called the DA's office in Utah where they are located. I guess they are legal, but barely I'd say. Don't sign up!!! They have sweet talkers .No way of breaking a contract unless you die. Don't use them!

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Katie Elizabeth Converse, TX

I will never recommend North Star to anyone again. I have had my system less than a year and already have had several problems. The CS was always great, but unfortunately, the problem I have had over the past month make me rethink this company. I switched to fiber for Internet and we had to get a new modem which meant new Internet user name and password. I had no problem getting everything switched over, but our garage camera stopped working. I troubleshooted for weeks with tech over it by unplugging it and plugging it back in, moving the WiFi extender, deleting and reinstalling the camera 3 different times, and nothing worked. They decided to just replace the camera, but said I needed a tech to come out and do it. They said a tech would call in 48 hours. Never got a call so I called NorthStar back to ask what to do. They reached out to the tech who claimed to have been trying to call me. They left the tech a voice mail to call me back. They finally called me around 6 PM and said they could not come out until the end of next week. By this time my camera has already not been working for almost 3 weeks. I said I couldn't be home at that time as my child has an appt during the time frame. The woman sighed loudly and rudely and said she could try for a Saturday appt but would have to call me back. Never got a call back. Every time I reached out to CS I was told to wait until the end of business. I did that and was told, sorry they were gone for the weekend. Every time I called, I was told to wait. I asked to be compensated for the month of not having a working camera. I was told sorry they don't do that. Excuse me? So I am paying for a product that doesn't work? 8 days after the work order was put in for my new camera, I again called CS because it was the end of business and I STILL hadn't gotten any kind of call to be on the schedule. They finally were able to connect me to the company sending out the tech and of course there is nothing available for another 10 days. So I had no choice but to be put on the schedule for next Friday (today is Tuesday) and hope they show up. I tried reaching out over email and Facebook as well, and was told "how sorry" they were and that someone would call me about it. No one ever called, again. This company only cares about getting your money and locking you into a 5 year contract. Stay away from them.

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Faith Morgan Jonesboro, AR

DO NOT do business with this company. I am 85 yrs old. My husband had just died & I was trying to get my life back on track. My children advised me to get a security device. Long story short, I ended up with NorthStar, wasn't told it was for 5 years, tried to cancel, but was told I would have to pay them $1000 to cancel, they take $57 automatically out on my Amex, and I cannot afford that since I am now living on Social Security. I get no response from them.I am still trying to cancel them out. The only time I heard from them is when they couldn't get a payment to go thru. They lost no time calling. I tried to tell them what I wanted to do & the man told me he would get someone from customer service to call me back. I never heard. On top of that the equipment doesn't even work, so I'm paying each month for nothing.

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

D Haskett San Antonio, TX

I have spoken to people with NorthStar numerous times through email, phone, and messages. I have explained the situation. I have also explained my disappointment in this company and the lack of assistance in the situation. I have explained that I had to sell my home this summer due to the financial bind that my ex husband has put me in. I have had to move to an apartment where I cannot use the equipment. I cannot afford to pay the $72 a month over my monthly bills to just live. This company ropes you into a contract and as soon as it is signed the company is not helpful in any form or fashion. It is sad that a customer would have to research that first. But instead was taken advantage of by a company due to being a single mom with children at home.

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Cheryl Fregolle Dearborn, MI

I do not recommend doing any business with NorthStar Alarm service as their practices are coercive, predatory and place an unfair and unreasonable financial burden on customers both in their monthly service fees and when attempting to cancel a contract. My husband lost his job, and I called to cancel my contract with NorthStar, and they told me that it will cost me $2,000 to cancel my service and offered me no reasonable solution to my financial problem. Further, they threatened to send me to collections and file a negative remark on my credit if I didn't pay them, which is extortion and coercion. When I initially signed up with NorthStar, I felt coerced to purchase a product that I was not in the market to purchase because the salesman strong-armed me and would not leave until I signed the contract and then it locked me into paying at least $20 more per month for the service than what competitors charge for 60 months!!!! I have filed a complaint with my State Attorney General's office and do not recommend anyone do business with this company ever!!!! They are not interested in customer service. They are only interested in unreasonably enriching themselves on the backs of financially struggling consumers.

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Helen McDonald Detroit, MI

you should have a minus rating, A 1 star rating is far from true. They deducted 3 payments from my bank account in a 2 week period in one month, when they should have only taken 1 pymt per month that included installation fee. This caused me overdraft fees that they never gave back to me. So I closed my bank account and started paying them by money order. Then they started harassing me even claiming that I wasn't paying them, not knowing that I have copies of every filled out money order sent to them every month. Time won't allow me to tell everything in the space allotted. But the last straw is that they cancelled my monitoring system and never to corresponded to me I didn't use the alarm because I have a grown son that is incapacitated for which I am his legal guardian, and he would set the alarm off going in and out of the house. I noticed that the alarm was saying on the panel that "System trouble - 103 Comm. trouble". When I called them, they said that they could not fix my alarm because my account has been cancelled." When I called back to find out why it was cancelled, 'the person I talked with didn't know and that I would have to talk to someone else in another department, but they had gone home. I asked the person when was it cancelled thy told be Jan 25th or 26th I don't remember which of the 2 days, so I have this alarm system that doesn't work, and no one ha bothered to call to speak to me regarding it not working. There is no way to speak to anyone with any authority. They don't give out any phone numbers to talk with anyone in any position of authority. I was just filling out my February money order to pay them when I found out about the alarm not working, so I told them I would not be sending anymore payments until I talked with someone. I would not recommend them to anyone. And the 5 year contract is real.

4 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Roy and Shirley McGregor Arvada, CO

I took this company Northstar to court,they did not show,I now have a judgement for my 3&1/2 plus years I did not have service,and I will do all and anything to get the money owed to me,they sent a letter to the court days after they were due in court,and they said I refused assistance,well they wanted to send me more of the bad tape for the monitors,why would I wait 3 or 4 days for the tape to get here,and not have service for those days ,my husband bought gorilla tape and that ended that ,then the motion detector in the living room was going off for no reason several times and the last time we left our phones in the car helping a friend,we got in our car to leave ,I checked my phone,it was northstar they said the motion detector went off in the living room and they had dispatched the police,the next phone call came in saying they could not send the police because I needed a permit(I have these conversations on my phone in voicemail) In the letter to me and the judge they have said no permit is required in response area,police refusal to dispatch not attributable to northstar,I have the proof on my phone,I have my judgement they just need to pay up. Shirley McGregor

4 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Silas Z. Rayner Independence, MO

I signed up with a company called Vision in April 2013 in Aptil 2014 Northstar bought my contracts ( I have 3 acccounts) A week ago someone broke into my one of my properties and I recieved no notification. When I called to find out why I was on the phone for over 5.5 hours (mostly on ignore) and was hung up on 6 times. I finally learned that when they bought Vision 2 of my accounts were set up with Northstar But, one was not (they billed me every month for service they didn't provide). They have an idiotic billing system where each account must be on a separate bill and must be paid by separate Check (I have refused to give them the CC they wanted, insisting on monthly billing). I have filed out the claim form they promised would be answered and resolved in3 days it has now been more than a week. They owe me for 34 months of payments, which I doubt I'll see unless I pursue in court.

5 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

jean willson Slidell, LA

Bought a new home 2019, requested transfer of contract which was never done. Original contract canceled 2021 by NS, no notification. Have been trying to reinstate & reinstall since January 5, 2022. Tech came out 3/Feb, now waiting for wifi extender. Cameras turn off at night, tech support unable to access account. Why am I paying this company?!? As soon as the contract expires I will NOT renew.

5 months ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Kory R. Bothell, WA

This company uses extremely deceptive practices to lock you into contract after contract. They will tell you there is a required equipment upgrade that you must agree to, that extends your contract 36 months. They will require written notice months ahead of when the contract ends and then lie to you about when they need it by. The only way out of the contracts they have tricked yo into is to pay them in full up front. We have paid nearly a year for service on a house we no longer live in, that no one is using, and now they say we must pay 18 months more. RUN from this company.

1 year ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Joe Union City, CA

Said they would fix our security system with a renewed contract and they didn’t. 2 years later no security system and I have to pay $2400 out of pocket to switch to another company that is competent. This is after 20 phone calls and finally talking to their top customer service rep who saw that there was no alarm set for 2 years. He said sorry for the inconvenience but when can we get our money.... no one was ever sent out to fix the system. STAY FAR AWAY FROM THIS TOXIC SLUDGE OF A BUSINESS!!

1 year ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Mandy Oklahoma City, OK

Northstar is not a good alarm company. Why well let me tell you why!!!!! They scam people. They never tell you that you have to send a cancellation letter 60 days prior to when your contact is up or it will roll over another 5 years!!!!! And you can’t cancel it unless you pay the 199.00. They will not fix a sensorif there’s something wrong with it. You have to pay for someone to come check it out!!!! My alarm would go off all the time for no apparent reason all hours of the night. Please don’t waist your money on them

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

V Waitman Las Vegas, NV

They are basically scammers. I was talked into signing with them. Had crappy service. Moved from a home I lived in 40 years and couldn't take the awful system. They charged me $99 to REINSTALL a system I didn't have. I am a widow on social security barely making it but they take $47 every month, and I don't have the system! It has been a nightmare to get them NOT to automatically renew my contract. They are scumbags!

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Wayne Austin Greeley, CO

They are not upfront, there service in Co is minimal, my system is always having issues..I asked there sales manager, took a bit for him to answer. Finally he told me.But I have to give them a 90 d notice, if not my contract extends automatic. I asked why." Because it's in the Contract. That's BS.. I don't recall agreeing to that..maybe it's in the fine Print.. misrepresentation

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Shirley Webster, TX

I have had the service for 7 months now and love the doorbell camera. But that is the limit I never received a contract which NorthStar promises to send me monthly. The prior service has never cancelled and I owe over $500 to them. My Sales Rep, Tyson, promised me that NorthStar would cancel the old contract. It has been one Lie after another and I would never recommend them to anyone.

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Jess Hayden Indianapolis, IN

It doesn't work!! I've had a ring camera, and a camera in my house for the past year and they have worked maybe a total of 2 months. I've gotten them replaced after replaced, I was told my internet is phenomenal and high speed (I got it changed because the first time Northstar tried to blame my internet) and they still don't work. Each time after getting a new one they only work for about a week, then they stop working again. I've wasted so much money with Northstar!

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

A Allen San Antonio, TX

I sincerely detest this company! I want to cancel but they refuse to let me cancel! They are far too expensive for those on a fixed income. Besides this, they did not provide the services they promised originally. And the system would go off all on it's own. It was terrifying to hear the piercing alarm go off in the middle of the night! A technician was sent out after numerous complaints and the flaw was fixed, but the service is still too expensive!!! I really hate this company and am locked into their awful 5 year contract. A Allen, San Antonio TX.

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Lisa Ochoa

Worst company ever listen to all the bad reviews! They speak the truth. I regret getting them as my security company. They make you feel special for the first year and as years pass quality of service declines. My whole system isn't even working right but they want to charge me 130$ just to come get it back online. So much for lifetime guarantee. On the top list of security companies they are at the bottom. And its no wonder... Hope they go under! They deserve it! Switching to ADT asap!

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

aaron Houston, TX

I was in a five(5)yr contract with them paying a high amount of $57 monthly automatic deduction from my bank account and then I wasn't able to cancel because they stated I was in a automatic renewal, that I have to write a 60 day written notice of cancellation. The team they have is very unprofessional that didn't respond back to any of my emails or calls. There is no life time warranty on the equipment if you are no longer with them, so if any sensors break do not waste your time.

4 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Cindy Renton, WA

1 star is too high of a rating. Our equipment has never worked properly, and they have never made any effort to try and fix it. I have been trying to cancel our alarm for several months now, and they won't respond to any of the written correspondence (using the email address they told me to send the cancellation request to). They won't cancel by calling over the phone. If you want an alarm that works, and a company that will cancel when you request it, stay far away from Northstar.

4 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Mike

Liar and crooks! They trick you my telling you something about a 18 month renew (which make you think this is the term of contract). Additionally, they use 60 days and 60 months to misled you on the actual contract in five years. I called within 60 days to canceled and that when they stress that you signed a 60 month contract. Now they only wants to talk about how you signed the contract and how it is your responsibility to read the contract. The worst consumer service I have ever experience.

5 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

T. Turpin Tacoma, WA

Horrible service. Contract limits competition by automatic renewals. Seems like a violation of antitrust laws. I replaced my system with another company and it took over 6 hours for Northstar to contact me.

9 months ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Kathy Orlando, FL

We were unable to lock our house and we have called several times to set up an appointment. Nobody shows up between the window nor at all. We keep getting the run around and we are paying for a system that doesn’t work.

10 months ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Rebeca Rodriguez Indianapolis, IN

Giving them a 1 star is generous. If it was an option I wouldn't give them any. First of all when the salesman came to our home he didn't disclosed right away that he was from this company. He made it seem like he was from ADT (our previous home security system). He was

1 year ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

ERIC PALMER Columbus, GA

We had Northstar installed in my 92 year old Mother's home this past year trying to get customer service to help with issues NO help the intercom dose not work we can hear her but she can not hear us this a problem in trying to talk back in forth. NEED ASSISTANCE WITH THIS!

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

T Moore Arlington, TX

Horrible experience started right after the ink on the contract dried. Customer service is terrible, billing department takes 2 days to call back, no supervisors available, it's like they're stuck in the 90's. Biggest mistake I've made regarding a provider for my home.

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Elizabeth Dean Flint, MI

Committed fraud to get me into a 5-year contract, when I insisted I would not go above 3. Changed the contract to 3 on the top page of the carbon pack, but apparently used a shield so the under copies said 5. Also contract said it was signed day 6 of 19th month.

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

James Rhodunda

the worst co. in the world. installation was NEVER put in right. and 100 days later they are still trying to charge me. NEVER 2.3 YOUR SCORE MY SORE - 9.9 AND COUNTING THE WRONG WAY. FORGET RHIS ALARM CO. THE WORLDS WORST !!!!!!!!!!!

5 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Frank Gipson Tacoma, WA

This is the worse company I ever worked with. They do not honor their contract. We are 4months without service now with them saying they will send someone out to do the repair. Another two weeks and still no repair.

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Linda B Peters Raleigh, NC

Not happy with customer service or Tech help. They don't seem to know your system and what you have. Have given wrong information. Wished I didn't have a 5 yr contract!

4 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

RON HEMRY Star, ID

Long contract, need 60 day cancelation notice at end of contract. Can not get out of contract no matter what

4 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

samuel townea Sierra Vista, AZ

worst company to buy from, no service for system; will not cancell when requested.

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Kenneth Holley Chesapeake, VA

I canceled my service 2 weeks before installation and I have not gotten my activation fee back

4 years ago