Core Home Security Logo

Core Home Security

star star star star_border star_border

5.5

Overall Score

error This company may not service all states.
See states serviced
LAST UPDATED: November 23rd, 2022

Core Home Security is a Master Alarm.com Dealer and home security system installer. To ensure Florida residents have the best in home security and home automation technology, the company provides a wide selection of security and smart home equipment, zero-down financing to qualifying applicants, and same-day installation. Customers can also rest easy knowing their provider operates a Five Diamond Certified monitoring center — meaning the company actively works to reduce and prevent false alarm instances.

Top Ranked Companies

thumb_up

The Good

  • Same-Day Installation
  • Tiered Home Security Packages
  • Video Monitoring Service
  • Broad Service Area

Same-Day Installation

One of the advantages of working with a local home security installer is prompt service. For Florida residents interested in signing a contract with Core Home Security, same-day installation is a definite possibility, meaning customers could have a fully functioning home security system the day they call Core.

Tiered Home Security Packages

Core customers can select from multiple tiered home security packages depending on their needs:

Bronze Smart Home Security Package

  • Core touch screen panel
  • Core Home Security mobile app
  • Professional installation
  • 7 door and window sensors
  • Dedicated cellular module
  • Alarm siren
  • System battery backup
  • Panel medical alert
  • Panel fire alert
  • Panel police alert
  • Yard sign and window decals
  • 2 key fobs

Silver Smart Home Security Package

Comes with all the home security equipment and monitoring as the Bronze Package, plus the following:

  • Video doorbell camera
  • Additional yard sign and window decals
  • Motion sensor

Gold Home Security Package

Provides all the comfort and security of the Silver Package, plus the following:

  • Glass break sensor
  • Choice of extra camera or smart lock

Platinum Home Security Package

Covers all home security, smart home, and video monitoring needs, and includes everything from the Gold Package, plus the following:

  • Smart thermostat
  • Outdoor night vision camera

Every Core Home Security system is connected via cellular backup network and is smart home ready.

Video Monitoring Service

When they sign with the company, Core customers will also receive live HD video surveillance that allows them to know what's going on in and around their home in real time. Homeowners can access their live video feed directly from their smart device, tablet, or desktop computer; view multiple feeds on one screen; remotely adjust the pan and tilt of their cameras; and receive notifications when motion sensors are activated.

Broad Service Area

Core Home Security is available in the following US states:

  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Mississippi
  • South Carolina
  • Pennsylvania
  • Ohio
  • Kentucky
  • Tennessee
  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Missouri
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Michigan
  • Texas
  • Arizona
thumb_down

The Bad

  • Undisclosed Contract Terms

Undisclosed Contract Terms

Although Cove mentions customers could pay as low as $19.95 per month for its professional monitoring services, along with the standard $99 upfront equipment fee, the home security provider has not disclosed the length or terms of its contract, e.g., possible cancellation or restocking fees for early termination.

As contract length remains of the largest concerns for new home security customers, providing this information upfront will empower homeowners to make a more informed decision as they compare home security companies.

gavel

The Bottom Line

Florida homeowners interested in working with a local home security company that offers professional monitoring, professional installation, and a suite of home security and smart home products might find Core Home Security to be the right choice for them. Potential customers are encouraged to read verified Core Home Security reviews as well as inquire about Core’s contract terms before making their final decision.

Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

Star Rating

3.1

star star star star_border star_border

107 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

26%

4 grade

21%

3 grade

14%

2 grade

14%

1 grade

24%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star star_border star_border

Quality

star star star star_border star_border

Service

star star star star_border star_border

Trustworthiness

star star star star_border star_border
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Anonymous Saint Louis, MO

I have had nothing but trouble with them since I started my service. My monitor pendant has not worked for over a month. I called them and told them that it wasn’t working and asked them to call but I haven’t heard from them. The company that monitors said they had a low battery signal from my pendant. I have replaced the battery but still nothing. I called and got a recorder so I left a message to the fact but haven’t heard from them. I said in the message that if they couldn’t fix the problem I would consider the contract voided. But they still bill me and I still have no working pendant. I would not recommend them for anything ever.

1 year ago

Core Home Security Logo

Reply from Core Home Security

Sorry, you are having issues with your monitor pendant. We have increased our number of employees and will take care of this immediately. Please reach out so we can make this right.

May. 20th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Betty Cabness Fort Worth, TX

Haven’t heard from them since they got my social security number,I ask for a sign to be place in my yard I still haven’t got it but they have there money,Don’t work with you at all don’t believe anything they say .I had to get some security it was only me and my little and we were scare,but we still are NO CORE SIGN EVEN CAN BUT THEY GOT THEY MONEY,THAT ALL CORE Want from there customers.

1 year ago

Core Home Security Logo

Reply from Core Home Security

Sorry, we've had trouble connecting, Betty. We want to make sure your home is secure and you feel safe, we would love to bring a sign by. Please call (888) 757-2673 and let us know the best time for us to drop it off.

May. 26th, 2021

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Eddie Hoskins San Antonio, TX

Do Not use this company,$3000. for just a basic system. Front doorbell malfunction 6 months ago under there warranty but will not repair it. PLEASE DO Not USE THIS Company...

2 months ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

charles davila Austin, TX

It took months to complete the whole project had to wait for equipment that wasn't even available while they receive their money and paying for something that wasn't promised and now still have problems with the skybell not operating properly

1 year ago

Core Home Security Logo

Reply from Core Home Security

Sorry to hear about your experience, Charles. We would love to fix the issue your having with your skybell and make this right. Please call (888) 757-2673 so we can make this right.

May. 18th, 2021

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Concerned Customer Houston, TX

I've had their service for less than a month and I do not like the customer service this company provides. When you call ththeir main number noone ever answers. I've never had a live person answer ever. I was never told that the alarm equipment that was provided is financed for 144 months. I was told my service is for 60 months. I would have never signed up for that. I can't get tech support later in the evening to assist with my doorbell and backyard camera. I haven't received a yard sign. I haven't received anything showing we have the fire alarm service so we can get an insurance discount. At this point I just want out of this contract asap!!!

8 months ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Tammy Clark Browns Summit, NC

Customer Service is not user friendly. I can't ever get in touch with anyone and when I do they are rude and lie to get you off the phone. I hate I ever went with this Company. I was mislead from the beginning.

1 year ago

Core Home Security Logo

Reply from Core Home Security

Sorry to hear about your experience, Tammy. Our technicians are trained to explain our contract information and services thoroughly. Call (888) 757-2673 and you'll be able to get through for help.

May. 18th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

UnHappy

You call can’t get in touch with nobody and leave a message they never get back with you.I call 35 time and it took them 7 months to fix a problem I had .So do yourself a favor go somewhere else .

1 year ago

Core Home Security Logo

Reply from Core Home Security

Sorry, you're having issues getting through. We have received an increased volume of calls due to covid and sincerely apologize for any issues that weren't taken care of in a timely manner. We have hired more staff and promise were here for you.

May. 20th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Marissa Lincoln Park, MI

The ring doorbell doesn’t record like it should they don’t answer the phone unless you’re ordering the services after that good luck trying to get them to fix or change anything.

1 year ago

Core Home Security Logo

Reply from Core Home Security

Sorry to hear about your doorbell issues, Marissa. We would love to take your call (888) 757-2673 and make any changes or fixes to your security equipment.

May. 18th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Vicki Falconer

System is not worth a penny. It has not worked at my home since the day they installed it. Fees that I am charged each month do not match what I was explained at time of installation.

1 year ago

Core Home Security Logo

Reply from Core Home Security

We're sorry to hear that you are having issues with your security system. Please contact us (888-757-2673) so that we can discuss any billing issues.

May. 5th, 2021

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Ronnie Elliott Huntsville, AL

Core Service has the worst customer service. The sales representative I dealt with was not up front with me dealing with the contract. I cannot say how good/bad the company is because the people I have dealt with in Florida are not interested in quality service. They are interested in making a sale for profit not integrity in the company. Now I cannot talk with anyone to get out of this bad deal. so for anyone who is interested and concern about home security Core Home Security is not the company!!

1 year ago

Core Home Security Logo

Reply from Core Home Security

Deeply sorry to hear about your experience, Ronnie. I want to assure you we are interested in high-quality security service. Please call us at (888) 757-2673, I would love to know the name of the rep you had so we can properly address this problem.

May. 24th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Ronnie Huntsville, AL

poor integrity not trustworthy. I feel like the company was not up front with me when I need a good security system in my home.

1 year ago

Core Home Security Logo

Reply from Core Home Security

Sorry to hear about your experience, Ronnie. Would love to make this right, please reach out to (407) 753-1449 so we set you up with a security system that fits your needs.

May. 20th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Christopher Mize Jonesville, MI

I was supposed to get free months of service, and never got it, then I recommended a friend to the company, and never got credit for that!!

1 year ago

Core Home Security Logo

Reply from Core Home Security

Christopher, please contact our support team (888-757-2673) so that we can help you get your referral credit and so that we can look into getting you your free month.

May. 4th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Anonymous Indianapolis, IN

Was lied to to a few times don't know how supposed to be security when anyone can access my cameras

1 year ago

Core Home Security Logo

Reply from Core Home Security

Sorry to hear about your experience. Only people with proper credentials can access your security system. Can you please call us at (888) 757-2673 and discuss what you mean by "anyone can access my camera."?

May. 26th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Brooks Winston Salem, NC

My experience and review is more geared towards the manipulative actions of the salesperson to gain my contract.

1 year ago

Core Home Security Logo

Reply from Core Home Security

Sorry about your experience, Brooks. Would you please call (888) 757-2673? We would love to know which rep you spoke to and make this right. This is not a common practice of Core Security; Our reps are trained to be upfront and disclose all details when presenting our contracts

May. 26th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Debra Macon, GA

System has malfunctioned since we received we receive calls about a door sensor all times of day and night.

1 year ago

Core Home Security Logo

Reply from Core Home Security

Sorry you are having sensor issues, Debra. Call us at (888) 757-2673, and we will send a technician to fix or replace your door sensor.

May. 20th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Julius Collado Fort Worth, TX

I have not been able to connect at all. It does not recognize my password. Has been like that for 4 months.

1 year ago

Core Home Security Logo

Reply from Core Home Security

Julius, sorry to hear you are having issues connecting. If you are open to discussing this issue further, please call us at (888)-757-2673 so we can help get this resolved as quickly as possible.

May. 5th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Tori Spruill Greensboro, NC

keeps going off for no reason. Cops been to house and having to pay out extra money. a waste of my money

1 year ago

Core Home Security Logo

Reply from Core Home Security

Tori, we are sorry to hear about issues with your security system. Please contact us (888-757-2673) so that we can assist you in solving this problem.

May. 4th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Maria Collado

Bad customer service when you have problem with the camera never have the solution in time

1 year ago

Core Home Security Logo

Reply from Core Home Security

Sorry to hear about your experience, Maria. We would love to fix your camera issues, please reach out to (888) 757-2673 and we promise to provide you with a solution promptly.

May. 20th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Karen McCollister

Equipment never worked right, poor customer service, won’t return phone calls.

1 year ago

Core Home Security Logo

Reply from Core Home Security

I assure you we want to get this fixed for you, Karen. Please reach out to customer service (888-757-2673) and we will work on resolving this issue with you.

May. 4th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Felipe Herrera San Antonio, TX

Do not provide what was promised nor explains what exactly the charges are.

1 year ago

Core Home Security Logo

Reply from Core Home Security

Sorry to hear about your experience, Felipe. We would love to explain any billing questions and fulfil any promises made. Please call (888) 757-2673 so we can make this right.

May. 18th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Mitchell Munford, TN

I was tricked into taking out a loan for equipment I did not want!

1 year ago

Core Home Security Logo

Reply from Core Home Security

I am sorry to hear about your experience, Mitchell. Please call (888) 757-2673 so we can make this right.

May. 18th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Patricia Brightwell Athens, GA

I've been having problem with it ever since I got it installed

1 year ago

Core Home Security Logo

Reply from Core Home Security

Sorry to hear about your issues, Patricia. Please call customer service at (888) 757-2673 and we will get your security system running smoothly.

May. 20th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Eddie Samudio Blue Ridge, TX

Not to good service poor customer services never call you

1 year ago

Core Home Security Logo

Reply from Core Home Security

Sorry to hear about your experience, Eddie. We would love to talk to you and help you with any issues you may have. Please call (888) 757-2673.

May. 18th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Jonathan Curtis Salisbury, NC

Still waiting on things promised to us 6 months later

1 year ago

Core Home Security Logo

Reply from Core Home Security

Sorry to hear about your experience, Jonathan. Can you elaborate further so we can make this right?

May. 18th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Nancy Brooksville, FL

It's the worst. The customer experience is unheard of.

1 year ago

Core Home Security Logo

Reply from Core Home Security

We are sorry for your experience Nancy. Please call us to discuss any issues you may be having.

May. 4th, 2021

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Dianna Franklin Findlay, OH

Did not complete the installation service and it’s been since October 21

9 months ago