Pacific Debt Inc. Logo

Pacific Debt Inc.

star star star star star

6.8

Overall Score

error This company may not service all states.
See states serviced
LAST UPDATED: October 9th, 2023

Pacific Debt Inc. is a nationally recognized leader in debt settlement services. It requires a $10,000 minimum debt to offer services.

The company holds significant industry accreditations with the American Fair Credit Council (AFCC) and the International Association of Professional Debt Arbitrators (IAPDA). US News and World Reports also recognized Pacific Debt as one of the best debt settlement companies for 2018.

Pacific Debt was named the #1 Debt Settlement Company by Best Company for 2016. US News and World Reports and Bankrate ranked Pacific Debt as one of “The Best Debt Settlement Companies of 2020."

Pacific Debt has achieved a top spot on our list of debt settlement companies because it offers its debt relief services at one of the industry’s lowest prices. Pacific Debt's pricing ranges from 15 to 25 percent of the total debt you enroll. The company then personally negotiates with each lender to reach a settlement agreement. While negotiations are underway, clients stop making monthly payments on their bills and put the money into a separate account that is used to fund the negotiated settlement payment to each lender.

As a debt relief company, Pacific Debt specializes in unsecured debt, which is debt that doesn't have an asset or collateral tied to it. Examples of unsecured debt include student loan debt, medical debt, credit card debt, and utility bills.

The downside to Pacific Debt is that its debt management services may not be available in your state. For example, Pacific Debt does not operate in Washington, Oregon, Kansas, Vermont, or some other states. Headquartered in San Diego, the company has been in the debt settlement industry since 2002.

View Pacific Debt Inc. reviews below.

Top Ranked Companies

thumb_up

The Good

  • High Savings, Low Fees
  • Industry Accreditations
  • Positive Client Reviews
  • Personal Account Manager
  • Client Resources

High Savings, Low Fees

Throughout Pacific Debt’s website, the company prides itself on how much it has reduced personal debt. In most cases, the company can reduce your debt by 20 to 50 percent, which is significant in this industry.

Pacific Debt's ability to effectively settle your debts makes it much easier for you to pay the debts and be on the road towards being debt-free and enjoying financial freedom.

Not only can Pacific Debt reduce the amount borrowers pay on each of their unsecured debts, but it also has low fees. To work with Pacific Debt, you will pay the company 15 to 25 percent of your total enrolled debt. Most of the companies we have reviewed charge an average of 21 to 24 percent.

Though Pacific Debt does charge a percentage of enrolled debt for its settlement services, the nature of debt settlement companies makes it challenging to judge pricing (since individual pricing depends on each customer’s enrolled debt). However, the opportunity to pay a lower percentage increases your savings as you work to become debt-free.

Pacific Debt, Inc. also does not charge upfront fees for settlement. Customers choosing a debt settlement company should only work with companies with no upfront fees.

Industry Accreditations

According to consumers, one essential thing a debt settlement company should offer is accreditation. Pacific Debt is accredited with the AFCC and the IAPDA. Being an accredited member of the AFCC means Pacific Debt submits its website for an audit each year. The AFCC makes sure its accredited members conform to industry standards and strives to protect consumers.

Positive Customer Reviews

Pacific Debt reviews are overwhelmingly positive and speak highly of its customer service. The most common review we see of Pacific Debt is that company representatives know what they are talking about when clients call. They keep clients informed throughout the entire settlement process.

Many clients also praise Pacific Debt for early settlements. A debt settlement company’s main job is to negotiate a lower total debt with a customer's creditors, and the sooner this happens, the better it is for the client.

Though debt settlement can negatively impact a client's credit score, it will also relieve debt for customers with nowhere else to turn — those who already have lower credit scores.

Credit card debt, medical debt, and student loans are difficult to escape, but companies like Pacific Debt are designed to protect you from creditors and debt collectors; that's why it's essential to take a close look at Pacific Debt reviews.

Previous clients are the best reference for checking the quality of debt settlement companies and debt consolidation companies. Positive reviews and a high rate of customer satisfaction can indicate that you will also have a good experience, should you choose to work with Pacific Debt. 

Personal Account Manager

When a client agrees to a debt settlement program, Pacific Debt assigns each client a personal account manager as a debt specialist.

This single point of contact works with clients throughout the entire negotiation and settlement process. This may be another reason why clients seem to love Pacific Debt, as not having an assigned debt specialist is one of the most common complaints of other debt relief companies, like National Debt Relief.

Working with a single point of contact is especially great for clients because they do not get passed to different people. It ensures that their questions are answered and that their needs are met.

Client Resources

Clients who wish to receive an education more specific to their circumstances will not be disappointed by Pacific Debt's online resources.

The company website clearly defines each of the clients' various options within debt relief, even some that Pacific Debt doesn't offer (including consumer credit counseling, bankruptcy, and debt consolidation). It then clearly outlines the benefits and downsides to each of the debt relief options.

Because debt settlement and debt negotiation are better options for long-term debt, clients are encouraged to consider not making minimum payments, as there are more efficient ways to become debt-free. The online company resources say that debt negotiation is a much more aggressive approach to debt relief and may result in a lower credit score.

In addition to online resources, potential clients can have a free consultation with a certified debt counselor who will review their financial situation and options for becoming debt-free. Providing comprehensive information allows potential clients to make better decisions about addressing their debt.

thumb_down

The Bad

  • Service Limited to Certain States
  • Doesn't Work With Secured Debt

Service Limited to Certain States

While there are unique perks to using Pacific Debt (relief from credit card debt, medical bills, student loans, etc.), unfortunately, they are not available to everyone. Pacific Debt offers services only in certain states. 

This leaves much of the United States unable to take advantage of Pacific Debt's low cost, industry experience, and customer service. Some debt settlement companies are available in all 50 states, so compared to the industry, Pacific Debt is lacking in state availability.

However, if Pacific Debt Inc. is available in your state, it is a great option when choosing a debt settlement company. You can find out if Pacific Debt operates where you live by consulting the company's website.

Doesn't Work With Secured Debt

Pacific Debt does not indicate anywhere that it can help people seeking relief from secured debt, such as mortgage loans, car loans, or other forms of debt that are attached to some form of collateral. Most of the debt relief companies we have reviewed also do not offer debt relief services for secured debt, so if you have exclusively secured debt and no unsecured debt, you probably won't be able to work with a debt relief company but rather will need to work with your lender or credit counselor to find other solutions for you.

gavel

The Bottom Line

Debt management programs like debt settlement are highly complex and challenging to do right, and there is always a level of risk involved in paying another company to handle your debt. So, if you are looking for a debt relief option, Pacific Debt's high customer reviews are critical to you making the best decision for your debt situation. 

Compared to debt consolidation companies, a debt settlement program is usually approached as a last resort, when you have a low credit score and lack the money to make monthly payments.

Settlement companies negotiate with lenders for a lower total debt. Pacific Debt focuses on unsecured debt, including student loan debt, health care debt, personal loan debt, payday loans, and consumer debt (e.g., credit card debt). If a consolidation loan is not a good fit for your financial situation, debt settlement may be a good fit.

Debt settlement allows you to eventually recover your credit score quicker than bankruptcy (which stays on your credit report for up to 10 years) and saves you from debt collectors. Pacific Debt does a fantastic job of negotiating lower debt with your creditors.

The positive Pacific Debt reviews speak for themselves. If you find yourself more than $10,000 in debt — student loans, medical bills, or high outstanding balances on your credit card — and live in a state that Pacific Debt services, we highly recommend using Pacific Debt to help  you pay off your debt. The company is held to high industry standards as a member of all four major accreditation organizations, and it has a proven track record of settling debts for much less than what is owed.

View Best Debt Relief Companies

Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

Star Rating

info

4.8

star star star star star

2,381 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

84%

4 grade

13%

3 grade

2%

2 grade

1%

1 grade

1%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star star star_half

Quality

star star star star star_half

Service

star star star star star_half

Trustworthiness

star star star star star_half
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Stephanie Decker Hercules, CA

Their customer service is good, they call me with updates. I had a customer service representative that was phenomenal, he helped me through a lot. In the end though, I was transferred to something else, so I'm not really happy with that. Also, I don't like that my credit score actually went down.

6 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Elizabeth Montemagno Coram, NY'

I never receive any updates unless I go into the website. Even then, the site does not show what has already been paid and what is outstanding. I'm concerned about what is being done with American Express and the lack of direct communication with me.

6 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Rolf Seebacher

They haven't really done anything for me yet and I'm beginning to become a little apprehensive. But on the occasions that I had to speak with someone on the phone, they were mostly courteous and sounded knowledgeable.

5 years ago

Pacific Debt Inc. Logo

Reply from Pacific Debt Inc.

Thank you for your review of our program. I do show you've been in our program for just over a month, so it is quite early in the process. I will make sure a program adviser from our Client Care team reaches out to your just to touch base and make sure any questions you have are addressed. If you need anything at all, please reach out to 1-877-722-3328 option 1.

May. 7th, 2018

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

B.H. Belcamp, MD

The consultants were very informative; I trust them. They're great at updating me with their progress. Every time there is a settlement agreement, I'm notified via email, which is great! I'm happy with my overall decision.

6 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Donna

The reason for my 3 star is NOT due to bad experience just that I am getting started..I have really did my homework on debt relief programs and felt most comfortable with pacific debt..a lot of reviews seem to be because people don’t pay attention to all details ..of course you know going into this your credit is going to get worse before better..And of course you have to pay a fee for services obviously ....Jake was my consultant and he did a well job making me feel that pacific fits my needs..and believe me I have talked to a lot of debt companies..but the truth will be in about a year when things start rolling more and I will be sure to come back with a review..

4 years ago

Pacific Debt Inc. Logo

Reply from Pacific Debt Inc.

Donna thank you for sharing your review. We hope that with time, we can earn a 5 star review!

Oct. 11th, 2019

star star star star_border star_border

Toni Stroudsburg, PA

I did quite a bit of research before deciding if I wanted to pursue a DMP or debt settlement. Pacific Debt had the best reviews both business wise & consumer wise when it came to debt settlement. I simply cannot afford to keep up with all of the interest rates my creditors expect from me. I have not ever missed a payment and have always been on time approx 95% of the time in all of my credit history. Still, not once did they adjust my APR. A DMP wasn’t for me because although I have not missed any payments, I know I cannot afford to keep up & certain creditors do not participate with DMP’s. So far I have been working with “ Rian T” & he has been great with explaining everything to me in detail. It is too early to provide a 5 star rating as I literally just started with them yesterday but I will be sure to update here or else where as time progresses.

5 years ago

Pacific Debt Inc. Logo

Reply from Pacific Debt Inc.

Thank you so much for your review Toni. We look forward to helping you resolve your debt situation. We are confident that we will earn your 5 star review as your progress through the program. Feel free to call us any time at 1-877-722-3328. We will be reaching out soon to schedule your welcome call.

Aug. 30th, 2018

star star star star_border star_border

Dona Riles Phoenix, AZ

They are helpful and are settling my debts. Tina has been very informative and helpful. My biggest issue with the program, and I wish I would have figured this out in the beginning; is that they have you stop making payments and do not settle till accounts go to collections. The amount of debt is that much more with all the additional fees and interest etc. The savings would be soo much more if they contacted and worked with the creditor when you enroll and not wait for the debt to be charged off and gone to collections. Plus the impact on my credit score was significant, it is going to take extra work to get it back up once I am done with the debt. I did not fully realize the good and the bad of the program when I signed up as I was stressed out only being able to make minimum payments. But at least I know that I am on the path to being out of Credit Card debt, I needed the help and discipline. But If you can do it yourself, I suggest trying that.

6 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Debbie Shaver Newburgh, IN

This program is worthwhile if you need help or don't have the discipline to do it yourself. They were very good at contacting my creditors and the money is deposited into an Escrow type account and disbursed monthly as needed. My experience was a positive one until I neared the end of my program and they changed my representative. It is important to know this before making your decision. The debt you enroll is not the debt they are settling. They will have you stop making payments and won't try to settle any accounts until you are at least 3 months behind. However, this will inflate your debt with extra late fees and interest. This inflated debt is what they settle, so your "savings" isn't as high as it might otherwise be if you contacted the creditor yourself. For example, (these are exact numbers from my program to explain what I am trying to get across). I had a credit card with a $1200 balance that I enrolled. PDI charges 22% fee on that $1200, so I am paying them $264 to settle the debt for you. I stop making payments and the $1200 debt has increased to $1380.48 before it is settled for $690.24. PDI told they settled the debt for over 50% savings. Yes and no. $690 is 50% of 1380. However, I also paid PDI $264 fee and the settled debt was $180 more than I enrolled in the program. So my original debt cost me $690.24 + 264 + 180 = $1134 to have PDI settle for me. In reality, I only saved myself $66 off my original debt.If I had the discipline to do it, I could have put the extra $444 towards the debt instead of towards PDI and extra fees. PDI doesn't spell it out for you like this, they want me to believe I saved 50% on that credit card. It is a good program if you need help to eliminate your credit card debt. But, I recommend trying to do it for yourself first. My 30 month program is taking 37 months to complete. That's 7 extra monthly payments I wasn't counting on when I enrolled.

6 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Donald Hoover

They give frequent follow ups and ask multiple questions to keep you on track, either through phone calls or emails depending on your own preferences.

5 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Tom Lake, MI

We have been working with Demetrius M. to get on a plan to assist with our debt. Demetrius has been very professional at all times on the phone with us. We are currently leaving a 3 star review, as we have yet to see how all of this plan works out. We will further our review in the future, as we see how things work, with this business. Overall, we are happy, so far, with the setup of the current plan that D.M. set us up with. We will see how it goes and report at a later date. Thanks D.M for the assistance.

4 years ago

Pacific Debt Inc. Logo

Reply from Pacific Debt Inc.

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your feedback. We look forward to servicing your account and earning a five star review.

Aug. 5th, 2019

star star star star_border star_border

Barbara Westbury, NY

Well, I just signed up today bailing from another well known company I have been with for a couple of years. They were terrible, taking my money monthly and I still had people knocking at my door. I am hoping this company is going to be better based on their reviews. I felt a bit misled when I first called the man told me the % was 18-23. They ended up taking the max of 25%. That kind of upset me so they better be great and get the job done!

5 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Milka Ortiz

They haven't had any solution yet, but this is a new account. Sometimes I have to call back a few times, and they don't call me I call them.

5 years ago

Pacific Debt Inc. Logo

Reply from Pacific Debt Inc.

Thank you so much for your review. Upon a brief review of your program, it appears that you recently closed your program with us due to the affordability of the program payments. I do show we returned the funds you had sent to escrow and everything is closed. If you need anything further, please call our Client Care team at 1-877-722-3328 option 1.

May. 7th, 2018

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Neil Kansas City, MO

I have no problem paying for the service, but to tie up so much of my monthly funds in fees while negotiating settlements is not a fair practice

6 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

nancy Newburgh, IN

I spoke with Nick and he was very pleasant and understanding of my situation. He was polite, friendly, and helpful. He was very encouraging with set up of paying off my debt in a much shorter period of time. He walked with the me thru the documents and answered my questions patiently.

5 years ago

Pacific Debt Inc. Logo

Reply from Pacific Debt Inc.

Thank you so much for writing your review and we love to hear the great feedback about our team member Nick. We are hopeful that by the end of your program we will have earned a 5 star review.

Feb. 22nd, 2019

star star star star_border star_border

Jodi Foster Binghamton, NY

I am only rating mediocre because I do not have any experience with Pacific aside from the intake rep, who was amazing and very helpful. It may be beneficial to send out surveys after a few months enrollment with the company, for better/more accurate results.

5 years ago

Pacific Debt Inc. Logo

Reply from Pacific Debt Inc.

Jodi, Thank you for your feedback. We will be certain to follow up with you and ask you to rescore us once your program is in full swing. We are confident you will see the results and service that warrant a 5 star review.

Dec. 7th, 2018

star star star star_border star_border

Sandra Haynes Santa Rosa, CA

I am very pleased so far with the knowledge I have been given by Ray. He is gracious and understanding. Since I just started with this company I will see how it goes and come back with a better review. I just hope this program is everything I want it to be including the team member I will be dealing with.

5 years ago

Pacific Debt Inc. Logo

Reply from Pacific Debt Inc.

Thank you so much for your review Sandra. We look forward to helping you resolve your debt situation. We are confident that we will earn your 5 star review as your progress through the program. Feel free to call us any time at 1-877-722-3328. We will be reaching out soon to schedule your welcome call.

Aug. 31st, 2018

star star star star_border star_border

Holly Ann Perez El Cajon, CA

I was happy with the over all deal. I felt comfortable the whole time I spoke with Brian. He helped me feel at ease and never pressured me to do anything. I am excited to end this debt and be able to provide better for my kids.

6 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Kelli Brooklyn, NY

Ashley Hudson was a great Customer Service Rep for Pacific Debt. She understood my financial problems and advised me clearly of what my next steps would be. It is an uncomfortable feeling not to pay my creditors for the next few months but knowing I will be free of them in the future is a great feeling.

7 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

El Arlington, VA

The phone call to get set up was easy an informative. I think it's important to know that you are really only saving about 25% of debt, since Pacific Debt takes 25% of your total credit debt they are negotiating...

4 years ago

Pacific Debt Inc. Logo

Reply from Pacific Debt Inc.

Thank you for sharing your review. Yes, it is important to understand that we earn a fee in this process and this will reduce the total savings. However, it is important to note that we only earn the fee IF we reduce your debt and you approve the settlement. So you stay in control of the process. Also, the total savings is a lot more than 25% when you compare the results to the total amount you would have paid if you were to continue making minimum payments and/or feeding the interest.

Oct. 11th, 2019

star star star star_border star_border

David Beverly Hills, CA

I just recently became a client with Pacific Debt so I can only comment on my consultation with Rian. He was very polite and friendly, and took plenty of time to explain the program, and answer my questions.

5 years ago

Pacific Debt Inc. Logo

Reply from Pacific Debt Inc.

David, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are hopeful that you will take the time to update your review in a few months as your progress through the program. We'd love the opportunity to earn that 5 star review!

Jan. 7th, 2019

star star star star_border star_border

lynn gennero Clinton Township, MI

I have been trying to get in touch with someone there. On the papers I got there were 2 Capital1 cards listed and neither matched the number on my card. Why?? Plus there was 1 acct with only 4 digits. Too many errors

6 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

ZEE Pleasant Grove, UT

tHEY DONT KEEP YOU INFORMED - AND THEY LIED ABOUT HOW MUCH MONEY WAS GOING TOWARD THE ACTUAL DEBT .

5 years ago

Pacific Debt Inc. Logo

Reply from Pacific Debt Inc.

Thank you for your review. In reviewing your program, I see that you enrolled $13064 in debt into our program in July of 2017. At present you are in a settlement with Discover on your largest balance of $7000. Congrats! We chose to settle this account first because Discover is the most aggressive of the creditors enrolled. In terms of your assertion we lied about fees, I do show we completed a record quality assurance call with you to verify your understanding of our fees, which are 100% contingent on getting you results. Those fees were also factored into your program estimate and were disclosed during your program enrollment as well as your enrollment agreement. I will have your Account Manager follow up to better explain our fees as well as address any other concerns that you may have.

May. 9th, 2018

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Anonymous Pearland, TX

After purchasing from Sales, the communication style changes from department to department.

6 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Ryan Oronoco, MN

My experience with them has been very positive. They're incredibly responsive and knowledgeable.

6 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Susan Columbia, CA

Your people are wonderful, but your technology sucks can't email.

2 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

KATHY MCCRACKEN St Cloud, FL'

I thought my bills get paid faster so i don't have to go tto court

6 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Katrell Lahaina, HI

My journey with pacific debt has just begun. But so far the consultation and application process has been very fast but full of great information.

6 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Frances Scarborough Tehachapi, CA

I talked with Anthony L. who was very knowledgeable about credit. He also had a few suggestions to help me which I appreciated.

6 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Claudia E Colin Napa, CA

Account manager acted like another creditors, Cold and in a rush I got 50% off negotiated I was expecting better possible a 60%

7 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Diane Merced, CA

Staff is courteous and understanding my situation

5 years ago

Pacific Debt Inc. Logo

Reply from Pacific Debt Inc.

Diane - thank you so much for your review. If we can ever be of assistance, please don't hesitate to reach out to our Client Care team at 1-877-722-3328 (option 1 then 2).

Jul. 9th, 2018

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

OCJ Pasadena, CA

I hired them to settle all of my debt. They were only able to settle 75%, so I can’t call that a great job.

2 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Kimberly

Thank you for explaining and supporting me with concerns and the process of my debt services with you!

7 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Dave Fortin Kingston, PA

They have a high rating with the BBB but that only shows their constant collection calls. They are pretty decent to talk to on the phone.

2 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Pat Pearl City, HI

The representatives are very helpful . Informative and the explanations were clear.

5 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Dana Welker Ceres, CA

Just started the process so the only thing really to review was the initial contact and set up.

6 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Sophia Swink Saint Joseph, MO

They are very good on calling when they say they will. Informative on agreements.

7 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Lydia Martinez New York, NY

Very good customer service very informative and great in explaining the process

7 years ago