Best Company Guarantee Consolidated Credit Solutions, Inc. Logo

Consolidated Credit Solutions, Inc.

check_circleVerified

star star star star star_half
968 User Reviews

8.8

Overall Score

error This company may not service all states.
See states serviced
LAST UPDATED: November 27th, 2021

Consolidated Credit has helped clients hammer away millions of dollars worth of debt since 1993. Since opening, it has helped millions of customers with debt issues and is one of the largest credit counseling agencies in the United States. The company boasts highly competitive interest rates, industry accreditations, and a positive reputation with online customer reviews.

Consolidated Credit also offers educational resources to improve its customers' financial literacy, particularly regarding credit cards and debt. Some of these resources include webinars, debt-to-income ratio and credit score calculators, and articles on various financial topics. Consolidated Credit also offers a community outreach program to provide financial education in addition to consolidating debt for its clients.

Consolidated Credit is one of the biggest companies in debt consolidation — the company has been featured in CNN, Forbes, MSNBC, and more. By making one (lower) monthly payment with the company, you can stop worrying about penalties for late payments and reduce your credit card debt by 30-50 percent. However, you should know up front that while Consolidated is a debt consolidation company, it does not lend money as part of its debt consolidation program.

View Consolidated Credit Reviews

thumb_up

The Good

  • Years of Industry Experience
  • Consolidated Credit Cost
  • Great Interest Rates: Consolidate Credit Card Debt at 0—11 Percent
  • Available to All
  • Accredited Company; Certified Staff
  • Positive Customer Reviews

Years of Industry Experience

Consolidated Credit is one of the oldest names in the industry, having accumulated over 20 years in business. During that time, it has built a reputation for total professionalism, offering CPFC certified debt counselors and free debt consultations for potential clients.

Unlike debt consolidation companies offering personal loans, Consolidated Credit is a credit counseling agency. The company’s certified credit counselors perform a free evaluation to help determine the best debt relief option for each potential client.

Consolidated Credit Counseling services include a free review of the client’s current financial situation, credit report (credit history and credit score), and budget. This first credit counseling session can provide debt management strategies (e.g. making more than the minimum payments on your credit cards), budget advice, and ideas to improve bad credit and eliminate debt.

If a debt management plan is the best solution, the company will design a repayment plan to fit the unique needs of the client. A debt management program is a great alternative to debt settlement and debt consolidation loans while providing affordable monthly payments.

The customization of Consolidated Credit solutions means that each client’s specific needs will be addressed and clients are helped in meaningful ways.

Consolidated Credit Cost

Many consolidation companies charge an enrollment fee and a monthly fee for their services. Consolidated Credit charges an upfront fee of $0 to $49 — this is a one-time, account set-up fee. Consolidated Credit also charges a monthly fee of $49.

Consolidated Credit bases its monthly fees on what a client can afford. Some clients may qualify to pay no monthly fee.

Debt consolidation is a government-regulated industry. As a result, most companies charge similar prices, though fees vary by state. Consolidated Credit is no different.

Great Interest Rates: Consolidate Credit Card Debt at an Average of 0–11 Percent

The interest rates that Consolidated Credit can negotiate with lenders, including credit card companies, are less regulated. The company works with creditors to help clients achieve the best possible deal.

The company claims to get credit card interest rates down to an average of 0–11 percent APR — one of the lowest rates in the industry. These lower rates equate to a smaller overall payment for credit card debt and less interest.

Available to All

Each state has its own unique debt consolidation rules. For this reason, not all consolidation companies have their services available nationwide.

Consolidated Credit follows the state laws in every state, and its counseling services are available to people struggling with unsecured debt in every U.S. state. Consolidated Credit works to help people understand the best ways to manage their debt and what their consolidation options are.

In addition to helping clients consolidate credit card debt, Consolidated Credit counselors can help clients with debt from medical bills, payday loans, and more.

Accredited Company; Certified Staff

The company is ISO certified and is accredited with the FCAA (Financial Counseling Association of America).

Gary Herman, the president of Consolidated Credit, has been working with the company for over 20 years. He has training as a certified credit counselor and is also the vice president of the FCAA, which is an important organization that ensures companies offer the best debt relief.

Positive Customer Reviews

Consolidated Credit reviews frequently cite the staff's professionalism and overall quality customer service. Many of the reviews commended Consolidated Credit for the ease of contact and polite, helpful staff members who guided clients every step of the way.

Some reviews are from users who used the free consultation but did not end up using Consolidated Credit's debt management plan services, yet felt they were able to walk away more knowledgeable about their best course of action after the consultation with a credit counselor.

Visit Site

thumb_down

The Bad

  • Missing Certifications
  • Limited Website Information
  • Not a Loan Company

Missing Certifications

As far as we can tell, Consolidated Credit is not certified with the AFCC (American Fair Credit Council) or the IAPDA (International Association of Professional Debt Arbitrators). There are several other companies in the debt consolidation industry that do hold one or both of these accreditations, including some of Consolidated's biggest competitors (Freedom Debt Relief, National Debt Relief, Pacific Debt, etc).

Accreditations and memberships can be an important feature to look for when choosing a company to work with. These associations require accredited companies to keep a certain standards of best practices.

This help ensures that customers are receiving quality services. While Consolidated Credit is not certified through AFCC or IAPDA, it is certified by other organizations, such as the ISO and the FCAA.

Limited Website Information

Though Consolidated Credit provides a robust amount of financial advice, it does not have much information about its actual credit counseling services and debt management plans available on its website.

However, this is likely because its programs are created based on client needs. Each client’s situation is different, so the programs vary accordingly.

Consumers are urged to call or apply online to receive more information. Online information helps customers while they are searching for the company that best fits their financial needs.

Not a Loan Company

Consolidated Credit is not a loan company, so you cannot receive a debt consolidation loan from the company if you determine that debt consolidation is the best route for you. You can meet with a credit counselor from Consolidated Credit, but if you want to participate in a debt consolidation program, you will have to go through another debt relief company.

gavel

The Bottom Line

Consolidated Credit's lengthy track record, pricing, service level, and expertise are impressive. Even on our own site, customers give Consolidated Credit a very high average rating.

Customers are overwhelmingly positive about Consolidated Credit. The company aims to improve consumer credit knowledge and help individuals pay off credit card balances through a personalized management program and consolidating debt.

Given that the company is available in all states and has such positive customer reviews, we strongly recommend it to any clients with unsecured debt consolidation needs. If you want to consolidate your debt into one monthly payment through a debt management program instead of with a consolidation loan or personal loan, Consolidated Credit is a great option.

Consolidated Credit counseling services can review your financial situation, help you make a debt management plan and understand consolidating your debt, and even negotiate interest rates with creditors. Consolidated Credit's relief services can help you stay on top of payments, avoid filing bankruptcy, and get you on the path to becoming debt-free.

Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

not_listed_location

Consolidated Credit Solutions, Inc. Frequently Asked Questions

What types of debt can someone include in a debt management program?

A debt management program is meant primarily to pay off high-interest rate credit card debt. One of the primary benefits of working with a nonprofit credit counseling agency is that it works with a client’s creditors to reduce or eliminate interest charges applied to the debt. That’s most beneficial with high-interest rate credit card balances. However, it may be possible to include other types of debt, including unsecured personal loans, medical bills, collection accounts, and payday loans.

Which credit cards can be included?

Consolidated Credit works with all major credit card companies, as well as major retailers, banks, and credit unions. In total, the company has established relationships with over 1,600 creditors. A consumer can include general-purpose credit cards, charge cards, gas cards, reward cards, and store cards in the program. Consumers are not required to enroll all their cards in the program. If a client decides to leave a card out, they can add it later during the program.

Is this a loan?

No. A debt management program is like a professionally supported repayment plan. The client still owes their original creditors when they enroll. Clients make one payment to Consolidated Credit each month and that payment gets distributed to their creditors every month on schedule.

Does this credit counseling service pay off credit cards?

Credit cards will be paid-in-full as a client completes the program. However, the credit counseling service itself does not pay off the individual’s credit cards for them. As a client makes monthly payments, Consolidated Credit disburses the funds to creditors on an agreed schedule. As a client makes payments to Consolidated Credit, the balances on their credit cards will decrease over time. Individuals can monitor monthly credit card statements and see the balances getting paid off. These payments will also be noted in the payment history of each account on the consumer’s credit report.

What are the fees?

Receiving a debt and budget evaluation from a certified credit counselor is always free. Consumers can talk to a qualified professional about their situation and ask questions to understand their options for relief. If someone qualifies for a debt management program, there is a one-time setup fee and a small monthly fee rolled into the program payments. Fees for debt management programs are set based on the total debt, budget, and the state where a client lives. They are capped at $79 nationwide, and the average client pays $49.

How does this program affect someone’s credit?

Enrolling in a debt management program does not generate any negative items in a consumer’s credit report. It helps avoid the 7-year to 10-year credit report penalty that you see with solutions like debt settlement and bankruptcy. For most people, completing the program has a positive or neutral credit score effect. While a person is enrolled, they generate positive credit history on all the accounts included in the program. Creditors will generally bring delinquent accounts current once the client makes three payments.

How is the interest rate determined?

When someone enrolls in a debt management program, Consolidated Credit works with each creditor to reduce or eliminate the APR applied to their account balances. On average, rates are reduced to between 0%–11%. This is often much lower than what a client would be able to negotiate with a credit card company if they contacted them individually.

Is this different from debt settlement?

Yes. A debt management program works by paying back everything that someone owes at a reduced interest rate. The principal is paid in full. By contrast, debt settlement only repays a percentage of the principal. Debt settlement also creates negative items in a consumer’s credit report that remain for seven years from the date the remaining balance is discharged. Each account settled will be noted in the consumer’s credit report. A debt management program does not generate any negative items.

The payment structure is also very different. While a consumer may make monthly payments on a debt settlement program, those payments are placed into an escrow account to generate the funds necessary to make settlement offers. Creditors are not paid each month, which can lead to missed payments and even greater damage to the consumer’s credit.

What happens if someone can’t make the payments?

A debt management program is 100 percent voluntary. If a client drops out of the program, all payments made up to that point will still be credited to their accounts. However, creditors may choose to restore the previous interest rate and reapply any penalties that were stopped when the person enrolled.

Can someone still get a loan (mortgage/auto) while enrolled?

Yes. A debt management program does not prevent someone from getting loans while they are enrolled in the program and paying off debt. It is possible to get approved for loans like a mortgage or an auto loan while enrolled, so there is no need for life to be put on hold while someone is paying off their debt. A client will not be able to get new credit cards while enrolled.

bestcompany guarantee

Best Company guarantees your satisfaction if you choose a company that has earned this distinction. If you're not satisfied after 30 days, simply let us know and we'll give you $100. Yes, it’s really that simple.

Learn More

Star Rating

4.7

star star star star star_half

968 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

85%

4 grade

9%

3 grade

2%

2 grade

1%

1 grade

3%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star star star_half

Quality

star star star star star_half

Service

star star star star star_half

Trustworthiness

star star star star star_half
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Brenda Della Rocca

Well at first they were great calculating my credit cards & giving me a monthly total and they had me sign a contract but then little by little things began to pop up like oh sorry this card won't deal with us or sorry this card wants more money so my original monthly payment that was so great at the beginning turned out not to be so great. My suggestion is to have your co. deal with all the amounts before they have you sign a contract so you exactly what your payments are. My payments have gone up like 5 different times & there are still credit cards that I have to pay on my own

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Patrice Greenville, SC

Customer service communicated really well and were able to negotiate lower payments to get the account status satisfied. The way they operate it was closing down the accounts completely which then caused a reduction on my credit score and that's probably the only thing that really bothered me about the service.

1 year ago

Consolidated Credit Solutions, Inc. Logo

Reply from Consolidated Credit Solutions, Inc.

Hi Patrice, We appreciate the opportunity to assist you. It’s our mission to help people in your situation find solutions to become debt free. If you have any questions or run into any challenges down the road, please don’t hesitate to give us a call. We’re here to help!

Sep. 23rd, 2020

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

DL Parker

Good but some issues not resolved. It has been a several months and I am still being charged a late fee by my credit card companies. Consolidated credit has not resolved this issue.

1 year ago

Consolidated Credit Solutions, Inc. Logo

Reply from Consolidated Credit Solutions, Inc.

Hi DL, Thanks for letting us assist you. We’re glad we were able to help you set up a debt management program, so you can get on the road to becoming debt free. If you have any questions about the program, please give us a call and we’ll be happy to help. We’re here to be your advocate!

Mar. 17th, 2020

star star star star_border star_border

Richard Cruz Sugar Land, TX

Lower my rates on debt, dislike the fact that they didn't make arrangements with creditors regarding the due date. So every month some of my account show past due

5 months ago

Consolidated Credit Solutions, Inc. Logo

Reply from Consolidated Credit Solutions, Inc.

Hi Richard, Thank you for allowing Consolidated Credit to assist you. We’re glad that we were able to work with your creditor to lower the interest rates on your debt. As for changing due dates, creditors typically do not let anyone other than the cardholder to change the due date. It is for this reason that when we send a proposal to your creditor, we advise them of the date we will be disbursing your payment. Should clients see that their payment is posting after the closing date on their statement, they would need to contact the creditor to determine if the due date with them should be changed. Our goal is to have our clients select a program due date that will ensure their payments are made in full and on time to us every month. In turn, we send the funds to the creditors as close to the same date as possible every month to establish a consistent payment history. We will be happy to review your statements and accounts with you to determine if the past due amounts that you are seeing are negatively affecting your credit reporting and make a plan to resolve them if they are. You can upload the statement(s) in question through our web portal for us to review and respond or you can call in to discuss them with someone in real time.

Jul. 1st, 2021

star star star star_border star_border

Michelle Harris Beaverton, OR

They really helped me save, although I took a hit in my credit score. I was able to get financing for a new car no problem. The dip in my score was not mentioned when I asked the cons of signing up, so I would have appreciated all the facts so as to make an educated decision. All in all though, I'm glad I use CCC.

11 months ago

Consolidated Credit Solutions, Inc. Logo

Reply from Consolidated Credit Solutions, Inc.

Dear Michelle, Thanks for letting us assist you. We’re glad we were able to help you set up a debt management program, so you can get on the road to becoming debt free. If you have any questions about the program, please give us a call and we’ll be happy to help. We’re here to be your advocate!

Dec. 22nd, 2020

star star star star_border star_border

Edwina Stricker Honolulu, HI

Today's call with Aisha was very helpful! I was not aware of the ACH fees, save for the NSF one, and member monthly fees. Other customer service reps, generally speaking, have been helpful. For myself, personally, it's been a bit stressful getting used to the procedures since joining. Especially being new to this whole game. I do think Aisha helped a lot. There was a representative that called me and was not as helpful and the way I was spoken to was disturbing to where I felt I made the wrong decision.

3 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

eSKay08 Newington, CT

The purpose for my call was my attempt to resolve a repeat frustration I’ve experienced with CCS, where my creditors did not receive payment on time, and CCS received my payment, but did not apply it to my account or disburse to my creditors, nor informed me of issues with my June payment not received. I don’t hold my frustrations with the company against her. The representative herself was professional, empathetic, helpful and did everything in her part to assist me.

4 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

SIERRA M DERBY Pioneer, CA

Was overcharged for final payment, has been 2+ months and I'm still awaiting repayment. Was contacted after publishing review and had money returned via direct deposit. Also was charged for services I did not use or need. Take time to read the fine print.

3 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Susan Baldoni Salem, OR

Website is difficult to use - sometimes it’s very slow, other times it won’t even let me log in.

4 months ago

Consolidated Credit Solutions, Inc. Logo

Reply from Consolidated Credit Solutions, Inc.

Hi Susan, We appreciate the opportunity to assist you. It’s our mission to help people in your situation find solutions to become debt free. If you have any questions or run into any challenges down the road, please don’t hesitate to give us a call. We’re here to help!

Jul. 28th, 2021

star star star star_border star_border

Mohamed Jalloh Fargo, ND

I love the company because it helps reduce my debt, However, I don't like the amount of money they are charging for their services.

6 months ago

Consolidated Credit Solutions, Inc. Logo

Reply from Consolidated Credit Solutions, Inc.

Hi Mohamed, Thanks for letting us assist you. We’re glad we were able to help you set up a debt management program, so you can get on the road to becoming debt free. If you have any questions about the program, please give us a call and we’ll be happy to help. We’re here to be your advocate!

May. 12th, 2021

star star star star_border star_border

Rita Risner Mansfield, OH

They pay your payment, but my creditors are always past due and calling me all the time. I think how much I paying them that they should fix it so that there not late. Never going to get paid off.

1 year ago

Consolidated Credit Solutions, Inc. Logo

Reply from Consolidated Credit Solutions, Inc.

Hi Rita, Customer service and client satisfaction are of utmost importance to us and so we regret hearing this. Please call us at 1-877-201-7780. One of our client services representatives will be happy to go over your account and look into the matter. We appreciate you. Thank you for allowing us to assist you.

Jul. 7th, 2020

star star star star_border star_border

sylvia jackson Grambling, LA

I didn't like the prices I was being charged every month I thought it was too high. I was not informed of the price increase because the company I was using closed and consolidated credit inherited my account.

4 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Scott Anaheim, CA

I was surprised how much when to interest when I may to small payments not sure how it works or when you are able to refinance I think it takes too long to refinance

1 year ago

Consolidated Credit Solutions, Inc. Logo

Reply from Consolidated Credit Solutions, Inc.

Dear Scott, We appreciate the opportunity to assist you. It’s our mission to help people in your situation find solutions to become debt free. If you have any questions or run into any challenges down the road, please don’t hesitate to give us a call. We’re here to help!

Oct. 21st, 2020

star star star star_border star_border

raimundo gonzalez Chicago, IL

to many Bill's and i need to have some kind of help with them, im working on my credit with lexington law and its going good

2 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Patricia Travers Wichita, KS

They kept asking me for money I don't have to give away!' I have a lot of bills to pay that's why I made loan thought you all could help me!'

3 years ago

Consolidated Credit Solutions, Inc. Logo

Reply from Consolidated Credit Solutions, Inc.

Hi Patricia, Are you sure you have the right company? We are a non-profit credit counseling organization, not a loan company. For those people who qualify for a debt management program, we negotiate with their creditors to lower their interest rates and set up a payment plan that last for between 2-5 years until the debt is paid off. Based on their unique circumstance creditors agree or disagree to lower their interest rates and accept a new payment plan. We then relay to the client how much their monthly payments will be and that amount is paid monthly for the duration of their time on the program. If someone adds new bills to the program, that would increase their monthly payment, as would be expected. But we would like to confirm that you have the correct organization since you mention that you received a loan and we are not a lender and do not provide loans.

Nov. 1st, 2018

star star star star_border star_border

Drazia Adwar East Brunswick, NJ

Still not sure how this company can do a better job than myself in negotiating better terms with my creditors. Time will tell.

3 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

James Douberley Clermont, FL

Had trouble with sales person lying about warranty over heard salesperson assured buyer that the vehicle had full warranty....

4 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Cindy Cusson Lynn, MA

Seems like the balances aren't going down.

5 months ago

Consolidated Credit Solutions, Inc. Logo

Reply from Consolidated Credit Solutions, Inc.

Hi Cindy, Thanks for letting us assist you. We’re glad we were able to help you set up a debt management program, so you can get on the road to becoming debt free. If you have any questions about the program and your account, please give us a call and we’ll be happy to go over your account with you. We’re here to be your advocate!

Jun. 16th, 2021

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

MELINDA WESTPHAL Lansing, MI

I don't really have a comment. I feel like I have been paying $285 for way too long now and just want to be done.

1 year ago

Consolidated Credit Solutions, Inc. Logo

Reply from Consolidated Credit Solutions, Inc.

Hi Melinda, Thanks for calling and we’re glad we could help. As you work your way through your debt management program, please let us know if there’s anything you need. Our client services team is here to answer any questions that you have and assist you in overcoming any challenges that may arise as you work to become debt free.

Oct. 30th, 2020

star star star star_border star_border

Pjk

I was on hold longer than I expected, though representatives were very pleasant.

3 years ago

Consolidated Credit Solutions, Inc. Logo

Reply from Consolidated Credit Solutions, Inc.

Hi PJK, Thank you for allowing Consolidated Credit to assist you. We value your time and so we regret any inconvenience. Customer service and client satisfaction are of utmost importance to us. Knowing that you received professional service is very pleasing. We appreciate you and wish you the very best on your journey out of debt.

Jul. 2nd, 2018

star star star star_border star_border

David Perry Sr Gatesville, TX

The lady whom took my call was a bit nasty in her tone and a little arrogant

4 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Gina Wilburn Pueblo, CO

She was able to take care of the reason I called.

3 years ago